Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons

The complete list of portable laptops with a Thunderbolt 3 port

By Andrei Girbea - @ andreigirbea , updated on December 16, 2016

We’ve seen Thunderbolt ports on enthusiast computers for a while now, but these days Thunderbolt is becoming the port everyone wants on a new laptop, regardless of size, form-factor or budget.

The Thunderbolt port has reached its 3rd generation and it’s actually a significant step-up from the previous versions. We’ll get in depth towards the end of this post, but in very few words, Thunderbolt 3 is the one port that could replace all the others. Physically, it’s an USB 3.1 connector, thus compact and reversible. Technically, it can provide transfer speeds of up to 40 Gbps and USB speeds of up to 10 Gbps, it allows to connect up to two 4K displays, outputting video and audio signal at the same time, it supports DisplayPort 1.2, HDMI 2.0  and 10 GbE fast networking.

In other words, Thunderbolt 3 is the compact and versatile connector you can use to charge your laptop, transfer files at fast speeds, connect external monitors and other peripherals, including PCIe compatible graphics units (like the Razer Core, which we reviewed here). This last aspect is particularly interesting, as it allows OEMs to design ultra-portable laptops that could actually handle some serious gaming once they are hooked up to these external graphics solutions. The versatility and compact size of the Thunderbolt 3 connector also makes it ideal for slim and ultra-compact computers, which wouldn’t otherwise have the space around their sides for regular-sized ports.

We’re going to talk more about Thunderbolt 3 and its capabilities towards the end of the post. For now, let’s turn our attention on a complete list of all the available laptops and ultra-portables that offer at least one Thunderbolt 3 port at the time of this article, and since there are already quite a few available out there, we’ll split them in three different groups: compact laptops (with 13-inch screens or smaller), large screen portable laptops (15 to 17-inch screens), and full-size notebooks (15-inch screens or larger).


Only the latest versions of each laptop is mentioned here, previous generations might also support Thunderbolt 3.

13-inch (and smaller) ultraportables with Thunderbolt 3 connectors

ModelTypeScreenHardwareTB3 portsPrice
Acer Aspire Switch 12S2-in-112.5″ touchSkylake Core M w/ Intel HD 5151$1199
Acer Aspire R132-in-113.3″ touchSkylake Core U w/ Intel HD 5201$899
Asus Transformer 3 ProTablet12.6″ touchSkylake Core U w/ Intel HD 5201$999
Asus Transformer 3Tablet12.6″ touchKabylake (??) Core M1$799
Alienware 13 2016Gaming13.3″Skylake Core HQ w/ Nvidia GTX 10601$1199
Apple MacBook Pro 13Ultraportable13.3″Skylake Core U w/ Intel HD 5402/4$1499
Dell Latitude 12 7000Ultraportable12.0″Skylake Core U w/ Intel HD 5202$1079
Dell Latitude 12 7000 2-in-12-in-112.5″ touchSkylake Core M w/ Intel HD 5152$1049
Dell Latitude 13 7000 (7370)
Ultraportable13.3″Skylake Core M w/ Intel HD 5152$1299
Dell XPS 12 9250Tablet12.0″ touchSkylake Core M w/ Intel HD 5152$999
Dell XPS 13 9350Ultraportable13.3″Skylake Core U w/ Intel HD 520 or 5401$999
Dell XPS 13 9360Ultraportable13.3″Kaby Lake Core U w/ Intel HD 5201$799
HP Elite X2Tablet12.0″ touchSkylake Core M w/ Intel HD 5151$899
HP EliteBook FolioUltraportable12.5″Skylake Core M w/ Intel HD 5152$1099
HP SpectreUltraportable13.3″Skylake Core U w/ Intel HD 5202$1169
HP Spectre x360 13Convertible13.3″ touchKaby Lake Core U w/ Intel HD 6202$1049
Razer Blade StealthUltraportable12.5″Kaby Lake Core U w/ Intel HD 6201$999

If you’re looking for a larger screen and faster hardware, but still want to stay within portable limits, then these are the options to consider.

14 to 17-inch portable laptops with Thunderbolt 3 connectors

ModelTypeScreenHardwareTB3 portsPrice
Acer Aspire V15 Nitro VN7-592GMultimedia15.6″Skylake Core HQ w/ Nvidia GTX 960M1$999
Acer Aspire V15 Nitro VN7-792GMultimedia17.3″Skylake Core HQ w/ Nvidia GTX 960M1$999
Asus ROG GL702VMGaming17.3″Skylake Core HQ w/ Nvidia GTX 10601$1399
Apple MacBook Pro 15Ultraportable15.6″Skylake Core HQ w/ Radeon 4504$2299
Asus Zenbook Pro UX501VWMultimedia15.6″Skylake Core HQ w/ Nvidia GTX 960M1$1499
Asus ROG G501VWGaming15.6″Skylake Core HQ w/ Nvidia GTX 960M1$1099
Dell Precision 15 5000 SeriesWorkstation15.6″Skylake Core HQ or Xeon w/ Nvidia Quadro1$1399
Dell XPS 15 9550Multimedia15.6″Skylake Core HQ w/ Nvidia GTX 960M1$999
MSI GS40 PhantomGaming14.0″Skylake Core HQ w/ Nvidia GTX 965M or 970M1$1399
MSI GS43VR Phantom ProGaming14.0″Skylake Core HQ w/ Nvidia GTX 1060M1$1499
MSI GS60 Ghost ProGaming15.6″Skylake Core HQ w/ Nvidia GTX 965M or 970M1$1499
MSI GS63VR Stealth ProGaming15.6″Skylake Core HQ w/ Nvidia GTX 1060M1$1799
MSI GS73VR Stealth ProGaming17.3″Skylake Core HQ w/ Nvidia GTX 1060M1$1799
Razer Blade 14Gaming14.0″Skylake Core HQ w/ Nvidia GTX 970M / 10601$1799

Last but not least, if you don’t care about portability at all and simply want a powerful computer with a large screen, capable graphics and a Thunderbolt 3 port, these are the options for you.

15 to 21-inch full-size notebooks with Thunderbolt 3 connectors

ModelTypeScreenHardwareTB3 portsPrice
Acer Predator 15Gaming15.6″Skylake Core HQ w/ Nvidia GTX 970M to 10701$1499
Acer Predator 17Gaming17.3″Skylake Core HQ w/ Nvidia GTX 970M to 10701$1499
Alienware 15Gaming15.6″Skylake Core HK w/ Nvidia GTX 965M to 10701$1199
Alienware 17Gaming17.3″Skylake Core HK w/ Nvidia GTX 965M to 10801$1499
Asus ROG G752VT / G752VL / G752VYGaming17.3″Skylake Core HQ w/ Nvidia GTX 970M or 980M1$1299
Asus ROG G752VM / G752VSGaming17.3″Skylake Core HQ w/ Nvidia GTX 1060 or 10701$1399
Asus ROG GX800Gaming17.3″Skylake Core HK w/ Nvidia GTX 1080 and SLI 10801$2499
Clevo P750 / Sager NP9758Gaming15.6″Skylake Core HK w/ Nvidia GTX 970M to 980M1$1749
Clevo P750DM2 / Sager NP9152Gaming15.6″Skylake Core K w/ Nvidia GTX 1060 to 10701$1799
Clevo P775DM3 / Sager NP9172 / Schenker XMG U716Gaming17.3″Skylake Core K w/ Nvidia GTX 1060 to 10801$1849
Dell Precision 15 3000 SeriesWorkstation15.6″Skylake Core HQ w/ AMD FirePro1$999
Dell Precision 15 7000 seriesWorkstation15.6″Skylake Core HQ or Xeon w/ AMD FirePro or Nvidia Quadro1$1199
Dell Precision 17 7000 seriesWorkstation17.3″Skylake Core HQ or Xeon w/ Nvidia Quadro1$2299
Lenovo IdeaPad Y900 / Y910
Gaming17.3″Skylake Core HQ w/ Nvidia GTX 980M / 10701$1999
Lenovo ThinkPad P50Workstation15.6″Skylake Core HQ w/ Nvidia Quadro1$1399
Lenovo ThinkPad P70Workstation17.3″Skylake Core HQ w/ Nvidia Quadro2$1899
HP ZBook 15
Workstation15.6″Skylake Core HQ w/ Nvidia Quadro1$1499
HP ZBook 17Workstation17.3″Skylake Core HQ w/ Nvidia Quadro1$1999
MSI GT73VR TitanGaming17.3″Skylake Core HK w/ Nvidia GTX 10701$2199
MSI GT80S TitanGaming18.4″Skylake Core HK w/ Nvidia GTX 980 SLI1$3499
MSI GT83VR Titan ProGaming18.4″Skylake Core HK w/ Nvidia GTX SLI 1070 or 10801$3499
Razer Blade ProGaming17.3″Skylake Core HQ w/ Nvidia GTX 10801$3699

Now, let’s get back to why this Thunderbolt 3 port is such a big deal. Here are a couple of thoughts:

  • the USB 3.1 connector is compact and reversible, so compatible cables are not going to take a lot of space. Also, unlike most other connectors like USB 3.0, DisplayPort, HDMI, etc, an USB 3.1 cable not longer has a “right-way” to plug in, which makes it easier to use everyday.
  • the Thunderbolt 3 port could replace all the other standard connectors in the near future, that means we’ll have one universal connector and one type of cable for pretty much all basic needs.
  • TB3 allows for very fast transfer speeds, which opens up space for a multitude of compatible accessories: fast external storage units, external graphics and processing units, external docking stations, etc.
  • TB3 can output video, audio and power at the same time, so is a solution for connecting high-resolution external monitors or TV sets.
  • TB3 is also capable of network transfer speeds of up to 10 Gbps, so can be a solution if you want to transfer content fast within your network.
  • TB3 can also be used for charging your device, as long as it doesn’t require more than 100 W of power. So good-bye dedicated charging cables.
Thunderbolt 3 is versatile, compact and easy to use

Thunderbolt 3 is versatile, compact and easy to use – source

One compact port can do all of these, so no wonder manufacturers are adding TB3 on the latest laptops.

But what does Thunderbolt 3 mean for ultraportable notebooks? It allows OEMs to design thinner, lighter and smaller devices which wouldn’t have the space around their sides for regular sized ports. Yes, that means you’ll need to buy adapters for your existing cables and devices, but to some extent, that’s a sacrifice I’m willing to make. These smaller computers can be hooked up to peripherals and transformed from the ultraportable travel companions they represent by their own, to business, multimedia and even gaming computers. You can hook up an external monitor for extra screen real-estate, a storage unit, a docking station with extra ports or those graphics units. External graphics units won’t show their true power when hooked up to an ultraportable, as these are usually built on Core M or Core U processors, but thin-and-light 15-inchers with quad-core processors and a solid amount of RAM will be good matches for the graphics capabilities of a full-size desktop card.

There is however a fair-amount of confusion around Thunderbolt 3, mostly because it’s impossible to determine whether a device is TB3 compatible or not simply by looking at the physical connector. And that’s because the TB3 and USB 3.1 ports are identical, but a TB3 and USB 3.1 (also known as USB Type-C) are different in terms of capabilities. The Apple Macbook for instance offers an USB 3.1, but not a Thunderbolt 3. Standard USB 3.1 connectors still support data, video and audio transfers, but are limited to a lower bandwidth, so will perform slower, can’t carry power and aren’t compatible with graphics units, among others. This article does a good job at explaining the difference between Thunderbolt 3 and a standard USB 3.1 port.

As of early 2016 there aren’t many Thunderbolt 3 compatible accessories available in stores, but that’s going to change in the future (and we’ll cover them in a later article). Knowing that, having a Thunderbolt 3 port on your laptop might not sit that high on your list of priorities right now. However, if you plan to keep the laptop you’re buying today for at least 2-3 years, then you should consider something with TB3 for future proofness, especially if you plan to take advantage of the matching peripherals down the line.

With that in mind, we’ll wrap this up here. I’ll continue to update this list of Thunderbolt 3 compatible laptops as often as possible, adding the new entries as they become available, but if you spot something that should be in here and it’s not, make sure to drop a line in the comments section below, where I’ll also wait for your feedback and questions, if any.

Andrei Girbea, aka Mike, Editor-in-Chief and a huge fan of mobile computers. Since 2007, I've only owned smaller than 12.5" laptops and I've been testing tens, if not hundreds of mini laptops. You'll find mostly reviews and guides written by me here on the site.

65 Comments

  1. Nicholas

    May 13, 2016 at 7:54 am

    Skylake chips still require a separate external controller chip to implement either USB 3.1 and / or Thunderbolt 3. It APPEARS that with Kaby Lake the USB 3.1 and also possibly the Thunderbolt 3 implementation will migrate to be an integral part of the platform silicon (at least on some SKUs)meaning that devices will have Thunderbolt by default – it is part of the chip that the OEM buys from Intel. Whether this is accurate depends upon precisely what is meant by the statement “Kaby Lake has SUPPORT FOR USB 3.1 and Thunderbolt 3”. It would be very interesting to know. If Intel can squeeze Thunderbolt into a Core M SKU with an overall platform TDP of < 4.5 Watts then that would allow the OEM's to produce some fabulous devices: a phablet with a massive and supremely flexible connectivity capability delivered through one port.

  2. kudos

    May 15, 2016 at 10:23 pm

    Hi Andrei, I hope you will soon get your hand on the new HP spectre cause I would love to read your review before deciding to order it :D

    • Bob Murphy

      August 9, 2016 at 12:44 pm

      Don’t get an HP. I bought a Spectre for my wife, and after a year (of very light use, plus she is very delicate with it) the screen seperated from the frame. Glue was done poorly. Was 2nd HP laptop I have privately had the just wasn’t put together well. I’d stay away.

  3. agan

    May 22, 2016 at 2:55 am

    thx for the list. btw does asus gl552vw have thunderbolt port?? or the type-c port on gl552 model just a regular type-c model without thunderbolt feature??

  4. Nathan Brown

    May 22, 2016 at 6:54 pm

    2 typos:
    1. The Dell XPS 15 you said “XPX”
    2. The Lenovo Ideapad Y900 is 2000USD, not 899USD

    Can’t wait until the Razer Core/other egpu dock gets released.

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 23, 2016 at 3:39 pm

      Thanks for the feedback, I fixed those two errors.

      Derek is going to have a post about his Razer Core soon on the site. I’m pretty excited about these external units myself, although I’m not comfortable paying as much as Razer asks just for an enclosure. Something like the Acer Graphics Dock feels a lot more interesting to pair with ultra-portable laptops, at least imo.

  5. nick

    June 5, 2016 at 11:08 pm

    Would be nice to know which models support charging via usb c port

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 7, 2016 at 12:32 pm

      Hmmm, yea, that would be interesting. I’ll look into it, can’t promise, let’s see if I can find the required data

  6. human overpopulation

    July 1, 2016 at 6:45 pm

    It looks like this one does not have thunderbolt 3

    Acer Aspire V13 V3-372T

    community.acer.com/t5/V-and-VN-Series-Laptops/Aspire-V13-V3-372T-5051-comes-with-a-Thundebolt-3-port/td-p/437364

  7. Joe

    July 15, 2016 at 10:15 am

    Correct me if im wrong, I might be, but physically thunderbolt is a type cnot a 3.1 and usb 3.1 gen 1 is the same transfer speeds(5gb) as usb 3.0 except its a type C and usb 3.1 gen 2 is type c with 10gbps and thunderbolt is type c with up to 40gbps

    • CrimsonFury

      November 21, 2016 at 2:40 pm

      USB C and the USB version numbers are not specifically linked to any particular match up.

      USB C supports USB 2.0\3.0\3.1 gen 1\3.1 gen 2

      USB 3.1 gen 1 & gen 2 both support type A and type C connectors.

      • Joe

        January 17, 2017 at 6:15 am

        Yeas but in the beggining of the article it states thunderbolt is physically a 3.1. 3.1 isn't a physical characteristic, type C is. 3.1 is the type.

  8. Holger

    July 24, 2016 at 11:33 am

    Thanks a lot, Andrei, this is a very useful list!

    A minor correction: The Lenovo ThinkPad P70 has two Thunderbolt 3 ports, not one (see the specs and images on shop.lenovo.com/us/en/laptops/thinkpad/p-series/p70/).

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 26, 2016 at 2:55 pm

      Thanks, updated

      • Holger

        July 30, 2016 at 7:52 am

        One more thing: The Dell XPS 13 9350 has one, not two TB3 ports

      • Suzanne

        January 14, 2017 at 6:24 pm

        Hi Andrei
        You seemed to know a lot re laptops so I would like to know what you think of Asus 6Y305 Zenbook Model UX;360CA-oBM2T
        and Dell Inspiron 13 Model 7378. What I really am looking or is the lighest laptop…touch screen, 8gb memory 256 GB but again i'm trying to find a laptop that weighs less than 2 lbs or just up 2 lbs. Thanks

  9. jk47

    July 30, 2016 at 12:19 pm

    Asus Transformer 3 $799

  10. Jordan

    August 5, 2016 at 10:10 am

    Are all thunderbolt 3 ports the same speed? Do some laptop providers make laptops with thunderbolt 3 with slower maximum gpbs?

  11. Samd

    August 6, 2016 at 2:18 am

    Are all thunderbolt 3 ports 40 gbps? Do some laptop providers make laptops with thunderbolt 3 with slower maximum gpbs?

    Sometimes I see specifications on vendor or manufacturers sites, like this (Thunderbolt 3, 20 gbps):
    pbtech.co.nz/index.php?z=p&p=NBKASU720916&name=ASUS-G752VT-GC053T-17.3-FHD—Intel-Core-i7-6700HQ

  12. Tim

    August 14, 2016 at 3:19 am

    2016 HP elite book folio has 2 tb3, but isn’t on your list. It’s great I own one.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 15, 2016 at 2:14 pm

      Thanks, added. That looks like a great laptop.

  13. Christian

    August 14, 2016 at 4:01 pm

    Which one of these devices in the list above is also available with built-in LTE?

    For business purposes, it is so essential to be able to be connected everywhere. The HP Elite X2 1012 G1 seems to be available with LTE in theory, practically I did not come across any online stores etc. with availability of the LTE model.

  14. Peter

    August 27, 2016 at 5:00 am

    This article is misleading and confusing users, the list of laptops here show at least a USB Type C connector NOT ALL has Thunderbolt 3 port. The few laptop that actually supports USB Type C with Thunderbolt 3 are XPS, Razor Blade Stealth…

    You should put up columns to state number of USB-C ports and how many of those actually support TB3.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 27, 2016 at 8:31 am

      Can you be more specific about which of the laptops here don’t support TB3? There might be mistakes, but I try to only list those with TB3, not regular USB Type C

  15. Sam

    August 30, 2016 at 6:53 am

    Minor correction, USB 3.1 Power delivery spec is the thing that delivers Power, TB3 uses it, Power delivery is not part of the TB3 spec. Also different ports could support different output wattages.
    Awesome article though.

  16. carlo

    September 4, 2016 at 8:25 pm

    Hi there it seems you have left the clevo/sager/metabox p750 off the list, i believe it has TB3. Some other of their models might have TB3 also. MSI GS43 also hasn’t been included and possibly a few others.

    • carlo

      September 4, 2016 at 8:28 pm

      correction clevo p750dmg2

      • Andrei Girbea

        September 6, 2016 at 4:27 am

        Thanks for the headsup. I’ve updated the post with some of the more recent models.

  17. Derek

    September 7, 2016 at 5:19 pm

    Does the asus g752vl have thunderbolt 3?

  18. Ali Rouzbeh

    September 8, 2016 at 8:49 am

    I’m a little confused! As far as I know there are two types of laptop in temrs of their thunderbolt 3 availability. the first types are the laptops with thunderbolt 3 port which is physically different from usb type c ports. the second types are the laptops which have usb type c port that supports thunderbolt 3. please correct me if I’m wrong. I just want to know if these two type of ports, support the same bandwidth?? I want to buy a new laptop and use an external graphic card. which port do i need to use? TB3 port or usb type c with TB3 support?

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 8, 2016 at 12:36 pm

      Hmmm, perhaps other can corerct me if I’m wrong, but I’m not aware of a Thunderbolt 3 connection that uses a different port than USB Type C. Thunderbolt and Thunderbolt 2 used mini-displayport connectors, but TB3 uses USB Type C as far as I know.

  19. Kenny

    September 8, 2016 at 8:52 pm

    The HP Elite X2 tablet has only one Thunderbolt 3/USB-C port, not two, as far as I can tell.

  20. Syed Daniyal

    September 12, 2016 at 7:37 pm

    Hi can you tell me if the ASUS ROG G751jm has thunderbolt 3 and if not then what would happen if I used a Razer core with it anyway. Plus is there anyway to connect a desktop gpu to a laptop without thunderbolt 3?

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 13, 2016 at 6:14 am

      It does, but that’s Thunderbolt 2 from what I know, via an miniDP connector. the Razer Core works with Thunderbolt3 connections via USB C, so it’s not going to be compatible.

  21. Nadine Kubiny

    September 14, 2016 at 5:14 pm

    Thank-you for the awesome article! I wonder if you could look into MSI’s GE62VR Apache Pro? I’m VERY confused as to whether it includes Thunderbolt 3 support or not. If you look on their US website, it clearly shows Thunderbolt 3 support, even pointing to it in the images.

    us.msi.com/Laptop/GE62VR-Apache-Pro-6th-Gen-GTX-1060.html#hero-overview

    But on their Canada site, I think specifically the “GE62VR 6RF-004CA” model, they refer only to USB 3.1 C and have no mention to Thunderbolt 3.

    ca.msi.com/Laptop/GE62VR-6RF-004CA-Apache-Pro.html#hero-specification

    I’ve reached out to MSI about this and have not heard back yet. If it supports Thunderbolt 3, please include it on this list but mention what model doesn’t have it. Talk about confusing, huh?

    Thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 15, 2016 at 4:03 pm

      there’s no TB3 on the GE62s, here’s a review to confirm it: notebookcheck.net/MSI-GE62VR-6RF-Apache-Xotic-PC-Edition-Notebook-Review.173553.0.html

  22. Dominic Afonso

    September 29, 2016 at 4:59 am

    What strikes me is that, given the option of a very powerful desktop gpu provided by the thunderbolt connection, there are currently no options for a high end cpu (e.g. quad core or high clock dual core) without the added expense of a “high-end” internal laptop gpu. Not forgetting that the intel hd 550 in something like the lenovo ideapad 510s will have graphics performance in the same ballpark as the 960M anyway.

    So tell me, if dell and acer can ship a Skylake Core HQ w/ Nvidia GTX 960M for $999 what would you expect a similar model without the GTX 960M to cost? $899 perhaps, i’d take that $100 an put it towards a egpu dock.

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 29, 2016 at 5:40 am

      But would there be a general interest in such a laptop? Why would you get a Quad-core laptop without some sort of dedicated graphics? What would you use it for? The Thunderbolt 3 connection is just an extra feature, I don’t think any OEM would make a laptop with the idea of having it connected to external graphics, unless they would sell them in a bundle. Still, who knows, perhaps we’ll see such designs in the future, but I wouldn’t hold my breath for it.

      • Dominic Afonso

        September 29, 2016 at 12:45 pm

        Is this scenario so unusual:

        I want a new laptop to do computer things.
        I don’t want a PC.
        I will spend £400-£600 to get a reasonably functional general purpose laptop.

        If i want to stretch that to something that will perform well for gaming, then i would have to add £1000 and it still won’t perform as well as an extra £1000 should achieve.

        Give me the £550 laptop, spend £150 on a TB3 egpu enclosure and another £300 on a and the graphics performance will stomp on the £1600 laptop for £600 less.

        Maybe a £400 laptop and a £600 pc would cover all the bases…..

        • Andrei Girbea

          September 29, 2016 at 12:57 pm

          The issue is 600ish won’t buy you a latest gen quad-core, it’s not even buying you a Core i7 U dual-core right now, so I’d say your expectations aren’t realistic. Such a laptop would probably cost 100 to 150 less than a similar config with an Nvidia 960 chip, and at that price I don’t think it’s going to be competitive, especially since most people won’t have your expectations and would be just fine with the mobile Nvidia chip.

          BTW, check out how much just the Core i7-6700HQ CPU costs: ark.intel.com/products/88967/Intel-Core-i7-6700HQ-Processor-6M-Cache-up-to-3_50-GHz . Sucks not to have real competition on the CPU market :)

          So basically you’re asking for an expensive laptop with a powerful CPU and poor graphics, that very few would be interested in buying. Would you make one if you’d be working for an OEM and be responsible for their lineups? I for one wouldn’t :)

          And besides this, what’s the 150 egpu enclosure you’re taking about? The very few ones available right now are lot more expensive than that and I doubt they’ll get there sooner than a year or two. By that time you could consider a two gen old Quad-core and end up with what you’re saying in your comment, so yea, I guess that’s an option, going for an older gen unit (with a mobile GPU as well) with a serious discount.

          • Dominic Afonso

            November 9, 2016 at 5:42 am

            this store.hp.com/UKStore/Merch/Product.aspx?id=Y8A22ET&opt=ABU&sel=NTB with thunderbolt would be nice. should we worry about a system bottlenecking at the cpu when something like a gtx 1050 is handling the graphics?

          • Andrei Girbea

            November 9, 2016 at 10:21 am

            Not in (most) games, which the nowadays dual-core CPUs are powerful enough to handle. there will be a bottleneck in video editing or 3d rendering software though where a faster quad-core CPU would help, but I'd reckon that's not what you want that laptop for anyway

      • agudeza

        November 8, 2016 at 7:46 pm

        It's been going on since the beginning of 2016 actually. ASUS released a prototype early this year and Razor also unveiled their eGPU and the thing I recall was that both were only beiing promoted as working with their own respective brand of laptop. ASUS calls theirs the ROG XG2 and it is said to be a docking station for Asus notebooks, which should allow connecting powerful desktop graphics cards. Razor has also done this but then we also have the many DIY solutions where people have gotten full size graphics cards to work on thunderbolt 2 ports on Windows laptops and now Thundervbolt 3 should really be capable of maximizing those cards to their potential. But now, nVidea has the new 10 series where the GTX 1070 and 1080 laptop GPUs are even faster than desktop 9 series and only about 10% short of their desktop counterparts. To be honest I think eGPUs will fall by the way side and thunderbolt 3 is going to be used as a single port solution for all external devices as opposed to using so many other types of ports. If this takes off, maybe all external hardware will be USB 3.1 connectors and all you need is a USB 3.1 hub connected to a thunderbolt port on any dektop or laptop. But then again, if everything goes wireless, it all ends up disappearing into the walls and cielings and into thin air. It all still exists, but we do not see it. Unless we wave our hands, and then our virtual holographic screen appears in a small lens over our left eye. We'll all look like cyborgs

        • Dominic Afonso

          November 9, 2016 at 5:45 am

          pricing of laptops with nvidia 1050 gpus will be very interesting. On the one hand they should be similar to the existing 950M based systems, since they are the equivalent product in the new line. On the other hand, the performance is expected to be in the range of a 970M so i wonder if the price tag will relect that.

          • Andrei Girbea

            November 9, 2016 at 10:23 am

            Not really, I'd expect them to go for around $1000-$1200, on par with the current Intel HQ + Nvidia 960M models. The 1050 are rather succeeding the 960Ms, and not the 950Ms, in terms of TDP and performance.

  23. Gary

    October 4, 2016 at 9:36 am

    Can you come up with a list of Mini Towers that have this thunderbolt port/s

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 4, 2016 at 10:05 am

      What do you mean by Mini Towers? Docking stations?

  24. Yapok

    October 22, 2016 at 10:46 am

    Latitude e5570 iX-6xxxHQ missing, although an equally (or better) configured Precision 3510 will probably cost less anyway…

  25. zaz

    November 4, 2016 at 7:09 pm

    Hi Andrei,

    do you know if i can use a usb c[3.1] to displayport adapter with the razer blade stealth to connect to a displayport monitor [without the use of the core]??

    amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B01AA5TSGQ/ref=od_aui_detailpages00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 7, 2016 at 3:35 pm

      People say they're using it with the Macbook and a bunch of other laptops, so it should work with the Blade just fine.

  26. Subzeroblack

    December 14, 2016 at 5:54 am

    Is the Eve V gonna be added to the list for the 13 inch (and smaller) section

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 14, 2016 at 2:14 pm

      As soon as it will actually be a real product :)

  27. Thomas

    December 16, 2016 at 8:12 am

    Also the New Razer Blade Stealth w/Kaby Lake Core

  28. Alireza

    January 1, 2017 at 9:56 am

    Would be nice if you mark laptops with PCIe x3 SSD to same list or a new list, thats very rare option in laptops

    • Alireza

      January 1, 2017 at 9:57 am

      I already know Razer Blade 14 and Asus ux501vw has this option

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 2, 2017 at 9:48 am

      Noted.

  29. Doug McIntosh

    January 13, 2017 at 11:03 pm

    THANKS for this Article! I have linked it on several Forums as proof that Apple isn't out of their minds with going All-In with USB-C/TB3 ONLY on the new MacBook Pros. As I am sure you know, Apple was probably the first big adopter of TB in general, with their flagship Desktop sporting SIX TB2 ports way-back in the dark ages of 2012…

    However, Apple's decision to put 80 Gbps of multifunction I/O on their latest laptops has been met with almost NOTHING but universal HATE. People whining about "bags full of Dongles", Adapters that they'll constantly lose, etc. etc.

    So, could you expand your list to add a column showing the NON USB-C/TB3 ports? Or, in the alternative, do you know of any other lap pies OTHER than the 2016 MacBook Pros that are USB-C/TB3 ONLY?

    I'd like to shut up people that say they are "dumping Apple" just because they can't be bothered to trundle over to Amazon and pick up a couple of USB-C/USB-A adapters, or check out the MANY "mini-docks" being offered.

    With the help of your List, and a BUNCH of research on Amazon (and other places), I've been fighting the good fight for this "One Port To Rule Them All"; but I'd like to be able to show that it isn't is JUST Apple that is dragging Users kicking and screaming into a MUCH better I/O Future, by eschewing all other "legacy" ports in favor of USB-C/TB3.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *