Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Acer Aspire 5 A515-51 Andrei Girbea Rating: 4 out of 5

Acer Aspire 5 A515-51 review – an excellent and affordable mid-range 15-inch laptop

28 Comments

  1. Zaid

    July 20, 2017 at 10:50 pm

    can I have your opinion between Acer Aspire 5 A515-51 with Asus VivoBook S15 S510UQ, which will you prefer as your daily laptop and to do some work.

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 21, 2017 at 2:31 am

      They're not really the same, the A515 is a more affordable option and Asus's alternative is the X556 line. The Vivobook S15 is a thinner, more compact and lighter unit, but with a small battery. IF you don't care about portability all that much, the Aspire 5 is probably the more practical choice.

      • Zaid

        July 21, 2017 at 3:08 am

        Thank you for your reply.. really help a lot now..
        BTW love your review.. keep it up!!

  2. George

    August 2, 2017 at 3:05 pm

    Hi there if you are able to, can you provide links to purchase this ? (multiple websites if possible)

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 2, 2017 at 4:49 pm

      It's not widely available for now, you'll have to give it a few more weeks if you can

    • StepOne

      August 2, 2017 at 6:03 pm

      This is the official link provided by Acer for purchase. This model is $600 with mx150.

      microcenter.com/product/481303/Aspire_5_A515-51G-52R1_156_Laptop_Computer_-_Black

  3. Eli

    September 3, 2017 at 3:51 am

    Hey, I wanted to know which one is better overall if I wanted to buy a new laptop:
    This aspire a5 or the Acer Aspire E 15 (E5-575G-57D4) ?

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 3, 2017 at 4:43 am

      Are they similarly configured? OR do they get different parts?

  4. Jack

    September 16, 2017 at 2:58 am

    I purchased this laptop a couple weeks ago. The problem that I'm having is that it says upgradable to 20gb ram but I can't find where this spare slot is to upgrade it. Any help would be awesome. I called acer…. wasn't helpful at all and their knowledge of their own product was embarrassing.

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 16, 2017 at 8:41 am

      There's a single DIMM that can take an up to 16 GB stick, and there's also 4 GB soldered on the motherboard. Yours probably comes with a smaller DIMM, you'd have to replace it with a 16 GB one

      • Jack

        September 16, 2017 at 2:06 pm

        Thank you I found it. Your awesome!

  5. Rishabh Soni

    September 19, 2017 at 7:25 am

    Is it good laptop for programming purpose
    In c, c++, java,Python etc..
    I m beginner and I m confuse is this laptop good for me

  6. Jess

    September 21, 2017 at 3:07 am

    I just bought this computer with 12 GB and I'm finding that it's rather slow when I boot it – you talk about pre-installed bloatware to uninstall, could you be more specific? For example, can I uninstall the acer collection/acer config manager/acer portal/acer care center etc… without running into major issues later?
    Thanks

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 21, 2017 at 3:37 am

      Check the Hardware section, in the first gallery there are pics with the installed programs, before and after. The After I what I keep. BTW, do you have an SSD on your unit?

  7. Ivan

    September 23, 2017 at 12:22 pm

    Hi, do you have any plans to look at the model updated with Kaby Lake R?
    Do you think the switch to an i5-8250U would make this laptop a more compelling choice?

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 24, 2017 at 5:26 am

      Depends on what you want it for. the i5-8250U is a solid processor and it's about the same price as the i5-7200U, but the dula-cores will probably be available discounted. Bottom point, think whether you'll need those quad-cores or not, and if you're willing to wait and pay extra for them.

      PS: Not sure if I'll review the updates model.

  8. Tracy Lee Reed

    December 16, 2017 at 12:12 pm

    I need to look at the Hardware gallery at the "before and afters'" to determine the bloatware that can be deleted without affecting its performance….right?

  9. Purshotham

    December 23, 2017 at 3:01 pm

    I purchased this laptop 5 days back,I managed to completely setup today. What I wanted to ask is, I measured the CPU temperature with CoreTemp software, and the temp seems to be at an average of 38-42 Degrees. And what I could notice is the fan doesn't run always(most of the time), is this normal? I have set up with my SSD and and I have to admit its really superfast but I am concerned about the temperature.

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 24, 2017 at 5:24 am

      Yes, it's normal for the fan to only kick on when required.

  10. william

    December 27, 2017 at 1:18 am

    i bought the acer i5 8gb ram with 1td hdd.no ssd is the ssd easy and cheap to upgrade? should i replace it once i open the box. thanks

    Acer Aspire 5 A515-51-563W, 15.6" Full HD (1920 x 1080), 7th Gen Intel Core i5-7200U, 8GB DDR4, 1TB HDD, Windows 10 Home

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 27, 2017 at 5:28 am

      Very easy, there's a dedicated bay on the back: https://www.ultrabookreview.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/06/back-hdd-ram.jpg . As far as prices go, large SSDs are expensive, but personally I'd rather sacrifice the space for the massive performance gain when upgrading the HDD to and SSD.

      • William

        December 27, 2017 at 8:55 am

        thank you Andrei

        i don't understand the last part you said. very new to cp stuff. so do y mean i get a less ssd storage for upgrade? or keep the hdd ,leave it alone?

        thank you

        • William

          December 27, 2017 at 8:58 am

          i'm contemplating on getting the one with hdd for 449.00 or the one with 256 gb ssd for 519.00? both i5

        • Andrei Girbea

          December 27, 2017 at 4:07 pm

          Get an SSD, as large as you can afford, but preferably at least 250 GB

  11. Milky

    January 4, 2018 at 6:26 am

    Do I need to disconnect the battery before RAM upgrade? If yes – how to do it?

  12. Jd

    January 14, 2018 at 5:15 pm

    Hi can i ask if it is good for gaming or you need to buy a cooler fan so it will not heat to much

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *