Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Acer Aspire 5 A515-51 Acer The Acer Aspire 5 is one of the best budget full-size laptops you can find in stores today. It checks most of the right boxes: well built, slim and fairly light, gets a decent keyboard, an IPS screen and modern hardware, performs well, runs cool and quiet and lasts for a long while on a charge. It\'s not without a couple of flaws, but none are real deal-breakers or surprises for a under $500 device, that\'s why this notebook gets a good rating and our recommendation. Read on for the whole story. Acer Aspire 5 A515-51 The Acer Aspire 5 is one of the best budget full-size laptops you can find in stores today. It checks most of the right boxes: well built, slim and fairly light, gets a decent keyboard, an IPS screen and modern hardware, performs well, runs cool and quiet and lasts for a long while on a charge. It's not without a couple of flaws, but none are real deal-breakers or surprises for a under $500 device, that's why this notebook gets a good rating and our recommendation. Read on for the whole story. Andrei Girbea 4 5 https://www.ultrabookreview.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/06/acer-aspire-5-main.jpg Andrei Girbea 4 5

Acer Aspire 5 A515-51 review – an excellent and affordable mid-range 15-inch laptop

59 Comments

  1. Zaid

    July 20, 2017 at 10:50 pm

    can I have your opinion between Acer Aspire 5 A515-51 with Asus VivoBook S15 S510UQ, which will you prefer as your daily laptop and to do some work.

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 21, 2017 at 2:31 am

      They're not really the same, the A515 is a more affordable option and Asus's alternative is the X556 line. The Vivobook S15 is a thinner, more compact and lighter unit, but with a small battery. IF you don't care about portability all that much, the Aspire 5 is probably the more practical choice.

      • Zaid

        July 21, 2017 at 3:08 am

        Thank you for your reply.. really help a lot now..
        BTW love your review.. keep it up!!

  2. George

    August 2, 2017 at 3:05 pm

    Hi there if you are able to, can you provide links to purchase this ? (multiple websites if possible)

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 2, 2017 at 4:49 pm

      It's not widely available for now, you'll have to give it a few more weeks if you can

    • StepOne

      August 2, 2017 at 6:03 pm

      This is the official link provided by Acer for purchase. This model is $600 with mx150.

      microcenter.com/product/481303/Aspire_5_A515-51G-52R1_156_Laptop_Computer_-_Black

  3. Eli

    September 3, 2017 at 3:51 am

    Hey, I wanted to know which one is better overall if I wanted to buy a new laptop:
    This aspire a5 or the Acer Aspire E 15 (E5-575G-57D4) ?

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 3, 2017 at 4:43 am

      Are they similarly configured? OR do they get different parts?

  4. Jack

    September 16, 2017 at 2:58 am

    I purchased this laptop a couple weeks ago. The problem that I'm having is that it says upgradable to 20gb ram but I can't find where this spare slot is to upgrade it. Any help would be awesome. I called acer…. wasn't helpful at all and their knowledge of their own product was embarrassing.

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 16, 2017 at 8:41 am

      There's a single DIMM that can take an up to 16 GB stick, and there's also 4 GB soldered on the motherboard. Yours probably comes with a smaller DIMM, you'd have to replace it with a 16 GB one

      • Jack

        September 16, 2017 at 2:06 pm

        Thank you I found it. Your awesome!

  5. Rishabh Soni

    September 19, 2017 at 7:25 am

    Is it good laptop for programming purpose
    In c, c++, java,Python etc..
    I m beginner and I m confuse is this laptop good for me

  6. Jess

    September 21, 2017 at 3:07 am

    I just bought this computer with 12 GB and I'm finding that it's rather slow when I boot it – you talk about pre-installed bloatware to uninstall, could you be more specific? For example, can I uninstall the acer collection/acer config manager/acer portal/acer care center etc… without running into major issues later?
    Thanks

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 21, 2017 at 3:37 am

      Check the Hardware section, in the first gallery there are pics with the installed programs, before and after. The After I what I keep. BTW, do you have an SSD on your unit?

  7. Ivan

    September 23, 2017 at 12:22 pm

    Hi, do you have any plans to look at the model updated with Kaby Lake R?
    Do you think the switch to an i5-8250U would make this laptop a more compelling choice?

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 24, 2017 at 5:26 am

      Depends on what you want it for. the i5-8250U is a solid processor and it's about the same price as the i5-7200U, but the dula-cores will probably be available discounted. Bottom point, think whether you'll need those quad-cores or not, and if you're willing to wait and pay extra for them.

      PS: Not sure if I'll review the updates model.

  8. Tracy Lee Reed

    December 16, 2017 at 12:12 pm

    I need to look at the Hardware gallery at the "before and afters'" to determine the bloatware that can be deleted without affecting its performance….right?

  9. Purshotham

    December 23, 2017 at 3:01 pm

    I purchased this laptop 5 days back,I managed to completely setup today. What I wanted to ask is, I measured the CPU temperature with CoreTemp software, and the temp seems to be at an average of 38-42 Degrees. And what I could notice is the fan doesn't run always(most of the time), is this normal? I have set up with my SSD and and I have to admit its really superfast but I am concerned about the temperature.

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 24, 2017 at 5:24 am

      Yes, it's normal for the fan to only kick on when required.

  10. william

    December 27, 2017 at 1:18 am

    i bought the acer i5 8gb ram with 1td hdd.no ssd is the ssd easy and cheap to upgrade? should i replace it once i open the box. thanks

    Acer Aspire 5 A515-51-563W, 15.6" Full HD (1920 x 1080), 7th Gen Intel Core i5-7200U, 8GB DDR4, 1TB HDD, Windows 10 Home

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 27, 2017 at 5:28 am

      Very easy, there's a dedicated bay on the back: https://www.ultrabookreview.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/06/back-hdd-ram.jpg . As far as prices go, large SSDs are expensive, but personally I'd rather sacrifice the space for the massive performance gain when upgrading the HDD to and SSD.

      • William

        December 27, 2017 at 8:55 am

        thank you Andrei

        i don't understand the last part you said. very new to cp stuff. so do y mean i get a less ssd storage for upgrade? or keep the hdd ,leave it alone?

        thank you

        • William

          December 27, 2017 at 8:58 am

          i'm contemplating on getting the one with hdd for 449.00 or the one with 256 gb ssd for 519.00? both i5

        • Andrei Girbea

          December 27, 2017 at 4:07 pm

          Get an SSD, as large as you can afford, but preferably at least 250 GB

          • william

            January 26, 2018 at 8:20 am

            I found out that it's best to get the ones without ssd. and better to install one yourself because the factory install the cheapest ones in to save money.

          • Andrei Girbea

            January 30, 2018 at 4:44 am

            Yeah, that's the better option imo as well, but some people would rather not go through eh hassle of installing an SSD and WIndows, etc.

  11. Milky

    January 4, 2018 at 6:26 am

    Do I need to disconnect the battery before RAM upgrade? If yes – how to do it?

  12. Jd

    January 14, 2018 at 5:15 pm

    Hi can i ask if it is good for gaming or you need to buy a cooler fan so it will not heat to much

  13. Chris

    January 18, 2018 at 3:26 pm

    Hi,
    On the website I am browsing the model only comes with an SSD(256) as standard. Does the unit have an empty internal bay that supports dual storage? Not sure if it comes standard on all unit types.

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 19, 2018 at 12:59 pm

      I can't tell for sure. Normally it should come with an M.2 SSD and have the 2.5" bay empty, but there are two more possibilities:

      1. It comes with a 2.5" SSD, which is cheaper, and has an empty M.2 slot
      2. It comes with an M.2 SSD, but the 2.5" bay lacks the connector to put an extra drive. This is the case with some of these lower end laptops.

      Perhaps the seller can help, or maybe you can ask previous buyers about that. Some shops allow questions, like Amazon for instance.

  14. Mirna

    January 21, 2018 at 2:49 pm

    Hello everyone! I bought mine acer aspire 5, A515-51G-56XI with I5 processor a month ago at author.dealer,brand new. Guess what? It turns off. Just like that. Battery full. Says,for example,85% battery left and suddenly….it just goes off.no warnings. I'm taking it back tomorrow. And will ask for brand new one. I mean….hello….it's happening from the very first moment. And it's not about windows or something,altough it is installed-bought installed. I don' t care if it is battery or something. Not feeling comfortable having brand new lap with an issue. Any advices?

  15. Mirna

    January 22, 2018 at 3:11 am

    My laptop,this acer that you are writting about is turning off. Just like that. Brand new . Battery full,says for example 95% battery left and in the middle of work it goes off. Just like that. Taking it back to dealers' today. Anyone with same issue? Andrei,I'd like your opinion about it. Thank you

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 23, 2018 at 1:34 pm

      Send it back and ask for a replacement, that sort of behavior is hard to explain and should not be accepted on a new laptop

  16. Verginio

    February 10, 2018 at 6:34 pm

    Very good your evaluation. I have this notebook, i can replace this his original screen (BOE NV156FHM-N42), for this: m.pt.aliexpress.com/item/32755027044.html?pid=808_0006_0109&spm=a2g0n. search-amp.list.32755027044.
    Can it be incompatible?

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 16, 2018 at 4:03 am

      I can't tell, that's a bit out of my area of comfort

  17. Marika

    March 5, 2018 at 7:17 pm

    I bought this model as a cheap temporary computer until I get get a better one. I'd like to use it for graphic design but I know the color is more than a little off. I tried downloading the color calibration profile you've posted on this review, but when I go to set it as my default profile, I don't get any confirmation and I don't see any change in the color on the screen.. First of all do you know what's happening here and if I can fix it? And second.. maybe this just isn't the laptop to go with for graphic design, esp. since color is so important? Any other budget ($800is) suggestions?

    Thank you for your extensive reviews!

  18. Sal

    April 27, 2018 at 2:40 pm

    How thick hdd its bay accepts? 9mm, 12.5 or 15mm?

  19. kerry

    June 12, 2018 at 12:05 am

    does the acer 515-51 51nz come with c/d, dvd?

  20. Jason Ellingsworth

    July 6, 2018 at 11:14 pm

    I don't understand. Everywhere else says the E15 gets the IPS, but the 5 has a terrible screen. Performance tests from both models with i5's and the mx150 graphics also show the E15 winning in performance tests. So how did you manage to get an Aspire 5 with an IPS display, and get it to perform faster than the E15?

  21. darren

    July 21, 2018 at 6:56 am

    So I am very torn between this laptop and the Acer Swift 3. A main factor for me is the ability to play fortnite at at least 40fps on medium to high settings. But they both have the same specs: 8gb ddr4 ram, 8th gen intel core i5, 256gb ssd, nvidia geforce mx150 gpu, and same price tag at $600US. I read your reviews on each of these respective laptops and I still have trouble deciding. Apparently the aspire has slightly better temperature control, which you would think would go to the swift 3 with the aluminum chassis. However, the swift 3 has better battery life. Any help would be much appreciated. Thank you and please have a nice day.

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 23, 2018 at 10:17 pm

      Tough call. Battery life should be about the same, as both get 48W batteries and similar hardware/screens. The cooling is a little more complex on the Swift 3, and this aspect, corroborated with the performance issues we had on our sample of the Aspire 5, would probably push me towards the Swift among the two.

  22. Jen Sing

    November 22, 2018 at 10:30 pm

    Does this system support OpenGL 3.2 compatible graphics? One of the applications that I'm needing to run on it Blender, blender.org/download/requirements/, has this as a recommended requirement. Thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 22, 2018 at 11:34 pm

      You didn't mention which configuration you're interested in, but that OpenGL version is old and supported by all the laptops launched in the past years, including all the Core variants of this one.

      • Jen Sing

        November 22, 2018 at 11:40 pm

        Thanks! I'm aiming for the 'recommended' requirements, as am looking for an affordable first laptop for my daughter. I'm guessing that I'd have to pay >$1000 for a machine that can handle the 'optimal' requirements.

        • Andrei Girbea

          November 22, 2018 at 11:53 pm

          I don't think you'd have to pay 1G+ for that. What's your budget?

          • Jen Sing

            November 23, 2018 at 12:00 am

            Since it's my daughter's first laptop that she'll be taking to school, I'm guessing it'll get bumped around a bit so I don't want to invest too much. I'm thinking no more than $800 (CAD…we're up north!). Much appreciated if you have a better suggestion!

          • Andrei Girbea

            November 23, 2018 at 12:37 am

            You didn't give any link to the configuration you were planning to get. If possible, I'd aim for a computer with a Core i5-8300H/ Core i5-7700HQ / Core i5-7300HQ (in this order) CPU, 16 GB of RAM and SSD storage, I'm not sure you can find anything like this within budget with the existing deals. The CPU and RAM are the most important with that kind of loads, graphics not as much. You'll also be fine with 8 GB for starters and can be further upgraded if required.

  23. Jen Sing

    November 23, 2018 at 1:17 am

    This is the one that I'm looking at

    bestbuy.ca/en-ca/product/acer-aspire-15-6-laptop-black-ci5-8250u-1tb-hdd-8gb-ram-windows-10/12602484.aspx?#feedback-wrapper

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 23, 2018 at 1:51 am

      Looks fine for that kind of money. Could also consider this: bestbuy.ca/en-ca/product/hp-14-laptop-natural-silver-ash-silver-intel-core-i5-8250u-256gb-ssd-8gb-ram-windows-10-only-at-best-buy/12620842.aspx , smaller and at least it gets an SSD, will be snappier with daily use.

      • Jen Sing

        November 23, 2018 at 10:18 am

        Thank you so much! I've ordered it

  24. David

    July 19, 2019 at 5:29 am

    I just purchased the Acer Aspire 5 15.6 inch 515-54-51DJ and I can't seem to find a hard shell case for it. I've been looking all over the internet. Is this not yet available? There is a warning not to use the hard shell cases for the Acer Aspire 5 15.6 inch E series, so I guess I need a hard shell case for this specific computer. Help.

  25. Lee Bass

    August 2, 2019 at 3:27 am

    OK… lots of articles out there but i want to help my fiancee with the best choice for her nursing school…
    Best battery life and weight and good screen without touchpad issues…. performance aint a big deal as long as the wifi is strong and it can handle the MS Office suites.
    A few suggestions if possible ? Trying to stay 6-800 $ This one came up on some sites but still seemed lacking…
    Thanks !

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 2, 2019 at 10:36 am

      That's a good option in its class, but doesn't look that great imo and it's mostly plastic. I'd rather go with something like the Acer Swift 3 or the Huawei Matebook D or the Asus VivoBook S14/S15. Not sure where you're living, but in the US they should be within your budget.

      Aim for a Core i5 processor (preferably i5-8265U), 8 GB of RAM and SSD storage. No need for the i7. These should get pretty fair screens with IPS panels, decent colors and good viewing angles. However, the brightness is going to be fairly low, so the laptop won't do well in very bright conditions or outside, during the daytime.

      • Roy Bass

        August 2, 2019 at 2:11 pm

        Thanks Andrei !

  26. 1 Bad Daddy.QT

    August 26, 2019 at 2:56 am

    I bought the ACER ASPIRE 5 515-51-58HD laptop and I thought it said it came with a BACKLIT KEYBOARD and it DID NOT ! ! ! I was so very mad, after it was delivered to me 2 days later than it was suppose to get here.
    And , no where in any of the instructions that came with it, is a LAYOUT of the PORTS onboard, such as where the USB inputs are located on this pc???
    I know what they look like, but 2 USBs are 2.0 & 1 USB is a 3.0 & 1 is a 3.1 port, BUT!!! I do not which is which here…
    I still need help or pictures…
    I CAN READ PICTURES, REALLY GOOD !!!
    Remember, I am a dude, ladies…

  27. sana

    September 11, 2019 at 11:46 am

    hey, i was wondering if i can use tablet mode on the Acer A5 laptop! like does it have a touch screen? can i enable it somehow? Thanks :)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *