Asus VivoBook S15 S510 / F510 review – thin and light full-size laptop on a budget

120 Comments

  1. Anil

    November 16, 2017 at 3:00 am

    Hi Andrei
    First of all, I would like to appreciate the effort/ time spent by you in replying to each comment individually. I am also planning to buy a new laptop and inclined towards Asus Vivobook S15 as I find it impressive with thin bezels and 8th generation processors but I have also read (you have also mentioned) that this laptop heat up after continuous usage and its battery life is not much. I am a hard-core programmer who needs to work for at least 10 hours daily, therefore, I am expecting my laptop not to be noisy and it should not generate heat. Battery backup can be taken care of as most of the times, I am sitting near my desk. Can you suggest me a laptop with good configuration/ reviews ? My budget is approx. $1500 (I am from India). Though I am inclined towards 8th generations processor, still I am confused while making selection between 8th generation processors and i7-7th generation HQ processors.

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 16, 2017 at 3:59 am

      You should probably go with one of the full-size laptops and if battery life is not a concern, rather opt for one of the 45W 7th gen quad core configurations. There's a list of 8th gen laptops here: https://www.ultrabookreview.com/17655-kabylake-r-laptops/ , as for 7th gen 45W options, you should try to narrow down the options based on your requirements and I can then help choose between a few final models.

      • Anil

        December 4, 2017 at 3:24 am

        Asus Vivobook S15 vs HP PAVILLION 15-CB052TX. Which one you suggest ?

      • Andrei Girbea

        December 4, 2017 at 4:12 am

        Can't comment on the HP, haven't touched it.

      • Anil

        December 7, 2017 at 7:25 am

        Asus Vivobook S15 vs Dell Inspiron 15 7570. Which one is winner ?

  2. Richard

    November 27, 2017 at 8:14 am

    Does anyone know if there is problems with PWM on the new 8th gen version with the MX150 card? I was going to buy the ZenBook Pure 430UN but after learning that they put in a new screen with PWM-flickering i canceled my order. This was my second choice but i'm afraid i'll get the same problem…

  3. OMRI AHOUVI

    November 27, 2017 at 5:33 pm

    Thank you for the review, which one do you prefer vivobook S15 510UQ or x556uq? Which one do you recomend?
    For analyze and big data.

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 27, 2017 at 6:02 pm

      I prefer the S510 for its lightweight and compact build, but the smaller battery might be a deal breaker.

  4. prodoube

    December 6, 2017 at 4:31 am

    dude, what do you think about asus vivobook a405u?

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 6, 2017 at 8:49 am

      I can't find much about it, if it's the x405u sold with a different name in your area, then it's an entry level laptop with decent hardware. It's made out of plastic and has a pretty small battery and non-backlit keyboard. Depending on the configuration it might get a HD TN screen as well. Not sure how much it costs, but it should be very affordable.

  5. Amir

    December 18, 2017 at 6:13 am

    Hi,thanks for your great reviews.
    Actually I’m trying to find a lightweight or at least not heavy laptop mainly for watching movies, so do you think that the S510 screen is good enough for watching movies?
    And as I’m gonna buy it for the next 4 years do you think it worth buying an Asus ux 430ua or any laptop at that category?!
    Can you tell me which laptop’s the best for me in market if i wanna pay 1000 $ atop?!

  6. George

    December 31, 2017 at 4:06 pm

    Thank you for the review!
    You mention that the notebook can have a max of 32GB RAM. Asus' website says the max is 16GB, and in the model reviewed both slots are filled. I know sometimes the manufacturer published max RAM numbers are incorrect (I have an older Asus that says it maxes out at 8GB and it's running 16GB fine); my question is: is there any testing so far where we can show for sure that it takes 32GB?

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 2, 2018 at 7:09 am

      I haven't actually tested it, no, but since there are two memory DIMMS inside, I assume each can get a 16 GB memory stick, unless Asus somehow limited that in BIOS.

  7. Adriano Dib

    January 4, 2018 at 2:51 pm

    Is it not compatible with a .M2 NVMe PCIe SSD? Are you sure?

    • ciobin

      January 10, 2018 at 5:52 am

      I also would know if it works with an m.2 nvme Samsung 960 Evo SSD

  8. John

    January 14, 2018 at 3:19 pm

    Hi, thanks for your good review. I want to ask you something that will clarify my thoughts. I will use some basic programs for my work and also office programs. I am thinking to buy "Asus S510uq" with i5 7.th gen, because it is very portable and looking good beside it looks has good performance. I also wonder how much fps approximately I will get in the medium settings with: fifa 18, assassin's creed black flag and origins, cs go and far cry primal, are they playable with this laptop. I am looking forward to hear you! Thanks.

  9. navid

    January 24, 2018 at 12:22 pm

    hey thanks for your great reviews!
    I want to run cad software like catia or solidworks and i'm willing to play games sometime.
    i can't decide between this one (with 8gb ram and 940mx) and the acer swift 3 with i7 8550 and mx150 graphics which unfortunately has a dim display. so you think i should go for the acer for better performance and compactness yet the display or go for the asus?

  10. Austin N J

    February 2, 2018 at 12:00 am

    I got the UN version of this – S510UN BQ218T.
    Do you have the calibrated color profile for that screen?

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 2, 2018 at 3:43 am

      Might have the same panel. Try the profile available here and see if it's any good.

      • Austin N J

        February 2, 2018 at 4:55 am

        Thank you Andrei. I doubt if is the same panel because mine is a 72% NTSC Panel. Will try that profile anyway.

  11. Rishubh

    March 21, 2018 at 3:19 am

    Is the 510un with 8th gen i7 processor better then lenovo ideapad 520s with the 8th gen i7 & pcie ssd? Looking for a laptop for college as well as some light to moderate gaming if possible.

  12. Reza

    March 23, 2018 at 8:19 am

    Nice review, which is better among this and hp envy 13 2017…will hp envy give better battery life ?

  13. Loretta Harnarine

    March 27, 2018 at 2:36 pm

    Andrei, I am looking to get a new laptop. I like Asus 15.6". I do emails, utube, iTunes, play solitaire, search the web, use excel and word almost daily. Which laptop would you recommend for me? I have an Asus X750LA which has been very good, but it is too slow for me. I would appreciate an answer from you very much. I trust your judgement.

  14. Danielle E

    April 8, 2018 at 4:50 pm

    Is there any support for multiple monitors? I would like to use at home with 3 external monitors for typical office applications. Any 8th generation cpu news for these?

  15. Pranay

    May 5, 2018 at 11:36 am

    I am a Computer science student. And Confused between Asus vivobook s15 s510un(i5 8th gen) and Acer aspire 5 A515 51G(i5 8th gen). I liked the asus vivobook more but worried about the battery performance and heat management. Does it have really poor battery life?
    Can you please help me out.

    • Mike

      May 16, 2018 at 9:19 am

      My wife and i both use S510UQ with 8th gen i5 8250U 1.6-1.8 processor, 940MX GPU (7.89 GB RAM), with 120GB SSB (wife upgraded to 250GB) & 1 TB HDD, 8GB RAM (wide upgraded to 12 GB). Wife paid USD800 total including upgrades).

      What do you need this for?Running OS and app from SDD, there is no additional noises and no excess heat as well as good processing speeds (Win 10, MS Office, Photoshop, Video, Internet, Music? TBH we never needed to run notebook on battery much so battery life is non-issue. Slim form factor and low weight welcome bonus for portability as long as electric outlet available.

      IMHO if one needed a gaming PC or humungous battery life, then you need dedicated machine for that and should expect both chunkier form factor and much greater weight, especially at this price point. Hope this helps. Cheers Mike  

      • Pranay

        May 17, 2018 at 1:19 pm

        I needed one for Programming and media consumption. I am a computer science student and wanted to handle all my programming related stuffs with ease by my laptop.

      • Michael

        May 22, 2018 at 9:15 am

        This is more than enough. I would recommend it for the following reasons:
        1) reliability (if you can look past / uninstall the asus bloatware esp earlier units)
        2) big screen makes for weasy viewing and large real estate
        3) IPS screen (very clear with good contrast)
        4) thin yet sturdy (especially the hinge), which is important for portability
        5) metallic back helps reduce hear signature
        6) SSD helps reduce HDD noise and heat (if you buy hybrid version)
        7) low battery life not an issue if always have outlet nearby (quite common these days)
        8) fast WIFI networking
        9) 4 USB 3.0 ports (1 is USB-C connection)

        Poor
        1) speakers are very ordinary though recommend Dolby App from MS Stores (really improves sound especially thry 3rd party speaker, i use BOSE or earphones, i use hifiman)

        If the Pros make sense to you, go for it especially if get a good deal as not bleeding edge model by now. hope this helps :) Mike

      • Michael

        May 22, 2018 at 9:17 am

        i also like ASUS battery extender which charges battery up to 59% only to extend battery life / cycles

      • Pranay

        May 27, 2018 at 2:14 pm

        Sir can you please tell me which processor is better in performance i5 8th gen 8250U(Asus vivobook s15 s510UN) or i5 7th gen 7300HQ(HP pavilion power 15 cb 518tx)?

  16. DocFox

    July 14, 2018 at 8:56 pm

    Hi, your test is complete and accurate. really useful in my research to compare computers, I now only look at your site. Your article is of very high quality. Thank you.

  17. MarkH

    July 26, 2018 at 6:04 pm

    Hi

    Does anyone know if the 8th gen i7 model runs quieter for day to day use or is there still a heating issue/noisy fan?

    thanks
    Mark

  18. Zac

    August 9, 2018 at 8:53 am

    Hi, I am pondering between the Vivobook S15 S510 (i5-8250U, MX150, 16GB RAM) and the HP Pavilion 15-cs0033TX (i5-8250U, MX150, 16GB RAM), do you know how they fair with each other? My major purpose is (1080p) video editing and rendering on the go, so the thin and light form factor with the IPS screen is crucial. Battery life I would say about 4 – 5 hours is sufficient, if more would be good.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 9, 2018 at 11:27 am

      I have very limited experience with HPs in recent years, they're hard to come by over here. I also couldn't find a proper review online. If you're interested in video editing, you should try to find more about the screen and how it performs with heavier loads, and then compare to the VivoBook and see which one gets on top.

      As for battery life, you'll realistically get around 4h of everyday work from the 42 Wh battery inside this laptop, and the same from the 41 Wh battery inside the HP.

  19. Alla

    August 14, 2018 at 8:51 am

    Hello Andrei, I was thinking of going for a510u instead of s510u due to battery longevity. What do you think (as these are the only two available where I am)? I'm going for portability, good use for common user and probably some engineering stuffs later so I'm thinking i5-7 or i5-8, and SSD and 8GB ram. But despite having all of the same specs, I see different prices for both.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 14, 2018 at 1:54 pm

      As far as I can tell, the A510 is actually a rebranded x510/f510, so it gets the same battery as the S510: 42 Wh. You'll find plenty of reviews for the X510 online

  20. Mk

    August 17, 2018 at 11:14 pm

    I want a laptop with a 15.6" screen, but as compact as a 14" laptop, because I have limited desk space. Would this laptop meet this need or should I consider getting a different laptop like the 14" Vivobook?

  21. Boris Panov

    April 2, 2019 at 2:57 am

    I've been using this laptop for about 4 months now and I have a few minor complaints about it:

    1. Fingerprint scanner stops working after the laptop is on for over 72 hours
    2. The screen is by far the darkest I've ever worked on
    3. The sleep/timeout functionality is absolutely horrible. There's noway to tell if the screen is off or if the laptop is in sleep mode. Combine that with the delay in wake up time and it's a nightmare of on/off loops.
    4. Nightmare to open up if you decide to upgrade it

    I know it seems like a lot, but this list is much better than other laptops I own. Definitely recommend this.

    • parsa

      June 5, 2020 at 4:57 pm

      Is it good for Corel draw?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.