Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons

The complete list of Intel Kaby Lake (Kabylake) portable laptops and ultrabooks

By Andrei Girbea - @ andreigirbea , updated on November 24, 2016

This article is a detailed list of all the thin-and-light laptops built on Intel’s Kaby Lake (or Kabylake) hardware platform, starting with fanless Core M (Core Y) ultraportables, continuing with the mid-range Core U options and later updating it with Core HQ models, once those are released.

Kabylake is the 7th generation of Intel Core processors and as a result, Kaby Lake CPUs can be identified by the letter 7 after the dash in their naming.

The Kabylake platform includes several subfamilies, with only a few of them available at the time of this post:

  • Kaby Lake Core Y (also known as Core M) – low-power processors with a TDP of around 4.5 W, usually meant for tablets and ultra-thin fanless computers. Includes the Core m3-7Y10, Core i5-5Y54 and the Core i7-7Y75 . The naming is a little confusing, but you can tell this series apart based on the letter Y after the generation series (7).
  • Kaby Lake Core U – mid-level processors with a TDP of 15 W, meant for a vast range of portable laptops and also included in mobile full-size notebooks. Includes the Core i3-7100U, Core i5-7200U and Core i7-7500U and CPUs in this series are identified by the letter U at the end of their name.
  • Kaby Lake Core H – quad-core processors with TDPs between 18 to 45 W. Scheduled for release in Q1 2017.

You’ll find a few details about these processors in the picture below, but we’re not going to get in depth on the particularities of the Kabylake platform and how it fares against the previous Intel generations in this article, that’s a topic for another post (will be available soon).

Back to our listing then. In order to keep things organized, the article is split in a few sections, based on screen size. We’re specifying the form-factor for each unit, type of screen, CPU and GPU, the battery size, the weight and the starting price. Clicking the links on each unit’s name will take you to our more detailed articles and reviews on that device, while clicking the links on the prices column will offer more details about the available configurations and up-to-date prices at the time you’re reading this post.


This article is a continuous work in progress, as we add to it as more notebooks become available. In case you spot anything that should be in here and it’s not, please let us know in the comments section at the end of the post.

The first section includes the smaller ultraportables, with screen sizes under 13-inches in diagonal.

Sub 13-inch thin-and-light laptops

ModelTypeScreenHardwareBatteryWeightPrice
Asus Transformer 3 T305CAtablet + folio12.6″ IPS touchCore Y w/ Intel HD 61539 Wh0.7 kg / 1.54 lbs$749
Asus Zenbook 3 UX390UA (UAK)clamshell12.5″ IPS FHD glossyCore U w/ Intel HD 62040 Wh0.91 kg / 2.0 lbs$999
Dell Inspiron 11 3000 2-in-1convertible11.6″ TN HD touchCore Y w/ Intel HD 61532 Wh1.39 kg / 3.1 lbs$449
Lenovo Yoga 710 11convertible11.6″ TN HD touchCore Y w/ Intel HD 61540 Wh1.03 kg / 2.3 lbs$599
Lenovo Miix 520tablet + folio12.3″ IPS WUXGA touchCore U w/ Intel HD 62041 Wh
Lenovo Miix 710tablet + folio12.2″ IPS FHD+ touchCore Y w/ Intel HD 61540 Wh0.75 kg / 1.65 lbs
Lenovo Miix 720tablet + folio12.2″ IPS FHD+ touchCore U w/ Intel HD 620
Panasonic Let’s Note Z6clamshell10.1″ IPS WUXGA matteCore Y w/ Intel HD 615up to 11 h0.72 kg / 1.6 lbs$1200
Panasonic Let’s Note SZ6clamshell12.1″ IPS WUXGA matteCore U w/ Intel HD 620up to 22 h1.04 kg / 2.3 lbs$2100
Razer Blade Stealthclamshell12.5″ IPS QHD or UHD touchCore U w/ Intel HD 62053.6 Wh1.29 kg / 2.84 lbs$999

Next we have the 13 to 14-inch options, usually the best all-rounder for those looking for performance, looks, build quality and longevity in their computers.

13-inch ultraportables

ModelTypeScreenHardwareBatteryWeightPrice
Acer Swift 7 (Aspire S7-371)clamshell13.3″ IPS FHD glossyCore Y w/ Intel HD 61545 Wh1.1 kg / 2.42 lbs$999
Acer Spin 5 (Aspire S13 S5-371T)
convertible13.3″ IPS FHD touchCore U w/ Intel HD 62048 Wh1.58 kg / 3.5 lbs$499
Asus Zenbook UX306UA (UAK)clamshell13.3″ IPS FHD or QHD+ matteCore U w/ Intel HD 62057 Wh1.19 kg / 2.63 lbs$799
Asus Zenbook UX330CA (CAK)
clamshell13.3″ IPS FHD or QHD+ matteCore Y w/ Intel HD 61554 Wh ?1.2 kg / 2.65 lbs$799
Asus Zenbook UX330UA (UAK)clamshell13.3″ IPS FHD or QHD+ matteCore U w/ Intel HD 62057 Wh1.2 kg / 2.65 lbs$899
Asus Zenbook Flip UX360CA (CAK)convertible13.3″ IPS FHD or QHD+ touchCore Y w/ Intel HD 61554 Wh1.3 kg / 2.86 lbs$699
Asus Zenbook Flip UX360UA (UAK)convertible13.3″ IPS FHD or QHD+ touchCore U w/ Intel HD 62057 Wh1.2 kg / 2.65 lbs$999
Asus Zenbook Q324UAconvertible13.3″ IPS FHD or QHD+ touchCore U w/ Intel HD 62057 Wh1.2 kg / 2.65 lbs$1199
Dell Inspiron 13 5000 2-in-1 (5378)convertible13.3″ IPS FHD touchCore U w/ Intel HD 62042 Wh1.62 kg / 3.56 lbs$699
Dell Inspiron 13 7000 2-in-1 (7378)convertible13.3″ IPS FHD touchCore U w/ Intel HD 62042 Wh1.75 kg / 3.86 lbs$749
Dell XPS 13 (9360)clamshell13.3″ IPS FHD matte or QHD+ touchCore U w/ Intel HD 62060 Wh1.2 kg / 2.7 lbs$799
HP Envy 13clamshell13.3″ IPS FHD matte or QHD+ touchCore U w/ Intel HD 62057.8 Wh1.42 kg / 3.15 lbs$849
HP Spectre x360 13convertible13.3″ IPS FHD touchCore U w/ Intel HD 62057.8 Wh1.29 kg / 2.85 lbs$1049
Lenovo Ideapad 710sclamshell13.3″ IPS FHD matteCore U w/ Intel HD 62046 Wh1.17 kg / 2.6 lbs$799
Lenovo Yoga 910convertible13.9″ IPS FHD or UHD touchCore U w/ Intel HD 62078 Wh1.38 kg / 3.04 lbs$1299

Next we have the 14 to 14.9-inch units, usually business computers with a few extra features and traits, but also a few ultraportable gaming notebooks.

14 to 14.9-inch business units and gaming portables

ModelTypeScreenHardwareBatteryWeightPrice
Acer Spin 7convertible14.0″ IPS FHD touchCore Y w/ Intel HD 61543 Wh1.2 kg / 2.64 lbs$1199
Acer Swift 5
clamshell14.0″ HD or IPS FHD matteCore U w/ Intel HD 62048 Wh1.36 kg / 3.0 lbs$799
Asus K401clamshell14.0″ IPS FHD matteCore U w/ Nvidia 940MX48 Wh1.65 kg / 3.65 lbs
Asus Zenbook UX410UAclamshell14.0″ IPS FHD matteCore U w/ Intel HD 62048 Wh1.6 kg / 3.52 lbs
Asus Zenbook UX410UQclamshell14.0″ IPS FHD matteCore U w/ Nvidia 940MX48 Wh1.6 kg / 3.52 lbs
Lenovo Yoga 710convertible14.0″ IPS FHD touchCore U w/ Nvidia 940MX53 Wh1.6 kg / 3.52 lbs
Panasonic Let’s Note LX6clamshell14.0″ IPS FHD matteCore U w/ Intel HD 620up to 20 h1.49 kg / 3.3 lbs$1800

And then we have the full-size portable laptops with Kabylake hardware, with 15 to 18-inch screens and all sorts of specs and configurations. In order to keep within the topic of this article, we’re only including thin-and-light computers, which means they have to weigh under 6 pounds (for 15-inchers) or 7 pounds (for 17-inchers) and have a total body thickness of under 1.1 inches.

15 to 18-inch full-size notebooks

ModelTypeScreenHardwareBatteryWeightPrice
Acer Spin 3convertible15.6″ IPS FHD touchCore U w/ Intel HD 6202.13 kg / 4.7 lbs$499
Acer Aspire E15clamshell15.6″ IPS FHD glossyCore U w/ Nvidia 940MX42 Wh2.4 kg / 5.29 lbs
Acer Aspire F15clamshell15.6″ IPS FHD glossyCore U w/ Nvidia 950M56 Wh2.4 kg / 5.29 lbs
Asus Vivobook X556convertible15.6″ IPS FHD touchCore U w/ Nvidia 940MX48 Wh2.3 kg / 5.07 lbs
Asus Zenbook UX510UXclamshell15.6″ IPS FHD or UHD matteCore U w/ Nvidia 950M48 Wh1.86 kg / 4.1 lbs$849
Asus Zenbook UX510UWclamshell15.6″ IPS FHD or UHD matteCore U w/ Nvidia 960M48 Wh1.86 kg / 4.1 lbs$999
Asus Zenbook Flip UX560UA (UAK)convertible15.6″ IPS FHD touchCore U w/ Intel HD 62050 Wh2.2 kg / 4.85 lbs
Asus Zenbook Flip UX560UQconvertible15.6″ IPS FHD ot UHD touchCore U w/ Nvidia 40MX52 Wh2.2 kg / 4.85 lbs
Asus Zenbook Flip UX560UXconvertible15.6″ IPS FHD or UHD touchCore U w/ Nvidia 950M52 Wh2.2 kg / 4.85 lbs
Dell Inspiron 15 5000 (5567)clamshell15.6″ IPS FHD matteCore U w/ AMD R7 M44542Wh2.32 kg / 5.12 lbs$599
Dell Inspiron 15 5000 2-in-1 (5578)convertible15.6″ IPS FHD touchCore U w/ Intel HD 62042 Wh2.3 kg / 5.07 lbs$699
Dell Inspiron 17 5000 (5767)clamshell17.3″ IPS FHD matteCore U w/ AMD R7 M44542 Wh2.72 kg / 6.00 lbs$649
Dell Inspiron 15 7000 2-in-1 (7579)convertible15.6″ IPS FHD touchCore U w/ Intel HD 62042 Wh2.65 kg / 5.84 lbs$749
Dell Inspiron 17 7000 2-in-1 (7779)convertible17.3″ IPS FHD touchCore U w/ Nvidia 940MX56 Wh?$899
HP Envy 15clamshell15.6″ IPS FHD or UHD touchCore U w/ Intel HD 62052Wh1.95 kg / 4.3 lbs$899
HP Envy 17clamshell17.3″ IPS FHD touchCore U w/ Nvidia 940MX41Wh3.15 kg / 6.9 lbs$999
Lenovo IdeaPad 310clamshell15.6″ IPS FHD matteCore U w/ Intel HD 62030 Wh2.2 kg / 4.85 lbs
Lenovo IdeaPad 510sclamshell15.6″ IPS FHD matteCore U w/ AMD R5 M43030 Wh1.70 kg / 3.74 lbs
Lenovo Yoga 510 (Flex 4 15)convertible15.6″ IPS FHD touchCore U w/ AMD R5 M43035 Wh1.75 kg / 3.85 lbs

Here’s a short glossary of the terms mentioned above:

  • Types:
    • clamshell: traditional computer whose screen closes on top of the keyboard and does not flip into any sort of tablet mode;
    • convertible: 2-in-1 laptop whose screen rotates or converts to a tablet mode (or similar), but cannot be detached from the base;
    • detachable: 2-in-1 laptop whose screen detaches from a solid base and can be used independently as a tablet;
    • tablet + folio: stand-alone tablet paired with matching keyboad-folio;
    • slider: 2-in-1 laptop whose screen slides up and down on top of the body and reveals a keyboard hidden underneath.
  • Resolutions: HD ( 1366 x 768 px), WXGA+ (1440 x 900 px), HD+ (1600 x 900 px), FHD (1920 x 1080 px), WUXGA (1920 x 1200 px)  FHD+ (2160 x 1440 px), retina (2304 x 1440 px), QHD (2560 x 1440 px), WQXGA (2560 x 1600 px), QHD+  (3200 x 1800 px), UHD (3840 x 2160 px) – also see this post;

That’s about it for now, but if you’re interested in a larger selection of portable laptops based on other criteria, you should also check out the following articles:

Hope you’ll find this article helpful. As mentioned earlier, we are doing our best to keep the lists up-to-date, but it’s a tedious job and sometimes we might not be able to find all the units that should be in here. So if you notice anything that’s missing, please tell us about it in the comments section.

Andrei Girbea, aka Mike, Editor-in-Chief and a huge fan of mobile computers. Since 2007, I've only owned smaller than 12.5" laptops and I've been testing tens, if not hundreds of mini laptops. You'll find mostly reviews and guides written by me here on the site.

57 Comments

  1. Max

    September 1, 2016 at 3:35 pm

    Thanks for clarifying that for me. BTW, sorry about the misspellings and grammar sentences in my previous post. I’m mobile and was texting from my phone. One more question. Kaby Lake was supposed to add native USB 3.1 Generation 2 (10 Gbit/s) support, but the first CPUs did show no such feature. What about the other chips that are coming out in January?

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 1, 2016 at 6:30 pm

      Can’t say anything about those. I was actually expecting TB3 native support, but looks like that’s not the case.

      • Miguel

        September 3, 2016 at 5:48 am

        Hello,

        I have some doubts that you might clarificar.

        Will the Asus Zenbook UX510UW come with the 7th generation kaby lake processors outros of the box?

        Which are the diference between October Kaby lake laptops and upcoming december/January kaby lake laptops?

        Thanks and Regards.

        • Andrei Girbea

          September 3, 2016 at 6:41 am

          Only the dual core ULV series of Kaby lake have been launched right now: COre Y (4.5W TDP) and COre U (15W TDP). The quad-cores and other higher power options are scheduled for January.

          The UX510UW is built on a Core U platform and will be available with KabyLake Core U processors around October.

  2. Jesus

    September 2, 2016 at 2:26 pm

    Wow, that’s exactly what I’ve been waiting for, thanks for the great work Andrei, it couldn’t be other but you who did this incredible list! :)
    I’ve been reading you reviews for some weeks now and I would just like to say you have my full support, I’ll try to bring some friends hahahaha
    Have a nice weekend!

  3. Miguel

    September 3, 2016 at 1:17 pm

    Thanks a lot for the information Andrei.

    Sorry for the Auto Correct Errors. :)
    So, I believe Asus will launch Zenbook UX510U in my country already with Kaby Lake inside.
    Is this laptop already on sale in the US or other(s) country(ies)?

    Miguel.

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 3, 2016 at 4:21 pm

      I’ve seen some Skylake configurations listed in the Northern European countries, but no Kabylake version yet. BTW, I’m going to have a preview of this series in about 10-14 days, stay close.

  4. kudos

    September 5, 2016 at 10:26 am

    Hi Andrei, I just saw on Asus website that they add 2 14 inch zenbooks, do you have any idea called UX410, will you review these as well ?

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 6, 2016 at 3:42 am

      Interesting. Looks like they put a larger screen on the UX310’s body. I’ll ask about them, I might get my hands on them, but not in the immediate future.

  5. Mike Adkins

    September 6, 2016 at 12:36 pm

    I see Dell has introduced the Inspiron 13 2n1 with a Kaby Lake processor. the 7500 u. with 512 ssd hd, 16 gb ram, touchscreen, itcan be had for $999 with a $100 off coupon. Any ideas to review it? I’m really looking for a lightweight, smaller footprint 12-14 to convert to a desktop, with availability to grab it and take it along. It’s getting harder to find such a machine. I think this Dell above may work. Im just looking to find a Kaby to replace my dead main machine!

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 7, 2016 at 1:23 pm

      HI Mike, thanks for the headsup on the updated Dells. I have limited access to Dell products lately, so I can’t tell if I’m going to review it or when that’s going to happen. THere’s a good reviews of that model here, but with Skylake hardware: hnotebookcheck.net/Dell-Inspiron-13-7368-Convertible-Review.169209.0.html . Kaby Lake is not changing much imo.

  6. Kiran Kumar

    September 7, 2016 at 7:31 am

    Hello Andrei,

    Your listing and reviews are really helpful. That’s a great job! Thanks.

    I am told MacBook ultrabooks are not that friendly with regard to MSOffice products. Since I am an academician my work is mostly related to Word, Power Point,etc. I am looking for a light product with a small screen considering the advantages for frequent travel. I am based in India.
    I read the reviews and a bit overwhelmed to choose the right stuff. So your suggestion will be useful.

    Thanks in advance.

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 7, 2016 at 1:25 pm

      MS Office works fine on Macbooks as far as I’m aware, but I’m not a Mac user or even an Office power user, so can’t share any insides. Google should be more helpful.

      • Kiran Kumar

        September 8, 2016 at 10:04 pm

        Thanks for the reply.

        What is the difference between KabyLake and Skylake?

        • Andrei Girbea

          September 9, 2016 at 3:20 am

          Skylake is Intel’s 6th generation of hardware, KabyLake is the 7th, newer hardware release. Google is your friend.

  7. Michael

    September 7, 2016 at 4:07 pm

    I’m tired of carrying around my 2,3kg-15″ laptop and I’m looking forward to purchase a device of 13-inches of size, FHD (1920×1020) matte screen, 1,5kg or less of weight, backlit keyboard, with enough battery for at the very least 8 hours of normal office usage but ideally 10 hours. Those are pretty much my only requirements.

    Andrei, taking this into account, what would you suggest for my requirements?

    Because I have been looking at this new convertibles/hybrids on the market, but besides getting confused with the variation of models, I still see that regular clamshell laptops offer the best affordability and also best ratio of performance/price. I still worry a bit about raw performance because I don’t own a desktop PC and my laptop is my main device, sometimes to run decently things like Google Earth or big Excel spreedsheets, one needs at least a Core i3U or i5U. A dedicated GPU also wouldn’t hurt, as I have one in my current laptop, but I’m guessing when we enter ultraportable territory, adding a GPU skyrockets the price and decreases battery life. Also I’ve read that newest Intel Core CPUs have increased graphic performance.

    Oh and by the way, just for curiosity, aren’t there any models around with Intel CPU + AMD GPU configuration? Only NVIDIA?

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 8, 2016 at 12:22 pm

      HI Michael.

      1. Most configurations with dedicated graphics rely on Nvidia chips. AMD can’t really compete in terms of performance these days. They have an exclusive deal with Apple, but that aside, there are very few units with their graphics.
      2. There are some ultraportables with dedicated graphics, but if you want to get something truly light and thin, you’d have to go without. Integrated graphics are pretty capable nowadays though, you’ll only need dedicated chips for games and maybe for some video/3d editing software. These aside, integrated graphics are good enough, and even integrated graphics are available in different forms. For instance, there are some Core I7 CPUs with Intel HD 540 Iris graphics, faster than the regular solutions you’ll find on most other laptops. You’ll find a post about the Dell XPS with such a configuration on the site.
      3. You haven’t mentioned a budget, but my first pick would be the Dell XPS 13, a compact and light 13-incher with a matte screen. This has been my ultraportable of choice btw since January 2015, there are a few articles here on the site about it and the updated version, I’ve documented my experience over time.
      4. You have other options too, like the Asus Zenbook UX306, Lenovo ThinkPad 13, Acer Aspire S13 and others, each with their pros and cons, and all cheaper than the Dell XPS. Check them out.
      5. If you’re not in a hurry, I suggest waiting for 2-4 more weeks. Intel are curently updating the hardware line and most manufacturers will launch their Kaby Lake updates by Ocotober. If you want to buy the laptop today, you’d have to go with Skylake hardware in most cases.

  8. Michael

    September 8, 2016 at 4:59 pm

    Hi, thank you very much for your detailed response.

    Indeed I can wait another month or two for the Kaby Lake update, as I’ve been holding out this purchase for at least a year now to make up my mind. This is why I keep an eye on this useful website and I will be eagerly awaiting your upcoming reviews of the Kaby Lake models.

    Since you took the time to provide very valuable info, I will expand on some details on my original comment for clarification. If you can provide any further insight about it, I will be glad to hear.

    My budget would be around 1000€ in Europe. Since I will start my research grant soon, I’m willing to spend a bit extra for something that will help me stay productive, so I’d say 1200€, but only if it’s worth the investiment. I am one of those consumers who always chases the best quality/price ratio for my needs, I hate to see money wasted.

    My requirements are as follows:

    * enough battery for 7-8 hours of office usage
    * resolution of 1920×1080 (I think it’s good enough for me, right now I’m using 1366×768)
    * Matte screen
    * Backlit keyboard (not really mandatory for me, but at this budget should be included)
    * Around 1,5 kg of weight
    * 16 GB of RAM would be very nice, my current laptop has 8GB and I think it already feels short sometimes, specially when doing extended browser sessions.
    * At least a Core i5 CPU.
    * 256GB SSD (though if the storage is replaceable, I can buy it separately and replace it, but it would be nice if already included)

    As per your recommendation, the two devices I have in mind right now in the 13″ ultraportable category are the Asus Zenbooks and the Dell XPS.

    Now, my main focus of indecision right now is between going full ultraportable and thin (and hopefully more battery life) or once more going for a regular sized 15,6″ model. I’d love to have a thin and light device to carry on my regular backpack instead of a separate bag and at the same time with enough performance for my work needs (and without the need for too many adaptors to compensante for poor I/O).

    The point is I don’t need to split myself between multiple devices like most people do with desktop-laptop-tablet. I don’t fall on either spectrum of very high performance (desktop) or very high autonomy (mobile).

    In terms of performance, I’m not much of a gamer, and while I do sometimes need some basic photo editing/management or video editing, or running GPU intensive software, it is not on a daily or even weekly basis. To serve as a desktop, I can always connect a laptop to an external monitor and mouse/keyboard to increase comfort and ergonomy for long hours on a desk.

    On the other hand, my mobile needs are well covered with my smartphone and at this point I see tablets simply as phones with large screens. As long as the laptop has enough battery for a 7-8 hours and is light enough to be taken with me everywhere, it’s certainly mobile enough for me.

    So to sum it up, everything I need to do for work and personal tasks I can accomplish efficiently with a laptop. This got even easier with Windows 10, that allows to run both desktop software and universal apps on the same OS. I’m receptive to a hybrid/convetible laptop with touch and particularly inking capabilities, but as I wrote in the other comment, I find that more often than not, such devices cost more for the same hardware specs in comparison with traditional clamshell laptops.

    As an example of this, for some time I considered buying the Surface Pro 4, mostly because it promises to be a laptop replacement and I am curious tabout digital ink capabilities because I like to write to put my ideas into paper, and the pen experience on the Surface Pro 4 is highly praised, but besides the expensive price tag for the Core i5 version, coupled with selling the type cover separately, I feel like it wouldn’t be enough to be the all in one device I’m looking for, it would still feel too much like a secondary device to be used in conjunction with another computer.

    I guess the main question is how lightweight and ultraportable can I go without losing the performance I need. I’m seriously wondering, perhaps the Intel i7 CPUs with HD 540 Iris Pro graphics would do fine for me and my occasional graphical needs.

    I hope I was able to transmit my ideas with clarity, as english is not my native language.

    Thanks for the attention!

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 9, 2016 at 3:29 am

      You mentioned you want a matte screen and that pretty much rules out all hybrids, which come with glossy touchscreens.

      Also, I wouldn’t be concerned about performance on a modern Core U processor. From what you’re saying, it should be fat enough. The Iris i7s are an option to consider, but there are few laptops built on this platform and they are mostly outside the budget you mentioned. I’d stick with a Skylake or Kabylake regular i7, although even an i5 would probably do just fine for what you need, paired with at least 8 GB of RAM and a fast SSD (preferably PCIe).

      So, I’d stick with the suggestions mentioned earlier for what you need. The Dell XPS 13 and the Zenbook UX306 are both available with 16 GB of RAM, but you’re not going to squeeze those in 1000 EUR. Chances are you’re not going to squeeze the XPS with the 356 Gb SSD either, but the current Skylake model, XPS 9350, might get discounted down the road. Dell laptops are usually expensive over here in Europe though, so chances are you might have to either bump up your budget or go with a Zenbook, in which case the options for you are the UX306 and the UX330. The latter is probably the one theyțll ship in Europe, while the former is reserved for the US, from what I can tell right now.

  9. eg

    September 23, 2016 at 3:58 pm

    PLEASE, could you post which ones have Active digitizers? Just noting “touch” does not cover the very important distinction of whether they support the precision of and active digitizer (not the broad splotches of passive digitizers)

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 24, 2016 at 5:08 am

      I’m going to have a dedicated list of options with active digitizers, I’ve been working on it for a while, hopefully will be able to publish it soon

  10. Mary-Lou

    October 5, 2016 at 4:56 pm

    Hello Andrei,

    thanks a lot for your great lists!

    It seems that there will be an updated model of the ZenBook series which will ship with the Kaby Lake Core M > Y processors (i7-7Y75, i5-7Y54, m3-7Y30):
    Asus ZenBook UX330CAK: asus.com/Notebooks/ASUS-ZenBook-UX330CAK.

    Can’t wait to buy it. I hope the new model won’t have CPU whining.

    Maybe you’d like to include it in your list.

    Cheers,
    Mary-Lou

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 6, 2016 at 4:18 am

      Hi, thanks for the heads-up, I’ve added it to the list.

      • Devin

        October 7, 2016 at 12:24 am

        UX390UAK should be UX390UA. It is an exception with a Kabylake CPU by default (as well as T305CA)

        I think their naming follows:
        UX: series name
        3: screen size
        60: model name
        U: Core U / C: Core Y/M
        A: iGPU only / Q: with low-end dGPU
        K: post-release patch, referring to an upgrade to Kabylake

        • Andrei Girbea

          October 7, 2016 at 10:26 am

          The Kaby Lake version is called UX390UAK as far as I know. And you’re right about their naming, but there are a few more options on dGPU

  11. Stewart Martin

    October 10, 2016 at 10:51 pm

    The Dell xps 13 is reported to have NVMe but the dell website specs say PCie – can you find out if a revision including NVMe is coming?

    Also, I’m not seeing any ultraportables with Intel Xpoint 32Gb/s NVMe connection, e.g. Intel Optane SSD. I think this would greatly increase some tasks on the typical ultralaptop, esp connected to a fast NAS.

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 11, 2016 at 5:59 am

      I don’t have any insiders at Dell, you should contact support and ask them about it, I don’t remember what kind of SSDs they’re using these days out of the top of my mind.

      Also, the Optane SSDs aren’t out yet, or am I wrong? Plus, they’re a new technology and it will be a while since most OEMs will adopt it, if ever. I’m not really seeing the potential benefits for the vast majority of users, PCIe and NVMe drives are fast enough of daily use and I’d rather see these drop in price than a faster solution.

  12. Matt

    October 19, 2016 at 9:20 am

    Missing Lenovo Flex (amazon has em), HP * x360 refreshes are out now as well (even on their site).

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 20, 2016 at 6:07 am

      You’re right, I’m updating this post right now and adding the new entries. Thanks for the heads-up

  13. Aleksey

    October 20, 2016 at 5:10 am

    Hi Andrei,
    It would be great to know what additional features are supported by USB-C ports on all those new ASUS laptops, especially UX410.

    Most important for me are: DisplayPort alternate mode and laptop charging support.
    There are now 4k displays coming out with USB-C support which might be a great solution for one cable docking, but only if laptop supports mentioned features.
    —-

    In general it’s a pity ASUS premium laptops lack support for 4k@60 external displays, I hope that usb-c and thunderbolt might change that.

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 20, 2016 at 5:27 am

      Thunderbolt 3 should support 4K@60Hz but most Asus laptops don’t support Thunderbolt 3. I’ll look into this matter though for a future article.

      • Aleksey

        October 20, 2016 at 6:14 am

        Thanks!

  14. Ace01

    October 21, 2016 at 5:05 pm

    Hey, Andrei! Thanks for this list, once again. I REALLY hope that HP will update the Spectre X360 15 inch with not only Kaby Lake but also with the same nice updated design that they've done with the x360 13 inch. Reading about what the new x360 13 has and the way it looks, it seems almost perfect for my taste and needs. The screen size and no 4K are the only things wrong with it for me. They actually got it thinner and now it's as light as the Samsung Spin and also it has 2 fans so perhaps the heat issue I hated in the last x360, will be taken care of.

    I keep checking Best buy and store.hp.com/us/en/mdp/Laptops/spectre-x360-348021–1?jumpid=cp_r163_us/en/pc_cons/nextgen/premiumlaptops/shopspectrex360#!&Tab=features If you click on the "buy" link next to the top left corner, it brings up all of the x360 models and the new one they just added is the x360 13 Kaby Lake. Sales said the 15 will be here soon but they couldn't tell me if it had an updated design like the 13. I like my current 15-inch x360 but I'd like to move up to Kaby Lake so it's either going to be an updated x360 15 for me or I may jump over to the dark side with a new MacBook Pro 15 if they are that good with hardware and design and if HP lets me down. I really don't see any other 15 Windows PC's that look really nice, thin, light and with a 4K display.

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 22, 2016 at 7:08 pm

      The news Spectre 13 x360 seems like a really great device, but I haven't seen any proper reviews yet. The 15-incher could be a great choice of they go for a similar bezel-less design.

  15. SteM

    October 22, 2016 at 7:31 pm

    laptopmag.com/reviews/laptops/hp-spectre-x360-13-inch

    Pretty good review, but not as good as yours.

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 23, 2016 at 3:29 am

      I'm not a big fan of laptopmag thee days, their reviews are rather superficial for my liking.

  16. Mateusz Piatkowski

    October 26, 2016 at 5:37 pm

    How about hp probook and elitebook g4 versions? I guess the have kaby lake and are already available at least in US.

  17. Louis G

    November 3, 2016 at 3:10 pm

    Hi Andrei:
    I follow this thread often. Any way to show which laotops are added since the last update?
    Thanks.
    LG

  18. Evgeni

    November 5, 2016 at 4:47 am

    All Asus Zenbooks 15+ (the last table) are based on Sky Lake.

  19. TonyRockyTiger

    November 14, 2016 at 5:57 pm

    What is the status of Intel 200-series chipsets being available in laptops? It would be great to have the latest I/O and peripheral technologies (Thunderbolt 3, HDCP 2.2, Optane, etc) which should keep users from having to upgrade for another 3 years or so.

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 15, 2016 at 7:15 am

      Last I've heard it was "on track for Q4-2016 launch" but I personally haven't really looked into it much. I put it on the to do list now :)

  20. Aron

    November 16, 2016 at 4:23 pm

    Any word on when the Lenovo X1 Yoga will be updated with the Kabylake architecture?

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 17, 2016 at 6:33 am

      I'd reckon in January, Lenovo usually announces their new laptops at CES. Might happen sooner though, some series have been updated to Kaby Lake, but not the Thinkpads as far as I know.

    • F.C.G.

      November 30, 2016 at 7:27 am

      I'm also waiting for Lenovo X1 Yoga to be updated to Kabylake!

  21. Branden

    November 21, 2016 at 4:50 pm

    Any idea when the Asus ux360ca will update to Kaby Lake?

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 22, 2016 at 3:43 pm

      It's already available with the Core M3-7Y30 CPU in some countries (mostly in Europe), so I'd reckon it's only a matter of time until Asus rolls it worldwide.

      • Branden

        November 22, 2016 at 3:46 pm

        Great, thanks. I was gonna pull the trigger on the ux360ca this week, since its down to $899 CAD at Best Buy, but I'll wait for the Kaby Lake update at this point.

  22. STEWART MARTIN

    November 23, 2016 at 5:59 am

    I am most keen on ultralight convertibles with Thunderbolt 3, i7, 16GB RAM and 1TB NVMe SSD, and high-res screen.
    The Dell XPS is not available with 1TB, and both it and Spectre 360 are over $2000. Yoga 910 has no TB3.
    Are there other choices that you're aware of … or which are coming?
    Thanks

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 23, 2016 at 6:20 am

      I have a list of TB3 devices here: http://www.ultrabookreview.com/10579-laptops-thunderbolt-3/

      My advice would be to get the XPS 13 with a 256 Gb SSD if possible, buy 1 compatible 1 TB stick, replace it and then sell the old 256 GB SSD or reuse it in another computer. Buying a 1 TB SSD from an OEM is always going to be expensive, and upgrading the storage on the XPS 13 is a simple task.

  23. Praveen

    November 30, 2016 at 6:44 am

    Hi, I'm planning to buy a new laptop, for video and photo editing. I'll be using softwares such as Premier Pro, Wondershare Filmora, Photoshop CC etc. Would a Dell XPS 13 fit my requirements? Is it possible to configure an XPS 13 with Kaby Lake i7 quad-core processor and 16 GB ram? I prefer non-touch screen. Is it possible to get a UHD XPS 13 without touch screen?

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 30, 2016 at 7:02 am

      I'd get somethign with an Intel HQ processor and maybe even dedicated graphics, but the only 13-incher with such specs is the latest Alienware 13. If you want something smaller though, you'd have to look at 14 and 15-inchers, perhaps something like the Dell XPS 15, MSI GS63 or the Gigabyte Aero 14

      • Praveen

        December 1, 2016 at 1:53 pm

        Thanks for the reply. I'm not particularly looking to buy a 13 incher. Besides I used a 15 incher for over 4 years. I want a portable high performance machine to edit videos and photos. Dell XPS 15 is also a top option for me. The only thing I don't quite like about XPS 15 is it's keyboard.
        Would an Apple 13' MacBook Pro fit my requirements?
        Battery life, performance, portability and display are my requirements. No touch screen, because it decreases the battery life too much.

        • Andrei Girbea

          December 2, 2016 at 11:25 am

          As long as your required software runs on a MacBook, that's an option. but the 13-inch Macbook is still powered by a dual-core ULV processor, albeit more powerful than what's on most Windows laptops. It's not on par with the quad-cores on those options though.

      • Jorge R

        December 9, 2016 at 8:31 pm

        Any word about when the XPS 15 will be available with 7th gen i7 (Kaby Lake)?

        • Andrei Girbea

          December 10, 2016 at 4:28 pm

          the Kabylake quad-cores are scheduled for early 2017, so I'd reckon the updated XPS will follow a few weeks after the launch.

  24. Doug Bates

    January 11, 2017 at 1:20 pm

    As a gamer seeking the flexibility and mobile productivity of a 2-in-1 convertible, these quad core ultrabooks (18W H-series) with Thunderbolt 3 eGPUs options are very intriguing!

    Let's hope these reach consumers as soon as possible and without complications.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *