Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Asus Zenbook UX430 Andrei Girbea Rating: 4 out of 5

Asus Zenbook UX430 series review – a compact 14-inch ultraportable for the average user

322 Comments

  1. Jacob D.

    January 2, 2018 at 12:00 am

    So I bought the UX430UN about a month ago from Costco when it was on sale for $999. Have been super happy with the battery life and the laptop. The fans are fine and do not bother me at all. I am also relieved that it is ok to let it run hot, as I was worried the heat might damage the battery while I game or something. Hey, does anyone know if the battery is user replaceable? In a couple years I was thinking I would probably have to change it out because it is only 3 cell and over time Li-ion batteries degrade. Idk I have never had a device long enough to be able to tell, so I hope the battery keeps running strong.

    Also, I was thinking about getting a fan/cooling pad to help keep the laptop cool. Does anyone recommend a good brand/ model? I am just worried about the heat, even though I have been told it doesnt damage I am still worried. I know.

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 2, 2018 at 7:12 am

      The battery can be replaced and it's a fairly simple task, but you do need a little bit of knowledge to get inside and unscrew the right screws and detach the right connectors.

      About temps, you should also consider undervolting the CPU, that should help lowering them a little bit. This article explains how to do it: https://www.ultrabookreview.com/10167-laptop-undervolting-overcloking/

      As for your last question, I've never used any, but you should go through the listing on Amazon/Newegg and find one with good user reviews.

  2. adam

    January 5, 2018 at 12:37 am

    How do I apply your calibrated color profile file to my UX430, do I just click right and install ? If I do how do I revert back if my screen turns out to be different from your model number ?

    thanks

    adam

  3. Titta

    January 8, 2018 at 2:01 pm

    Hi again!
    No fingerprints on the replaced laptop and touchpad more firmly in its socket. This time the finishing touch lacked from the screen – with a residue of clue like substance framing the LCD screen. After a couple of day´s use I have noticed there is a ultra light sound (like friction or electromagnetic "sparkles") coming from behind the screen when scrolling up and down a webpage. Any idea what might be causing that?

    Thanks in advance. This is a great forum!

    • Laura

      June 12, 2018 at 4:29 pm

      I had the same problem of sound :/
      Did you find a solution?

  4. Herman Guen

    January 12, 2018 at 11:43 am

    I had this laptop and returned after 3 weeks due to overheating and severe fan loud hissing noise. I tried many software solutions but noise stayed.

    I won't suggest to buy it.

  5. Herman Guen

    January 12, 2018 at 11:50 am

    Now I have Lenovo T460s i7, 2k LCD, and very happy with it. Almost no fan noise and no overheating; When intensive job laptop's fan noise bearly noticeable. The keyboard of Lenovo T460s much better than Asus Zenbook UX430. Altogether I suggest Lenovo T460s over Asus Zenbook UX430 even though T460s may be a bit expensive.

  6. Daniel

    January 20, 2018 at 8:04 pm

    The coil whine some of you are hearing, I believe it comes from the SSD.
    At least in my model, the ux430ua i7 with 512gb ssd, the noise comes from that exact location..

  7. Xucong

    February 2, 2018 at 2:59 pm

    Hi, could you please do a calibration on the newer UX430UN model as I believe it is not the same Chi Mei panel. Much appreciated if a calibration file for the new panel can be shared. Many thanks!

    As for my model from Costco (i7 8550u, MX150, 512G/16G, $999), I use it mainly for development, and it is a great machine for my work. The keyboard feels comfortable for long typing as it feels kind of soft if you get used to it. The trackpad is excellent. Accurate and smooth and clicky. I don't need to use the mouse for most of the time. The specs support my work very well as I usually need to run a VM at the same time, so 512g of storage and 16g of ram really help. The screen is beautiful, as color coverage is decent and it's MATTE!!! Thank god. THE perfect combination for coding and text editing work! Again, it would be great if I can get the screen more accurate in color as I also do web design work. Many thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 3, 2018 at 5:21 pm

      Hi, I'll have an article about the UX430Un up soon with that file included.

      • Jacob D.

        February 3, 2018 at 8:01 pm

        Sweet! I am looking forward to it too!

      • Xucong

        February 4, 2018 at 2:16 pm

        Perfect! Thanks a lot!

      • J L

        February 16, 2018 at 2:22 pm

        looking forward to the ux430un review soon too as the biggest turn off for this from what i've read are the severe thermal throttling (73deg) on the mx150 and the PWM flicker on the screen. More bummed out about the 73 deg thermal limit on the MX150. Else, i would've gotten it in a heartbeat.

      • Tom Hanks

        March 12, 2018 at 6:57 am

        Hi, do you know when the article will be released? Best regards

        • amadeus

          March 18, 2018 at 9:07 am

          Yeah, I would like to know the released date too.

  8. Karen

    February 23, 2018 at 6:01 am

    Really informative review, thank you for the detailed and thoughtful analysis!

    • Jay

      July 10, 2018 at 5:03 am

      I completely concur – well reviewed!

  9. Celiker BAHCECI

    February 26, 2018 at 12:04 am

    Screen, mouse and other specs are great, everything is good without 3 things :

    1. I often hearing the coil whine (a ultra light sound (like friction or electromagnetic "sparkles")) in a quite room or in nights. I cant find the source of noise with using Task Manager -> Performance tab.

    2. Fans really work loudly when CPU is busy (I closed Windows Update and using in battery saver mode, I preferred low performance on coding rather than fan noise. )

    3. Power cord and USB ports are so close to each other(on the left-upper side of notebook). Power cord connector is look like L and if you need to use USB port always, it makes a problem, because always you need to upturn your power cord connector.

  10. Hamza Hashim

    March 1, 2018 at 10:35 pm

    Hi, I recently bought two units of the UX430UA and both have different degrees of keyboard flex. I'm now thinking of returning one of them: would any of you have any advice with respect to which unit I should keep? The one with more flex (and keys that protrude higher from the chassis) or the one with the keyboard that has less flex and more recessed keys?

    I have no idea why the key travel on both units differs by a fairly noticeable amount. Guess Asus really does have quality control issues on this model. Disappointed to spend this much and get this in turn. Any help would be appreciated.

  11. Nathalie

    May 25, 2018 at 4:46 am

    Good evening Andrei,
    I just bought a ux430UA, not bad at all! I see an improvement over other Zenbooks and there fan noise levels. In the case of the x430ua, the fan is indeed much quieter than in other Zenbooks, although running a bit too much to my liking at times. I have tried to modify the % of cpu that is used, in the power parameters, but it looks that factory setting won't show a menu in the parameters to do that, to the contrary of many other laptops. I thought about using a program I can download to do this, but as I am careful with what I download from unknown sites, for obvious saftey purposes-trojan horses and the like with some downloadables- I am asking you if this is safe to download those? Am thinking of the hirshmann one, found at github.com/hirschmann/nbfc/releases. Would you recommend it? Thanks in advance for your reply! Best regards, Nathalie

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 27, 2018 at 12:51 pm

      Sry, I'm not familiar with that piece of software

      • Nathalied

        May 27, 2018 at 4:44 pm

        Hello Andrei,
        Thank you for your reply!
        Nathalie

    • Richard

      May 27, 2018 at 10:00 pm

      Hi,
      Iam using NoteBook FanControl since I bought this laptop,(mostly in read-only modus) and never had any problems with it.
      Greeting Richard

      • N

        May 28, 2018 at 8:08 pm

        Hi Richard,
        Thanks for the info, I will have a look at it.
        Greetings,
        N.

  12. N

    June 12, 2018 at 4:46 pm

    Hi,
    I guess Asus has improved the UX430ua, as mine I bought three weeks ago is very quiet. The fans starts from time to time, but this is not bothering, I can be working a whole day on the laptop without any fan activity. The only thing so far is that the battery is not that good for heavy use. Browsing a bit and using Word, for instance, can last for about six hours, which is ok. But using Netflix or youtube, it is more 3-4 hours. Well, we can expect some drawbacks at only 1000 $, but considering this low price, it's quite satisfactory

    However, I tried the Spectre X 360, supposed to be better on many levels, and returned it, I did not like it that much as I am sensitive to fan and background noises, there is most of the time that hissing sound, although faint, but very high pitch, and sound quality and image quality are not as good as on the ux430ua. Not trying to 'sell' the ux430ua, but I have the impression that ASUS has corrected that fan noise problem we see on so many Zenbooks, at least on this one.

  13. Nathalie

    July 11, 2018 at 7:52 pm

    What helps to increase battery life is to use the Microsoft Edge browser, not as hungry as Firefox or Chrome, for instance. Does make quite a difference, especially when watching videos or Netflix!

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 13, 2018 at 10:25 am

      Yep, that's why we run our browsing battery tests in Edge.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *