Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Acer Swift 3 SF313-52 review (2020 model, 3:2 display and IceLake hardware)

8 Comments

  1. JM

    January 18, 2020 at 7:46 pm

    No Type-C charging despite having Thunderbolt 3? That's odd.
    I really wanted this, but I guess this is the dealbreaker for me. :(

    • Tinamon

      March 4, 2020 at 12:19 am

      It does support USB-C charging. You only need to buy a 20-30 euros Type-C PD charger.

  2. Block

    February 19, 2020 at 4:56 am

    Is there a way for me to use your screen calibration results to calibrate my screen?

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 19, 2020 at 12:22 pm

      Sry, I haven't saved it for this laptop.

  3. Marcus

    May 16, 2020 at 8:55 am

    What would you buy now or wait for this year if you had to have a 3:2 device running windows?

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 17, 2020 at 9:34 pm

      There are a few 3:2 options. Up to what you need

  4. Jared

    June 23, 2020 at 11:01 am

    So lets get this straight… you give a score of 4.25 (85%) to a notebook that has the following negatives?

    In order of importance:

    1) quirky inputs: unforgiving keyboard and clunky clickpad – This is literally one of the most crucial things on ANY laptop. You are saying that typing and clicking sucks. SO in other words the daily usability of this laptop is terrible? You say it KILLS it for you… KILLS.

    2) poor speakers – This again is important for many people on the road and you specifically highlight it as a weakness.

    3) panel flickering at most brightness settings – This is extremely undesirable for any laptop and can induce headache and additional eyestrain. You say it KILLS it for you… KILLS.

    3) glossy display, despite the fact that it's not a touchscreen – Annoying, but not the enc of the world.

    So are you tellnig us, hand on heart, that this laptop deserves a score of 4.25 / 85%, despite getting some fundamentals wrong that you say KILLS it for you? Wow guys, your rating system is broken and your reviews simply cannot be relied upon.

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 23, 2020 at 11:36 am

      Hi, Thanks for your feedback, much appreciated.

      I agree that this rating system is not ideal and highly subjective, but I've yet to come with a better scoring as of yet. Any suggestions? I urge readers not to rely on just a summary/score and read through the whole article, then decide whether the laptop is right for them or not. I mention everything I consider important, with the positives and especially the negatives.

      I based the rating on the good quality 3:2 screen, the competitive pricing, and overall good everyday experience (performance, noise, thermals), but I agree that this product did not deserve that sort of a rating. Still, the fact that I personally wouldn't buy a specific product doesn't mean everyone else is going to feel the same.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *