Real notebook reviews and analysis by real people

Asus ROG Zephyrus M15 review (2020 GU502LWS model – Core i7, RTX 2070 Super)

31 Comments

  1. adam

    May 23, 2020 at 4:58 am

    How would you compare it to the g14?

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 23, 2020 at 10:57 am

      We'll have an article and video on this exact topic next week.

  2. King

    May 23, 2020 at 7:54 pm

    The CPU getting close to 100C is very scary. Doesn't the Gigabyte Aero 15 throttle at 90C? I know the TJ max is 100C for the 10th gen Intel chips, but having to rely on that just shows how bad the cooling system of this laptop is.

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 24, 2020 at 11:01 am

      I haven't reviewed the Aero 15 yet. Peak temperatures in the high 90s aren't that much of an issue imo, as long as average temperatures are in the 80s or lower.

  3. Aaron Scott

    May 27, 2020 at 10:19 am

    I'm actually confused by this M15 and the S15 model. They look virtual the same, other than a few different hardware options, is there much difference between this and the s15?
    Maybe you could do an article showing the difference, cosmetically they look identical, no?

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 27, 2020 at 1:11 pm

      It's in the works, video and article. Should be up in a day or two.

  4. Jin

    May 29, 2020 at 11:23 am

    hey, thanks for the great review!

    do the Intel models have the same Ducttaped vents on the bottom like the ryzen 4000 ones?

    appreciate your enthusiasm!

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 29, 2020 at 11:33 am

      no, the G15 is the only one with that sort of design. The G14 and M15 and others have open intakes

      • Jin

        May 29, 2020 at 11:41 am

        That's great! thanks a lot!

  5. Ivan

    June 6, 2020 at 8:20 pm

    Do you think for $1579 this laptop is a good deal for the 2070 and 240Hz? I feel like that is pretty good vs. the MSI GS66 which is more pricey. Think I'm going to give the laptop a try.

    If there is 1 thing you love and 1 thing you hate about the laptop what would it be?

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 6, 2020 at 9:07 pm

      I would say mostly yes. Make sure it's dual-chanell ram.

      I can't compare it to the GS66, still waiting for my review unit. That surely has an edge on battery life, and it might get faster SSD storage out of the box. Not sure about performance, thermals, etc yet

  6. hexaae

    June 10, 2020 at 5:41 pm

    gsync is a must for emulators of old systems (MAME, WinUAE, SNES running at 50hz or strange refreshes like 54.7Hz for MAME games)! Hate new models without it!!

  7. Tejas

    June 14, 2020 at 4:17 pm

    Hey there, this is a good and detailed review. I watched your YouTube video and clicked on the Amazon US link but can't find the laptop with 10th gen processors only 9th gen. I checked everywhere but can't find it. Please post a link to get it currently. Thanks

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 15, 2020 at 4:48 pm

      As far as I can tell, it's only available at Bestbuy for now

  8. JY

    June 17, 2020 at 3:07 pm

    Thanks for the review, on brushed black model is is the ROG logo on lid come with RGB?

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 17, 2020 at 3:25 pm

      no, it's black, not RGB. The ROG Scar series gets the RGB logo this year

  9. Xuan

    July 10, 2020 at 6:32 pm

    Hello,writer
    I found that somepeople use your content and translate it by goole to become his blog content.
    I don't know if you mind it or not, I just think his behavior is not respecting you, so I want to tell you.

    This is his/her blog. I don't like some people steal other people's effort. Not only one content, he steal many of it, and I think these all are from your blog.

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 10, 2020 at 6:46 pm

      Thanks, but not worth the effort of dealing with those spam sites.

  10. Sriram Unnam

    July 25, 2020 at 5:33 pm

    I can't seem to find the laptop in amazon or in best buy. Could you please share the link.

  11. Charmell Illut

    August 1, 2020 at 8:53 pm

    Hello! Just bought zephyrus m15. How do I keep my laptop cool? Its really hot. I use this for daily browsing only

  12. Lil

    August 5, 2020 at 3:27 am

    Hi Andrei I heard that the latest BIOS update (308 or 309?) is not allowing people to undervolt their g14’s and m15’s with throttlestop. Can you confirm? Also, the m15 is my first gaming laptop, and I don’t really know how to fine tune it in order to make it cooler, so where should I start? What do you recommend?

    Also—Thanks for writing the article it was very informative.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 5, 2020 at 11:02 am

      I no longer have this around, so cannot test. You should start by undervolting the m15 in BIOS. For the G14, you'll find guides on Youtube

  13. Nandan

    August 7, 2020 at 10:55 pm

    Best buy doesn't mention it as a 2070 super (also Asus website just says 2070) , can you confirm if it's the super variety and even whether there is a non super 2070 for the 2020 lineup

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 8, 2020 at 10:29 am

      there are both Super and non Super versions

  14. Ricky

    August 29, 2020 at 2:06 am

    Just bought asus rog zephyrus m15 gu502lw, what i observed was a very bad cooling system. I played games which are several years outdated like Oblivion 4, but the temperature rises up to 91C. That's whay i checked the net if there are same issues and i saw from other thread the same overheating issues, but compared to mine, they reached temperature about 97C.

    This laptop should be used in northpole

  15. Wessel

    October 23, 2020 at 12:50 pm

    I got the GU502LW AZ058T model and I have to say i'm a bit dissapointed.
    My specific laptop runs very hot compared to these results, having seen high 90s on the armoury crate monitor. Top is 98 celsius for the CPU, 95 for the GPU.
    I think it's an issue with my laptop, and I am planning on sending it back to ASUS. Also for the right hinge, which had it's plastic cap broken off within 2 months of normal use. Not convinced on the build quality.

    Also this laptop gets dirty easily, which frustrates me because i like my devices clean. It picks up fingerprints easily. Above the keyboard, there are tiny holes, which to me dont seem to have a purpose. It's not for cooling, no hot air comes through. These just gets filled with dus and it's difficult to clean them.
    It does however keep for a nice non-gamery look, so I can use it for work.

    I do however have much more luck with the battery. I have the 240hz option, and I have made it through a complete 9 to 5 with only a 1 amp usb c phone charger I found around lunchtime.

    So good laptop, not the best, I got a good deal i think (€1869, i7 10750h, RTX 2070 Maxq, 1Tb SSD, 16GB, 240hz) in the Netherlands.

    Love the article! Thanks for the insight about the power usage with the different profiles.

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 23, 2020 at 1:00 pm

      Thanks for the feedback.

      Unfortunately, there seems to be a QC variation with these laptops and some run hotter than others. Either way, it's a powerful platform inside a compact shell. If you're looking for somewhat better thermals, I'd suggest the Predator Triton 500 if within your budget.

      About that patterned piece above the keyboard, I remember specifically asking Asus about it at some point and complaining it will gather dust over time, ar argued a simpler piece would have made more sense, especially since it's not used for any cooling. They seem not to have thought about that.

  16. Pedro

    November 12, 2020 at 7:28 am

    Hi there, I would really like to the buy the Rog Zephyrus M15 4K rtx2070, but cannot find it on the internet with 32gb RAM, only 16gb. Any information/advice about this is welcome. Thank you.

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 12, 2020 at 11:31 am

      As far as I can tell, the 2070 configuration gets 8 GB of soldered memory + 8 GB of upgradeable. You'll probably have to look for the 2070 SUper variant, which should get 16 GB soldered and can take an extra 16 GB in the spare RAM slot. That's what we had on our review unit.

  17. Pedro

    November 12, 2020 at 11:40 pm

    Thanks for reply Andrei.
    I have searched for it long time, checked many websites but unfortunately I cannot find a store who sells the ROG Zephyrus M15 GU502 LWS model which has 2070 super and 32GB RAM.
    I did found the GU502 LW with 8GB RAM on-board and 8GB in the slot. So it could be an option to replace the 8GB RAM for an 16GB to get 24 GB in total.
    It might even be an option to put a single 32GB in there to get 40GB in total, but I'm not sure if this will work, maybe it causes issues there, I don't know.

    I'm surprised Asus has the GU502 LWS model on the website, but it's not for sale anywhere, well at least I did not find it.
    https://rog.asus.com/laptops/rog-zephyrus/rog-zephyrus-m15-series/spec/

  18. Nines

    November 21, 2020 at 4:53 am

    Great review, I also have the M15 but with 240hz. I notice that after booting up the system, colors are not that vibrant and seems washed out, even though the 240hz advertised as 100% srgb. It feels like my other laptop that has 64% standard srgb. Anyone knows why is my panel not that vibrant? Changing the profile in the armoury crate software doesn't help either.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *