Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Asus Zenbook Pro UX580GE Andrei Girbea Rating: 4 out of 5

Asus Zenbook Pro UX580GE impressions (i9-8950HK, GTX 1050 Ti)

11 Comments

  1. Daniel Haughton

    June 7, 2018 at 2:42 pm

    will an option be available without the touchpad touchscreen?

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 7, 2018 at 4:17 pm

      As far as I understand, the UX550GD/GE will be available without the touchscreen.

  2. Chris

    June 8, 2018 at 12:20 pm

    I have the UX550VD and for me the speakers are one of the biggest pros of this device so it’s disappointing to see asus go backwards in making the speakers rear firing. I agree with the screen not being too bright and the keyboard being a little mushy but that hasn’t bothered me too much so far since they’re still a huge upgrade over my last laptop. I usually only get 2-3 hours of battery life but I run a lot of programs simultaneously with tons of tabs open in chrome at max brightness so others will probably get better battery life than me. I’m usually near an outlet so it’s not really a concern. WiFi, touchpad, SSD, port selection, and general snappiness are all excellent plus it’s an amazing looking laptop.

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 8, 2018 at 2:07 pm

      Hi Chris, thanks for your feedback. I think the VD and updated GD are the best buys on this device. As a portable multimedia/work laptop, this is a very good computer.

  3. mystiq

    June 8, 2018 at 5:05 pm

    good review, did you not review GL504GS andrei ?
    just like you did (GL503VS) few months ago..

    i m looking forward see it soon

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 12, 2018 at 3:13 pm

      No, it's not available here yet. For some reason it was initially launched in the US and we still haven't got it for the time being

  4. Georgi

    June 15, 2018 at 9:46 am

    Hi Andrei,

    And thank you for the actual technical review. It is full with videos of people taking about the specs for 3-4 min but that's not what's important. SO in this regard I'm very happy I found this material!

    Couple of questions: I have the ux550ve and before that I've had the ux501. The latter I returned because of coil whine. I found that to be an issue in the ux550 as well but it's only in quiet environment and right now I can't be bothered to send it to service even though after ux580 out I might do it. The question is if you have actually noticed coil whine in this model? Also are spekers really louder than ux550's ? I doubt it a bit since they are only bottom facing..

    Cheers!

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 15, 2018 at 10:17 am

      Not coil whine, but I did notice a little bit of electronic grinding, but only noticeable in quiet places. I can't tell for sure if the speakers are louder, but my impression is that they are not. They're not bad either though.

      • Georgi

        June 15, 2018 at 11:01 am

        Wow, nice to hear that they finally fixed it! I understand the electronic grinding is from fans or motherboard?
        In my unit I've noticed that it changes depending on the game I'm playing, very peculiar.

        • Andrei Girbea

          June 15, 2018 at 11:18 am

          Can't tell for sure, it's coming from the components, but I couldn't pinpoint exactly the source. Also, coil whine is a lottery, the fact that I didn't get it on this sample doesn't mean other units won't run into it.

          • Georgi

            June 15, 2018 at 2:46 pm

            I understand. Thank you for the info!
            I'll wait for the full review then :)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *