Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Acer Aspire V17 VN7-792G Andrei Girbea Rating: 4 out of 5

Acer Aspire V17 VN7-792G review – the 17-inch “Black Edition” multimedia laptop


  1. Theo

    March 7, 2016 at 6:27 pm

    Why do you state that NVMe is not supported?
    ACER did confirm that this NB is compatible with Samsung NMVe SSDs.

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 7, 2016 at 6:33 pm

      Hmm, any links? Perhaps I’m wrong, but I haven’t seen configurations with NVMe storage, jut Sata and PCIe?

  2. Theo

    March 11, 2016 at 4:31 am

    See Acer Forum – community.acer.com
    There was even a bios update (1.02) which optimized the NVMe speed(removed the 1.5GB/s limit)

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 13, 2016 at 3:53 pm

      Got it. I wasn’t aware of it, thanks for the update, I’ve added it to the post.

      • George

        March 21, 2017 at 4:48 pm

        The "extra proof" you're quoting from the Amazon.com review applies to VN7-592G-71ZL, which is one of the 15 inch versions. The VN7-792G models come with 16 different motherboards (dily-acer.cz/katalog-1535-16-0), and only some of them have NVMe compatible M.2 slots (community.acer.com/t5/V-and-VN-Series-Laptops/960-Evo-NVMe-M-2-SSD-not-recognized-by-VN7-792g-with-1-09-BIOS/td-p/477778).

  3. Maxim

    July 18, 2016 at 10:57 pm

    Official Asus site states for UHD screen 72% NTSC, 100% sRGB and 74% Adobe RGB.
    Have you indeed got Coverage: 100% sRGB, 98% NTSC, 100% AdobeRGB after calibration?

    Also what storage configuration you woul personally prefer: 256GB SSD + 1 TB 7200 RPM or 256GB SSD + 2 TB 5400 RPM?


    • Andrei Girbea

      July 19, 2016 at 1:50 pm

      Are you sure we’re talking about the same laptop? This is an Acer?

      As for the second question, I’d prefer a faster HDD if possible, although it might also be noisier when spinning. So pick based on what you prefer: speed or quietness.

  4. hero

    August 7, 2016 at 11:53 am

    can you send a link which compatible samsung m.2 ssd compatible for v17 nitro 792g?

  5. anette lawrence

    December 14, 2016 at 5:03 pm

    is this a good laptop for photoediting? Or would you get something else?

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 15, 2016 at 9:15 am

      The versions with the UHD panel is a very solid option. An alternative would be the Asus N752 with the same UHD screen. Some models are available with a FHD screen, which is pretty good as well, just not as sharp or as color accurate.

      • Sumir

        November 1, 2017 at 11:51 am

        how about the blue tint for the UHD 792g? Does that go away with calibration (white appear white and not bluish white)? Seems the blacks are good. Thanks.

        • Sumir

          November 1, 2017 at 11:56 am

          Sorry one other thing. In your VN7-793G model review for the UHD you have the white point as 900 points lower (better). So does the calibration on this one (792G) get it close to the 793G model? Asking as it as appears they use the same panel AU Optronics B173ZAN01.0 (AUO109B) or B173ZAN01 (not sure about the ".0" at the end of the number) and on surface the brightness, contrast, black levels etc all look similar. Thanks

          • Andrei Girbea

            November 1, 2017 at 1:42 pm

            Yes, like I already replied, calibration will help with the white point.

        • Andrei Girbea

          November 1, 2017 at 1:41 pm

          calibration should help with that, yes. There are also some tools that allow to adjust the white levels manually or automatically.

  6. Rod Owen

    February 5, 2017 at 8:56 am

    How do you change the D\: from Read to Write? I have games loaded on Steam that I want to load on the D\; drive

  7. alan J Short

    February 6, 2017 at 12:46 pm

    The machine is very nice, and fast. It has one horrible flaw. The outer covering on the housing is so fragile, that if you just slip it into a bag and carry it around for a day or two, the plastic film doesn't so much as scuff, it rubs off like a dog with mange. My beautiful black nitro looks like it came out a dumpster. Shame on you, Acer, for creating something that while supposedly portable, actually needs to come with a padded aluminum flight case to protect it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *