Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Dell XPS 15 9570 Douglas Black Rating: 4 out of 5

Dell XPS 15 9570 review (i7-8750H, GTX 1050 Ti) — completed

11 Comments

  1. cadudesun

    June 8, 2018 at 3:57 pm

    Many thanks for the review! Looking forward to the forthcoming parts! I just got the 9570, my first XPS. I'm liking everything but the speaker/sound quality is disappointing. Actually, I am thinking I may have a defective product. Along with impressions like yours regarding the mediocre speakers, both speakers emit too much distortion, mainly on basses. For instance, in the song Strawberry Fields Forever (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8UQK-UcRezE), all the time there is clear distortion from 70% volume level. At 100% volume, it sounds a bee hive! If Dell MaxxAudio is on, the distortion is worse. If I turn off MaxxAudio, the distortion is reduced, but you can still listening to it in many parts of the song above (for instance around the 20 seconds). I have all drivers updated. Do you have such bad distortion in your XPS 9570?

    • Douglas Black

      June 9, 2018 at 4:42 am

      I am not getting any distortion with that video – it might be they aren't secured properly inside the chassis (you could always take a look and poke them with your fingers just to make sure they are tight) but it most likely will require service to replace them.

  2. custom90gt

    June 8, 2018 at 5:34 pm

    Thanks for taking the time to do an actual review! Looking forward to more of your results.

  3. Alex R

    June 8, 2018 at 8:10 pm

    Hi Douglas, thank you for the review… I just received my 9570 touch, so far working ok with limited use, but will keep an eye on the temperatures…
    have you noticed a significant improvement with the Intel 9265 module, versus the stock Killer card? I'm thinking about installing the 9265 if I need to fix throttling issues (using your guide :)

    • Douglas Black

      June 9, 2018 at 4:42 am

      No experience with the 9265 unfortunately, but it is something I do plan to pick up in the near future. :)

  4. Alex R

    June 8, 2018 at 9:25 pm

    Do you have a suggestion for docking stations for the Dell XPS 9570? I'm thinking about the Dell "TB16 240W".
    Typical use is video editing mainly. Here's a link from Dell about this dock: http://www.dell.com/support/article/us/en/19/sln301105/dell-thunderbolt-dock-tb16-information-and-specifications?lang=en

  5. Isaac Brody

    June 12, 2018 at 6:55 pm

    Have you undervolted the 9570 to see if Cinebench scores and overall performance and cooling improve?

    • Douglas Black

      June 12, 2018 at 6:56 pm

      I have undervolted to -120 and will rerun CB tomorrow.

    • Douglas Black

      June 13, 2018 at 5:44 am

      No change with the undervolt it seems. My UV re-run was 1115 average.

  6. Roger

    June 15, 2018 at 8:15 am

    Hi Doug, Great review. Looking forward to the 4K touchscreen review. Above you comment it is glossy, but the Dell website describes it (4K) as "anti-reflective". They say "anti-glare" on the FHD, no touch version. What is your take? Glossy screen makes me shy away from all touchscreens!

    • Douglas Black

      June 15, 2018 at 8:32 am

      Hi Roger,

      The FHD "anti glare" is your traditional matte screen. The uhd's anti-reflective is a glossy screen with a new anti-reflective coating, same as the XPS 13 9370. This new coating is a big improvement over last year's but I recommend checking a store in person first. It'll be the same as the 9370 if you can only find a display model of that.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *