Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Acer Predator Triton 500 PT515-51 Andrei Girbea Rating: 4.25 out of 5

Acer Predator Triton 500 review (i7-8750H, RTX 2080 Max-Q, 144 Hz screen)

19 Comments

  1. ONI

    January 31, 2019 at 12:21 pm

    Does this sentence "However, with GSync and no eGPU, you’re still not going to get much in terms of battery life." mean that it will not be possible to connect a eGPU like Razer Core to this laptop?

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 4, 2019 at 12:53 pm

      It was supposed to say dGPU. An eGPU should work, although compatibility with the Core is uncertain and should be tested.

      • Tazerr

        March 7, 2019 at 2:14 pm

        Does rtx 2060 model of Acer predator triton 500 have Nvidia Optimus support as it doesn't have G-Sync?

        • Andrei Girbea

          March 7, 2019 at 3:28 pm

          I haven't touched it, but from what I've seen, it comes with Optimus and no GSync, so should have much better battery life.

          • Jason Cheng

            March 23, 2019 at 5:58 pm

            It really doesn't. I just got my laptop with a 2060 and it has about 2.5 hours at 10% brightness with battery saver on. Any idea on how to make it last longer?

          • Andrei Girbea

            March 25, 2019 at 11:20 am

            Use HWinfo and check out the Power drain stats in Sensors >> Battery section. |this should help you narrow down if the CPU clock down properly and if the GPU switches OFF. The Optimus option should be in BIOS as far as I know.

  2. Tayler Miller

    February 12, 2019 at 1:00 pm

    Would the rtx 2060 date better with fam noise?

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 12, 2019 at 1:08 pm

      It should, yes, but the more important benefit would be lower temperatures. There should be good value in the RTX 2060 variants of most laptops, better than with the 2070s and definitely better than with the expensive 2080s.

  3. Bobby Michael

    February 15, 2019 at 8:26 pm

    Notebookcheck just published their review of the Triton 500 with the 2080 MQ and found the 180W charger was sufficient. They didn't mention anything about battery discharge. Do you know anyone there that you could chat with to see if perhaps they didn't run the right tests to determine whether the battery discharges or not?

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 15, 2019 at 8:59 pm

      Interesting. I would trust their measurements. I think our sample worked differently though, and it discharged with games on the overclocked profile. They don't seem to mention anything about the OC GPU profile, nor have a lot of gaming tests.

      They mention 1215 MHz for the GPU in Witcher and fairly low temperatures, we got around 1500 Mhz in Far Cry 5 and Battlefield V, which are similarly demanding titles, with higher temperatures. Thus the GPU in our sample performed better, so it drew more power. HWinfo did not recognize the GPU at the time of the article, so I don't have any exact TDP data for the GPU.

      Also, look at the VDDC value here: https://www.ultrabookreview.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/01/perf-temps-gaming-farcry-default.png, it's much higher compared to the one on their Witcher 3 log.

      They also don't post any 3Dmark results, so there's really no way to tell how their sample compared to ours.

      • Spyzie

        April 5, 2019 at 7:43 pm

        Hi Andrei,

        Quick note – I received this laptop a couple days ago and I noticed some drain after playing an hour or so of Civilization 6 (battery was at 89%). It looks like the 180v power brick that comes with the laptop is not sufficient to power the laptop under high loads.

        I'm considering returning the laptop, too bad because the gaming performance is fantastic. Thoughts on this?

        • Andrei Girbea

          April 8, 2019 at 1:31 pm

          I experienced power drain myself, as explained in the battery life section. Up to you if you can live with this issues or not.

          • Yigitcan Sukru Akkas

            April 10, 2019 at 8:19 pm

            Is it possible to get a 230w power brick that is suitable for this laptop?

          • Andrei Girbea

            April 11, 2019 at 11:06 am

            That's a good question, but I don't have an answer for that. Perhaps you could ask Acer support about that…

  4. Wilson764

    February 22, 2019 at 2:42 am

    Hi it seems 2060 variant does not come with g-sync as i see it on amazon. Could ye confirm this?

  5. littlerm

    March 8, 2019 at 9:56 pm

    Just got my Triton 800 with RTX 2080, 16GB, 512 SSD. In the bios I have an option for switchable graphics – "MSHybrid" and "dGPU". This was rather unexpected and a great bonus!

  6. Fireplug

    March 19, 2019 at 8:00 pm

    My Acer Predator Triton 500 is on its way today. Can I ask, did you use Throttlestop for your undervolting? If so could you post a screenshot of your settings on that? Thanks so much for all the valuable info that help[ed lead me to this laptop choice.

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 25, 2019 at 11:16 am

      You can use either XTU or Throttlestop. I don't have a print screen with the settings, but they are explained in the article.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *