Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

The complete list of portable laptops with a Thunderbolt 3 port

The complete list of portable laptops with a Thunderbolt 3 port
By Andrei Girbea , last updated on November 28, 2018

We’ve seen Thunderbolt ports on enthusiast computers for a while now, but these days Thunderbolt is becoming the port everyone wants on a new laptop, regardless of size, form-factor or budget.

The 3rd generation of Thunderbolt is a significant upgrade over its predecessors and in many ways, the one port that could replace all others.

Physically, it’s an USB Type-C connector, thus compact and reversible. Technically, it can provide transfer speeds of up to 40 Gbps, it allows to connect up to two 4K 60 Hz displays while outputting video and audio signal at the same time, it supports DisplayPort 1.2, HDMI 2.0  and 10 GbE fast networking, as well as charging.

In other words, Thunderbolt 3 is the compact and versatile connector you can use to charge your laptop, transfer files at fast speeds, connect external monitors and other peripherals, including PCIe compatible graphics units (like the Razer Core, which we reviewed here). This last aspect is particularly interesting, as it allows OEMs to design ultra-portable laptops able to actually handle some serious gaming once hooked up to these eGPUs.

The versatility and compact size of the Thunderbolt 3 connector also makes it ideal for slim and ultra-compact computers, which wouldn’t otherwise have the space around their sides for regular-sized ports.

We’re going to talk more about Thunderbolt 3 and its capabilities towards the end of the post. For now, let’s get to the complete list of all the available laptops and ultra-portables that offer at least one Thunderbolt 3 port at the time of this update.

Since there are many such computers out there, we’ll split them in three different groups: compact laptops (with 13-inch screens or smaller), large-screen portable laptops (15 to 17-inch screens) and full-size notebooks (15-inch screens or larger).

This list only includes laptops released in the last 2-3 years, and only the latest version of each laptop is mentioned, although the previous generations might also support Thunderbolt 3.

13-inch (and smaller) ultraportables with Thunderbolt 3 connectors

ModelTypeScreenHardwareTB3 portsPrice
Acer Aspire Switch 12S2-in-112.5″ touchup to 6th gen Core Y w/ Intel HD1$1199
Acer Aspire R132-in-113.3″ touchup to 6th gen Core U w/ Intel HD1 x2$899
Asus Transformer 3 ProTablet12.6″ touchup to 7th gen Core U w/ Intel HD1 x4$999
Asus Transformer 3Tablet12.6″ touchup to 6th gen Y w/ Intel HD1 x4$799
Alienware 13Gaming13.3″up to 6th Core HQ w/ Nvidia GTX 10601 x4$1199
Apple MacBook Pro 13Ultraportable13.3″up to 8th gen Core U w/ Intel Iris UHD2 x4, 2 x2$1499
Dell Latitude 12 7000Ultraportable12.0″up to 8th gen Core U w/ Intel UHD2 x4$1079
Dell Latitude 12 7000 2-in-12-in-112.5″ touchup to 7th gen Core Y w/ Intel HD2 x4$1049
Dell Latitude 13 7000
Ultraportable13.3″up to 8th gen Core U w/ Intel UHD1 x4$1199
Dell XPS 12Tablet12.0″ touchup to 6th gen Core Y w/ Intel HD2 x2$999
Dell XPS 13Ultraportable13.3″up to 8th gen Core U w/ Intel UHD1 x2$999
Dell XPS 13 2-in-1Convertible13.3″up to 7th gen Core Y w/ Intel HD1 x4$999

Huawei MateBook X ProConvertible13.9″ touchup to 8th gen Core U w/ Intel UHD1 x2$1199
HP Elite X2Tablet12.0″ touchup to 7th gen Core Y w/ Intel HD1 x4$899
HP EliteBook 830Ultraportable13.3″up to 8th gen Core U w/ Intel UHD1 x4$1299
HP EliteBook FolioUltraportable12.5″up to 6th gen Core Y w/ Intel HD2 x4$1099
HP Elitebook x360 13Convertible13.3″ touchup to 8th gen Core U w/ Intel UHD1 x4$2399
HP Spectre x360 13Convertible13.3″ touchup to 8th gen Core U w/ Intel UHD2 x4$1049
Lenovo IdeaPad 720sUltraportable13.3″up to 8th gen Core U w/ Intel UHD1 x2 (?)$849
Lenovo Yoga 730 13Convertible13.3″ touchup to 8th gen Core U w/ Intel UHD2 x4$799
Lenovo Yoga 920Convertible13.9″ touchup to 8th gen Core U w/ Intel UHD2 x4$1299
Lenovo ThinkPad Yoga X380Convertible13.3″ touchup to 8h gen Core U w/ Intel UHD1 x4$1399
Lenovo ThinkPad X1 TabletTablet13.0″ touchup to 8h gen Core U w/ Intel UHD1 x4$1299
Lenovo ThinkPad X 12-inchUltraportable12.5″up to 8h gen Core U w/ Intel UHD1 x4$1099
Razer Blade StealthUltraportable12.5″ touchup to 8th gen Core U w/ Intel UHD1 x4$999
Toshiba Portégé X20WConvertible12.5″ touchup to 8th gen Core U w/ Intel UHD1 x4$999
Toshiba Portégé X30Ultraportable13.3″ touchup to 8th gen Core U w/ Intel UHD1 x4$1299

If you’re looking for a larger screen and faster hardware, but still want to stay within compact and portable ranges (under 4 lbs for 14-inchers, under 5 lbs for 15 inchers, under 6 lbs for 17-inchers), then these are the options to consider.

14 to 17-inch portable laptops with Thunderbolt 3 connectors

ModelTypeScreenHardwareTB3 portsPrice
Acer Swift 7 Black EditionConvertible14.0″up to 7th gen Core Y w/ Intel HD1 x4$1499
Acer Predator Triton 700Gaming15.6″up to 8th gen Core H w/ Nvidia GTX 1080MQ1 x4$1899
Apple MacBook Pro 15Ultraportable15.6″up to 8th gen Core H w/ AMD Radeon 5602 x4, 2 x2$2299
Asus ROG Zephyrus GX501Gaming15.6″up to 8th gen Core H w/ Nvidia GTX 1080MQ1 x4$1999
Asus Zenbook 3 Deluxe UX490UAUltraportable14.0″up to 7th gen Core U w/ Intel HD2 x4$1699
Asus Zenbook Pro UX550Multimedia15.6″up to 8th gen Core H w/ Nvidia GTX 1050 Ti2 x4*$1299
Asus Zenbook Pro UX580Multimedia15.6″up to 8th gen Core H w/ Nvidia GTX 1050Ti2 x4*$1499
Dell Precision 15 5000 SeriesWorkstation15.6″up to 8th gen Core H or Xeon w/ Nvidia Quadro1 x4$1549
Dell Latitude 14 7000
Ultraportable14.0″up to 8th gen Core U w/ Intel HD1 x4$1049
Dell XPS 15Multimedia15.6″ touchup to 8th gen Core HQ w/ Nvidia GTX 1050 Ti1 x4$999
Dell XPS 15 2-in-1Convertible15.6″ touchup to 8th gen Core G w/ Radeon RX Vega M2 x4$999
Gigabyte Aero 15xGaming15.6″up to 8th gen Core H w/ Nvidia GTX 10601 x4$1899
HP Omen 15Gaming15.6″up to 8th gen Core H w/ Nvidia GTX 1060MQ1 x4$999
HP Omen 17Gaming17.3″up to 8th gen Core H w/ Nvidia GTX 1060MQ1 x4$1099
HP Spectre x360 15Convertible15.6″ touchup to 8th gen Core G w/ Radeon RX Vega M1 x4$1299
HP EliteBook 840Ultraportable14.0″up to 8th gen Core U w/ Intel UHD1 x4$1249
HP EliteBook 850Ultraportable15.6″up to 8th gen Core U w/ AMD RX5401 x4$1249
HP EliteBook 1040Ultraportable14.0″up to 7th gen Core U w/ Intel HD1 x4$1399
HP ZBook 14uWorkstation14.0″up to 8th gen Core U w/ AMD Radeon™ Pro WX 31001 x4$1549
HP ZBook 15uWorkstation15.6″up to 8th gen Core U w/ AMD Radeon™ Pro WX 31001 x4$1649
Lenovo IdeaPad 720sUltraportable14.0″up to 7th gen Core U w/ Nvidia 940MX1 x2 (?)$999
Lenovo ThinkPad 25Ultraportable14.0″up to 7th gen Core U w/ Nvidia 940MX1 x4$1899
Lenovo ThinkPad T480Ultraportable14.0″up to 8th gen Core U w/ Nvidia MX1501 x2$859
Lenovo ThinkPad T580Ultraportable15.6″up to 8th gen Core U w/ Nvidia MX1501 x4$999
Lenovo ThinkPad T480sUltraportable14.0″up to 8th gen Core U w/ Intel HD1 x4$1199
Lenovo ThinkPad P1Workstation15.6″up to 8th gen Core HK w/ Nvidia Quadro2 x4$1899
Lenovo ThinkPad X1 CarbonUltraportable14.0″up to 8th gen Core U w/ Intel UHD2 x4$1199
Lenovo ThinkPad X1 ExtremeMultimedia15.6″up to 8th gen Core HK w/ Nvidia 1050 Ti MQ2 x4$1849
Lenovo ThinkPad X1 YogaConvertible14.0″up to 8th gen Core U w/ Intel UHD2 x4$1499
Lenovo Yoga 730 15Multimedia15.6″ touchCore HQ w/ Nvidia 10501 x4$999
LG Gram 15Ultraportable15.6″ touchup to 8th gen Core U w/ Intel UHD1 x4$1299
MSI GS43VR Phantom ProGaming14.0″Core HQ w/ Nvidia GTX 10601 x4$1499
MSI GS65 Stealth ThinGaming15.6″up to 8th gen Core H w/ Nvidia GTX 1070 MQ1 x4$1899
MSI GS63VR Stealth ProGaming15.6″up to 8th gen Core H w/ Nvidia GTX 10601 x4$1799
MSI GS73VR Stealth ProGaming17.3″up to 8th gen Core H w/ Nvidia GTX 10601 x4$1799
Razer Blade 14Gaming14.0″up to 7th gen Core H w/ Nvidia GTX 10601 x4$1799
Razer Blade 15Gaming15.6″up to 8th gen Core H w/ Nvidia GTX 10701 x4$1899
Razer Blade Pro 17Gaming17.3″up to 8th gen Core H w/ Nvidia GTX 10801 x4$1999

Last but not least, if you don’t care about portability at all and simply want a powerful computer with a large screen, capable graphics and a Thunderbolt 3 port, these are the options for you.

15 to 21-inch full-size notebooks with Thunderbolt 3 connectors

ModelTypeScreenHardwareTB3 portsPrice
Acer Aspire V15 NitroMultimedia15.6″Core HQ w/ Nvidia GTX 960M / 10601 x4$999
Acer Aspire V17 NitroMultimedia17.3″Core HQ w/ Nvidia GTX 960M / 10601 x4$999
Asus ROG GL502VMGaming15.6″Core HQ w/ Nvidia GTX 10601 x2$1399
Asus ROG GL702VMGaming17.3″Core HQ w/ Nvidia GTX 10601 x2$1399
Acer Predator 15Gaming15.6″Core HQ w/ Nvidia GTX 970M to 10701 x4$1499
Acer Predator 17Gaming17.3″Core HQ w/ Nvidia GTX 970M to 10701 x4$1499
Acer Predator Helios 500Gaming17.3″Core H w/ Nvidia GTX 10702$1899
Alienware 15Gaming15.6″Core HK w/ Nvidia GTX 1050 to 10701 x4$1199
Alienware 17Gaming17.3″Core HK w/ Nvidia GTX 1050 to 10801 x4$1499
Asus ROG G752VT / G752VL / G752VYGaming17.3″Core HQ w/ Nvidia GTX 970M or 980M1$1299
Asus ROG G752VM / G752VSGaming17.3″Core HQ w/ Nvidia GTX 1060 or 10701$1399
Asus ROG GX800Gaming17.3″Core HK w/ Nvidia GTX 1080 and SLI 10801$2499
Clevo P750 / Sager NP9758Gaming15.6″Core HK w/ Nvidia GTX 970M to 980M1 x4$1749
Clevo P750DM2 / Sager NP9152 / Schenker XMG U507Gaming15.6″Core K w/ Nvidia GTX 1060 to 10701 x4$1799
Clevo P775DM3 / Sager NP9172 / Schenker XMG U717Gaming17.3″Core K w/ Nvidia GTX 1060 to 10801 x4$1849
Clevo P870 / Sager NP9876 / Schenker XMG U727Gaming17.3″Core K w/ Nvidia GTX 10802$2899
Dell Inspiron Gaming 7577Workstation15.6″Core HQ w/ Nvidia 1060 MQ1 x4$999
Dell Precision 15 3000 SeriesWorkstation15.6″Core HQ w/ AMD FirePro1 x4$999
Dell Precision 15 7000 seriesWorkstation15.6″Core HQ or Xeon w/ AMD FirePro or Nvidia Quadro1 x4$1199
Dell Precision 17 7000 seriesWorkstation17.3″Core HQ or Xeon w/ Nvidia Quadro1 x4$2299
Lenovo IdeaPad Y900 / Y910
Gaming17.3″Core HQ w/ Nvidia GTX 980M / 10701$1999
Lenovo Legion Y720Gaming15.6″Core HQ w/ Nvidia GTX 10601 x4$1099
Lenovo Legion Y920Gaming17.3″Core HQ w/ Nvidia GTX 10701 x4$2499
Lenovo ThinkPad P50Workstation15.6″Core HQ w/ Nvidia Quadro2 x4$1399
Lenovo ThinkPad P52Workstation15.6″Core H w/ Nvidia Quadro2 x4$1299
Lenovo ThinkPad P52sWorkstation15.6″Core H w/ Nvidia Quadro1 x2$1499
Lenovo ThinkPad P70Workstation17.3″Core HQ w/ Nvidia Quadro2 x4$1899
HP ZBook 15
Workstation15.6″Core HQ w/ Nvidia Quadro1 x4$1499
HP ZBook 17Workstation17.3″Core HQ w/ Nvidia Quadro1 x4$1999
MSI GT73VR TitanGaming17.3″Core HK w/ Nvidia GTX 10701 x4$2199
MSI GT80S TitanGaming18.4″Core HK w/ Nvidia GTX 980 SLI1$3499
MSI GT83VR Titan ProGaming18.4″Core HK w/ Nvidia GTX SLI 1070 or 10801 x4$3499
Razer Blade ProGaming17.3″Core HQ w/ Nvidia GTX 10801 x4$3699

*these laptops get two TB3 ports that share a 4 lane PCIe connection. That means you get the 4x speeds while only one peripheral is hooked in, but when you hook up two different ones they’ll share the lines. In other words, you don’t get two ports with two dedicated 4x lanes each, but two ports that share a single 4x line connection.

There’s a catch about the Thunderbolt 3 connection, it can be hooked up to the motherboard via x2 or x4 PCIe lanes. The x2 TB3 port is half the speed of the x4 TB3 connection and is primarily a problem when hooking up an external graphics chip and playing on the notebook’s internal display. Hooking up the eGPU and playing on an external monitor hooked to the eGPU works fine.

Now, let’s get back to why this Thunderbolt 3 port is such a big deal. Here are a couple of thoughts:

  • the USB Type-C connector is compact and reversible, so compatible cables are not going to take a lot of space. Also, unlike most other connectors like USB Type-A, DisplayPort, HDMI, etc, an USB Type-C cable not longer has a “right-way” to plug in, making it easier to use.
  • the Thunderbolt 3 port could replace all the other standard connectors in the near future, that means we’ll have one universal connector and one type of cable for pretty much all basic needs.
  • TB3 allows for very fast transfer speeds, which opens up space for a multitude of compatible accessories: fast external storage units, external graphics and processing units, external docking stations, etc.
  • TB3 can output video, audio and power at the same time, so is a solution for connecting high-resolution external monitors or TV sets.
  • TB3 is also capable of network transfer speeds of up to 40 Gbps, so can be a solution if you want to transfer content fast within your network.
  • TB3 can also be used for charging your device, as long as it doesn’t require more than 100 W of power. So good-bye dedicated charging cables.
Thunderbolt 3 is versatile, compact and easy to use

Thunderbolt 3 is versatile, compact and easy to use – source

One compact port can do all of these, so no wonder manufacturers are adding TB3 on the latest laptops.

But what does Thunderbolt 3 mean for ultraportable notebooks? It allows OEMs to design thinner, lighter and smaller devices which wouldn’t have the space around their sides for regular sized ports. Yes, that means you’ll need to buy adapters for your existing cables and devices, but to some extent, that’s a sacrifice I’m willing to make. These smaller computers can be hooked up to peripherals and transformed from the ultraportable travel companions they represent by their own, to business, multimedia and even gaming computers. You can hook up an external monitor for extra screen real-estate, a storage unit, a docking station with extra ports or those graphics units. External graphics units won’t show their true power when hooked up to an ultraportable, as these are usually built on Core M or Core U processors, but thin-and-light 15-inchers with quad-core processors and a solid amount of RAM will be good matches for the graphics capabilities of a full-size desktop card.

There is however a fair-amount of confusion around Thunderbolt 3, mostly because it’s impossible to determine whether a device is TB3 compatible or not simply by looking at the physical connector. And that’s because TB3 and regular USB 3.1 ports both use an USB Type-C connector, but have different capabilities. The Apple Macbook for instance offers an USB 3.1 port, but not Thunderbolt 3. Standard USB 3.1 Type-C connectors still support data, video and audio transfers, but are limited to a lower bandwidth, so will perform slower, can’t carry power and aren’t compatible with graphics units, among others.

As of early 2016 there aren’t many Thunderbolt 3 compatible accessories available in stores, but that’s going to change in the future (and we’ll cover them in a later article). Knowing that, having a Thunderbolt 3 port on your laptop might not sit that high on your list of priorities right now. However, if you plan to keep the laptop you’re buying today for at least 2-3 years, then you should consider something with TB3 for future proofness, especially if you plan to take advantage of the matching peripherals down the line.

With that in mind, we’ll wrap this up here. I’ll continue to update this list of Thunderbolt 3 compatible laptops as often as possible, adding the new entries as they become available, but if you spot something that should be in here and it’s not, make sure to drop a line in the comments section below, where I’ll also wait for your feedback and questions, if any.

Andrei Girbea, Editor-in-Chief of Ultrabookreview.com. I've been covering mobile computers since the 2000s and you'll mostly find reviews and thorough guides written by me here on the site.

168 Comments

  1. Jeff

    August 17, 2017 at 10:07 am

    This is actually useful. Thank you so much!

  2. SK Lee

    August 17, 2017 at 4:05 pm

    Thank you. This list is legendary. As a go-to tech guy amongst my peers I will never recommend a laptop that's not in this list. Please keep this up until everything is TB3!

    • Mariano

      May 15, 2018 at 5:26 pm

      Agreed, it would be very nice to have an updated reference.

      Another device to add is the HP Zbook X2

      Not sure if you would count it as Tablet (which it is) since it is 14.6" Screen. Does have two Thunder Bolt 3 ports. (Currently using it to drive a couple of monitors through a Caldigit TS3 dock) Hoping to get an eGpu hooked up this Christmas.

  3. Jeff

    September 7, 2017 at 5:20 am

    You might want to add the new released "Lenovo Ideapad 720s" to 14 inch list.

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 14, 2017 at 4:59 am

      Thanks, updated

      • Tanner

        June 3, 2018 at 11:22 pm

        I was reading that if the TB3 PCI-E lanes weren't direct to the CPU and was to a controller, speeds will suffer. Is it possible to add that detail to the tables?

        • Daniel

          July 22, 2018 at 11:07 pm

          I was looking for this information as well! Would be great if that info can be added, as well!

  4. Javier

    September 10, 2017 at 6:53 am

    Thank you for the post, it's really useful. Please don't stop updating the list.

    Lenovo IdeaPad 720S has also Thunderbolt 3 port

    Cheers,
    Javier

    • Javier

      September 10, 2017 at 7:43 am

      Another one with Thunderbolt 3: ASUS ZenBook Pro UX550VD

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 14, 2017 at 5:02 am

      Thanks, updated

  5. Jacob Ahern

    September 19, 2017 at 4:14 pm

    Hello.

    I got an Asus rog gl702vs from best buy, and though it shows on Best and Asus that it has 40gbs Tb3, I'm reading from people saying it has the JHL6240 controller that's only X2.

    Does anyone have a definitive answer on the gl702vs having full Tb3 x4???

  6. Karl

    October 17, 2017 at 4:10 am

    Thank you so much for this!

  7. Jeff

    October 27, 2017 at 2:10 pm

    Just FYI, ThinkPad T470 and T570 can be configured with Nvidia 940MX GPU too.

    Also you can add Thinkpad 25 into the 14 inch list too.

  8. Derek

    October 27, 2017 at 9:24 pm

    Hi, can you please comment on the Lenovo Thinkpad 25 and Lenovo Yoga 920, and add them to the list? Thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 30, 2017 at 5:12 am

      The Yoga 920 seems likie an excellent pick, but I haven't properly reviewed it so I can't draw proper conclusions without details on the temperatures, performance under load and noise levels. If those are in check though, this would be one of the best convertibles out there, probably even better than the HP Spectre x360.

      As for the ThinkPad 25, personally I'm not impressed. The screen is pretty bad and it's overpriced. Also, as a long time ThinkPad user, the classic style keyboard is a little over-hyped imo. I still have the X220 around with a very similar classic style keyboard, but these days I personally prefer some of the newer keyboards with shorter clicks. So overall I'd rather get the T470 (which is mostly the same laptop, but cheaper) or perhaps the X1 Yoga with the convertible form factor and better screen choices.

      • Derek

        October 30, 2017 at 6:24 pm

        Thanks, Andrei. In particular I am interested in knowing about whether the Yoga 920 has dual or quad channel Thunderbolt 3. Do you happen to know? I wasn't able to find such info easily.

        • Derek

          October 30, 2017 at 6:26 pm

          NM. Please ignore, I see you added the Yoga 920. Thanks!

        • Andrei Girbea

          October 31, 2017 at 4:00 am

          I'd expect 4x PCIe TB3 given Lenovo implements this faster option on the Yoga 720 and most of their other lower level laptops.

          • cody

            March 5, 2018 at 10:59 pm

            Hello, everyone seems to be saying that the yoga 720 uses 2x pcie, are you sure it is 4x?

          • Nick

            March 18, 2018 at 6:14 pm

            The list says that the Yoga 720 has Thunderbolt with 4 lanes, but I've seen sources claiming that it is using only 2. What I really want to know is this: Can you use an eGPU solution, using all 4 lines. A friend of mine suggested, that it;s using 4 lanes, only when on of the TB3 ports is in use. If this is the case, what if the other port is using just for charging and is there a way around this ?
            Thank you in advance !

  9. Jeff

    November 1, 2017 at 6:02 am

    Another laptops with thunderbolt 3 port:
    Thinkpad P51
    Thinkpad P51s
    Thinkpad P71

  10. Kyamil

    November 2, 2017 at 8:57 am

    Hello,
    toward the end of this article, you said that hooking up an eGPU to a x2 TB3 is not a problem if you're using an external monitor as well. Is there a difference in GPU perfomance between a x2 to extrenal monitor vs x4 to an external monitor? Or does the external monitor connection nullify the speed difference between x2 and x4 TB3 ports? I am considering purchasing a new ultrabook and want to combine it with an eGPU, coz I prefer buying an eGPU + a monitor than getting a whole another machine for occassional gaming.
    Thanks in advance, Adrei! ^^

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 2, 2017 at 9:02 am

      As far as I know, there isn't a significant difference in that case (eGPU hooked to the laptop + external monitor connected to the eGPU), but I'd further dig into this, I don't have a lot of experience with eGPUs.

      • Kyamil

        November 2, 2017 at 10:02 am

        Dave Lee talks about it, but doesn't test further. He mentions there's going to be a difference in his video about the new XPS 13 and tests the Asus Transformer with Razer's eGPU box + a 1080 from Nvidia but that's just one device and the thing he tests is if there's a difference if you're using an external monitor or not – not if there's a difference if you're using an external monitor with a x2 or a x4 TB3 port. Please update if you get the chance. It could be the difference for an year or two of gaming. ^^

  11. LDecem

    November 10, 2017 at 8:44 am

    Hello Andrei,
    As you mentionned in the paragraph at the bottom of those tables, a TB3 hooked with only x2 lanes PCI-E halves the speed. Is it to say that such a port has only 20 Gbps?
    But I notice that, on Dell's website, they describe the TB3 of their product XPS 13 9360 (which is an x2 lanes one) has 40 Gbps double directions speed. Are they wrong?
    THX

    • Josh

      November 13, 2017 at 9:51 am

      Some of Dell's marketing materials are deceiving; I've posted the definitive list from Dell below. The XPS 9365 convertible does have x4 lanes, but the 9360 and 9560 have only x2. This does not mean that external graphics performance is halved however; if you are using an external monitor with an eGPU and a 10XX series nVidia graphics card, and no other devices are connected to the Thunderbolt port, you will likely only notice a small loss of performance between x2 and x4. The post below shows one publication's tests of x2 vs x4 PCI graphics performance, though it was directly connected to a computer's motherboard rather than an eGPU.

      The performance difference will become much more noticeable if you were to use the laptop's display with an eGPU, as data has to be transmitted both ways across the Thunderbolt port.

      Dell has an updated list at https://www.dell.com/support/article/us/en/19/qna44089/thunderbolt-3-40gbps-data-transfer-rate?lang=en

      https://www.reddit.com/r/Dell/comments/5otmir/an_approximation_of_the_difference_between_x2_x4/

  12. Stanley

    November 14, 2017 at 10:57 am

    Hello Andrei–since this list now includes older and now the newer 8th Gen quad-core U-Series chips, could we add a column or designation for these much higher performance (but still ultraportable) devices?

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 15, 2017 at 4:28 am

      Thanks for the suggestion. Not sure how to do that other than specify the exact family of CPUs used, like: up to KabyLake-R Core U. Would that help?

      • Stanley

        November 20, 2017 at 3:05 pm

        Yeah, that would definitely help. Also, in the table, the XPS 13 2-in-1 9365 is listed as a U-series processor, but the latest I've found is that it's a Y-series chip.

        • Andrei Girbea

          November 21, 2017 at 6:14 am

          Thanks, I'll do that in the next update, can't tell for sure when though, will take a few weeks. Sry, I'm caught up with a lot of other articles and the site is mostly a one man show :)

  13. blakev

    November 20, 2017 at 11:25 am

    How about dual or quad core? Or watts? 8th gen (like the 8550U) is only 15W (not sure if every 8th gen is so….) – then we could tell at a glance based on the form factor.

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 21, 2017 at 6:12 am

      It's 15W for now, but there will be other SKUs launched in the months to come.

  14. jacob

    November 21, 2017 at 4:20 pm

    I can confirm that the MSI GS73 7RE (NOT GS73VR), but MSI GS73 7RE (without VR) 100% has 4 pcie lane Thunderbolt 3. I confirmed this with many devices.
    This model is the gtx 1050 4gb model. I believe its the cheapest of these.

  15. Alex

    November 29, 2017 at 8:33 am

    Can you confirm which 17" Hp Omen has the Thunderbolt 3 port.

    Looking at two here: Hp 17-an018na and Hp 17-an019na

    On the product page for both, it says:

    "Level up to the latest hardware and make upgrading a breeze with single panel access to internals. A Thunderbolt 3-certified USB-C™ port[3], 3 USB Type A ports, and an HDMI port lets you easily adapt to all the action."

    But having read through these pages, one is saying that the an019na has the thunderbolt 3 port and the an018na does not. And the other page, the hp Support agent is saying HP do not have Thunderbolt 3 port on any of there laptops. Very confusing because they have actually on their specs sheet for the an019na but not on the an018na but both have same description.

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 30, 2017 at 5:30 am

      As far as I can tell the an019na has TB3 and the other doesn't according to the specs, like you're saying. I wouldn't trust the support agents, they sometimes don't know such fine details.

  16. Jeff

    December 12, 2017 at 1:30 am

    Another laptop with thunderbolt 3 port: Asus ROG Zephyrus

  17. mystiq

    December 21, 2017 at 12:22 pm

    hello andrei,
    i saw asus gl502vm on the list, is that skylake version(6700hq) or kabylake version (7700hq) ?
    please need the information

  18. C

    December 30, 2017 at 2:08 am

    Lenovo Miix 720 has thunderbolt 3

  19. Darrell Roberts

    December 30, 2017 at 3:54 pm

    i want to buy a laptop and docking station for home and travel for my small business. what is your suggestion for a system with laptop capable of remaining closed, using my display and keyboard, etc. at home and being able to just unplug laptop whenever i travel. i want a 14-15 inch display for laptop

  20. Vince

    January 11, 2018 at 2:01 pm

    The HP Zbook 15 G4 and 7 G4 actually have two thunderbolt 3 ports.

    • Scott

      March 26, 2018 at 4:10 pm

      Are these x2 or x4 ports?

  21. Keith Hubbard

    February 7, 2018 at 12:12 pm

    Also, the Eve V (eve-tech.com) is not in the under 14" list.

  22. Adiran

    February 28, 2018 at 11:33 pm

    Samsung Notebook 9 have one thunderbolt 3 port. Not sure if it has 4 lanes inside it.
    NP900X5T-X01US
    NP900X5T-K01US
    NP900X5N-X01US

  23. KS

    May 18, 2018 at 1:57 pm

    well the title is about thunderbolt 3, but in the article you also explained that "The Apple Macbook for instance offers an USB 3.1 port, but not Thunderbolt 3." Will it be better if you change the title or the main theme to "usb tpye c" instead? Just a suggestion. Thank you and this article is amazing!

  24. IS

    May 22, 2018 at 6:59 am

    Lenovo Yoga 730 15-inch please?

  25. Jun Gumabay

    June 12, 2018 at 9:42 am

    Thank you for keeping this updated. It's a good list that many people will reference.

    It would be cool if there were a column of data that stated which quarter of the year the laptop was first sold.

    Thanks for your consideration.

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 12, 2018 at 12:51 pm

      Thanks, will consider that for the next update

  26. DK

    June 20, 2018 at 10:59 pm

    There is a mistake in the chart. The Yoga 720 13.3" only has ONE Thunderbolt, not two. There was, for a short time, a Yoga 720 that had two, but Lenovo changed the name (its now the Yoga 730). So only the Yoga 730 and 920 have two Thunderbolts, not the 720.

    I purchased the Yoga 720 because I wanted two TB3 and regret it now. I blame this in part on this error on your chart, but more on the vendor's intentionally vague website which was worded to mislead people into thinking both USB-C ports had TB3. Lenovo has since clarified the language on their website. I recommend that you do as well.

  27. Brad

    August 23, 2018 at 8:00 am

    A Lenovo sales rep confirmed to me tonight via chat that the ThinkPad P52, Part Number: 20M9000FUS (but I would assume all the 8th gen processer P52's….), has 2 x USB 3.1 Gen 2 Type-C Thunderbolt 3 ports hooked up to the motherboard via x4 PCIe lanes.

    • Brad

      October 10, 2018 at 11:55 am

      I asked a different sales rep the other day (october '18), and this second rep said it wasn't true, one was x2 and the other x4. Goodness me…..

  28. Diego Vargas

    October 2, 2018 at 11:13 pm

    Hi Andrei. I've got a couple of questions: why isn't the Acer Predator Helios 500 included on this list? As far as I'm concerned, it not only has one Thunderbolt 3 connection but two of them. Could you please review it and add it to the list? Also regarding that same laptop, do you know exactly what type of Thunderbolt ports does it have? are they dual-lane or four-lane ports? Thank you so much for this effort.

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 3, 2018 at 11:38 am

      Hi. I added the Helios 500 to the list. We haven't reviewed it though and I can't find any good info on the TB3 configuration. I would expect x2 each, like on the Zenbook Pros, but I can be wrong. Perhaps you can find some owners on the forums or on reddit and ask them about it. Sry I can't be of more assistance.

  29. Cyrus

    November 3, 2018 at 4:11 am

    Can I buy a laptop with USB 3.0 or Thunderbolt connections and then plug in my audio interface for my guitar or for my keyboard my USB cable with an adapter of some sort and still be able to use them? Another words right now I have an audio interface and music keyboard which are able to use USB. But it would be great to have zero latency so I was wondering about upgrading my laptop and getting faster connections. Will they work with tools that otherwise would plug into a USB port?

  30. Kousuke

    November 13, 2018 at 4:08 pm

    Thinpad T480 only has 2 lanes THunderbolt

  31. LevelPlayingField

    November 25, 2018 at 12:52 am

    Why do you have the "LG Gram 15" listed as a "Convertible?" This was an error, correct? I searched everything I could and could not find an LG laptop 2-in-1??

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 25, 2018 at 1:45 pm

      Yes, that was an error. Updated and sry for the confusion.

  32. Gonzalo

    November 25, 2018 at 6:36 am

    Thinkpad P72 de17.3 pulgadas tiene 2 puertos thunderbolt 3; pero desconozco si son 2x o 4x. Alguien con información?

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 25, 2018 at 1:51 pm

      I'm working on a review of the P72, will update with more information in the near future

  33. Roberto

    November 28, 2018 at 2:04 pm

    Are you sure for the matebook x pro? because i found many post that explain the 2-lines tb3.

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 28, 2018 at 3:05 pm

      You're right, it's only x2. Corrected and sry for the confusion.

  34. Rayhan Rabbani

    December 3, 2018 at 4:12 pm

    I get aorus X5 has Thunderbolt 3 port, this useful x4 PCI-e lanes

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *