Real notebook reviews and analysis by real people

Asus ExpertBook B9450FA review – a solid high-tier ultrabook

24 Comments

  1. Igor

    February 12, 2020 at 4:27 pm

    Hello, thank you for review.
    What you think ExpertBook B9450FA vs Microsoft Laptop 3?

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 12, 2020 at 7:20 pm

      Much nicer screen on the Surface laptop, pretty good keyboard as well. This is lighter and lasts for longer on a charge, more affordable and offers much better IO and improved performance. Pros and Cons on both side, but I think you're getting a little more with this.

      • Igor

        February 13, 2020 at 8:47 am

        The ExpertBook very beautifulšŸ˜Š. Screen, yes, i don't understand why asus made such a bad screen.

  2. Ester

    February 13, 2020 at 9:24 pm

    Hi! Could you kindly contact me through email? Would like to note a couple things in regards to the article. Thanks so much!

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 14, 2020 at 11:53 am

      We have a contact page with all the details, please get in touch via email

  3. Logan

    February 14, 2020 at 11:47 am

    Thanks for the great review.

    Do you think that this B9 is more confortable to use and better in compare to the X1 Carbon 7th (or 6th) gen ?

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 14, 2020 at 11:54 am

      Depends, in some ways yes, such as form-factor, weight, design, battery life and performance, while in others not that much, because the X1 Carbon is more configurable, available with different screen options and hardware specs.

      • Logan

        February 15, 2020 at 3:58 pm

        In terms of typing experience (palm rest, keyboard, inclinaison, stability) what do you prefer (X1 Carbon 7th vs B9)? And which one have the better FHD display in your opinion?

        • Andrei Girbea

          February 16, 2020 at 11:17 am

          The X1 Carbon offers better screen options, it's a little bit sturdier and offers a larger palm-rest. The typing experience is subjective, though, and I for one lean somewhat towards the ExpertBook. But they're close.

        • Logan

          February 17, 2020 at 10:25 pm

          Ok, thanks. Glad to see that the sharp front lip and pointy corners of the B9 is not a issue for the overall typing experience.

  4. Joe

    February 23, 2020 at 5:07 am

    Nice review, thank you.

    You said that the keyboard deck flexes a bit but it flexes like the average of other ultrabooks with the same thin or it flexes more than most other ultrabooks with the same thin? I'd like to buy the B9, but i'm a little concerned with that.

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 25, 2020 at 12:40 pm

      WEll, you can see the amount of flex in the video. I'd say it's average in flex, more than devices such as the XPS 13 or ThinkPad X1 Carbon, but still OK for daily use.

      • Joe

        March 1, 2020 at 6:51 am

        Ok, thank you very much. Do you know how is the sturdiness compared to the last Acer Swift 5 14 inch or the Asus Zenbook 14 (i have both in my house)?

        • Andrei Girbea

          March 2, 2020 at 3:12 pm

          Better than both. Swift 5 is very flimsy as far as I remember.

        • Joe

          March 7, 2020 at 10:30 pm

          If the palm rest of the B9450 flexes less than the palm rest of the most recent ZenBook 14, for me it's more than acceptable.

  5. Joe

    February 25, 2020 at 2:32 am

    I can't see the Intel AX200 on the motherboard, is the wi-fi module removable?

  6. Joe

    February 25, 2020 at 3:13 am

    Does the B9450 have coil whine?

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 25, 2020 at 12:25 pm

      I haven't noticed it on this unit, but that's no guarantee it won't happen on others.

  7. Simon

    March 5, 2020 at 12:37 pm

    Asus advertise 24 hours of battery life … you get 11 hours with minimal working. ThatĀ“s so bad!!! :(
    Thx for review!

  8. Jodie

    March 20, 2020 at 3:36 am

    Thank you for the detailed review.
    Would you say it preformed better than the 6-core XPS 13 9380 model?

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 20, 2020 at 11:29 am

      No, it's just a 4-core, can't do better than a 6-core. However, it performed very well for a 4-core implementation

  9. kayum

    April 14, 2020 at 9:36 pm

    is it available with core i5 , 8GB ram and 512GB SSD??

  10. Leo

    May 8, 2020 at 6:39 pm

    25W during the entire duration of the benchmarks it's quite impressive for such a compact ultrabook. The processor frequency has stabilized around which value during these benchmarks?

    If you use the B9450 unplugged (15W) it continues to be hotter/louder than the other premium ultrabooks you mention in your review?

    Thank you very much for your review.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *