Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Asus VivoBook Pro N580VD / M580VD Andrei Girbea Rating: 4 out of 5

Asus VivoBook Pro N580VD / M580VD review – mid-range multimedia laptop

150 Comments

  1. Rey Martin

    October 17, 2017 at 12:33 am

    Great review! I just bought the i5 version and you're review helped me in the decision making. The screen doesn't bother me at all and it's a great all around laptop. One question though, in upgrading how do you separate the bottom cover? I've managed to removed all the screws but I can't pry it open. This one is quite new to me as I've disassembled other laptops already.

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 17, 2017 at 4:41 pm

      Should pry open easily with a plastic card, starting from the back or from a corner. Just make sure you got all the screws, I don't remember for this one, but most Asus laptop also get two screws hidden underneath the rear rubber feet.

    • Dom

      October 17, 2017 at 6:06 pm

      I've used a suction cup from around the hinges and the back cover popped out without any problem.

  2. Lukasz

    October 23, 2017 at 2:12 pm

    Because of small battery is it possible to charg or keep alive this laptop by power bank? I have Ravpower bank 20100mAh with TYP-C usb

  3. Mohammad Ali

    October 26, 2017 at 2:35 pm

    Hello
    Thanks for your time
    I wanted to know the air outlet of this laptop, which is now underneath it, is better than the N552VW's next to it.

  4. Mark BUTOSKI

    October 28, 2017 at 10:10 pm

    Is this laptop best for gaming and video editing or avaerage

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 30, 2017 at 5:18 am

      It's as good as other laptops with similar hardware. Not sure if it's the best pick though, as you can find better options for less if you can live with more gaming-inspired designs (Lenovo Yoga 520, Acer Aspire VX15, etc)

  5. Riccardo

    November 7, 2017 at 9:35 am

    I've bought it few days ago and already sent it back. Touchpad doesn't work properly. It gets stack sometime. Besides, numeric pad is very bad for working due to the fact that is missing some keys if compared to a normal one. Hope to change the model coz am not satisfied for the price I paid!

  6. Pedro Sarmento

    December 4, 2017 at 7:41 am

    Anyone tried dual boot with Ubuntu on this machine?
    How does it deal with it?

    • Paca

      January 16, 2018 at 4:30 pm

      I have windows and Ubuntu installed in this machine, and there is no problem until now

  7. André Machado

    December 19, 2017 at 2:10 pm

    Has anyone managed to solve the problem of fan noise?

  8. hr

    December 21, 2017 at 7:44 pm

    hey in SCREEN part.
    there is a problem.
    average screen brightness : ??? cd/m2

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 23, 2017 at 6:54 am

      Yes, that's a mistake, average brightness is higher.

  9. David

    January 13, 2018 at 8:31 pm

    Salut Andrei! Ma tot chinui sa aflu de ce fel de SSD am nevoie: M.2 PCIe NVMe 2280 sau de alt tip (Sata??) ? E versiunea MX150. Mai putea ajuta cu un raspuns?

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 15, 2018 at 1:08 pm

      Slotul este M.2 2280. Modelul testat a venit cu un modul SATA, insa si PCIe-urile precum Samsung 950/960 sau altele ar trebui sa fie compatibile. Nu stiu insa daca vor functiona la vitezele maximale, nu am testat.

      • DAVKO

        January 15, 2018 at 5:34 pm

        Ok, mersi mult de raspuns.
        Succes mai departe cu site-ul :)

  10. Luna

    January 29, 2018 at 2:38 am

    Great review! I'm still thinking between ASUS Vivobook Pro and Zenbook UX430, which one you think is better? I'm looking for something that'll long lasting and have a great quality of course but I still don't find any differences between them both so I'm confuse choosing one. Please help me!

  11. Loch

    January 31, 2018 at 2:21 pm

    I bought the M580VD last year December.
    It is a really good laptop. Mostly because it is thin and light weighted it can be carried easily as well. However, the aluminum body gets scratched easily so you will have to take more care. The laptop gets heated when u play high end games.. As in this review.. :)
    Also the version I bought doesn't consist of a M.2 SSD.. I'm hoping to install one soon as well.
    The price is decent for the specs it provides as well. Highly recommend to buy this if you a high end online gamer and an office worker as well.

    Great review man!

  12. JK

    March 26, 2018 at 3:41 pm

    Hey, I'm looking for a portable laptop with decent performance (for 3D modelling and some gaming). I also want it to have a RJ45 port, HDMI port and a touchscreen (which is necessary for me for light programming and light show controlling), the last of which i can't seem to find in most computers that have similar performance to this (not for a reasonable price at least). I was just curious to know if there would be some good competitors for this laptop that would also have a touchscreen, since most of them don't seem to have one. Thanks in advance!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *