Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Dell XPS 15 9570 Douglas Black Rating: 4 out of 5

Dell XPS 15 9570 review (i7-8750H, GTX 1050 Ti) — completed

39 Comments

  1. cadudesun

    June 8, 2018 at 3:57 pm

    Many thanks for the review! Looking forward to the forthcoming parts! I just got the 9570, my first XPS. I'm liking everything but the speaker/sound quality is disappointing. Actually, I am thinking I may have a defective product. Along with impressions like yours regarding the mediocre speakers, both speakers emit too much distortion, mainly on basses. For instance, in the song Strawberry Fields Forever (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8UQK-UcRezE), all the time there is clear distortion from 70% volume level. At 100% volume, it sounds a bee hive! If Dell MaxxAudio is on, the distortion is worse. If I turn off MaxxAudio, the distortion is reduced, but you can still listening to it in many parts of the song above (for instance around the 20 seconds). I have all drivers updated. Do you have such bad distortion in your XPS 9570?

    • Douglas Black

      June 9, 2018 at 4:42 am

      I am not getting any distortion with that video – it might be they aren't secured properly inside the chassis (you could always take a look and poke them with your fingers just to make sure they are tight) but it most likely will require service to replace them.

  2. custom90gt

    June 8, 2018 at 5:34 pm

    Thanks for taking the time to do an actual review! Looking forward to more of your results.

  3. Alex R

    June 8, 2018 at 8:10 pm

    Hi Douglas, thank you for the review… I just received my 9570 touch, so far working ok with limited use, but will keep an eye on the temperatures…
    have you noticed a significant improvement with the Intel 9265 module, versus the stock Killer card? I'm thinking about installing the 9265 if I need to fix throttling issues (using your guide :)

    • Douglas Black

      June 9, 2018 at 4:42 am

      No experience with the 9265 unfortunately, but it is something I do plan to pick up in the near future. :)

  4. Alex R

    June 8, 2018 at 9:25 pm

    Do you have a suggestion for docking stations for the Dell XPS 9570? I'm thinking about the Dell "TB16 240W".
    Typical use is video editing mainly. Here's a link from Dell about this dock: http://www.dell.com/support/article/us/en/19/sln301105/dell-thunderbolt-dock-tb16-information-and-specifications?lang=en

  5. Isaac Brody

    June 12, 2018 at 6:55 pm

    Have you undervolted the 9570 to see if Cinebench scores and overall performance and cooling improve?

    • Douglas Black

      June 12, 2018 at 6:56 pm

      I have undervolted to -120 and will rerun CB tomorrow.

    • Douglas Black

      June 13, 2018 at 5:44 am

      No change with the undervolt it seems. My UV re-run was 1115 average.

  6. Roger

    June 15, 2018 at 8:15 am

    Hi Doug, Great review. Looking forward to the 4K touchscreen review. Above you comment it is glossy, but the Dell website describes it (4K) as "anti-reflective". They say "anti-glare" on the FHD, no touch version. What is your take? Glossy screen makes me shy away from all touchscreens!

    • Douglas Black

      June 15, 2018 at 8:32 am

      Hi Roger,

      The FHD "anti glare" is your traditional matte screen. The uhd's anti-reflective is a glossy screen with a new anti-reflective coating, same as the XPS 13 9370. This new coating is a big improvement over last year's but I recommend checking a store in person first. It'll be the same as the 9370 if you can only find a display model of that.

  7. Hans Knaus

    June 21, 2018 at 6:41 am

    Erm… so this laptop is totally garbage? You're not serious, right? The laptop has bluescreens if I use the SSD it comes with? I am totally not going to swap it if I pay 2000Euros for a damn laptop. Also the TB3 bad performance seems also like a joke. This is just unbelievable… so there is not a single good laptop in 2018. Every single one has a damn big issue. Gigabyte Aero, Razer Blade, Zenbook Pro… all sh*t.

    • Alex R

      June 23, 2018 at 3:10 am

      The 9570 is pretty good, I have the touch version and it's working well. But please be sure to upgrade to the latest BIOS version (free from the Dell support website). So far the 9570 is by far the best laptop I've owned, and I've owned quite a few, including HP, Samsung, etc. I recommend this laptop. So far so good, knock on wood. Also, I have not noticed any problems with throttle/high CPU/GPU temps with this one, which kind of surprised me as I was expecting the same problems as the 9560. Again, so far so good, knock on wood again :)

  8. Roger Smith

    June 21, 2018 at 5:17 pm

    Hans, Maybe try Apple.

    • Hans Knaus

      June 21, 2018 at 5:53 pm

      @Roger Smith aaaaha ha ha haaaaaaaaaaa… very funny, NOT.

  9. db222jh

    June 23, 2018 at 6:39 pm

    Is there anyone besides Notebookcheck that is going to test the 4k panel of the 9570 extensively?

  10. Bogdan

    June 24, 2018 at 2:57 pm

    Hi Doug,

    I am interested in buying the 9570 with i7 and the UHD display. I intend to use it for photo editing and was wondering if it's a good choice. What's your opinion on that? Thanks!

    • Douglas Black

      June 24, 2018 at 3:00 pm

      Should be great with the screen. Though if money is an object and you are only doing photo editing, you could probably buy a 2nd hand 9560 with the UHD panel without much difference.

      • Bogdan

        June 24, 2018 at 5:58 pm

        Thanks, Doug! Actually, I think I’ll go with an FHD 9560 (2nd hand). It’s right in my budget and don’t think the diffrence in performance is worth the extra money.

  11. Lawrence W Diamond

    June 25, 2018 at 1:14 am

    Nice review.

    Are you able to test it with LatencyMon (or even some DAWBench scores)?

    I am not a gamer but I am looking for a new laptop for music production with Cubase. Since you are a DJ, I am wondering if you have any experience with DAW performance on the 9570?

    While some people have found the XPS 15 (either 9560 or 9570) useful for music production, there are lots of horror stories of terrible latency failures. The Killer Wifi card is a huge culprit (ndis.sys) and even with an Intel 9260 some people report terrible "uncorrectable" latency caused by ACPI.sys. I don't know if these people have done any of the power setting tweaks designed to improve DAW performance in Windows 10.

    Thank you in advance for any useful feedback.

    • Douglas Black

      June 25, 2018 at 2:52 am

      I have some experience with this and can bench when I have time, hopefully within a week or two

      • Lawrence W Diamond

        June 25, 2018 at 2:57 am

        Thank you. I really appreciate it. The other computer that I am considering is the Razer Blade 15 because Razer advertises their line for DAW use. I saw that you did a preview of the new Razer Blade 15. If you do a full review, a comparison in DAW performance would be most welcome.

        • Douglas Black

          June 25, 2018 at 3:26 am

          If one of us gets an RB15 I'll try to do that

        • Douglas Black

          June 27, 2018 at 1:03 pm

          Latencymon shows:

          60-900us for interrupt to process latency.
          Highest measure interrupt to process latency: 1619
          Highest reported IRS routine time: 275.11 (wdf01000.sys)
          Highest reported DPC routine time: 1755.9 (acpi.sys)

          Reported total hard pagefault count: 7683

  12. Sacin

    June 27, 2018 at 5:27 pm

    Excellent review!

    Kindly shed some light on actual or real-time battery backup in terms of minutes/hours of both 9560 & 9570 (for 56Whr) under various stress levels (from light usage to heavy usage).

    Thank you

    • Douglas Black

      June 27, 2018 at 7:53 pm

      I don't have the 56WHr for the 9570. The stock battery lasts me easily 8-10 hours with an undervolt with the FHD display. I had the 9560 with 56WHr though, and that usually just hit 5.5 hours.

  13. Coco

    July 26, 2018 at 11:10 am

    Very interesting review. I'm interest by what you said about the egpu performances, the xps 13 9370 with an egpu seems to give a better experience with gaming than the 9570 itself.
    The thing is, and I would be really glad that someone answer me because I would like to buy my computer very soon, I'm hesitating between the 15' 9570 (i7, 16GB, 4K) and thw 13' 9370 (i7, 16GB, 4K) + egpu (don't know which one I will use yet) for light gaming (arma III, rust, the division, pubg, frostpunk, …) and typing note at college.
    I'm looking for portability, battery life, and performance obviously.

    Thanks in advance !

    • Douglas Black

      July 26, 2018 at 6:14 pm

      It's less hastle for the XPS 15. Once you tweak it a but you'll be getting enough performance for any of those games. The eGPU will work well enough but it will be less straighforward when you want to play and overall more expensive

      • Coco

        July 27, 2018 at 3:30 am

        Thank you for your quick reply. What do you mean by less hastle ? I never play game outside so the convenience do not really matter. I think that by "tweak" you mean undervolt, padding and pasting, and I'm ok with it. But what I am afraid is the weight of the computer for college…

        • Douglas Black

          July 27, 2018 at 5:09 am

          If you are not going to be moving the eGPU more than a couple of times a year and you are sure that you are willing to pay more money for the ability to have a smaller and lighter computer, go for the xps 13 9370.

  14. Rook

    August 6, 2018 at 12:55 am

    I bought the exact config and got it pretty early (at the very end of May). I was wondering if you've tried out using Intel XTU to undervolt the system since I've gotten mine to hold a ~160mV offset pretty well. I'm in the middle of trying to get a better voltage/frequency curve set in MSI Afterburner for the GPU, but so far it seems I can get it to run upwards of stock clocks while undervolted (1711 mHz @ 875 mV). With this I should be able to get a pretty good thermal and performance improvement while pushing the system hard. In relation to your battery wear issue, I don't think it's a problem on all of them since mine reports 2% wear after using it for a few months in HWMonitor (and full 97 watt designed capacity).

    I've also done some searching about the audio popping issues, and it seems that right clicking on the sound control in the taskbar, selecting "Windows Sonic for Headphones" then selecting "Off" again right after will make it go away for a few hours. It's a bit annoying, but better than dealing with crackly audio.
    Overall I'm pretty happy with my unit so far, no unexpected issues and seems like it's gonna be a good decision for my use case.

    Thanks! Solid review.

  15. Somerandom

    August 7, 2018 at 3:13 pm

    I cannot believe or understand this review.

    Are you seriously telling us that for a PC that required A FRICKEN REINSTALL OF THE OS due to: "Unstable and buggy out of the box; required clean Windows installation" is only docked 1 star?

    By any reasonable and rational view, if a new laptop requires a fresh install simply to function as intended then it is not fit for purpose. To only take away 1 star for the list of negatives you have is utterly mind-boggling.

    This is a max 3/5 review and I have to question your logic and judgement.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 10, 2018 at 2:17 pm

      I'll jump on to this until Doug gets to it.

      The things is, if you're after this kind of a form-factor and hardware, you'll have to accept the compromises. Having to reinstall Windows is a minor quirk imo if it fixes things. Yes, ideally that wouldn't be required, and you might not run into the same issues on your unit and might not have to do it, but if a reinstall addresses them, then hey, that's a small price to pay. It's a simple task and takes about an hour or so.

      The rating is of course subjective, but this laptop is, at this time, the best you can get with this kind of build, features and price, and it's a good buy if you're willing to accept those nits. Which btw I don't think would actually bother most users, aside from the instability and perhaps the lack of a cheaper FHD IPS touchscreen. In fact, I'd personally rate this a little higher than 4/5, given its niche and the competition.

  16. Malcolm Overbaugh

    August 10, 2018 at 2:44 am

    So for an engineering student looking to upgrade, this would be a good fit? Using AutoCAD, Solidworks, Fusion 360, etc.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 10, 2018 at 2:09 pm

      I'll jump to this question. I'd say yes, but only if you're after this kind of form-factor and you're willing to do some tweaks (at least undervolt) to deal with throttling to some extent. You'll get better performance with full-size laptops though, and for less.

  17. Jack

    August 13, 2018 at 6:52 pm

    I have an i7 9550 + Aorus gaming box 1080 and I would say it works pretty well (plug and play). Just wondering if the i7 9570 with 4 PCI lanes will offer better performance? I play with egpu to 4K tv and sometimes use the internal laptop display (travel a lot). Play all sorts of games from Fortnite to AAA titles. I read that the 4 lanes v 2 lanes only really benefited for the internal laptop display scenario (return TB3 traffic). I am wondering if this daughter board (Apline Ridge) is on the 9550 also ? Thank you for any advice and nice review btw.

    • Douglas Black

      August 15, 2018 at 7:18 am

      I believe it's the same board, just different implementation. It will run better on the 9570, but not 1500 USD better for sure

      • Jack

        August 15, 2018 at 7:56 am

        Thank you for your reply Douglas. I am due to receive a replacement for my 9550 (Dell warranty repaired in 4 different countries on 8 occasions) in December so I think they will be all out of 9560 stock by then so I assume I will receive a 9570. So it will not be costing me anything. Are you saying with "different implementation" that the 9550 has TB3 piped directly to the CPU and the 9570 has TB3 to the Alpine Ridge daughter board and then to CPU ?

        • Douglas Black

          August 15, 2018 at 9:39 am

          No, they both have the same setup. Just one has 4 lanes instead of 2.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *