Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Asus VivoBook Pro N580VD / M580VD Andrei Girbea Rating: 4 out of 5

Asus VivoBook Pro N580VD / M580VD review – mid-range multimedia laptop

155 Comments

  1. Rey Martin

    October 17, 2017 at 12:33 am

    Great review! I just bought the i5 version and you're review helped me in the decision making. The screen doesn't bother me at all and it's a great all around laptop. One question though, in upgrading how do you separate the bottom cover? I've managed to removed all the screws but I can't pry it open. This one is quite new to me as I've disassembled other laptops already.

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 17, 2017 at 4:41 pm

      Should pry open easily with a plastic card, starting from the back or from a corner. Just make sure you got all the screws, I don't remember for this one, but most Asus laptop also get two screws hidden underneath the rear rubber feet.

    • Dom

      October 17, 2017 at 6:06 pm

      I've used a suction cup from around the hinges and the back cover popped out without any problem.

  2. Lukasz

    October 23, 2017 at 2:12 pm

    Because of small battery is it possible to charg or keep alive this laptop by power bank? I have Ravpower bank 20100mAh with TYP-C usb

  3. Mohammad Ali

    October 26, 2017 at 2:35 pm

    Hello
    Thanks for your time
    I wanted to know the air outlet of this laptop, which is now underneath it, is better than the N552VW's next to it.

  4. Mark BUTOSKI

    October 28, 2017 at 10:10 pm

    Is this laptop best for gaming and video editing or avaerage

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 30, 2017 at 5:18 am

      It's as good as other laptops with similar hardware. Not sure if it's the best pick though, as you can find better options for less if you can live with more gaming-inspired designs (Lenovo Yoga 520, Acer Aspire VX15, etc)

  5. Riccardo

    November 7, 2017 at 9:35 am

    I've bought it few days ago and already sent it back. Touchpad doesn't work properly. It gets stack sometime. Besides, numeric pad is very bad for working due to the fact that is missing some keys if compared to a normal one. Hope to change the model coz am not satisfied for the price I paid!

  6. Pedro Sarmento

    December 4, 2017 at 7:41 am

    Anyone tried dual boot with Ubuntu on this machine?
    How does it deal with it?

    • Paca

      January 16, 2018 at 4:30 pm

      I have windows and Ubuntu installed in this machine, and there is no problem until now

  7. André Machado

    December 19, 2017 at 2:10 pm

    Has anyone managed to solve the problem of fan noise?

  8. hr

    December 21, 2017 at 7:44 pm

    hey in SCREEN part.
    there is a problem.
    average screen brightness : ??? cd/m2

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 23, 2017 at 6:54 am

      Yes, that's a mistake, average brightness is higher.

  9. David

    January 13, 2018 at 8:31 pm

    Salut Andrei! Ma tot chinui sa aflu de ce fel de SSD am nevoie: M.2 PCIe NVMe 2280 sau de alt tip (Sata??) ? E versiunea MX150. Mai putea ajuta cu un raspuns?

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 15, 2018 at 1:08 pm

      Slotul este M.2 2280. Modelul testat a venit cu un modul SATA, insa si PCIe-urile precum Samsung 950/960 sau altele ar trebui sa fie compatibile. Nu stiu insa daca vor functiona la vitezele maximale, nu am testat.

      • DAVKO

        January 15, 2018 at 5:34 pm

        Ok, mersi mult de raspuns.
        Succes mai departe cu site-ul :)

  10. Luna

    January 29, 2018 at 2:38 am

    Great review! I'm still thinking between ASUS Vivobook Pro and Zenbook UX430, which one you think is better? I'm looking for something that'll long lasting and have a great quality of course but I still don't find any differences between them both so I'm confuse choosing one. Please help me!

  11. Loch

    January 31, 2018 at 2:21 pm

    I bought the M580VD last year December.
    It is a really good laptop. Mostly because it is thin and light weighted it can be carried easily as well. However, the aluminum body gets scratched easily so you will have to take more care. The laptop gets heated when u play high end games.. As in this review.. :)
    Also the version I bought doesn't consist of a M.2 SSD.. I'm hoping to install one soon as well.
    The price is decent for the specs it provides as well. Highly recommend to buy this if you a high end online gamer and an office worker as well.

    Great review man!

  12. JK

    March 26, 2018 at 3:41 pm

    Hey, I'm looking for a portable laptop with decent performance (for 3D modelling and some gaming). I also want it to have a RJ45 port, HDMI port and a touchscreen (which is necessary for me for light programming and light show controlling), the last of which i can't seem to find in most computers that have similar performance to this (not for a reasonable price at least). I was just curious to know if there would be some good competitors for this laptop that would also have a touchscreen, since most of them don't seem to have one. Thanks in advance!

  13. Tony Rahman

    May 12, 2018 at 10:32 am

    Thank you very much for the in-depth review. I live in South Korea, the model being sold here is N580VD-FY375 / i7-7700HQ / DDR4 16GB / M.2 SSD 256GB / HDD 1 TB / GTX 1050 4GB / IPS Display. Price is US$ 1275.
    (NB: alternatively, I can get a cheaper model with only 8GB of RAM and no 1TB of HDD for US$ 1100).
    Is this still worth buying now? Or is there any better options?

    I was looking into MSI GP62M-7REX and some other laptops with similar specs but not really keen on the black-red gamer aesthetics and these gaming laptops are bulkier and heavier than the VivoBook Pro (3 cm vs 2 cm thick; 2.3 kg++ vs 2 kg-ish).

    I don't really play games but I love to watch movies and do some occasional photo & video editing. As for the battery issue in VivoBook Pro, I don't mind since most of the time I will be plugged in anyway. Thank you in advance!

  14. Matheus

    May 19, 2018 at 9:56 am

    Bought one in Singapore model N580VD-DM467T.

    Replaced M.2 SATA drive for one M.2 NVME (Samsung 970 EVO) and works PERFECTLY.

    Replace RIDICULOUS TN panelf for one LG lp156wf6-spp2 and now I think the laptop is excelent.

  15. Brave

    May 20, 2018 at 3:37 am

    This is my Laptop:
    (Asus Vivobook Pro N580VD): CPU i5 7300HQ ^ RAM 20GB DDR4 2400Mhz. ^ Nvidia GTX1050 4GB ^ SSD Crucial MX300 1TB + 128GB SSD M.2 Samsung
    My M.2. SSD is dead after 10 days work, but maybе i bay a new better M.2.SSD
    I bought this Laptop because it is thin, aluminum and lightweight. Just old-fashioned.
    This is not the original configuration i upgraded RAM and HARD SSD

  16. Catalin

    May 27, 2018 at 6:13 pm

    Salut Andrei,
    Mi-am luat de curand varianta N580VD FI683, toate bune si frumoase pana in momentul in care vine vorba de rezolutie(3840 x 2160). Cu driverele de la windows pot sa setez alte rezolutii dar nu gasesc nici o varianta in care totul sa fie clar pe ecran. In schimb cand instales tot ce e pe site la asus, i-mi blocheaza rezolutia pe(3840 x 2160), se vede clar dar totul devine incredibil de mic si de greu de citit(nu mai mai lasa sa schimb rezolutia) iar orice videoclip se vede sacadat.

    Ajuta-ma cu un sfat cum ce sa ii fac sa gasesc o varianta in care totul sa fie cum trebuie pe un monitor.

    Merci!

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 27, 2018 at 10:21 pm

      Seteaza rezolutia pe 3840 x 2160 si te joci din scalling, CLick dreapta pe desktop >> Display Settings, si alegi de acolo 200% sau ce iti convine.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *