Asus Zenbook Flip UX360UA / Q324UA review – slim and powerful convertible

111 Comments

  1. robert

    November 25, 2016 at 11:15 am

    Andrei, thx for your feedback. I Look forward to your discussion soon on the new power user that the manufactures have neglected or more likely their supply chains take a year to catch up, but then again we've been here for 2yrs. To recap, talking about a new profile user that fits between lite biz user and hard core gamer and gaming configs like asus rogues

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 25, 2016 at 12:28 pm

      I think this type of users is best covered by ultraportable laptops like the Dell XPS 13 that can be hooked to an external graphics solution via Thunderbolt 3. That gives you a well built, powerful and long lasting laptop in a compact and light form-factor, but also the power to run games if you hook it up to an external monitor and external graphics. Yes, the CPU is still a bottleneck, to some extent, but not that much as it might seem, since a quad-core CPU is not necessarily needed for gaming (with some exceptions of poorly optimized titles that rely more heavily on the CPU).

  2. robert

    November 25, 2016 at 11:21 am

    Andrei, quick iff topic, maybe others would like too. Any links to a good lite Android security app not too much crap in it. In fact, that's a good topic. I have not easily found good concise I info on this search. Best Robert.

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 25, 2016 at 12:31 pm

      I don't really know, I think Bitdefender makes a mobile antivirus and I know they're very big on computers, so perhaps that could be useful. I'm on a iPhone though and I don't use such software, I rely on my own judgement of knowing what to click and what not to :P

  3. James

    November 26, 2016 at 5:50 pm

    I've been waiting for this to come out in the US for a while now. I noticed your update and checked out the computer on bestbuy but it only comes in FHD not QHD. Can you confirm that this is the same laptop though? The computer is for my wife and I sold her on the display being similar to the MacBook Pro.

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 27, 2016 at 9:45 am

      Well, I can't be 100% sure without seeing it, and that's not possible since I don't live in the US. But it seems to be the same from the specs and the pictures I've seen online.

    • James

      November 27, 2016 at 1:30 pm

      Nevermind, it is on the Asus US website listing all the same features except a QHD or QHD+ screen…disappointing. The computer is a BestBuy only deal ($1200) that people have apparently purchased and are selling on Amazon for a $200 markup ($1400). The HP Spectre X360 is $100 more for the 1920×1080 Kabylake version ($1300) or $200 more the 2560×1440 Skylake version ($1400) on BestBuy. Amazon has the QHD+ for $1400. Is the build quality, faster SSD, and better screen worth $200 more for the HP?

      • Andrei Girbea

        November 27, 2016 at 3:35 pm

        I personally haven't touched the HP yet, but Derek vouches for it and based on his reviews, there's very little wrong about it. Whether it's worth $200 or not, I guess that's up to each one to decide. Personally, I would probably get the HP. Keep in mind HP also offers a Core i5 model on their site for $1049, could be considered if you don't necessarily need the Core i7.

    • robert

      November 27, 2016 at 1:34 pm

      Are u sure your looking at the ux360ua and not the ux360ca. I found no ua models at BB or anywhere in the US.Plus, BB would be the last place I'd expect a new launch. They suck big time. Maybe your OK with the CA model, but your post was unclear and this review is for the UA model. If I missed any important details I claim the 5th.

      • James

        November 28, 2016 at 12:54 pm

        The current US release version is the Q324UA which is only available in FHD and a matte finish for $1199. I went to Best Buy to purchase but saw that the new Spectre X360 was in sale for the exact same price…the ASUS felt a little cheaper, the bezel was larger, the screen wasn't as vibrant, the sound aweful compared to HP (HP speakers face forward and Asus face down),and the exterior didn't look as good. Plus the Spectre's trackpad was huge. The Toss up was that the ASUS has DDR4 ram and the HP has DDR3 but the performance should be negligible as with the power savings…I spent 90 min in Best Buy deciding because the new HP only has 1USB 3.1 and the only other two ports are USB-c thunderbolt. The lack of pure hdmi, sd reader, and normal USB was a huge turnoff. I didn't want to have to spend another $60 on an adapter. At the end I went with the 2016 HP Spectre X360 FHD i7 kabylake 16Gb 512SSD. Same price on sale but seemed better all around. Hopefully no major issues though, will have to wait and see. Haven't noticed a loud fan like they say with the Asus but the thing does get pretty hot.

  4. Ash

    November 27, 2016 at 3:56 pm

    I purchased a UX360UA-C4136T recently based in large part on this excellent review (easily the best on the web). Very pleased overall, it's a great unit and was a very reasonable price.

    The fan is definitely far too aggressive by default, as noted in your review. However, I completely solved this by installing Notebook Fan Control (Google it, it's a GitHub project). With NBFC installed and configured the fan does not come on at all in general daily usage – a massive improvement.

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 27, 2016 at 4:10 pm

      Thanks, I use the same software on my old Lenovo. Just a heads up, though, keep an eye on internal temperatures while using this kind of software. It's good that it quiets down the fan, just make sure the internals don't get hotter then they should, especially under load

      • Ashton

        November 27, 2016 at 4:47 pm

        Yes, general usage temperatures sit between 35-45 deg C. Under load, temperatures increase but NBFC kicks in at about 55 deg and the temperature stabilises around that level, even under full load. My understanding is that the Core i5 6200U should be fine at these sorts of temperatures.

      • Andrei Girbea

        November 27, 2016 at 5:01 pm

        Yes, those are perfectly fine.

      • Hasse

        March 28, 2017 at 8:12 am

        Hi! Which configuration did you use with Notebook Fan Control? I downloaded it but can´t see this model in the config-file, although there is a bunch of other Zenbook models.

      • Ashton

        April 1, 2017 at 4:23 am

        Hi, I use version 1.4.4 of NBFC and chose UX360UAK, which works fine on my UX360UA.

  5. Monica

    January 4, 2017 at 2:15 pm

    Hi,
    I had the zenbook ux360ca for a month when I started experiencing an issue with the pointer. Often it went to the bottom left corner of the screen and clicks stuff there.
    At first I tought it was a touchpad issue but after some testing I found out that it was an issue with the touch screen – when the touchscreen was disabled everything is fine.
    Since the service was taking too long to fix the issue (tiuch screen replacement) they offered my money back and I took them -I need a new laptop pretty fast, and couldn't wait any longer.
    I fell in love with my zenbook and I don't want to switch to another, but I'm scared as f*ck that this could happen again.
    Also, do you think the ua is a better choice?
    I cannot decide if the fan is the better choice or not, and if this version is a better choice for me in general.
    I am a writer and I use it mainly for WordPress and Photoshop.
    Ps: They both are the 8gb ram and 256 ssd version, since that's the only version available in my country.
    Thanks,
    Monica

  6. M

    January 7, 2017 at 5:22 pm

    Hi

    Does this laptop support pen?

    thanks!

  7. Tony

    January 14, 2017 at 3:36 pm

    Any information or updates on the UX360UA being available in the United states soon? I really like the specs and the look and feel of the keyboard that asus makes and hoping to pick one up.

  8. shane

    January 18, 2017 at 7:12 am

    hi, this review is pretty great, how appropriate this laptop would be for coding? when it comes to applications like visual studio, SQL server and other advance applications?

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 18, 2017 at 9:44 am

      Depends on the resources you'd need. Could do, with the i7 and 16 GB of RAM, but there's only that much you can ask for a 15 W dual-core. The alternatives are the larger laptops with quad-core processors, or the more expensive and rare options with 28W Intel processors (like some Lenovo, Dell laptops, and perhaps the Macbooks if they're right for your needs).

  9. Ricardo

    February 15, 2017 at 10:44 am

    My girlfriend bouth this zenbook two days ago, and so far has been a dispointing experience. The monitor isn't properly calibrated, the colour is yellowish and we didn't find anything wrong to do with windows 10 or intel drivers so far, besides that the right button of the mouse pad stopped working.

    This baby is going back to the store today, hope I have better luck next time.

    It's a shame that an expensive device such as this comes with this problems.

  10. Kingston

    February 22, 2017 at 7:34 am

    Hi, thanks for good review. I looking asus zenbook ux360us i5, 8gb memory, 512gb ssd harddrive. I m small nervous for it is helpful for my height study of server installation and testion, as well as test some network configuration practies, using vmware to install some os to simultanuslly do some configuration

  11. Imran Awan

    April 20, 2017 at 11:01 am

    Does anyone own the Asus Zenbook and the Surface Pro 4? I'm looking at both devices, but leaning towards the Zenbook given its better value for money and just as portable, albeit the screen doesn't detach from the keyboard.

    Any views about both devices is welcome.

  12. M

    May 14, 2017 at 5:49 am

    Hi! I bought these 1 week ago, I charge battery 2 times, and know is not charging after 97%. Is that normal?

  13. Peter Woods

    May 16, 2017 at 12:21 am

    I BOUGHT ONE ! (Ser NoH10WU07043502D) Never got to use it , out of the box it didn’t work. Obviously lots to fix in ASUS Service Care. Took Sam Thuy, customer support team, a few days & another email to reply. I arranged to have it delivered by person to their capital city centre service ( I live in a regional area) as under Australian consumer law I am entitled to a replacement, their offer was to repair it. They wouldn’t replace it so it still doesn’t work. Many reviews back up Asus’s reputation for poor service something you don’t find out until after the purchase.

  14. Jim

    July 22, 2017 at 2:18 am

    Hi Andrei,

    I have shortlisted my purchase decision to either the UX360UA or the UX330UA. I understand both have the same specs (core i5-7200u, 8gb ram, 256gb ssd, fhd display) but different form factors, former is a flip convertible while latter is a regular laptop.

    Would you be able to guide me on any technical or performance based advantage the ux330 may have that would justify NOT buying the ux360ua convertible laptop instead?

    Otherwise I may just pull the plug and spend approximately $150 more to get the ux360ua and have the benefit of flexibility while watching videos and browsing the net. I don't plan on heavy gaming. I value good display, relatively quiet performance, low fan noise, good keyboard and trackpad.

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 22, 2017 at 4:13 am

      Well, the too are technically identical. It's been a while since I reviewed them, but you can find both articles here on the site with my indepth impressions at the time. As far as I remember they have similar keyboards/trackpads/IO, the UX330 gets a marginally brighter screen, but only because there's no extra glass on top. What actually matters is that the UX330 gets a matte screen, while the UX360UA gets a glossy glass covered screen which shows glare and reflections in bright light. Something to keep in mind if you plan to use this outdoors or in bright offices.

      Overall, I feel the UX330 is the slighter better buy for the money as it sells for less, but the UX360UA get's you the touchscreen and form-factor. Up to you if that's worth paying extra for.

      • Jim

        July 23, 2017 at 12:34 pm

        Andrei,

        Thank you very much. Appreciate the advice and agree with your recommendation as well.

        Cheers!

  15. Atefe

    August 26, 2017 at 5:40 pm

    Has anyone any problem with over heating down of screen on the "asus" lable? I have purchased one today and it's going hot from starting up to 2mins later.

  16. Seb

    October 9, 2017 at 8:19 pm

    Hi, i bought this computer 2 months ago and i'm pretty happy with it. Now i would like to know if the Bamboo Ink from wacom works with this computer or just a normal pen ?

    Thank you for the answer.

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 10, 2017 at 3:35 am

      I don't think it does. The Bamboo pens usually work with screens that include a digitizer, and this one does not. Details here: http://www.wacom.com/en-us/comp

      • Seb

        October 11, 2017 at 7:36 pm

        Ok thx for the answer. I would say it's pretty sad a computer with that price doesn't have a digitizer…. i have the ux360uak version with i7, 512go ssd and 16go ram and still i don't get why they didn't incorporate active stylus technology. I though a computer like that would automatically have it.

  17. Dr Samar

    January 19, 2018 at 2:24 pm

    Hi, thankyou for the nice article, i need help with my asus ux360ua, i dropped it and cracked the touch screen/digitizer, the lcd is perectly fine, but i need help in replacing the digitizer, i cant find any video tutorials on, can you please help/guide me on how to replace the digitizer for my laptop?

    Regards
    Dr Samar

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 23, 2018 at 1:31 pm

      Srt, that's out of my league, try ti get in touch with an Asus service.

  18. Thomas

    September 27, 2019 at 6:14 pm

    In the review, you write that it is compatible with PCIe/NVME drives as well. Are you sure about this (or can anyone verify)? I am looking to upgrade mine, but cannot find any information on the compatibility of the ssd connector with newer nvme drives. Thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 27, 2019 at 7:30 pm

      It's been a long time since I've reviewed this, so I don't exactly remember, but perhaps others can pitch in.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.