Asus VivoBook Pro N580VD / N580GD review – mid-range multimedia laptop

160 Comments

  1. Loch

    January 31, 2018 at 2:21 pm

    I bought the M580VD last year December.
    It is a really good laptop. Mostly because it is thin and light weighted it can be carried easily as well. However, the aluminum body gets scratched easily so you will have to take more care. The laptop gets heated when u play high end games.. As in this review.. :)
    Also the version I bought doesn't consist of a M.2 SSD.. I'm hoping to install one soon as well.
    The price is decent for the specs it provides as well. Highly recommend to buy this if you a high end online gamer and an office worker as well.

    Great review man!

  2. JK

    March 26, 2018 at 3:41 pm

    Hey, I'm looking for a portable laptop with decent performance (for 3D modelling and some gaming). I also want it to have a RJ45 port, HDMI port and a touchscreen (which is necessary for me for light programming and light show controlling), the last of which i can't seem to find in most computers that have similar performance to this (not for a reasonable price at least). I was just curious to know if there would be some good competitors for this laptop that would also have a touchscreen, since most of them don't seem to have one. Thanks in advance!

  3. Tony Rahman

    May 12, 2018 at 10:32 am

    Thank you very much for the in-depth review. I live in South Korea, the model being sold here is N580VD-FY375 / i7-7700HQ / DDR4 16GB / M.2 SSD 256GB / HDD 1 TB / GTX 1050 4GB / IPS Display. Price is US$ 1275.
    (NB: alternatively, I can get a cheaper model with only 8GB of RAM and no 1TB of HDD for US$ 1100).
    Is this still worth buying now? Or is there any better options?

    I was looking into MSI GP62M-7REX and some other laptops with similar specs but not really keen on the black-red gamer aesthetics and these gaming laptops are bulkier and heavier than the VivoBook Pro (3 cm vs 2 cm thick; 2.3 kg++ vs 2 kg-ish).

    I don't really play games but I love to watch movies and do some occasional photo & video editing. As for the battery issue in VivoBook Pro, I don't mind since most of the time I will be plugged in anyway. Thank you in advance!

  4. Matheus

    May 19, 2018 at 9:56 am

    Bought one in Singapore model N580VD-DM467T.

    Replaced M.2 SATA drive for one M.2 NVME (Samsung 970 EVO) and works PERFECTLY.

    Replace RIDICULOUS TN panelf for one LG lp156wf6-spp2 and now I think the laptop is excelent.

  5. Brave

    May 20, 2018 at 3:37 am

    This is my Laptop:
    (Asus Vivobook Pro N580VD): CPU i5 7300HQ ^ RAM 20GB DDR4 2400Mhz. ^ Nvidia GTX1050 4GB ^ SSD Crucial MX300 1TB + 128GB SSD M.2 Samsung
    My M.2. SSD is dead after 10 days work, but maybе i bay a new better M.2.SSD
    I bought this Laptop because it is thin, aluminum and lightweight. Just old-fashioned.
    This is not the original configuration i upgraded RAM and HARD SSD

  6. Catalin

    May 27, 2018 at 6:13 pm

    Salut Andrei,
    Mi-am luat de curand varianta N580VD FI683, toate bune si frumoase pana in momentul in care vine vorba de rezolutie(3840 x 2160). Cu driverele de la windows pot sa setez alte rezolutii dar nu gasesc nici o varianta in care totul sa fie clar pe ecran. In schimb cand instales tot ce e pe site la asus, i-mi blocheaza rezolutia pe(3840 x 2160), se vede clar dar totul devine incredibil de mic si de greu de citit(nu mai mai lasa sa schimb rezolutia) iar orice videoclip se vede sacadat.

    Ajuta-ma cu un sfat cum ce sa ii fac sa gasesc o varianta in care totul sa fie cum trebuie pe un monitor.

    Merci!

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 27, 2018 at 10:21 pm

      Seteaza rezolutia pe 3840 x 2160 si te joci din scalling, CLick dreapta pe desktop >> Display Settings, si alegi de acolo 200% sau ce iti convine.

  7. Vasile

    May 18, 2019 at 12:52 pm

    Andrei, observ ca esti specialist in laptopuri.

    Doresc sa cumpar modelul asta cu I7-8750H (N580GD-E4087T) FHD, 1GBHDD, 512GBSSD si GTX1050. Laptopul se gaseste la jumatatea perioadei de garantie internationala dar foarte probabil factura originala s-a pierdut, ca urmare nu se poate accesa cererea de service in caz de defect (pentru RMA se solicita date personale ale cumparatorului). Ce ma poti sfatui daca doresc sa pot utiliza garantia (inafara de a cumpara unul nou)?

    Multumesc frumos.

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 19, 2019 at 12:20 am

      I'd suggest getting in touch with Asus support and see what they have to say about it. That's not something I can advice on

  8. kabunga

    September 20, 2019 at 5:18 pm

    Hey, thanks for awesome reviews! Can you also review the ASUS VivoBook 15 X571GT (K571)? It's pretty new and looks like it is the successor to N580 notebook.

  9. abajodelmar

    January 25, 2020 at 5:59 pm

    Excellent analysis! I've been looking around internet and I can't find if the BIOS of M58VD-EB76 model has the WOL/power-on by PCIe option;'cause in advance option I could't find It, maybe do you have any clue?
    Thank you

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 27, 2020 at 11:59 am

      Sry, I don't. Try to contact Asus support and see if they can help

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *