Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Lenovo Legion Y520 Andrei Girbea Rating: 4 out of 5

Lenovo Legion Y520 review – bang-for-the-buck gaming laptop at under $900

9 Comments

  1. Ben Amir

    September 7, 2017 at 2:40 pm

    Hello there, i wanted to ask for your advice about the lenovo brand, some rumors has it that lenovo laptops arent actually good in terms of their longevity. Most of its customers has problems on the laptop after a few months of usage. From your perspective/opinion is it true ? i erally would like to have your opinion on this because im gonna buy lenovo Y520 pretty soon.

    Thanks in advance !

  2. Lee

    September 9, 2017 at 10:09 pm

    Hey there, do I need to keep my charger on even after the battery is 100% or do I need to unplug it at certain percentage to prolong the battery life? Thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 10, 2017 at 4:39 am

      You can keep it on. The system knows to cut off the battery when it reaches the set level of charging (100% or whatever else you're setting).

  3. Christopher Tang

    October 10, 2017 at 5:07 am

    Hi, i have used your .icc profile on my Y520 but the colors looked abit yellowish after applying. is this normal?

    i have the same lg display as shown in this article.

    thank you!

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 10, 2017 at 6:54 am

      Well, yes, by default the screen has a blue tint and the corrected profile should make things warmer. Still, the .icc profile is made based on my screen, even with the same panels there are variations between what each user might get, so the profile might not be great for everyone. .

  4. Szilard

    October 11, 2017 at 5:14 am

    "As an important note, this laptop only supports M.2 SATA drives, so don’t buy a PCIe SSD, you’ll not benefit from its faster speeds."

    Hi guys,
    I bought my Y520 at MediaMarkt, with the following differences compared to your article:

    – i7-7700HQ, 1050Ti

    – WiFi module is Realtek abgn/ac. Not bad although but I'll swap it to Intel for better Linux support. Realtek drivers are a crap on Linux.

    – M.2 slot support NVMe/PCIe ONLY – no SATA SSD will fit in here. Please recheck your statement:

    "As an important note, this laptop only supports M.2 SATA drives, so don’t buy a PCIe SSD, you’ll not benefit from its faster speeds." – Indeed it will benefit from PCIe SSD and only accepts PCIe/NVMe SSD-s. Slower SATA SSD-s won't fit.

    Maybe we have a completely different sub-config.. I'm also from Europe, Hungary.

    Cheers ;)

  5. Mostafa Alaa

    October 18, 2017 at 5:40 pm

    I saw some people having some keys is not responding.Did you face any keyboard while you were testing.

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 19, 2017 at 4:22 am

      No, but if you've read the post, I already mentioned a possible fix for it: "As a side note, quite a few users report issues with specific keys not registering on their Y520. I didn't run into this issue, but it seems to be quite widespread and according to the forums, it's caused by the improper positioning of the metal shield that covers the RAM slots and can be fixed, as per the details in this thread (forums.lenovo.com/t5/Gaming-Laptops/Lenovo-Y520-Keyboard-buttons-are-pressed-when-nearby-surface-is/m-p/3635680#M5736). Chances are this issue will occur if you remove the shield in order to add more RAM to you unit, but there's also a fair chance that shield is wrongly placed out of the factory."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *