Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Asus Zenbook Pro UX580GE Andrei Girbea Rating: 4 out of 5

Asus Zenbook Pro UX580GE impressions (i9-8950HK, GTX 1050 Ti)

25 Comments

  1. Daniel Haughton

    June 7, 2018 at 2:42 pm

    will an option be available without the touchpad touchscreen?

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 7, 2018 at 4:17 pm

      As far as I understand, the UX550GD/GE will be available without the touchscreen.

  2. Chris

    June 8, 2018 at 12:20 pm

    I have the UX550VD and for me the speakers are one of the biggest pros of this device so it’s disappointing to see asus go backwards in making the speakers rear firing. I agree with the screen not being too bright and the keyboard being a little mushy but that hasn’t bothered me too much so far since they’re still a huge upgrade over my last laptop. I usually only get 2-3 hours of battery life but I run a lot of programs simultaneously with tons of tabs open in chrome at max brightness so others will probably get better battery life than me. I’m usually near an outlet so it’s not really a concern. WiFi, touchpad, SSD, port selection, and general snappiness are all excellent plus it’s an amazing looking laptop.

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 8, 2018 at 2:07 pm

      Hi Chris, thanks for your feedback. I think the VD and updated GD are the best buys on this device. As a portable multimedia/work laptop, this is a very good computer.

  3. mystiq

    June 8, 2018 at 5:05 pm

    good review, did you not review GL504GS andrei ?
    just like you did (GL503VS) few months ago..

    i m looking forward see it soon

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 12, 2018 at 3:13 pm

      No, it's not available here yet. For some reason it was initially launched in the US and we still haven't got it for the time being

  4. Georgi

    June 15, 2018 at 9:46 am

    Hi Andrei,

    And thank you for the actual technical review. It is full with videos of people taking about the specs for 3-4 min but that's not what's important. SO in this regard I'm very happy I found this material!

    Couple of questions: I have the ux550ve and before that I've had the ux501. The latter I returned because of coil whine. I found that to be an issue in the ux550 as well but it's only in quiet environment and right now I can't be bothered to send it to service even though after ux580 out I might do it. The question is if you have actually noticed coil whine in this model? Also are spekers really louder than ux550's ? I doubt it a bit since they are only bottom facing..

    Cheers!

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 15, 2018 at 10:17 am

      Not coil whine, but I did notice a little bit of electronic grinding, but only noticeable in quiet places. I can't tell for sure if the speakers are louder, but my impression is that they are not. They're not bad either though.

      • Georgi

        June 15, 2018 at 11:01 am

        Wow, nice to hear that they finally fixed it! I understand the electronic grinding is from fans or motherboard?
        In my unit I've noticed that it changes depending on the game I'm playing, very peculiar.

        • Andrei Girbea

          June 15, 2018 at 11:18 am

          Can't tell for sure, it's coming from the components, but I couldn't pinpoint exactly the source. Also, coil whine is a lottery, the fact that I didn't get it on this sample doesn't mean other units won't run into it.

          • Georgi

            June 15, 2018 at 2:46 pm

            I understand. Thank you for the info!
            I'll wait for the full review then :)

          • Richard

            July 30, 2018 at 7:30 pm

            Hey, I just want to say that I got the UX580GE a few days ago, and I quite noticeably hear coil whine on my device. Just wanted to give a heads up, as it seems that it is a lottery, and not that they have fixed it.

          • Andrei Girbea

            July 30, 2018 at 8:48 pm

            Sry to hear that. Coil whine is unfortunately a lottery with a lot of laptops these days.

  5. Christian

    June 24, 2018 at 9:48 pm

    Hi, how is the touchpad compared to macbook pro? I use it for retouch and on a macbook pro I can use the trackpad for retouch. However on PC's that normally not the case, its just not the same.

  6. Shahanur Reza

    July 17, 2018 at 12:59 am

    When it is going to be available in UK and the price?

  7. Kevin

    July 17, 2018 at 1:45 am

    If not for gaming, does the cooling issue still there? I use laptop for photo edit(Use Adobe lightroom), so I'm not always make the cpu on fully loaded, I know the Specs on the laptop meet my need, but I don't know does this cooling system is enough for photo edit or not? Can I buy this laptop for photo edit? Thank you

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 17, 2018 at 11:27 am

      Should be fine, but even so I wouldn't buy the i9. Stick to the i7, undervolt and it should do fine.

      • Jernej

        August 1, 2018 at 5:31 pm

        Why is that? i9 are not good yet?

  8. Andrei A

    August 11, 2018 at 1:31 am

    Hi,

    Fit and finish on the sides of the device (where the ports are) seems bad. The unit looks like it has a ton of scratches from the machining process (not talking about the chamfered edges, but the actual sides of the laptop). Can you confirm this? I can sorta make it out on the presentation pictures and on my UX550GD unit.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 11, 2018 at 1:16 pm

      can you post some pictures on imgur so I can have a look?

      • Andrei A

        August 11, 2018 at 4:35 pm

        I uploaded 3 images that show the issue. The scratches are random and not have any pattern to them unlike the brushed pattern on the keyboard deck and screen lid.

        imgur.com/obpB7l8 imgur.com/SpCmoHe imgur.com/yJHPSO7

        • Andrei Girbea

          August 11, 2018 at 4:45 pm

          I don't remember this kind of finishing on any of the UX550s or the UX580 that I had my hands on ( https://www.ultrabookreview.com/17143-asus-zenbook-ux550-review/ ). Not sure if they've changed the process, but that doesn't look very good. I'd ask for a replacement or at least contact the store and ask if that's normal. I don't think it should be.

          • Andrei A

            August 11, 2018 at 5:10 pm

            After doing some research on the internet (basically looking for high res images so I can zoom in), I found multiple articles on the UX550G/UX580 that show the exact same issue. It's difficult to notice if you quickly glance at first because the laptop has a dark color and you need sufficient light to see but the sides are scratched like hell.

            I say this is unacceptable for a premium laptop (and frankly, for any laptop). It doesn't affect the functionality but I care about the aesthetics enough for this to become a big issue for me.

            Here is the link to the article:

            unbox.ph/gadget/asus-zenbook-pro-15-ux580-review-brimming-with-strength-and-elegance/

            and here is the image that shows the scratches (zoom in and look carefully: it has the same scratches like the ones i posted above)

            unbox.ph/wp-content/uploads/2018/07/Asus-Zenbook-Pro-15-Review-0012.jpg

          • Andrei Girbea

            August 11, 2018 at 5:16 pm

            Unfortunately I don't have such detailed close-ups of the UX580 that I had for review. If that's the norm, than there's nothing you can do about it. Accept them or return the laptop…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *