Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Asus VivoBook S15 S510UQ Andrei Girbea Rating: 4 out of 5

Asus VivoBook S15 S510 (S510UQ) review – portable full-size laptop on a budget

79 Comments

  1. cool

    July 14, 2017 at 5:18 am

    Thank you for this review. Do you have any idea about Asus VivoBook S15 S510UA (without Nvidia GTX 940MX)'s weight and battery life? Without Nvidia GTX 940MX, S510UA might be lighter and/or have better battery runtime? On some documents S510 is 1.5kg, some of them documented as 1.7kg. Is this about Nvidia GTX 940MX?
    Thanks

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 14, 2017 at 8:11 am

      Not really. The addition of the MX chip only ads a few grams to the total weight, the UQ and UAs are otherwise the same, around 1.6 kg according to my scales + the power brick. Also, with Optimus the Nvidia chip is only active when need on the UQ, which means that with movies and daily use you're still using the Integrated Intel HD 620 graphics that you'd also get on the S510UAs. That means battery life will only differ in games between the two.

      The UAs will however run cooler and quieter in games/high loads, since there's no dedicated chip to cool

  2. rizqi

    July 15, 2017 at 7:00 pm

    thank you for the review, which one do you prefer vivobook S15 510 UX, lenovo ideapad 710s plus, or dell inspiron 7560?, since three of them have a close spesification

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 16, 2017 at 4:25 am

      is there a 710s plus with a 15-inch screen? I couldn't find one and in that case it's not like the others, since it's a smaller laptop. There's a 15-inch version of the IdeaPad 320s scheduled as far as I know, but can't tell much about it for now. We did review the 14-inch model here: https://www.ultrabookreview.com/15874-lenovo-ideapad-320s-review/

      Between the Dell and the Asus, I think I'd go with the Asus for the much lighter body. Both are otherwise compact and have similar features and a 42 Wh battery. The Dell should be a little stronger in the main-chassis, but I havent' reviewed it myself so can't confirm.

      • rizqi

        July 16, 2017 at 7:04 pm

        thank you for the reply

  3. 永康

    July 16, 2017 at 11:17 am

    Nice review, which one do you prefer vivobook S15 510UQ or zenbook UX430UA? Which one do you think have a better value?

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 16, 2017 at 3:16 pm

      Can't really compare them, they're not in the same price league. The UX430 is more portable, better built, gets a nicer screen, larger battery, but it's also more expensive. If you're not on a budget, it's the nicer pick and you can also consider the Zenbook UX530 when available if you want a larger screen.

      • cool

        July 17, 2017 at 1:15 am

        When UX530 will be available and what price range to be expected for similar configuration?
        Thanks

        • Andrei Girbea

          July 17, 2017 at 3:39 am

          It's already available in some regions and the i7 configuration with 8 GB RAM and 512 GB SSD sells for about 1300 EUR over here: pcgarage.ro/ultrabook/asus/156-zenbook-ux530uq-fhd-procesor-intel-core-i7-7500u-4m-cache-up-to-350-ghz-8gb-ddr4-512gb-ssd-geforce-940mx-2gb-win-10-pro-blue/ , which is about the same as the UX430. That should be about $1300 in the US, but I can't tell when it will be available over there, Asus have some odd availability procedures.

  4. Nathan

    July 16, 2017 at 12:37 pm

    I'm looking to spend around $1000 CAD(about $800 US). I'm really interested in this laptop but I'm wondering if I could find similar specs if I don't care about portability as much. As long as the laptop is less than 6.5 pounds I'd be happy. I do game on my laptop occasionally as well. If you have any suggestions I'd be very grateful. Thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 16, 2017 at 3:18 pm

      Yes, you can find better specs in mid-range laptops like the Dell Inspiron 5000, Acer Aspire 5 and E15, Asus X556, Lenovo Ideapad 520, etc. There's a list here: https://www.ultrabookreview.com/2404-14-15-inch-ultrabooks/#a1 . You can also aim for something like the Acer Aspire VX15 or Lenovo Legion Y520 with Nvidia 1050 graphics and quad-core processors for the faster hardware and much more capable graphics.

      • Nathan

        July 16, 2017 at 3:47 pm

        Very helpful thanks!

  5. rizqi

    July 17, 2017 at 6:30 am

    do you have any idea how i can get this in japan? i still cant find it in asus japan website or amazon japan. or is there any possibility that this laptop come in the different name in japan? thanks

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 17, 2017 at 7:52 am

      Might no be available there yet, it's not available for retail in my region either. Could try to get in touch with Asus Japan on Twitter, Facebook or other social media that you guys use and ask about it.

  6. Conrad

    July 17, 2017 at 8:43 am

    Would love to see a review of the new Vivobook Pro 15 N580. Strange how Asus announced the Pro and the S15 back in may, but they're still not available for retail in most areas.

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 17, 2017 at 12:34 pm

      It will be up in about 2-3 weeks. This and the Zenbook Pro UX550 are on the list.

  7. TRTB

    July 23, 2017 at 2:39 pm

    Do you know if this laptop can be charged via USB-C? Thanks for the review.

  8. Bernard

    July 26, 2017 at 2:58 am

    Will you review the ASUS ux530uq?Besides,do you think the i7 processor of the UX530 will cause serious heat or noise problems?

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 26, 2017 at 3:11 am

      I can't tell right now. I did review the UX430 (https://www.ultrabookreview.com/14425-asus-zenbook-ux430-review/) which is very similar, just a little smaller. it was pretty noisy with daily use, the fan is active all the time on most Asus laptops, but there's a way around it. As far as temperatures did, the chassis gets to mid 40s Celsius in games, but that's normal for a thin-and-light.

  9. blip

    July 27, 2017 at 11:24 pm

    " the fan is active all the time on most Asus laptops, but there's a way around it."
    there is? how?

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 28, 2017 at 2:57 am

      There's a custom piece of software called NoteBookFanControl that allows you to keep the fan from spinning until the CPU reaches a certain temperature. It's not official from Asus, but it works with most laptops. You'd have to use it on your own risk, though. Google it for more details.

  10. Aditya

    July 28, 2017 at 11:21 am

    Will this laptop be useful for programming and coding??i mean for a developer as well as programmers.
    please reply me soon.

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 28, 2017 at 11:53 pm

      as long as the Core U is enough for your needs, than yes. I'd probably get a laptop with HQ processors for serious coding though

  11. Chungyf

    August 2, 2017 at 10:58 am

    Would you personally get the Acer aspire 5 A515 with the mx150, i5-7200u and 4gb ram or the vivobook s15 with similar specs but with the gt940mx?

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 2, 2017 at 4:48 pm

      IF you care about gaming, then the Aspire 5 is the better pick. It's also well priced. The Vivobook S15 is however a nicer looking laptop, more compact and lighter.

      • Chungyf

        August 2, 2017 at 9:12 pm

        But in general is acer a reliable brand? I'm having doubts if i should get it or wait for the vivobook pro coming with the mx150

        • Andrei Girbea

          August 4, 2017 at 6:07 am

          Depends. Cheaper models usually have more quality control issues, but that's not a common rule. I'm also not an adept of shopping based on brand, pretty much every laptop has its flaws and every OEM has series with more or fewer issues. My advice is to read the forums and users reviews on the big online shops, that's going to give you a measure of the potential problems. You could also get extended warranty.

  12. Lia

    August 9, 2017 at 3:53 pm

    I need a notebook that is lightweight, backlit keyboard, and good battery life (Approximately 8-10 hours at least) with fine job in multitasking (RAM at least 4GB), can you please suggest me what type I should consider for? My budget is around 800$
    Thank you!

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 10, 2017 at 3:19 am

      Unfortunately you'll not get that kind of battery life with most laptops, especially in your budget. You'd need something with a very big battery and thus won't be lightweight. You didn't mention a screen size, do you want a small laptop or a 15-inch full-size one?

      • Aditya

        August 10, 2017 at 12:49 pm

        The asus vivobook s15 has quite noisy fans even on normal usage. Why do u think so it is so?

        • Andrei Girbea

          August 10, 2017 at 2:43 pm

          unfortunately that's pretty standard with Asus laptop, but you can use this to tweak things: github.com/hirschmann/nbfc/releases. It's not an official software though

          • Aditya

            August 10, 2017 at 9:38 pm

            Doesnt it degrade the cpu performance? And stability

      • Lia

        August 11, 2017 at 4:00 pm

        I have looked for several possible laptop model and happen to find Acer Swift 3 ( from several reviews they mention the battery life is around 7-8 hours on moderate usage for browsing multitab and some typing) but from my previous experience the awesomeness of Acer didnt last long till I got some issues.

        I prefer a 11-14'' screen size coz I'll be using it everyday and bring it here and there. Typing, Battery Life, and Weight are major critical feature I'm looking to be comfortable with.

        It'll be very helpful if you can recommend some type, thanks!

        • Andrei Girbea

          August 11, 2017 at 5:03 pm

          The Swift is a pretty good laptop in its budget. As far as reliability goes, most brands have quality control issues and Acer are no stranger from them. However, I don't think you should skip this brand for this reason, whether you'll end up with problems is mostly based on luck these days. When I'm in the position to buy something I usually get extended warranty and try to find out which brand has better support/service in my country, so in the eventuality something will go wrong it would be easy to repair.

  13. Lucas

    August 17, 2017 at 12:44 pm

    Very appreciate for your review. Which laptop do u recommend Asus Vivobook s15 and Acer E15 E5-573G?

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 17, 2017 at 12:50 pm

      The S15 is nicer laptops, newer and smaller, but I'd reckon the E15 sells for much less. You'd have to give me more details if you want an opinion, like specs and price for each one.

      • Lucas

        August 19, 2017 at 10:23 pm

        Both of them are within my budget for an intel i5 processor laptop,so the price is not a concern for me. I want a laptop for multitasking,heavy browsing and light entertainment such as watching youtube.Battery life is quite important for me too. U could recommend me better laptop other than those two for similar price range.Thank you for your opinion.

  14. Julian

    September 17, 2017 at 12:27 pm

    Hi,
    I've recently bought this model and the backlit keyboards are not working.
    I've tried pressing the function key with F3 and F4 but it doesn't light up as well.
    Is there any way around this problem?

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 19, 2017 at 6:15 am

      DO you have the keyboard pictograms on the F3/F4 keys? If yes, try to install the ATK software package from Asus's drivers webpage. If that doesn't fix it, you could also google for "asus keyboard light driver", this is not an uncommon issue and there seems to be fixes. Can't tell which one would work in your case though.

  15. Lucas

    September 20, 2017 at 10:49 pm

    I wonder if this device or the S14 variant has a PCIe slot?

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 21, 2017 at 3:35 am

      it's the same platform as on the 15 inch model

  16. Joey

    September 22, 2017 at 12:27 pm

    Nice review. Which laptop will you recommended Asus vivobook s15 or Asus zenbook ux410?

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 23, 2017 at 3:02 am

      Same specs? It's a hard decision, as one one hand I like the lager screen and still loe weight of the S15, but on the other hand a 42 Wh battery is rather small.

      • Joey

        September 23, 2017 at 4:04 am

        Ya. Which of it the battery life will be more longer?

        • Andrei Girbea

          September 23, 2017 at 4:22 am

          The one with the bigger battery, of course. That's the UX410 in this case :)

  17. Soham Irtiza

    September 22, 2017 at 5:11 pm

    Hey, I was thinking of buying one for my undergrad level engineering courses including courses of solidworks and autocad. Should I go for i5 or i7?
    And how much battery backup can I expect ?
    Thanks

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 23, 2017 at 3:03 am

      Probably i7 and I'd also put 16 GB of RAM on it.

  18. Fatimatuz

    September 29, 2017 at 5:38 am

    Hi, nice review. Which laptop will you recommended, lenovo ideapad 510s or asus vivobook s15? My concern is to have a light,good connectivity and good performance laptop with reasonable price. I would be glad if you could recommend the best one for me. :)

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 29, 2017 at 11:07 am

      MY main nit with them is the small batteries. Not sure what's on the 510s that you're interested in, but if it's the 30 Wh option then I wouldn't get it.

  19. Gary Leigh

    September 29, 2017 at 8:09 am

    This is an excellent review and I also appreciate that you take the time to answer all the comments.

    Currently, I have a ASUS F555L with 12 GB RAm and a replaced 256 SSD.

    It runs surprisingly fine, but I find that when rendering videos for YouTube, it can be pushed to the limit. I use Movie Studio Platinum V.13 for my videos.

    I am thinking of buying the Asus Vivobook Slim K510UQ [K510UQ-BQ336R] Intel i7-7500U/16GB/512GB SSD/15.6inchFHD/GF940MX-2GB/WIN 10Pro configuration.

    The question I have is, will I likely experience a significance gain in rendering performance and processing power or would I not any real difference?

    If you have any thoughts, I would really appreciate them.

    Thanks again.

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 29, 2017 at 11:09 am

      I'd probably get a Core HQ laptop for rendering. I'm not familiar with that software you're using, but with Premiere the Core Us struggle.

      • Gary Leigh

        September 30, 2017 at 11:18 am

        Thank you for that advice. I checked into it and ended up getting a ASUS ZenBook Pro UX501VW-XH71T with the 7th Generation Intel Core i7-6700HQ instead.

  20. Sumit

    October 1, 2017 at 2:21 pm

    Nice review Andrei. I am planning to buy ASUS VivoBook S15 S510UN (Core i5 8250U, MX150). Will be able to handle high-end games at low settings?

    Also wanted to know which one will be a better choice? Core i5 8250U + Nvidia MX150 or Core i5 7300HQ + Nvidia MX150 in terms of overall performance.

  21. TigerX

    October 7, 2017 at 5:20 pm

    Very useful review!
    Does the S510UA without dedicated GPU also has aggressive fan action?

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 8, 2017 at 3:49 am

      I haven't tried it. Normally it should run quieter though, as there's no GPU to cool of.

  22. Mecle

    October 11, 2017 at 6:56 pm

    Thanks for the great review!
    I am torn about two models (as another reviewer): The ASUS Zenbook UX430UA and ASUS VivoBook S510UQ. If the models do not have HDD (just 256 SSD), how will this affect the battery and the noise?.

    Also, considering that I do not play games but I have around 7 different programs open at the same time (several from MS office plus those linked to them, heavy programming environments, and around 20 browser tabs open), would I be better off with the i7-7700 that has 4 cores (in the Vivobook model) or the i7-7500 (in the Zenbook) that has 2?

    Do you know how does battery life, noise and performance of these models compare with and ASUS Zenbook UX303UA (i7-6500, dual core)?

    Thanks a lot! I would much appreciate a quick reply -I need very urgently a new laptop :) .

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 14, 2017 at 12:23 pm

      1. The fact that there's just a SSD should have an impact on battery life, but I'd say it's going to be minor.
      2. the i7-7700HQ is the better choice, but the 7500U is more efficient. Up to you if you're willing o sacrifice performance (to some extent) for battery life.
      3. that UX303UA should be very close to the UX430UA. The i7-7500U is a minor ugprade and it has a 50 WH battery, so close the 52 Wh battery on the 430.

  23. Oscar

    October 12, 2017 at 12:58 pm

    Hi,

    after reading some of the site's reviews (thanks!), I can't still decide between the VivoBook S15 and the ZenBooks UX430/UX410.

    I appreciate the bigger 15" screen of the Vivo and 4h battery life doesn't sound that bad (though definitely worse than ZBs), but I have the feeling the building quality is definitely better in the Zenbooks. In fact, my perfect Notebook would be the 15" screen Zenbook (or a Dell XPS 15"), but it's too expensive (I don't want to spend more than $1000).

    Can you give me a final advice? (even if it was a completely different model, the fan thing sounds concerning even with the app). Thank you!!!

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 14, 2017 at 12:14 pm

      Is the UX530 available in your country? Shouldn't be much more expensive than the UX430.

  24. Josephine Donahue

    October 15, 2017 at 8:16 pm

    My first time on this site. Learning a lot. Can you recommend a medium-priced($400-$800) laptop for a writer whose main needs are researching on the Internet and wordprocessing, and email. Need a comfortable keyboard. Not interested in gaming, don't need touch screen. Screen should be 15" or better. Thanks.

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 16, 2017 at 5:35 am

      Hi, as someone who types for a living, I'd say it's best to give keyboards a try in person if possible. Imo the Lenovo ThinkPads get some of the most comfortable keyboards and laptops like the ThinkPad E570 or the IdeaPad 520 should fit within your budget. Aim for a configuration with a Core i5 processor, 8 GB of RAM, an IPS screen and preferably SSD storage.

      There are other laptops from Asus, Acer, Lenovo, Dell that also fit your requirements, but like I said, it's best to go to a shop and give various keyboards a try. I could then help out if you narrow down your options to a few options that you liked and get back with a reply.

      Hope this helps.

  25. faith

    October 16, 2017 at 10:30 pm

    Hi, can I ask if ASUS S510UQ BQ165T is compatible with heavy rendering/modeling/animating, like so architectural works? Thanks for the great review though!

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 17, 2017 at 4:38 pm

      no, I'd get a laptop with a Core i7-7700HQ processor for that kind of work

  26. Fiorella

    October 17, 2017 at 5:56 pm

    Hi, can I ask if do you recommanded ASUS Notebook S510UQ Monitor 15.6" HD Intel Core i5-7200U Ram 4GB Hard Disk 1TB Nvidia GeForce 940MX 2GB 1xUSB 3.1 1xUSB 3.0 Windows 10 Home, to use autoCAD for univesity (predominantly autocad 2d) ?

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 18, 2017 at 5:33 am

      I'd rather get something more powerful for CAD. If you do end going with this one, I would at least add more RAM. Aim for at least a Core i5-7300HQ processor and at least 8 GB of RAM

      • Fiorella

        October 18, 2017 at 9:40 am

        I have the possibility to increase RAM up to 16GB and this way I should be able to work well on this pc.
        Thank you so much, your advices have been very useful

  27. Zahra s

    October 18, 2017 at 5:22 am

    Thank you very much for your very useful review . I want to get an advice on buying a laptop: I work with laptop for 7 to 8 hours a day (programming, browsing , etc.). The firmness and weight of the laptop is also important to me for transportation. I don't play game a lot. Because of working with Photoshop software and editing videos and …, it's also important for my laptop graphics and hardware. With a budget of up to $ 1,300, what's your ideal suggestion between ASUS laptops ?

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 18, 2017 at 5:34 am

      I'd get something with a Core HQ processor, SSD storage and 16 GB of RAM. There are multiple option out there, the articles here on the site will help you narrow down the options.

    • Zahra s

      October 18, 2017 at 9:32 am

      Thanks alot. But laptops with HQ processors have a high weight. I want a laptop with a weight of up to 1.8kg. I rarely do graphic work, as well as editing photos and videos (the primary use of Photoshop and Premiere software). The most important point is that the laptop not to run hot in Prolonged use.

  28. Mecle

    October 22, 2017 at 6:15 pm

    Thanks you very much for your input!

    I have just got the ASUS VivoBook S510UQ and I am a bit shocked. It is very noisy and it is getting warm during the initial installation. I have got so used to hear no noise from the UX303UA that this laptop feels like a step back…

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 23, 2017 at 9:21 am

      I measured about 45 dB in demanding loads at head level on my unit, which is about average for thin and lights these days.

  29. Basal

    October 24, 2017 at 4:19 pm

    Did you notice any grain on the display? On certain plain backgrounds, such as white or grey, there's a noticeable grain to my device, especially if I do not look straight on at the laptop. Not sure whether it's just the way the screen is, or whether there's a fault with my screen. It's not a massive problem, but it is something I occasionally notice. I haven't seen any other reports of this.

    The chassis also arrived ever so slightly bent, and there is massive flex, but that's to be expected given this and other reviews I have read.

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 25, 2017 at 2:57 pm

      Yes, that's standard with matte screens. I'd reckon you've used a glossy screen before?

      • Basal

        October 26, 2017 at 11:09 am

        Probably. Recently went though a HP Spectre 15.6 x360 (2017) and Dell XPS 9560, which had very different screens – to be expected, given the former was touch. I suspect both are glossy? However, endless problems with both of these devices resulted in me returning them, and instead going for the 'budget' Asus, which will keep me going for a year or two when hopefully HP and/or Dell will improve the quality of their premium line. If not, the new Surface 15" laptop looks like a fantastic piece of kit, even if the value for money is not as good.

        The Spectre had massive screen wobble/shaking from the slightest of movements (even when typing), an unconformable sharp edge that digged in when typing, audio problems (hissing and popping or staying silent for a couple of seconds upon playing audio through headphones), screen display intermittently breaking up, coil whine, buzzing when using touchscreen, the 'down' button being stiff. A real productivity killer, the biggest productivity killer being the shaky screen which I found extremely distracting and annoying. I had went through two of these after replacing the original device after the left speaker broke. The replacement device had all the same problems as the first.

        The XPS was better, but I didn't much like the typing experience – the keys felt nice, but the keyboard felt like it was not wide enough so I often made typing errors. The enter key was too small as well. There were also problems with coil whine, the loud fan constantly being on, and the WiFi connection regularly being lost – a problem with the 'Killer' WiFi card they used apparently. The placement of the webcam is also ridiculous. Further, there were problems specific to my device – a dead pixel and the charging box decide to emit a high-pitched noise and sparked when I plugged it in!

        So far, my experience with the Asus has been far better. I will need to upgrade in a year or two due to the work I'll be doing, but for now it does the job, and does not affect my productivity. The typing experience and key travel is nice, when the fan comes on it is quiet, there's no coil whine or high pitched noises. The only real problems are with the screen quality not being that great and the poor quality chassis – but neither affect my productivity. I am very happy with this device. Obviously, given the lower price paid, expectations are also lower. When you pay as much as the Spectre or XPS cost, you expect perfection, but my experiences of those devices fell well short of that (my biggest priority when purchasing a device is productivity – the Spectre in particular was very disappointing in that regard as I have alluded to).

  30. Alberto

    November 8, 2017 at 9:19 am

    Nice thank you, it's a while i've been looking for a thorough review like this on this pc.
    I'm about to buy an s510un model with only one 1TB HDD and was thinking about adding myself a M.2 SSD. What i find hard to find is the compatibility. Wich m2 ssd would be suitable for this laptop? Would something fast like an Adata ASX7000NP work? Or do i have to stick with normal SSD?

    Thank you so much for your help

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 8, 2017 at 9:32 am

      You can use an M.2 80 mm SSD, like that Adata, although compatibility is impossible to determine for sure without actually trying the drive on your unit. Perhaps you can buy from a place that allows returns in case it doesn't work.

      Or you can replace the existing HDD with a 2.5" 7 mm SSD.

  31. Anil

    November 16, 2017 at 3:00 am

    Hi Andrei
    First of all, I would like to appreciate the effort/ time spent by you in replying to each comment individually. I am also planning to buy a new laptop and inclined towards Asus Vivobook S15 as I find it impressive with thin bezels and 8th generation processors but I have also read (you have also mentioned) that this laptop heat up after continuous usage and its battery life is not much. I am a hard-core programmer who needs to work for at least 10 hours daily, therefore, I am expecting my laptop not to be noisy and it should not generate heat. Battery backup can be taken care of as most of the times, I am sitting near my desk. Can you suggest me a laptop with good configuration/ reviews ? My budget is approx. $1500 (I am from India). Though I am inclined towards 8th generations processor, still I am confused while making selection between 8th generation processors and i7-7th generation HQ processors.

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 16, 2017 at 3:59 am

      You should probably go with one of the full-size laptops and if battery life is not a concern, rather opt for one of the 45W 7th gen quad core configurations. There's a list of 8th gen laptops here: https://www.ultrabookreview.com/17655-kabylake-r-laptops/ , as for 7th gen 45W options, you should try to narrow down the options based on your requirements and I can then help choose between a few final models.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *