2016 / 2017 Asus Zenbooks: UX310, UX306, UX330, UX410, UX510, Flip UX360 and Flip UX560

By Andrei Girbea , last updated on September 9, 2017

We haven’t seen brand new Zenbooks for a while now, as the latest models Asus offers in stores at the time of this post are mostly updates of their Broadwell and even Haswell models, like the Zenbook UX305UA (13-inch, Core U Skylake, matte screen), Zenbook UX303UA (13-inch, Core U Skylake, touchscreen), Zenbook UX305CA (13-inch, Core M Skylake), Zenbook UX303UB (13-inch, Skylake Core U and Nvidia GT 940M graphics) or the Zenbook Pro UX501 (15-inch, Skylake Core HQ, Nvidia 950M/960M graphics).

Asus are however working on updated series of ultraportables for the second part of 2016 and first part of 2017, starting with the sleek Zenbook 3, a close match for the Apple Macbook, continuing with the Zenbook Flip UX360, a 13-inch convertible that will replace the Transformer Flip TP300 lines, the Zenbook UX310, a 13-incher with dedicated graphics, the Zenbook UX306, an improved follow-up of the UX305UA, or the Zenbook UX510, a portable and accessible 15-inch multimedia notebook.

I’ll tell what to expect from each line in this article, how much they cost and when they should be available in stores. If you’re reading the post in early 2017 or later, you’ll also find below updated details and links to our detailed reviews of these products.

Asus Zenbook UX310UA, UX310UQ and UX310UV 13-inchers

For the last couple of years, those looking for a compact notebook with dedicated graphics usually had to turn towards the Asus UX303 series, with Core U i7 processors and Nvidia 840M and later 940M graphics.

The Zenbook UX310UQ steps in as a successor of those popular models and offers a Core i7 Skylake U processor, support for DDR4 RAM and M.2 storage, but also an Nvidia GT 940MX graphics chip. All together make up for a decent update, at least until Kabylake processors or an Nvidia 1030 mobile graphics option will be unveiled.

If you don’t want the dedicated graphics though, the Zenbook UX310UA steps in as a follow-up for the UX303UA models.

There’s also a Zenbook UX310UV model, but I can’t tell you anything about it just yet.

Asus Zenbook UX310UA / UX310UQ / UX310UV specs
Screen 13.3-inch, 1920 x 1080 px TN or 3200 x 1800 px IPS (?), non-touch, matte
Processor Intel Skylake Core i3-6100U, Core i5-6200U, Core i7-6500U CPUs
Video Intel HD 520 + Nvidia GT 940MX (on the UX310UQ model)
Memory up to 24 GB DDR4 (up to 8 GB soldered+ 1 slot)
Storage 2.5″ storage bay and M.2 slot
Connectivity Wireless AC, Bluetooth 4.1
Ports 2xUSB 2.0, 1xUSB 3.0, 1xUSB 3.1 gen1, HDMI, card-reader, headphone/mic
Battery 48 Wh
Size 323 mm or 12.71 in (L) x 223 mm or 8.77 in (W) x 18.35 mm or 0.72 in (H)
Weight about 1.45 kg (3.2 pounds)
Extras backlit keyboard, available in multiple colors

Asus’s specs suggest two screen choices, either 1920 x 1080 px or 3200 x 1800 px non-glare (thus matte) panels with 100% sRGB / 72% NTSC color coverage, but only the latter is marked as IPS.

Update: As a few of you mentioned in the comments section, looks like the basic configurations only get a FHD TN panel.

Update2:  There are also reports of a TN panel on the QHD+ display used on the UX310UQ as well. I cannot tell for sure whether IPS options are also available for any of the UX310 models, and while some stores (including Asus’s official one) might advertise IPS panels, chances are that’s a lit. Proceed with caution and try to ask the retailer more details on the panel, if possible, until more light is shed on this subject. And better yet buy from a store that accepts returns.

The novelty here is the Nvidia GT 940MX chip on the UX310UQ verison, but it’s too early to tell if that’s a major improvement over the 940M chip on the previous Zenbooks or not.

From what we know right now, Nvidia offers two versions of this chip, one with GDDR3 memory, and another with GDDR5 VRAM. The former version is expected to perform only marginally better then the Nvidia 940M chip, but the DDR5 version should offer 15-25% increased performance in games and other demanding graphics applications. So hopefully Asus will actually pick the DDR5 version for the 940MX chip for the Zenbook UX310UQ, otherwise this product isn’t going to turn many heads.

Update3: Reports in the comments mention the GDDR3 version of the Nvidia 940MX chip is used on the UX310UQ.

The Zenbook UX310 offers a potent deciated Nvidia graphics chip in a 13-inch form factor

The Zenbook UX310 offers a potent dedicated Nvidia graphics chip in a 13-inch form factor

These aside, there are a few other aspects to discuss here. When it comes to the memory, the UX310UA can take up to 20 or 24 GB of RAM. From what I’m seeing, these laptops come with either 4 or 8 GB of RAM soldered on the motherboard and an extra spare slot that can take an up to 16 GB DIMM.

Details are even more confusing when it comes to storage, as the specs suggest that the laptop comes with both a 2.5-inch storage bay and an M.2 slot that would supposedly support NVMe speeds, based on some of the configurations listed online. The two storage options are confirmed, but I’ve yet to confirm the M.2 slots supports NVMe SSDs yet (let me know if you have any details on this matter). It makes sense to have dual-storage, since Asus shrunk the battery when compared to the UX303: the new model only gets a 48 Wh battery, and the design was also changed to some point.

The UX303s have a wedge shaped profile, with the front half thinner than the rear, but the UX310s get a more balanced profile, with the front and the back similar in height, like the Razer Blade or the Macbook Pros. However, the UX310 is a bit thinner than the UX303 and the specs also mention that it weighs 1.45 kilos (3.2 lbs), which is on par with the previous models. The aesthetic lines and choice in materials hasn’t changed much either. The lid cover, interior and edges are still metallic, available in a few different colors, with the bottom being made from plastic. The hood gets the rippled pattern characteristic to Zenbooks and the Asus logo in the middle.

On the sides, the IO was slightly redesigned. There are two USB 2.0 slots, one USB 3.0 slot and one USB 3.1 Type-C port, plus a full-size HDMI slot, an SD card-reader and a mic/headphone plug, and the PSU. The USB 3.1 and the HDMI connectors are on the left side, which leads to a less-cluttered right edge. Good job! There’s no Thunderbolt 3 support, as there’s only an USB 3.1 1st gen port on this laptop, limited to lower speeds.

Hopefully Asus addressed the dreaded hinge that shattered easily on the previous UX303 lines (Google it, you’ll see what I mean) and I’d also expect them to improve the typing experience. From the looks of it, the keyboard doesn’t seem much different from the previous Zenbooks and gets the same 1.6 mm drop. The trackpad is larger though, taller, and the palm-rest area is taller as well, as the keyboard is positioned a little higher on the frame and thus leaves more spare room underneath. This aside, the speakers are now placed on the belly, towards the front-side. Their cuts are larger than on the previous Zenbooks, but the fact that they fire downwards isn’t reassuring.

To wrap this up, from what we know so far the UX310 will be available in multiple configurations, with prices starting at around $699 (EUR700). The base Zenbook UX310UA model gets a Core i3 Skylake processor, 4 GB of RAM, a 128 GB SSD and a 1920 x 1080 px matte screen. Mid level configs get Core i5 processors and more storage space, while the top end models get the Core i7 processor, up to 24 GB of RAM and the 3200 x 1800 px matte screen. The Zenbook UX310UQ also gets the Nvidia 940MX graphics on top of all these.

Follow this link for more details on the Zenbook UX310UA, including up-to-date configurations and prices, and this one for details on the Zenbook UX310UQ series.

Asus Zenbook UX410UA and UX410UQ 14-inchers

These are newer releases and base on what we know so far, it looks like Asus decided to put a 14-inch matte IPS screen on the 13-inch chassis used for the UX310 series. As a result, the UX410s get a very small bezel around the screen, as you can tell from the pictures.

The UX410 is a little thicker and heavier, weighing 1.6 kilos, but that’s 150 grams on top of the UX310s and I’m pretty sure many would gladly sacrifice this for the larger display.

That aside, we know there will be two UX410 variants, sharing the design, keyboard, screen options, etc. The UX410UA relies on the Intel HD 620 graphics chip integrated within the Intel Kaby Lake Core U processors, while the UX410UQ will get dedicated Nvidia graphics, most likely the GT 940MX chip also present on the UX310UQ.

The UX410 is already available in shops in some parts of the world, starting at around 900 EUR. You’ll find more about it from our detailed review posted here.

Check out the specs list below for more details.

Asus Zenbook UX410UA / UX410UQ
Screen 14.0-inch, 1920 x 1080 px IPS, non-touch, matte
Processor Intel Skylake Core i3-7100U, Core i5-7200U, Core i7-7500U CPUs
Video Intel HD 620 + Nvidia GT 940MX (on the UX410UQ model)
Memory up to 20 GB DDR4 (4 GB soldered+ 1 slot)
Storage 2.5″ storage bay and M.2 slot
Connectivity Wireless AC, Bluetooth 4.1
Ports 2xUSB 2.0, 1xUSB 3.0, 1xUSB 3.1 gen1, HDMI, card-reader, headphone/mic
Battery 48 Wh
Size 323 mm or 12.71 in (L) x 223 mm or 8.77 in (W) x 18.95 mm or 0.75 in (H)
Weight about 1.6 kg (3.52 pounds)
Extras optional backlit keyboard, available in multiple colors

Asus Zenbook UX306UA and UX330 allround ultraportables

The Zenbook UX306 is a thinner and lighter ultraportable than the UX310 mentioned above, built on the same Intel Skylake Core U hardware platform, but without any dedicated graphics options.

Update: Impressions on the Zenbook UX306UA are available in this dedicated post.

A Zenbook UX330 is also going to be available later this year, mostly identical to the UX306, but with two USB 3.0 slots and what looks like a slightly thinner body. You can find more about it in our review available over here.

Back to the UX306, let’s start with the design. It looks much like the UX310, with the exception that the UX306 is just about 13.5 mm thick, while the UX310 measures 18.5 mm. That’s without the rubber feet, so expect the UX306 to sit at around 15 mm tall on the desk. The front doesn’t get thinner, like on the previous Zenbooks, as these new models no longer get the wedge profile, but I don’t think that’s going to be a problem if that front lip isn’t sharp. We’ll see.

The Zenbook UX306UA is also lighter, weighing 1.2 kilos (2.65 lbs).

Asus Zenbook UX306UA specs
Screen 13.3-inch, 1920 x 1080 px or 3200 x 1800 px, IPS, non-touch, matte
Processor Intel Skylake Core i5-6200U, Core i7-6500U CPUs
Video Intel HD 520
Memory 8 GB LPDDR3
Storage M.2 SSD
Connectivity Wireless AC, Bluetooth 4.1
Ports 1xUSB 3.0, 1xUSB 3.1 gen1, micro-HDMI, card-reader, headphone/mic
Battery 57 Wh
Size 323 mm or 12.71 in (L) x 223 mm or 8.77 in (W) x 13.5 mm or 0.53 in (H)
Weight about 1.2 kg (2.65 lbs)
Extras backlit keyboard, available in multiple colors

These aside, the UX306 is paired with a 3200 x 1800 px IPS matte display (a 1920 x 1080 px IPS alternative is also available on the lower-specked versions), without an option for a touchscreen. The hinge is similar to the one on the UX310 and hopefully is going to prove more durable than on the older models. The keyboard and trackpad are also similar to the ones on the UX310.

The Zenbook UX306 is the premium 13-inch ultraportable for 2016

The Zenbook UX306 is the premium 13-inch ultraportable for 2016

The IO however is not. This laptop only gets one full-size USB 3.0 slot, a card-reader, a 3.5 mm jack, and USB 3.1 1st gen slot and one micro-HDMI port for video output. There’s no Thunderbolt 3 support and you’ll need adapters in order to get video onto a bigger screen. On top of that, the USB 3.1, the micro-HDMI connectors and the PSU are inconveniently placed on the right side.

Hardware wise, the Zenbook UX306 gets Skylake Core i3/i5/i7 processors and no dedicated graphics. However, I can’t give you exact info on the amount of RAM and type of storage. The models unveiled at Computex came with 8 GB of LPDDR3 RAM and a 512 GB SSD. Given how thin the laptop is, I’d expect the RAM to be soldered on the motherboard and M.2 SSDs to be used for storage, just like on the Zenbook UX305UA. I would have appreciated support for DDR4 memory and PCIe drives, but it looks like we’re not getting them here. We do get a pretty big 57 Wh battery, which should offer around 7-8 hours of daily use.

The Zenbook UX330 needs to fill the large shows of the popular UX305UA

The Zenbook UX330 is the sleeker option scheduled for the second part of 2016

This Zenbook will be available later this summer, with a starting price of $799 for a base model with a Core i5 processor and 256 GB of storage in the US. You should follow this link for more details at the time you’re  reading this post.

Bottom point, from what we know so far, the Zenbook UX306UA is an upgraded version of the Zenbook UX305UA, with a slightly lighter body, a backlit keyboard and an attractive price point, so I’d surely expect it to be very popular in the months to come. There’s a more detailed comparison between the two generations in this post.

Asus Zenbook Flip UX360 convertible

While the two Zenbooks above offer matte displays, the Zenbook Flip UX360s gets a touchscreen able to fold 360-degrees onto the back, which makes them a follow-up of the Transformer Book Flip series available in these last years.

The Zenbook UX360 is a beautiful convertible with a solid price

The Zenbook UX360 is a beautiful convertible with a solid price

The Zenbook Flip UX360s are available in two versions though, one powered by Intel Skylake/Kabylake Core U hardware, the UX360UA (review here), and another powered by Intel Skylake/Kabylake Core M hardware, the UX360CA (review here), which is not as powerful, but is fanless.

The base model of the UX360CA includes a Core m3 processor and should offer enough oomph for light daily activities, but if you plan to multitask or run a few more tabs in a browser at the same time, you’ll get a smoother experience from the Core m5 configuration.

Asus Zenbook Flip UX360CA specs
Screen 13.3-inch, 1920 x 1080 px or 3200 x 1800 px, IPS, touch
Processor Intel Skylake Core m3-6Y30, Core m5-6Y54, Core m7-6Y75 CPUs
Video Intel HD 515
Memory up to 8 GB LPDDR3
Storage M.2 SSD
Connectivity Wireless AC, Bluetooth 4.1
Ports 2xUSB 3.0, 1xUSB 3.1 gen1, micro-HDMI, card-reader, headphone/mic
Battery 54 Wh
Size 323 mm or 12.71 in (L) x 220 mm or 8.66 in (W) x 13.9 mm or 0.54 in (H)
Weight about 1.3 kg (2.86 pounds)
Extras non-backlit keyboard, available in multiple colors, 1.6 W stereo speakers

The Zenbook Flip UX360CA is already available in the US. Well, just the base version is, with the Core m3 processor, 8 GB of RAM and 256 GB of storage, selling for $699. Higher end configurations with Core m5 and m7 processors, 8 GB of RAM and up to 512 GB of SSD storage will be available in the near future. That base version sure offers plenty for the money though. Follow this link for up-to-date info on configurations and prices.

But what else you’re getting for your buck? Well, a convertible display for starters, as I mentioned earlier, with a 1920 x 1080 px IPS panel or a higher resolution 3200 x 1800 px option, both able to cover 100% os the sRGB gamut. There’s also a 54 Wh battery, so you should expect around 6-8 hours of daily use from this fellow. The build quality seems solid, as the Zenbook UX360CA is mostly made out of high quality materials, while the design, well, you be the judge of that. I’ll just add that the laptop weighs 2.9 lbs, is about 14 mm thick, and hopefully it’s goign to feel as sturdy in practice as beautiful as it looks in the pictures.

The IO is decent, with two USB 3.0 slots, one USB 3.1 Type-C port, micro-HDMI for video output, a card-reader and a 3.5 mm jack. Most of them are placed on the right edge though, just like on the Zenbook UX310.

One final aspect to mention here is the keyboard, with 1.5 mm drop and a chiclet layout. It lacks backlightning, which is probably the only significant nit one might actually have with this product.

The Zenbook UX360UA on the other hand is fan cooled (with a cooling grill on the side) and more powerful, but remains pretty much as thin and as light as the UX360CA. The IO is improved too, as this one actually gets a full-size HDMI port on the right edge. The keyboard is also backlit. See the specs list below and follow this link for our review of this unit.

Asus Zenbook Flip UX360UA specs
Screen 13.3-inch, 1920 x 1080 px or 3200 x 1800 px, IPS, touch
Processor Intel Skylake Core i5-6200U, Core i7-6500U CPUs
Video Intel HD 525
Memory up to 16 GB DDR4
Storage M.2 SSD
Connectivity Wireless AC, Bluetooth 4.1
Ports 2xUSB 3.0, 1xUSB 3.1 gen1, HDMI, card-reader, headphone/mic
Battery 54 Wh
Size 321 mm or 12.71 in (L) x 219 mm or 8.66 in (W) x 13.9 mm or 0.54 in (H)
Weight about 1.2 kg (2.65 pounds)
Extras non-backlit keyboard
The Zenbook UX360UA gets Core U hardware and a full-size HDMI port, but it's even lighter than the UX360CA

The Zenbook UX360UA gets Core U hardware and a full-size HDMI port, but it’s even lighter than the UX360CA

Asus Zenbook UX560 15-inch convertible

As the name suggest, the Zenbook UX560 series includes notebooks with a 15.6-inch convertible display, and there are a few different models to choose from: the UX560UA, UX560UQ and UX560UX. Yes, confusing, especially since there are quite a few differences between them.

Fir of all though, let’s start with the similarities. These laptops get are mostly covered in metal, available in a Silver or a Dark Gray scheme. They look pretty sleek and well made, and they weighs around 2.2 kilos (4.85 lbs) and measure 22 mm (0.86″) in thickness. The back is made of plastic though. The hinges are small and we’ll have to see how they can deal with that 15-inch display, but Asus claims a redesigned mechanism that’s supposedly tough and reliable.

The Zenbook UX560s are convertibles with a 15-inch full-size display

The Zenbook UX560s are convertibles with a 15-inch full-size display

The IO is pretty good with 3xUSB 3.0 slots, one USB 3.1 gen 1 port, a full-size HDMI connector, a card-reader and 3.5 mm jack. There’s also Wireless and Bluetooth as connectivity options, and the cooling grills is placed on the laptop’s back edge, firing hot air away from users.

One other aspect worth mentioning is that these UX560s get a full-size keyboard with a NumPad section, but the keys are backlit, unlike on the smaller UX360 series.

These aside, let’s take the three different models one at a time.

The Zenbook UX560UA is the base model, powered by Intel Core i5-6200U or i7-6500U processor, with up to 16 GB of RAM and a 2.5″ storage solution. There’s also a 1920 x 1080 px IPS screen (72% NTSC) and a 50 Wh battery.

The Zenbook UX560UQ gets the same processor, memory and storage, but also an Nvidia GTX 940MX 2GB graphics chip, a 52 Wh battery and the option to choose between the 1080P panel or a higher resolution 3840 x 2160 px option.

The Zenbook UX560UX is indentical to the UQ, but adds the option for a PCIe SSD storage solution and comes with Nvidia GT 950M 2GB graphics.

The Zenbook UX560s should be available in stores in Q3 2016, with prices starting at around $700.

Asus Zenbook UX510 multimedia notebook

The Zenbook UX510 is more or less an oversized version of the Zenbook UX310 and UX306, and not a direct follow-up of the Zenbook Pro UX501.

Update: Our detailed review of the Zenbook UX510UW is available here.

And that’s because the UX510 is actually built on the same type of hardware as the smaller 13-inch Zenbooks: dual-core Skylake or Kaby Lake Core i5 and i7 processors, with support for up to 20 GB of DDR4 RAM (4 GB soldered, one DIMM), dual-storage (2.5-inch bay and M.2 slot) and Nvidia 950M or 960M graphics chips. There’s also a 48 Wh battery, rather small for a 15-incher.

Asus Zenbook UX510UW specs
Screen 15.6-inch, 1920 x 1080 px or 3840 x 2160 px, non-touch, matte
Processor Intel Skylake Core i5-6200U, Core i7-6500U CPUs
Video Intel HD 520 + Nvidia GTX 960M
Memory up to 20 GB DDR4 (4 GB soldered+ 1 slot)
Storage 2.5″ storage bay and M.2 slot
Connectivity Wireless AC, Bluetooth 4.1
Ports 2xUSB 2.0, 2xUSB 3.0, 1xUSB 3.1 gen1, HDMI, card-reader, headphone/mic
Battery 48 Wh
Size 382 mm or 15.03 in (L) x 255 mm or 10.03 in (W) x 19.9 mm or 0.78 in (H)
Weight about 2 kg (4.4 pounds)
Extras backlit keyboard

So judging by the specs, the UX510 is not a computer meant for intensive loads, video editing, programming or other complex tasks.

It is however a capable allround and multimedia notebook, that can also tackle some occasional gaming. As the name suggests, it gets a 15.6-inch display with a matte finishing. The specs point to what looks like a FHD (1920 x 1080 px ) TN panel, or a superior UHD (3840 x 2160 px) panel with 72% NTSC color coverage, clearly the much better option of the two.

Aesthetically, the Zenbook UX510 looks decent, pretty standard for an Asus notebook. Aluminum is used for the hood and the interior, while the underbelly is made from plastic, and the whole thing is around 20 mm thick and weighs 2 kilos (4.4 lbs).

This Zenbook also gets a backlit keyboard, again what looks like an oversized version of the keyboard found on the UX306, but luckily with black keys (yey, Asus learned about contrast). The IO includes four full-size USB slots and an extra USB Type-C 3.1 (not Thunderbolt 3) port, HDMI video output, a card-reader and a headphone/mic jack. The speakers are placed on the belly, just like on the 13-inch models mentioned above.

So there you have it, the Zenbook UX510 is just a large-format notebook with a good screen and decent hardware, a computer meant for daily use, multimedia and some gaming. The basic configurations of the Zenbook UX510UX are scheduled to start at $799 (more details), while the beefier UX510UW will start at around $999 (more details). Both are available in stores as of early summer 2016.

Update: Our detailed review of the Zenbook UX510UW is available here.

Disclaimer: Our content is reader-supported. If you buy through some of the links on our site, we may earn a commission. Learn more.
Andrei Girbea, Editor-in-Chief of Ultrabookreview.com. I've been covering mobile computers since the 2000s and you'll mostly find reviews and thorough guides written by me here on the site.

156 Comments

  1. Brad

    September 18, 2016 at 6:22 am

    Is it viable to simply buy and install an IPS screen?

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 18, 2016 at 8:00 am

      That’s possible, but a bit out of my league though. You’ll find topics on people replacing screens on other Zenbooks, you should do a Google search

      • Brad

        September 18, 2016 at 1:44 pm

        Thanks Andrei. Might consider in future.

  2. Alberto

    September 18, 2016 at 9:57 am

    Hello, i really like your reviews, i´m going to buy a ultrabook, and i like the Dell xp15 and the Asus UX560, i want a touch screen, but the xps is too expensive so if i buy the xp15, i will buy the basic version with i56200u, what would you choose ? I need a very good battery and a good screen. Sorry for my english, and thank you.

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 19, 2016 at 7:33 am

      The UX560 is also a convertible, which means the touchscreen makes much more sense on this form factor. Still, this is a complicated choice, the XPS and the Zenbook are different in many ways, especially in terms of hardware specs.

  3. Brad

    September 18, 2016 at 1:45 pm

    Got a nice surprise when I opened my UX310UQ up and installed the 16GB SO-DIMM today. the existing 8GB was all onboard, so I’ve now got a total of 24GB RAM.

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 19, 2016 at 7:34 am

      Yes, from waht I’ve read, there are both versions with 4 or 8 GB onboard. Still, there are very few applications where those extra 4 Gigs will matter, close to none actually.

  4. Jeff

    September 20, 2016 at 8:56 am

    For me, it’s looking like “Farewell, Asus Zenbook” and “Hello, Dell XPS 13 Kabylake being released in early October.” Similar prices for my desired options.

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 20, 2016 at 2:45 pm

      Are you sure? The XPS has been more expensive then the similar Zenbooks in the past, by quite a lot actually.

      • Jeff

        September 20, 2016 at 8:24 pm

        It might be in the same ballpark if they only did a FHD screen with the i5, but they seem to insist on doing HD+. An i5/256/HD+ XPS 13 can be had for just over a grand. If you could only combine it with the FHD screen (which is all I want), it would probably be less. It doesn’t seem you can do that, though. I hate when manufacturers lock in feature combinations like that. Maybe I’m wrong, who knows.

        I read about them here, although the thoughts about the screen are gleaned from elsewhere: pcworld.com/article/3120815/hardware/windows-10-haters-try-linux-on-kaby-lake-chips-with-dells-new-xps-13.html

      • Andrei Girbea

        September 21, 2016 at 12:01 pm

        That’s not bad for the QHD+ model. But is the Kaby Lake version listed on Dell’s US website? I can only find it in Europe right now

      • Jeff

        September 22, 2016 at 10:13 am

        I don’t see it on their website yet, either, but several tech sites say the Kaby Lake models are supposed to be released first or second week of October.

        I have a relative who tends to get involved in my projects, without knowing *anything* about them. They know that one of my current projects is finding a new laptop, and dropped a hint that they actually got me one, supposed to be here today. Honestly, I fear opening the package! Add to it that I’m somewhat of a Linux snob, and you understand. I don’t want to sound like an ingrate, but we’ll see! After all this careful research…! ;)

      • Andrei Girbea

        September 22, 2016 at 10:52 am

        Well, good luck with that, let us know what actually came in the box :P

      • Jeff

        October 7, 2016 at 7:51 am

        So I ordered the new XPS 13 yesterday: Kabylake i5 / 8GB / 256GB PCIe / FHD. Total was $1049. Same prices as the UX306 (Skylake i7 / 8GB / 512 / FHD). I figure it’s a more reliable route. I might have gone with a configuration of the UX310 if it weren’t for that gosh darned screen.

      • Andrei Girbea

        October 7, 2016 at 10:31 am

        Looking forward to your feedback, especially on battery life and any potential coil whining noises, I’ll probably not get my hands on the Kaby Lake model for a while now. And if you want to share your feedback with the other readers, I’d be glad to have it posted on the site in a separate article, we had similar post in the past :P : https://www.ultrabookreview.com/9207-samsung-ativ-book-9-spin-review/

  5. Luke

    September 20, 2016 at 2:36 pm

    Hi, reading the above comments, it seems FHD screen sports TN panels. Wouldn’t that make their official website (multi-country) illegal (false advertisement)? (Just wondering.)

    I am also looking for a nice 13.3″ ultrabook, with the main purpose being Photoshop projects (can be complex). Would just i7-6500U cut it, or are dedicated graphics cards recommended (like 940m / mx)?

    Thanks.

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 20, 2016 at 2:44 pm

      Not really, the page says: 13.3″ (16:9) LED backlit FHD (1920×1080) 60Hz Anti-Glare Panel with 72% NTSC from what I’m seeing, there’s no claim of it being IPS. IN fact, there’s no IPS mentioned for the QHD+ panel either now, although I think it was in the past.

      Dedicated GPUs aren’t going to help that much with Photoshop imo, just get the Core i7 with at least 8 GB of RAM if you want an ultraportable, or an HQ processor if you can go higher. Of course, one of those Intel 28W processors would be the best fit for such needs, but there’s no implementation of the Skylake options that I know of.

      • Luke

        September 20, 2016 at 3:02 pm

        Thanks for your very quick reply! I guess dedicated GPUs not helping much with photo-editing leaves me with a much wider choice of ultrabooks!

        And regarding the false advertisement, they do mention 178deg viewing angle everywhere. This should easily have been proven to be inaccurate.

      • Andrei Girbea

        September 20, 2016 at 4:24 pm

        Hmm, where? I can’t see that here: asus.com/Notebooks/ASUS-Zenbook-UX310UQ/specifications/

      • Jeff

        September 20, 2016 at 7:37 pm

        This one: store.asus.com/us/item/201606AM280000011/A45455

      • Andrei Girbea

        September 21, 2016 at 11:59 am

        Well, yes, that’s crap. Not sure what the legislation has to say about this, but the definitely don’t deliver on what hey promise.

      • Luke

        September 20, 2016 at 8:57 pm

        Well you shouldn’t look in global site because certain places such as North America do offer QHD+(which is supposedly IPS).
        Here’s a site which offers FHD and mentions 178deg viewing angle.(Sorry for the Chinese page again)
        asus.com/tw/Notebooks/ASUS-Zenbook-UX310UQ/

        But I have yet to confirm with customer service regarding which version of FHD we are getting in Taiwan(TN or FHD, GDDR3 or GDDR5). I will check back here when I finally get their reply in 3-5 days. Hopefully they don’t provide answers such as “Our specs are as displayed in the official website.” again…..

      • Luke

        September 21, 2016 at 11:15 am

        It’s not in the spec section, but rather in the first advertising page (with lots of cool pictures). The funny thing is that in the FHD version of UX310UQ in all countries I’ve checked, the 178deg viewing angle feature are kept on there, suggesting IPS panel. I have yet to confirm with customer support whether it is IPS or TN in my country, and whether it is GDDR5 (like in global), or GDDR3 (most likely GDDR3 in my country).

  6. Luke

    September 20, 2016 at 2:45 pm

    Also, I’ve been to our ASUS dealer today and saw UX310UQ-0071A6500U in person (I’m in Taiwan). When the lid (screen) is closed, I notice that the lid and the body of the laptop do not completely match, with an ever-so-slightly offset to one diagonal direction. I’m not the only one noticing this defect. It can be overlooked if one is not a perfectionist, but a laptop with such a price tag having such defect as this is unacceptable in my books…

    mobile01.com/topicdetail.php?f=233&t=4836390&p=4

    I know most wouldn’t read Chinese here, but if you scroll down you’ll see a picture taken that proves this. This is exactly what I see in the retail as well, and a few more in this forum sees the same thing as they claim.

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 20, 2016 at 4:23 pm

      I can’t tell much from that picture, but that looks like ti shows that the screen part is a little longer than the bottom half, right? If yes, then it’s a “feature”, so it would be easier to grab and lift the screen, since there’s no groove to put your finger in and lift it.

      If it’s an offset and one corner is longer than the others, then yes, that’s poor craftsmanship. Still, I think I could probably live with that just fine, the crappy screen is a much bigger problem imo.

      • Luke

        September 20, 2016 at 8:50 pm

        FYI, the screen is actually diagonally off, indicating poor craftsmanship. Some people even report wobbly body while typing, but I don’t see that personally. But you’re right, the TN panel is a much bigger problem here.

  7. carl

    September 26, 2016 at 12:39 pm

    I am so regretful not to read this article previously on the UX310. I was cheated by the official site. The screen is toooo bad to use, and the open angle maybe only 120 degree. Sad

    • Cheeseburger

      September 27, 2016 at 7:51 am

      Which model of UX310?

      • carl

        September 27, 2016 at 9:59 am

        the chinese version is u310uq 6200

      • Cheeseburger

        September 27, 2016 at 11:00 am

        Thanks Carl!
        Seems that all ux310uq models have crappy screens…even QHD+ ones :(

  8. Luke

    October 2, 2016 at 7:02 am

    So Asus (Taiwan) replied to me finally (more than two weeks…)
    TN panel & GDDR3 for its dedicated 940mx.

    However, many online shopping websites still directly advertise that UX310UQ has IPS panels here…..

    Better be extra careful everyone.

  9. Brad

    October 10, 2016 at 3:01 am

    Having owned the UX310UQ for 3 weeks, I can say that I’m super happy with it. Its super fast and a joy to use. No poor craftsmanship or offset alignment of the screen and body. Its perfect.

    The only real neg is the TN panel. I use it primarily as a desktop replacement (with another screen and keyboard) so this isn’t a huge issue for me, although having said that I am looking to replace the panel with an IPS one if possible and I think it would then be the perfect laptop at a great price.

  10. Kirsten

    October 11, 2016 at 4:05 pm

    Hi — I’m also looking into this discussion now. I’d like a 13 or 14 inch small ultrabook for travelling – and I’ll run simulations and graphics analysis on it, so newest processors and a lot of ram are necessary – and touch-screen is great to handle it when there”s little space. Best also to be handled outside…, so a bright display is nice.
    … and I dislike the HP spectre’s keyboard.

    I wanted thunderbolt support, and a good screen.

    I basically wondering about DELL XPS13 and the latest ASUS UX360UAK with the high-res touchscreen (3200×1800) –
    Sells in Switzerland already – digitec.ch/de/s1/product/asus-ux360uak-dq211t-1330-qhd-intel-core-i7-7500u-16gb-ssd-notebook-5886790.
    Any experience with the difference in intensity of these displays for normal (pictures, text…) usage?

    Is asus going to release any of these ultrabooks (except the 310, not the zenbook 3) with a thunderbolt connector??

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 12, 2016 at 1:30 pm

      There’s no TB3 on these new Zenbooks as of right now.

      Still, the UX360UAK and poerhaps the HP Spectre x360 both have the advantage of being convertibles, which makes more sense if you’re going to a touchscreen.

      I use the XPS 13 myself and I think it’s overall a great laptop, but I’m not sold on the touchscreen models as they are expensive and only get mid to poor battery life. That’s just me though :)

  11. Kirsten

    October 13, 2016 at 5:05 am

    Thanks – I”ll probably just wait – as Dell announced a convertible XPS13 for early 2017.

    Unfortunately, it’s hard to find – apparently dell does NOT sell that screen with 16GB of RAM – which I really need.

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 13, 2016 at 6:48 am

      Hmmm, yeah, that’s an option, I’m keeping an eye on that convertible XPS 13 one too. And yes, the FHD version of the XPS 13 only come with 8 GB of RAM, they pretty much force you to get the QHD panel for the higher end specs.

  12. Luke

    October 21, 2016 at 3:21 pm

    Here's a news…..

    Even though Taiwan ASUS representative answered me that the UX310UQ uses TN panel, an owner posted this:

    http://imgur.com/a/bpy3h

    In reality, in Taiwan it is an IPS panel (supposedly low-end quality IPS though), in contrary with the official response's claim. Can it also in fact be IPS in Italy? Apparently the ASUS representative isn't a reliable source at all.

    BTW in ASUS global they've also changed the GDDR5 to GDDR3 for the discrete graphic memory…

  13. Andrei Girbea

    October 25, 2016 at 7:10 am

    For those interested, I've published my review of the Zenbook UX510UW, sry it took that long: https://www.ultrabookreview.com/13046-asus-zenbook-ux510uw-review/

  14. Mike

    October 29, 2016 at 3:20 am

    Can I ask your opinion on the ux310ua i5/i7 vs 330ua i5 both with the QHD panel, uk versions?

    Which to chose? The 310 only has a 48 battery, might come with a crappy panel (not sure for this version) but can be expanded easily if needed (not sure if necessary). Does it have the tlid that lifts the bottom or the 110 degrees only lid? How solid is casing/keyboard compared to 330?

    The 330 I know feels solid enough. It's lighter and I can apparently exchange the disk (can you confirm?). The screen is supposed to be ok. It's currently cheaper and has the better battery.

    I trend towards the 330 for battery and weight, and cause I might not end up with an ft panel, but the additional disk and expandable ram are tempting. I can't test it in a store though.

    use: ms office, coding (no 3d stuff), surfing with many tabs open.

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 30, 2016 at 2:12 pm

      I haven't touched the UX310 so I can't really comment on build, keyboard, touchpad etc compared to the UX330. However, there are many reports that the UX310 comes with a QHD TN panel, which if true, is enough reasons for me to just forget about it.

  15. Tom

    November 2, 2016 at 10:21 pm

    The UX410 laptops are perfect…Can't wait to get one. Any news on their release yet?

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 3, 2016 at 4:41 am

      Not for now, but I'm keeping my eyes peeled for that one too.

    • TommyCZ

      November 7, 2016 at 1:08 pm

      I just hope the UX410 series will really contain IPS display, as all eshops in my contry listing that laptops don't mention anything about IPS.
      On the other hand all of them promised IPS for UX310 series and it was piece of crap (I had it for one day, then it went back…)

  16. ed

    November 3, 2016 at 8:42 pm

    Im looking to buy a new laptop for music production and video streaming. not too crazy about gaming. i want to stick with a 13 inch and a core i7. i will also be taking it out of the house very often. which zenbook is recommended in terms of build quality and performance?

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 7, 2016 at 3:32 pm

      All Zenboks are pretty well built, you'll have to narrow them down based on what you want in terms of form factor, size or specs

  17. TommyCZ

    November 7, 2016 at 1:14 pm

    What do you think about UX410UA vs UX410UQ choice? Will GDDR3 dedicated graphic do any good in comparison with the integrated one, considering that I'd like to upgrade to 24GB DDR4 RAM?

    I mean, is there any disadvantage of choosing the UQ series over the UA one? Like better battery life or whatever?

    Thanks for help! I seriously think about buying UX410 immedietely after it arrives to store, that free memory slot is just a dealbraker. (Java likes a lot of memory!)

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 7, 2016 at 3:40 pm

      If you play games, then there's still a benefit of choosing the UQ version with the Nvidia graphics. Also, are you sure the UQ gets different RAM than the UA? I thin they both get 8 GB with one spare DIMM so both can take up to 24 GB, which is also the case with the UX310UA and UX310UQ if I'm not mistaken.

      • TommyCZ

        November 7, 2016 at 3:47 pm

        Thanks for explanation.
        About the memory, I thought that one of the benefits of having dedicated graphic card is that it doesn't share system memory, but it has separate memory, and when I would get 24GB this fact would be pointless…

      • Andrei Girbea

        November 7, 2016 at 4:19 pm

        The UA uses some of RAM as video memory, but really, with 24 GBs, this isn't something you should be concerned of, the amount used by the integrated chip is small.

        The reason you'd want to dedicated card is because it offers better performance, mostly in games, but in some other apps that utilize the GPU as well (video editing, 3d rendering, etc)

  18. Andreas

    November 18, 2016 at 1:02 pm

    Here is a quick comment on the UX310UA with 3200 x 1800 display, as there is a questions mark on this page if it is an IPS model. I bought it two weeks ago in the UK from Currys/PC-World. I don't know how to do a definite test for IPS panels, but contrast and quality of colours do look like an IPS model.
    As for the battery life – Easily plus 6 hours with modest use of office and occasional web browsing, possibly longer with lighter use and no Wlan. The combination of 128 GB SSD and 512 HD is perfect. Windows starts very quick in a few seconds and even complex programs like QGIS start in a few more seconds.
    The only problem is that the high resolution requires some manual adjustments in some programs, as the automatic automatic scaling does not work with all programs. After initial tests in the shop, I was not too convinced of the keyboard, but having written a few longer texts, it works surprisingly well. The format of the laptop is perfect for tables in the train, big enough for serious working, small enough not to intrude in your seat neighbours territory. Any other questions on the model? Let me know…

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 18, 2016 at 3:23 pm

      Hey Andreas, thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback.

      How are viewing angles? Is there any color/contrast shifting when moving to the sides or viewing from the top/bottom? If yes, then it's a TN panel.

      • Andreas

        November 21, 2016 at 11:26 am

        There is hardly any change in colour/contrast when viewing from the sides or top/bottom. My old Thinkpad which definitely had a TN panel, was much worse in this respect – the image nearly disappearing when viewed from the side. So it looks like an IPS panel. It's worth noting though that PC World here still list a cehaper and older low-spec version (Core I3-6100U/4GB RAM/128GB SSD) which is confusingly also called UX310UA. This has a lower resolution (full HD 1920×1080) and might hence well have a TN panel.

  19. Jasper

    November 18, 2016 at 8:10 pm

    Here in the Netherlands a fee shops moe offer a BX310 that looks like the UX310 but is not listed on the asus site. Cant find much but curieus hoe it deviates from the UX. really looks very similar.

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 21, 2016 at 11:02 am

      I can't really tell the difference between these two, they look the same to me

  20. David

    November 28, 2016 at 8:08 pm

    I am an computer engineering student, and I'm looking for a portable and powerful laptop (13''). The Asus seem to be my favourite options (price, design, and reliability). Which of these ones would you recommend? I'd better want a dedicated graphic card, for example. They are all quite similar, but I don't know if the differences are worthy.

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 29, 2016 at 5:17 am

      There's only one 13-incher with dedicated graphics, the UX310UQ, so the choice is simple. I'd only get dedicated graphics if you plan to play games though, and even in this case the 940MX chip is barely a mid-level solution and not a lot faster than the Intel HD 620 chip integrated on the Kaby Lake Core U platforms

  21. Mike

    November 30, 2016 at 12:16 am

    Is there any update on the release date for the UX410UQ?

    The latest news seems to have been released in early October with no major updates or releases since then.

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 30, 2016 at 7:00 am

      I'm seeing it listed in some Northern European countries, but not worldwide. I don't know what Asus's plans are for this series, so no other news, sry.

      • Mike

        December 10, 2016 at 12:27 am

        Thanks Andrei.

        On a slightly related note – do you know what things I should be considering if I want to order an European version of this laptop (or any laptop for that matter).

        I'd imagine the power outlet I'll need to use a adapter for but are there any major things like OS language issues (that can't be easily addressed) or fundamental hardware differences that may make this a bad idea?

        (I ask because I still don't even see the model on Asus' US product website so am skeptical if they even plan on releasing it here).

      • Andrei Girbea

        December 10, 2016 at 4:30 pm

        Other from the plug, you will have a different keyboard layout depending on the country you get it from. The UK versions are usable, the German and French versions are tough though.

  22. Ganesh Subramaniam

    March 20, 2017 at 3:50 pm

    Hi Anderi,
    I am looking at couple of models of Asus Zenbook models for my wife. She is not a techie person, a product manager, so obviously does not need a very powerful laptop. She prefers a lighter laptop, obviously.

    I have a UX303UB (i7 6500 U, with 12 GB RAM and 512 GB SSD), very happy with that. After Sony left the PC market, I started liking the Asus, for their price & performance. I have built Desktop PCs from scratch, so I look at many performance benchmarks & reviewes like yours.

    I am looking the following Zenbook models:
    UX310UA-WB71 (i7-6500U, 2.5 GHz, up to 3.1 GHz, 8 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD)
    UX330CA-AH54 (i5-7200U 2.5 GHz Processor, Turbo to 3.1 GHz, 8 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD)
    UX360CA-AH51T (i5-7Y54 1.2 GHz, Turbo to 3.2 GHz, 8 GB RAM & 512 GB SSD with Touch screen)

    I would like to know your thoughts on upgrading RAM, as a feature (for the future).

    Which one would be your pick & why?
    Thanks for your help!
    Ganesh

  23. Jason

    March 30, 2017 at 3:17 am

    Whatever happened to the UX560? It looks like it went up for sale in some European countries for a short while and the stock quickly dried up. I'd like a UX560UX, but it doesn't look like they've ever been made available in the US and likely aren't even in production anymore, despite still being listed on the Asus website. :-(

    • Kasey

      April 8, 2017 at 8:30 pm

      I'm wondering the exact same thing, but don't see a response to Jason's comment. I will likely be in the market for a new laptop sooner rather than later (as my current one is rather ancient), and this one looks about perfect. Is there any news on its release to the USA market?

  24. Dan

    April 2, 2017 at 5:24 pm

    Hi Andrei,

    Between Asus UX310UQ with i7 7500U + 940MX GPU and Dell XPS 13 9360 with i7 7560U with Iris graphics 640 GPU which one would you recommend?
    Mostly using it for programming, some photoshop design and casual gaming.
    I'm towards Dell XPS 13 but I'm thinking that the Asus has better GPU? Is it much better?

    Thanks a lot!

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 3, 2017 at 4:19 am

      Yes, there's a somewhat better GPU in the Asus, but the Dell XPS is a nicer laptop overall imo. More compact, bigger battery, better screen, TB3 port. More expensive though.

      • Dan

        April 3, 2017 at 5:32 pm

        Thanks a lot Andrei!

  25. Peter Torok

    April 27, 2017 at 5:43 pm

    Hi Andrei,

    Is there any information about the hinge of ux310/410? Do you know yet if Asus used the same low quality structure as for 303s or replaced it with some better? I would buy one of those ultrabooks except if the hinge is the same as before. Thank you for your help.

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 28, 2017 at 1:45 am

      I can't tell for sure. The part that attaches to the main frame is solid, metallic and big enough. The part that actually attaches to the screen was problematic on the UX303s, and I haven't pried it open on these newer models to check out, because it's a little more difficult to do without breaking the cover. I'd reckon there should be improved after all these years and also based on the fact that I haven't' seen other complains for the newer zenbooks like the UX305s, but I'm not 100% sure on that.

      • didnothing wrong

        June 1, 2017 at 4:16 am

        can you please pry it open to check if the hinge is still the same or not? please you are doing not just me but many people favor thank you very much

  26. Alex

    June 5, 2018 at 4:19 pm

    i'd like to make a correction where you wrote that the underbelly of the ux510 is plastic. It should be made of aluminium. good review cheers

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *