Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Asus ROG Zephyrus S15 review (2020 GX502LXS – Core i7, RTX 2080 Super)

24 Comments

  1. techdude

    May 19, 2020 at 5:39 pm

    So much power inside, but still only FHD screen. 4K gaming is minimum.

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 19, 2020 at 6:01 pm

      There's no 15-inch 4K panel with fast response and high refresh. But you can game on an external monitor.

  2. Jugram

    May 19, 2020 at 9:38 pm

    Hope to see the review of gx701 zephyr s17
    I want to know the maximum opening angles of s15 and s17

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 19, 2020 at 9:47 pm

      We've reviewed the 2019 model, but don't have the 2020 update yet. The angle is about 145 degrees on both

  3. Lukas

    May 21, 2020 at 2:47 am

    When will the 2070 super variant be available in the U.S.?

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 21, 2020 at 10:26 am

      It's already listed by several stores such as xoticpc.com

  4. LHPSU

    May 21, 2020 at 7:37 am

    Would be great if you could review the new Aero 15 at some point, since it looks like the new design has done a lot to improve the thermal performance.

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 21, 2020 at 10:30 am

      I'll try to source it out, but no promise. We rarely get Gigabyte laptops for review

  5. Jue Li

    May 22, 2020 at 6:07 am

    Do you know if the heatsink is nickel plated to ensure longevity of liquid metal? I don't want something that I have to reapply LM to every year.

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 22, 2020 at 8:40 am

      I don't, but I'll try to find out and get back

  6. EM

    May 24, 2020 at 10:48 am

    Do you have any idea to when the Zephy S17 be release? Thank you

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 24, 2020 at 11:03 am

      In stores? Availability varies between regions, you'll have to ask your local Asus reps.

      • EM

        May 24, 2020 at 11:05 am

        US specifically. Thanks for the reply!

        • Andrei Girbea

          May 24, 2020 at 11:08 am

          Oh, it's already available there from various boutique stores such as excaliberpc or xoticpc, etc

  7. BS

    May 29, 2020 at 2:07 pm

    On the Asus website it is written that liquid metal is only on cpu. where did you get the information that liquid metal on gpu too?

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 29, 2020 at 2:20 pm

      I'll double-check, but you're right, it's only on the CPU. For some reason, I stuck with the information that they applied it on both, from the initial call I had when they presented this. My mistake, sry for the confusion.

  8. JB

    May 31, 2020 at 1:08 am

    Does this laptop have the dynamic boost feature?

  9. Antonio

    June 28, 2020 at 10:41 am

    Dear Andrei, here is Antonio.
    Just 2 general questions given that you test many laptops: this laptop (Asus ROG Zephyrus S15), or the Razer Blade 15 advanced, or the Hero 15, or the ROG Zephyrus G14 with AMD are all great for gaming (there are differences that you explain very well in your detailed reviews but here I am talking in general) and video editing and similar. In terms of scientific computing (excel, VBA, matlab and using quite heavy apps like Bloomberg professional and similar), managing an external 4k monitor, a remote connection my guess is that both the Dell XPS or Lenovo x1 Extreme (I see your detailed reviews) are more or less as good as the ones above (they just lack the graphic power of the ones above) and they are probably more silent and have lower temperatures.
    1) Generally speaking, is my understanding correct?
    Having said that I like the idea to have a laptop that has also a very powerful graphic card, so the once in a while you need that power you have it. I personally like the Razer Blade 15 advanced, the ROG Zephyrus G14 with AMD, the Asus ROG Zephyrus S15 and the ASUS ROG Zephyrus Duo 15 GX550.
    2) If you have to pick one of these in one minute which one would you choose considering everything (I know that some of them have no webcam, that's no problem I would use an external one)? Just your personal preference (no need for any detailed explanation), which is very valuable for me because you test so many laptops, so you have a real knowledge on all these laptops.
    Many thanks.

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 28, 2020 at 10:51 am

      1. Well, not really. With the thinner profiles and smaller thermal modules, laptops such as the XPS and Thinkpad X1E would actually run hotter and noisier than the gaming models. With these, you can opt for the Silent profiles to keep noise down with only a slight performance toll
      2. I'd hard for me to decide, especially since those laptops are different and sell for different amounts of money. Right now, the Asus G14 and M15 are among my favorites in their niches, and the Gigabyte Aero 15 is also something I'd consider.

      You have to factor in your own needs, requirements and budget, and try to narrow things down to what better suits those

      • Antonio

        June 28, 2020 at 11:11 am

        on 1) many thanks.
        On 2) I also prefer the ones from Asus. You write M15 not S15? Is there a material difference?
        The answer on 1) was the most important. Great website.

  10. Paul

    July 9, 2020 at 10:24 am

    Hi Andrei Gibrea, I really enjoy your reviews because they are very instructive in every detail and I´m really very interested in this laptop mainly on the rtx 2070S but I have some doubts and I would really appreciate it if you help me answering these questions.
    :
    Do you see details around primium?
    How primium does it feel to use it and compared to the razer blade?
    How comfortable is the keyboard in long typing periods?
    Is the screen colors useful for editing images and videos?It is acceptable?

    I´m a student and I would like to have a laptop that can play but also use it to edit photos and video (I do it exporadically for fun and I have a QLED monitor), I also plan to take a programming course.
    Do you think this would work for me or should I see other laptops?
    Thank you so much.

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 9, 2020 at 11:02 am

      The article answers your questions. This is a good laptop.

      As for that Blade 15, it is slightly nicer in terms of build quality, but also more expensive.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *