Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Asus ZenBook UX391UA Andrei Girbea Rating: 4.5 out of 5

Asus Zenbook S UX391UA impressions – the new flagship Zenbook for 2018

12 Comments

  1. Aleksey

    June 7, 2018 at 3:41 pm

    Hi Andrei!

    Notebookcheck preview shows huge throttling.

    Can you investigate that a bit and see if undervolting helps?

    • Aleksey

      June 7, 2018 at 3:42 pm

      notebookcheck.com/Test-Asus-ZenBook-S-UX391U-Core-i7-FHD-Laptop.308072.0.html

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 7, 2018 at 4:18 pm

      Mine did not throttle badly, you can see the hwinfo logs in the article . I had the i5 though, the i7 might not do that well.

  2. Graziano Battistella

    June 13, 2018 at 1:27 pm

    My concern is the keyboard. I have the Zenbook 3 UX390 and I am disappointed with that keyboard. Is the keyboard of the Zenbook S UX391 much better or not? If not, what would you recommend? How is the keyboard of the Matebook XPro? I read the X1 Carbon has the best keyboard but it is very expensive. Thanks.

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 14, 2018 at 9:13 am

      The keyboard on the UX391 is better imo, but I was also quite happy with the low travel keyboard on the UX390. Haven't got my hands on the Matebook yet, the Huawei laptops are not available over here.

  3. miki

    June 13, 2018 at 5:25 pm

    Thanks for the review. I was extremely happy Asus finally switched power/delete button. However, on all official images and various YT reports, power button is still the last one (like with all Asus models). Strange…

    Cheers,

  4. Graziano Battistella

    June 20, 2018 at 12:51 pm

    Sorry to bother again. I am curious, why did Dell abandon the keyboard tilting design of the Adamo XPS? Is it because customers were not happy? Is it because with that design the laptop is not very stable? Because the tilting of the display has to go all the way back? Before buying, I am a little concern with that innovative design. Thanks.

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 20, 2018 at 3:40 pm

      I found this kind of hinge pretty stable on both this Zenbook and the Vivobook that I tested earlier. My only concern would be that the small rubber feet that the screen rests on will wear off in time.

  5. Will

    July 15, 2018 at 4:53 pm

    Hi,

    I just noticed something very strange. Your model has an air intake vent on the bottom, while notebookchecks does not, why is this?

    And could you check if the thunderbolt is 4x with full bandwidth?

    Thanks

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 17, 2018 at 11:26 am

      Good questions. Mine was preproduction, perhaps they decided to opt for taking it out on the final units, which could explain he throttling issues. Should further look into it.

  6. Kevin

    July 17, 2018 at 1:37 am

    Is this laptop good enough for photo editing? I'm using Lightroom for photo edit.
    But I don't know if the i7-8550U can handle the job or not? Or should look for a notebook with normal voltage cpu?

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 17, 2018 at 11:27 am

      I'd look at a standard-voltage CPU laptop if possible.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *