Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Asus VivoBook Pro N580VD / M580VD Andrei Girbea Rating: 4 out of 5

Asus VivoBook Pro N580VD / M580VD review – mid-range multimedia laptop

127 Comments

  1. Conrad

    August 6, 2017 at 7:03 am

    Thanks, was waiting for this one.

    I'm looking for a good multitasking rig, 7700HQ, 1300 euros max. I don't care much for gaming, but a good FHD screen is a must (no washed-out colors). There don't appear to be many options besides the Vivobook pro. I have found the Aspire 7 screen to be mediocre at best, amd aggressive laptop gaming color schemes are out of the question.

    Q: What ever happened to the Intel Optane memory the high-end configurations of the N580 supposed to be equipped with?

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 6, 2017 at 11:30 am

      I don't think Optane is going to make such a big difference on this laptop if you already put an SSD in the M.2 slot. It's supposed to make laptops with a regular HDD much faster for a fraction of the price of an SSD, so it would make more sense in the lower end configurations.

  2. mystiq

    August 7, 2017 at 5:44 am

    great review as always andrei, when i saw the internal of this vivobook pro especially on the heatpipes side, i think the thermal is good compared to UX550VD ? LOL

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 7, 2017 at 10:16 am

      It's better, yes. The two are pretty much the same thickness, but the N580 has the heat-pipes hooked up to both fans, as well as better intake and output grills. As you can see from the hwinfo picks, performance is really solid here, with no speed drops and throttling in everyday use and games

      • mystiq

        August 11, 2017 at 10:17 am

        okay, thanks in advance for the information about the thermal cooling, so in term of speakers sound wich one do you like between vivobook n580 , zenbook UX550 or the dell 7567 ??

  3. Frankinet Baptiste

    August 7, 2017 at 10:17 pm

    Glad I waited for the review!
    Thank you so much, I almost bought the 4k model as it was on sale and looked to fulfill my needs (design, video editing) but the RGBW screen just don't cut it so it's a no go for me.

    What 15" laptop do you recommend instead (with an higher resolution than FHD and good color reproduction )

    Again thank you for the detailed review.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 8, 2017 at 3:16 pm

      What's your budget? Most laptop gets RGBW 4K panels, with some exceptions. I don't have a list, but that's a good topic for a dedicated article.

      • Baptiste Frankinet

        August 14, 2017 at 8:31 am

        About 2000$, did you review one with color reproduction close to adobe rgb?

        • Andrei Girbea

          August 14, 2017 at 2:41 pm

          I think there might be some options, but I don't have a detailed list right now. I found one at some point on some forums, but I can't seem to dig it out at the moment. I plan to have an article on this topic, but it's probably going to take a while.

          The Dell XPS 15 gets an RGB UHD screen, for instance, but it might jump outisde that budget once specked up. You should also look at some of the Aliewnare and Gigabyte options.

  4. zdzihu

    August 8, 2017 at 1:51 am

    It seems you are wront about no PCIe support on M.2 slot: hidevolution.com/asus-n580vd-db74t.html
    They sell that model with PCIe 3.0 x4 NVMe drive.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 8, 2017 at 3:16 pm

      Thanks, updated

    • Kappa

      August 14, 2017 at 12:23 pm

      Hello
      I didnt quite understand what you said about M.2 SSD
      I am curious if this laptop suports M.2 SSD, and is there any model of asus vivobook pro n580vd line that doesn't support M.2 SSD.

      Thanks

      • Andrei Girbea

        August 14, 2017 at 2:34 pm

        it does support M.2 SSD. There are however a few different types of M.2 SSDs, with SATA, PCIe and PCie 4X(NVMe) speeds. The test unit came with a slower SATA SSD, but the faster ones should also be compatible based on the listings available around the world.

        • Kappa

          August 15, 2017 at 4:25 am

          Thanks for the reply
          Im planning to buy 1080p version with i5 7300HQ and gtx 1050 4gb
          So I can't know what kind of ssd aupport I will get?

          • Andrei Girbea

            August 15, 2017 at 4:38 am

            Does that config come with an SSD? If yes, i'd expect a SATA one to be included. If it comes with a HDD you can add an SSD of your choosing in the M.2 slot. Standard M.2 PCIe SSDs should work imo, like the Samsung 950/960 series, but I can't confirm 100% without trying one.

        • Kappa

          August 15, 2017 at 4:42 am

          That model comes with 1 TB of HDD, but nowhere says anything about SSD

          • Andrei Girbea

            August 15, 2017 at 6:40 am

            There's no SSD then, the M.2 slot is free and you can buy one, place it inside and then reinstall Windows on the SSD from an USB drive.

        • Kappa

          August 15, 2017 at 6:54 am

          You just made my day :)
          I will buy this laptop
          Thanks for help

          Best regards

  5. elina

    August 8, 2017 at 9:06 am

    Very interesting your article … thank you
    But are you sure that the Thunderbolt is well present on the USB-C port of the Asus Vivobook Pro N580VD.
    You are the only site to mention this.
    The official sites ASUS Global & ASUS USA do not say anything about it.
    Can you confirm, please, that the Thunderbolt is there and functional?
    thanks again

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 8, 2017 at 2:55 pm

      That was a mistake in the specs sheet, there's no TB3 here

  6. Ahmed Mohamed

    August 8, 2017 at 7:21 pm

    What is the difference between N580 and M580? Does it contain one more spare slot for RAM; so as to upgrade the ram up to 32gb if needed?

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 10, 2017 at 3:31 am

      I can't tell, to be frank. I think both get two RAM slots, it would be surprising for Asus to create two designs with different internals. From what I can tell the M580 is sold in North America and right now comes with the FHD TN screen, while the N580 is available in Europe and other regions.

  7. Cherry

    August 10, 2017 at 1:50 pm

    What are some similiar premimum laptops like this other than the zenbook pro, the dell xps, and the lenovo yoga 720? I mean weight, thickness and perfomance wise?

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 10, 2017 at 2:46 pm

      Perhaps the Gigabyte Aero 15, but it's not really the same in terms of build quality and gets a 1060. The Razer Blade could be perhaps an alternative if you're looking at 1060s, but expensive. There's also the 15 inch MackBook Pro, but again, not really the same.

      There's a longer list of 1050/1050 Ti laptops here: https://www.ultrabookreview.com/14153-laptops-nvidia-1050/ , but most are not built to be ultra portable like these three are.

  8. Hesam Habibi

    August 11, 2017 at 2:25 am

    Thank you
    I have two question.
    1. When N580 will come to Asia?
    2. I am a programmer and graphic designer. I want a lap top that support these matters.
    Do you think this lap top is enough for me?
    3. how much the top panel of N580? (Full version)

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 11, 2017 at 3:14 am

      1. don't know, but I'd reckon soon
      2. yes, but I'd get the configuration with the 70% NTSC IPS panel
      3. it's about 200 EUR extra over here. I wouldn't pick the UHD panel for graphics work though, it's a RGBW panel

  9. Calle

    August 13, 2017 at 9:29 am

    Thanks for the great review. I ordered one with the following screen specs:

    15,6
    1920×1080
    300 cd/m2
    Functions:Ultra Slim Design, ASUS Splendid Video Intelligence Technology, anti-glare, WideView, 72% NTSC colour gamut.

    Is is possible to know which of the screens (of those you listed) it is?

    /Calle

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 13, 2017 at 11:23 am

      Should be the one with the better IPS screen, the best buy imo. Can you tell us where is this available and who sells it?

      • Calle

        August 13, 2017 at 12:11 pm

        That's what I thought as well. Thanks for the quick response though.

        Here's the url to the product, it's a Swedish site, don't know if it's available in English.

        dustinhome.se/product/5011022407/vivobook-pro-15-n580vd

        Since I haven't got it yet(will ship next week) , I don't know if the specs listed are correct.

        I noticed that they also sell the 8gb ram, i5hq and 256 ssd with the same listed screen 2000 skr (200 euros) cheaper.

        • Andrei Girbea

          August 13, 2017 at 2:12 pm

          Got it, thanks. Please let us know what you think about it when you get it, if you have the time.

      • Giulia

        October 10, 2017 at 3:43 pm

        Hi, I found a Vivobook pro with the IPS screen (ultra HD), 1T of Ram and 128 gb of Ssd at the price of 949 EUR. I've also found one with the UHD screen and 1T of ram and 512gb of SSD at the price of 1109 EUR. All the others spec are the same.
        I need a pc for university where I'll be using programs like AutoCad, 3Dstudio max, Photoshop, Rhinoceros, Illustrator, 4D studio ecc..
        What would you recommend between the two concidering the diffrences I said before?

        • Andrei Girbea

          October 10, 2017 at 4:29 pm

          You didn't mention the amount of RAM on your configurations or the CPU. I'd get the i7-7700HQ processor with 16 GB of RAM for that software.

          The UHD screen is good enough, but as explained in the article is not the best in terms of color accuracy, but it's not bad either if calibrated. Just keep in mind that if you need a very accurate screen for your Photoshop work, you'll probably have to hook up an external monitor with better gamut coverage.

          As far as the SSD choice, I'd get at least a 256 GB option, the 128 GB is small and will fill up quickly with Windows and all those programs you mentioned. The 512 GB SSD is probably even better.

          • Giulia

            October 11, 2017 at 3:36 am

            Okay thank you so much, I think I'll buy the UHD because it has the best components, and yeah my idea was that of using another monitor at home, but since I'll be using the pc at uni I need a good screen even if is not the best I think it can work for that price. You were really helpfull! :)

  10. James Elkann

    August 13, 2017 at 5:48 pm

    Thanks a lot for the review, it's very useful and detailed. How hard is to service the laptop?

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 14, 2017 at 2:30 pm

      It's easy, the back is hold in place by a handful of screws

  11. Andres

    August 13, 2017 at 8:27 pm

    I'm thinking of getting this laptop for college from Amazon. The model is the N580VD-DB74T from this link: amazon.com/N580VD-DB74T-VivoBook-Touchscreen-backlit-keyboard/dp/B0747S3V8D/ref=cm_cd_al_qh_dp_t

    Would this be good value for the price? I think this model comes with the better IPS screen, but I'm not 100% positive. Also, what do you think the battery life would be on this FHD model from regular college activities (typing, internet videos, wifi browsing, etc.). Lastly, it seems that this cools pretty well for a laptop in this class, is that correct?

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 14, 2017 at 2:31 pm

      it's a good option IF you need that 512 GB SSD and IF you want a laptop with this kind of graphics. Otherwise you can get similar hardware for a few hundreds less.

  12. Kappa

    August 14, 2017 at 12:27 pm

    I have question about dispay
    I am interested in asus vivobook pro N580VD. How can I be sure what type of display I will get (TN or IPS)
    On the web from where I want to buy this laptop says

    Display 15.6" FullHD (1920×1080) non-reflecting screen, ultra slim 300nits, 16:9, NTSC:72%, Wide View

    Can I know if I'm getting TN or IPS.
    I contacted the store but I stil didn't get the answer

    Thanks

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 14, 2017 at 2:35 pm

      That's IPS, the better one mentioned in the Screen sectio. The "Vide View" mention tells us it's IPS.

  13. Kappa

    August 14, 2017 at 12:32 pm

    Sorry for spamming, but I have one more question
    What do you think about bezels. Are they noticible.

    And the model I can purchase in my country is Gold color. In your opinion what so you think about gold color

    Thank you very much

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 14, 2017 at 2:37 pm

      The bezels are what we've seen on laptops released in the last years, so it's up to you if you find them small enough or no. Options with smaller bezels and similar hardware are more expensive though.

      The Gold color is not actually golden, it's a sort of subtle silver with a slight gold accent as far as I can tell, so I don't think you should worry about that.

  14. sonko

    August 18, 2017 at 8:42 am

    do you have any info if every version of n580vd has M.2 slot ?
    on official asus website there is no single word about m.2, I asked seller whom I want to buy this laptop (N580VD-DM297) and he replied that he got info that there is NO M.2 slot but he will check once they arrive to him, asus support so far didn't replied to me…
    it would be weird if some versions wont have m.2 but can I be sure ?

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 18, 2017 at 1:01 pm

      I doubt there are versions without an M.2 slot but I can't be absolutely sure about that. What's I'm also not entirely sure is whether the M.2 supports higher than SATA speeds. the official website mentions SATA only, but some shops list it with NVMe.

      • sonko

        August 29, 2017 at 1:28 pm

        laptop arrived few days ago, no fingerprint scanner :( but yes, there was m.2 :D tn screen is meh but since in home I have second monitor I can live with that, you should add to "the bad" that this thing goes craaazy hot under load gta5@high@1080p cpu max90C avg~85C, gpu avg ~79C, for playing games I would consider external keyboard because of temperatures, and if it is hot then it gets quite loud :/

  15. Nico

    August 19, 2017 at 4:06 am

    There are selling a version with a touch screen in France (screen is said to be glare, and NTSC 72%, 300 nits), which is apparently 0.3kg heavier and 0.13cm bigger (its height). What do you think about that? Should I get it?

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 19, 2017 at 4:35 am

      It's the better IPS FHD panel in the list. Personally I would rather get a matte display than a touchscreen on a 15-inch clamhsell laptop, but that's just me. If you're actually going to use that touchscreen, then go for it. Otherwise you'd be paying extra for something you wouldn't use and something that also adds glare and reflections in proper lit rooms, due to the glass coating on top of the panel.

  16. JKL

    August 24, 2017 at 4:12 pm

    Hello, thank you for the great review. I have a dumb question : can we change the 2.5 HDD and get an 2.5 SSD in it ?

  17. Jess

    August 24, 2017 at 6:21 pm

    Do you recommend this model for design and architecture programs? I mean like 3dmax, Vray etc.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 26, 2017 at 4:16 am

      Given the performance is solid with demanding loads, I'd say yes. I'd also get the better IPS panel option if possible, I'd reckon you'll also want a good screen for your tasks.

  18. Ryan

    August 26, 2017 at 9:07 am

    Andrei, thank you, very impressive review. You clearly put a lot of time into it.

    I noticed you mention the max ram configuration is 32GB, as is supported by the i7 CPU, but all of the Asus specs I've found say 16GB *max*. I run virtualized environments (software dev) and want to put 32GB in this but can't find much to verify compatibility > 16GB. My concern is a mobo bottleneck in the firmware, which is something expect from other vendors.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 26, 2017 at 12:54 pm

      I don't see why this wouldn't support 32 GB, there are 2x DIMMs inside. My config came with 16 GB on a single DIMM, and one more DIMM. I didnt' try another RAM module in the extra DIMM, but unless Asus put some sort of software limitation that would make absolutely no sense to me, this will handle 32 GB just fine. But again, can't be 100% sure on it without actually having tried to put 32 GB on the review unit.

  19. James

    August 26, 2017 at 11:40 pm

    47Wh is not something you want on such spec. Most people who need such spec will be very disappointed on the go.

  20. Mbek

    August 27, 2017 at 7:47 am

    Mine is i7 + 16GB + 256GB/1TB + 1050 2GB + FHD IPS and without fingerprint scanner.
    This is a good computer overall ! Except for the huge sector adapter…

  21. Jordan P

    August 28, 2017 at 12:34 pm

    Thanks for the extremely thorough review! I'm looking for a brand new up-to-date notebook for multimedia purposes as well as some light gaming, and this one caught my eye. I do work with Photoshop, Premiere Pro, and After Effects, so the tech specs (in terms of power, graphics, and processing) attracted me to the N580vd model. I'm not too sure how much the lack of true-4k affects my opinion about my laptop, but maybe I'm not as stingy as most designers or artists who go for Macbook Pros and such…but I can't afford one so I can't even look that high haha.

    I was also looking at the Zenbook Pro UX550 but I can't seem to find it available anywhere, even Amazon. Does anyone have a link to anywhere that has the Zenbook Pro UX550 available? Thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 29, 2017 at 3:47 am

      The UX550 seems to not be available in most regions for now, can't tell when Asus will actually have in in stores worldwide.

      • Jordan P

        August 29, 2017 at 4:25 pm

        Oh, gotcha. Also another quick question, I saw this Vivobook on Amazon and it says it has a touchscreen display that isn't UHD but FHD. I'm confused because even the Asus website said this but how does a matte screen become touchscreen? And it seems you reviewed the same model (N580vd) and I don't think I saw any mention of a touch screen in your review…unless I missed it?

        • Andrei Girbea

          August 30, 2017 at 2:43 am

          I wasn't aware of a touchscreen option at the time of the review and there wasn't one mentioned on Asus's website either, but OEMs can decide to change things. Still, I'd double check with the shop if possible to make sure there's no mistake in the specs list.

  22. Padca

    August 28, 2017 at 2:37 pm

    Hello, do you think this would be a good laptop for game development? The most used programs would be unreal engine 4, game maker, and unity.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 29, 2017 at 3:48 am

      Performance is one of its selling points, so I'd say it's pretty much as good as it gets for such configuration

  23. Gianvito

    August 29, 2017 at 7:06 am

    Can I ask how the two fans plays during "normal" daily use? They make continously ON/OFF as the other Asus Notebook version? For example, if you work alone, during the night, they disturb and are very noisy ? Thanks a lot.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 29, 2017 at 7:41 am

      They're on all the time and you'll hear them in a quiet room. They ramp up with more demanding tasks, but from what I can tell the speed is pretty constant overall and they don't constantly ramp up and down for limited periods of time.

  24. Adrian

    September 8, 2017 at 5:53 am

    I am looking for a Laptop +- 1300 euros i7 and a good amount of RAM (16gig).
    I'll be using it for programming,browsing and day to day tasks (pretty much all day). How long would the Battery last with the FHD screen?
    Are there better options in this price range?

  25. Liam Martens

    September 8, 2017 at 8:13 am

    I've been looking at a lot of laptops for the past month or 2 and although I would love to buy a DELL XPS (goes for around 1800 around here) I'd love to get one that doesn't break the bank as much.

    I'd mostly be using it for development and design (a little note on the latter, I rarely work without my LG monitor). I also don't care too much about battery life or thinness (I'd be lucky if my current notebook lasts longer than an hour when doing nothing, yes it's that bad)

    Now I'm wonderring how this stacks up against an XPS when it comes to general performance, screen and do you think it is worth it, especially for the price point.

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 11, 2017 at 5:01 pm

      Performance should be on par, if not better, because the XPS throttles with demanding loads unless your repaste it. There's a guide here on the site that helps with that.

      The screen choices are a little poorer on the Vivobook. the 72% NSTC IPS FHD option is the best buy imo. The UHD option is pentile, so not worth paying extra. Just make sure to stya away from the TN option or the lower end IPS FHD version. I't damn confusing with all these options, but that's the way Asus does things :))

      How much does this sell for, for the same config as the 1800 XPS you mentioned?

      • Liam Martens

        September 12, 2017 at 8:02 am

        I see, they don't even sell the UHD version here (Belgium), the model that's pretty much on par with the XPS going for 1800 sells for 1500 here though there's another model which sells for 1300 with the only difference being 8GB less ram, not sure if paying 200 for 8GB more RAM which you can comfortably add yourself is really worth it?

        • Andrei Girbea

          September 12, 2017 at 8:17 am

          You can easily add the extra RAM yourself, just make sure it's the same screen. The base models get the TN FHD panel in some regions and it's crappy.

          • Liam Martens

            September 12, 2017 at 9:26 am

            Ye it does list that it's the IPS 72% NTSC panel.

  26. Alex

    September 15, 2017 at 10:53 am

    As usual, another great delivery! Loved the review. Just wanted to double check that you will recommend this laptop over the Dell XPS 15 9560. Currently debating myself between the two. Thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 15, 2017 at 11:01 am

      Not really. This one is much cheaper and overall a good buy for the money, but the XPS 15 is a much nicer laptop.

  27. Yitz

    September 15, 2017 at 11:25 am

    Unfortunately Asus aren't releasing the IPS screen options (either of them) for the UK. The only option is the TN. Shame. I'll probably end up going for a Dell or something else cos this is a deal-breaker for me. Why do they do this? Their retail agent here said it's because they think there's no market for the higher-spec screens here. Doh! Can't even get one overseas with a UK keyboard. Aargh!

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 16, 2017 at 8:45 am

      Hah, that's stupid. If there's no market for a nice screen in one of the richest countries in the world, then where? I'd reckon the design in what you're after, cause otherwise there are other laptops with similar specs, but "gaming" designs.

  28. Calle

    September 16, 2017 at 1:24 am

    I've had this laptop (i7 7700hq,16 ram, 512 ssd, gtx 1050 and the better ips screen) for a while now and here are my impressions;

    I like the general build quality, but it's still not in the same class as Dell xps. The screen feels good for my purposes.

    Great performance, it handles everything I've tried including some light gaming (cities skylines with large cities and lots of add-ons) and revit Autocad (including rendering).

    As mentioned in this review, the performance differ a lot if you run the laptop on battery, but thats not a problem for me.

    Most of the time, I run this laptop plugged in. But I did a test with 50% light, watching an ifollow stream (chrome browser, full screen) for about 2 hours. During that time, the battery went from 98 % to 20% and indicating I had about one hour left.

    This laptop gets rather hot while under full load, and the fans work really hard and gets a bit noisy. It's not as bad as it sounds really, and it's not disturbing for me since I have the TV on in the background most of the time.

    Overall I'm really pleased with it. Would have liked a smaller unit (this one feels big), like the xps 15, but couldn't justify the extra cost.

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 16, 2017 at 8:40 am

      Thanks for the feedback, much appreciated.

  29. Nik

    September 16, 2017 at 11:58 am

    Hi! Thanks for the review!
    Do you think buying this laptop for 1300 euros, with i5hq/16gb/256SSD+500gt/IPS touchscreen, is a good buy? I need a laptop for studying, adobe programs and editing mostly. Or should i go for i7hq? Is there going to be a big difference? I need laptop with good screen, does this laptop is a good option?

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 19, 2017 at 6:11 am

      The i7 gets hyperthreading and is faster in apps that actually require that extra multi-thread processing power, like Adobe Premiere, Lightroom and Photoshop. How much would you have to pay extra for the i7?

  30. Sergey

    September 17, 2017 at 12:49 pm

    Thanks for the great review!

    My model N580VD-DM039T bought in Germany came with Innolux TN panel (
    N156HGA-EAB, hardwareID: CMN15D5).
    It wasn't precised anywhere on the website which screen it had, so it is an unpleasant surprise. Most probably will return it to shop and continue hunting for the one with good IPS screen.

  31. Name

    September 18, 2017 at 5:27 am

    Hi! Thanks for the review!
    Do you think this model will be good for graphic design, Adobe programs, video editing? (Screen quality.. etc)
    In my country, there's only i5-7300hq/IPS touchscreen/8gb-16gb/256SSD+500gt/1050 4gb, price 1300euros (there will be maybe i7 in stock someday, should I wait for it?) Do you think it's worth buying for 1300 with those specs?

    If not, which laptops are good for my tasks? (Around 1000-1500 eur.)

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 19, 2017 at 6:18 am

      HI, already replied, sry for the delay. I would probably get the i7 if it's not very expensive, but since there's no i7 option available, well, I'd say the i5 should be fine for most scenarios.

      You could also check out options from Lenovo, Acer, etc, but most fo them with similar specs get "gaming inspired" designs.

  32. Yitz

    September 19, 2017 at 6:18 am

    The screen comes in 4 options. Not all are available in all regions. The lowest grade (TN) is not a great screen judging by the reviews: low power use but also narrow viewing angles and average (at best) illumination levels and colour rendition. There are two IPS options: the better of the two seems to be the one to go for. Then there's the UHD: best but most expensive and highest power use, only really necessary if you're working professionally with images and graphic design and need state-of-the-art screen rendition. Unfortunately, I'm told that in the UK (where I am) only the TN option is being released – a deal-breaker for me, sadly. Apparently Asus believe there's no market for the IPS displays here (duh!).

  33. YT

    September 19, 2017 at 11:42 am

    Hi, I am considering between this and HP notebook 15 CB092tx. May I know which one do you think is better in terms of daily gaming and comfort level (noise/temperature/cooling system/keyboard texture).
    For you information, I will usually put my laptop at home, rarely carrying it out. So maybe can compare the battery usage too ?

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 19, 2017 at 12:01 pm

      I don't have any experience with HP laptops in the last years, so can't comment on it.

  34. David

    September 19, 2017 at 5:25 pm

    Hello, great review!
    Im thinking about buying this laptop tomorrow for the intention of playing Rocket League and CSGO, and also programming in Unity. But the store I'm buying it from has a TN screen, which I've heard is better for gaming or am I wrong?

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 20, 2017 at 2:48 am

      Historically, TN screens have had better response times then IPS screens. These days IPS panels are good enough for gaming though, a least for me. I'm not a professional layer, but I play shooters on IPS panels without a problem, so the overall loss in picture quality and viewing angles that comes with TN panels is not worth the sacrifice imo.

  35. Leonel

    September 23, 2017 at 6:38 am

    Asus currently delivers the N580VD with a different keyboard (at least in Europe) than the one shown in this review.
    Asus removed the dedicated Home, End, PgUp and PgDown keys and replaced them with +, -, * and /.
    This cripples the basic keyboard navigation functionality and renders it useless for developers and other text oriented power users.

    This is a picture of the keyboard currently delivered:
    xoticpc.com/media/catalog/product/cache/1/thumbnail/9df78eab33525d08d6e5fb8d27136e95/o/r/original_3_.jpg

    Below information comes from different sites, email feedback and information from this Asus page asus.com/nl/Laptops/ASUS-VivoBook-Pro-15-N580VD/wheretobuy/
    (Note: it is hard to impossible to get any reliable detailed information from Asus.)

    My observations so far:

    LCD panel information:
    N580VD-FY189T and N580VD-FY367T appear to have the 72% NTSC FHD IPS panel.
    N580VD-E4392T has 42% NTSC FHD IPS panel.
    My *assumption* is that all other N580VD-Exxxx models (E for 'Economy'?) mentioned below will have the 42% NTSC FHD IPS panel.

    Model information:

    N580VD-FY189T:
    Processor: Core i5-7300HQ
    Memory: 8GB (2x 4GB)
    HDD: SATA 1TB
    SDD: SATA3 128GB M.2
    Panel: FHD Anti-Glare IPS, 72% NTSC, 300nits
    OS: Windows 10 Home

    N580VD-FY367T:
    Processor: Core i7-7700HQ
    Memory: 8GB (2x 4GB)
    HDD: SATA 1TB
    SSD: SATA3 256GB M.2
    Panel: FHD Anti-Glare IPS, 72% NTSC, 300nits
    OS: Windows 10 Home

    N580VD-E4380R:
    Processor: Core i5-7300HQ
    Memory: 8GB (1x 8GB)
    HDD: –
    SSD: SATA3 256GB M.2
    Panel: FHD Anti-Glare IPS (not further specified)
    Wide View: WV
    OS: Windows 10 Pro

    N580VD-E4382R:
    Processor: Core i7-7700HQ
    Memory: 8GB (1x 8GB)
    HDD: –
    SSD: SATA3 512GB M.2
    Panel: FHD Anti-Glare IPS (not further specified)
    OS: Windows 10 Pro

    N580VD-E4392T:
    Processor: Core i7-7700HQ
    Memory: 16GB (2x 8GB)
    HDD SATA 1TB
    SSD SATA3 256GB M.2
    Panel: FHD Anti-Glare IPS, 42% NTSC
    OS: Windows 10 Home

    N580VD-E4428T:
    Processor: Core i7-7700HQ
    Memory: 8GB (1x8GB)
    HDD: –
    SSD: SATA3 256GB M.2
    Panel: FHD Anti-Glare IPS (not further specified)
    OS: Windows 10 Home

  36. Paolo Jocom

    September 24, 2017 at 12:27 pm

    Hi,

    What a very thorough review.

    I've been looking for an Asus laptop with a respectable specs, sleek and classic design, a 15.6 inch screen with a numpad keyboard. And this model and Asus Zenbook Pro UX501 (UX501VW) are the only ones that fit the criteria above. My simple question is, which one of the two would you buy? Budget is not a problem.

    Thank you in advance.

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 24, 2017 at 2:41 pm

      Question is, what do you need it for? This newer generation gets faster graphics than the older UX501VW, so if you plan to play games it's the much better choice.

      • Paolo Jocom

        September 25, 2017 at 2:21 am

        No games. Just normal office work like excel, word and web browsing.

        • Andrei Girbea

          September 25, 2017 at 3:51 am

          Then you'd be OK with any of them, but I'd lean towards the UX501VW due to its much larger battery and overall nicer build quality.

          • Paolo Jocom

            September 25, 2017 at 5:04 am

            Thank you. You are very kind and helpful.

  37. Paquito

    September 25, 2017 at 7:21 am

    Hello, this model in my country comes with a TN screen, and I saw the ASUS UX550VE, the VivoBook Pro N580VD costs 1300€ and the UX550VE is 1584€ do you think the difference of almost 300€ is worth?

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 25, 2017 at 7:42 am

      Same Specs? If yes, I'd say NO, but at the same time I wouldn't recommend buying a laptop with a TN screen at that price in 2017. I'd look for something else, one of the more gamingy looking options like the Acer Nitro 5, Dell Inspiron Gaming or the Lenovo Legion Y720/Y520.

      • paquito

        September 25, 2017 at 8:01 am

        I'm nota really looking for a laptop with a "gamingly" aspect since I Will use the laptop in college. In terms of specs they are similar.

        • Andrei Girbea

          September 25, 2017 at 10:10 am

          Fair enough. Up to you then if you can live with that TN screen. I for one couldn't.

  38. Kalle

    September 25, 2017 at 9:06 am

    Hello! Which one will be better for editing?
    UX550VE with i7/8gb RAM/1050 Ti 4gt(1500 eur)/256gb is going to be better, than the Vivobook Pro N580VD/i5/16gb/1050 4gt (1300 euros) multi-touch?

    Im just worried that, 8gb of ram will be not enough.

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 25, 2017 at 10:11 am

      The latter, the RAM is soldered on the UX550 and 8 GB are barely enough for daily use and definitely not for editing. Just make sure the screen on the N580 is IPS, the TN options are bad and I'd reckon you'll also want a decent screen for editing.

  39. Jorge

    September 26, 2017 at 8:26 am

    Have owned this for about a week now.

    I purchased in Aus, 8gb ram and 1TB hdd with the TN screen.

    The HDD sucked, ALOT. And is the main reason for my comment. I added a samsung 960EVO 250Gb NVMe along with an extra 8gb of ram. I struggled to find solid reference to the n580vd supporting a Pcie ssd considering the factory options are all SATA but took the gamble. It has worked great as expected, although I cannot vouch for a larger drive.

    Otherwise my impressions have been great, i like the keyboard and overall design. Good to carry around and use on the go. The screen is not "incredible" but is fine for the work i do on it out and about. For the rest of the time, my second monitor serves to display pretty things. Battery is on the smaller side but ~4Hrs of capacity is sufficient for most of my days out. The charger is quite big, double the size and amperage of my previous charger and has me wondering if the smaller one will also work at a slower rate??

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 26, 2017 at 1:52 pm

      There's quick charging implemented in the charger, but that's not an excuse for the hefty size and eight, as other OEMs have smaller chargers that can handle fast charging.

  40. joao

    September 26, 2017 at 2:30 pm

    where do you get a silver version of the vivobook pro N580VD / M580VD ???? all I can find everywhere is the gold version =(

  41. Sergy

    September 28, 2017 at 7:28 am

    Hello, great review!

    I want to know about fans. Where hot air blows: up (on the screen) or down (on the table)? It is very interesting!

  42. BabelBat

    September 30, 2017 at 10:01 am

    Thank you for the excellent review! I'm trying to decide between this model and the Dell XPS 15 and am particularly interested in differences in noise levels, which I know you mentioned in the review. Is there a noticeable difference in fan loudness when they are performing similar everyday tasks, and do the fans become louder more quickly/frequently on one model than the other?
    Many thanks in advance!

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 30, 2017 at 1:09 pm

      I didn't review the XPS 15 myself, the review on the site is written by Doug. Check out the reviews on notebookcheck.net, they have more consistent noise measurements.

  43. Dom

    October 1, 2017 at 4:42 pm

    Hi Andrei, i've bought this notebook a few days ago and I'm trying to replace the wifi card, however I'm not able to open the back panel (as shown in picture). Whats should i do after the screw are removed? Is there some specific way to open it? Thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 1, 2017 at 4:48 pm

      Try to pry it open from the back, from around the hinges. Use a prying tool or plastic card, shouldn't be very complicated.

      • Dom

        October 2, 2017 at 7:13 pm

        Done! I've used a suction cup from around the hinges and the back cover popped out without any problem. Thanks for the hint.

  44. himanshu

    October 2, 2017 at 7:47 am

    I have to buy a laptop for my engineering course .currently i am in b.tech 1st year. Please suggest me which laptop should be the best for me. My budget is under $900.

  45. Nia

    October 3, 2017 at 10:44 am

    Hello, you have mentioned that the UHD panel is not worth it for 1500 euros.
    I have two options, get the i5 with better IPS screen or i7 with the UHD screen. Price difference 250 euros
    Specs will be the same, just difference between memory. 16 RAM and 1050 4GB both

    So do you think I should pay more for the UHD panel and i7 in my case? Will I see any difference in the performance and screen?
    I need this laptop for photoshop, illustrator, premiere and etc.

    Thanks for the review!

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 4, 2017 at 5:25 am

      The thing is the UHD panel is pentile, and personally I wouldn't get a pentile screen for that kind of graphics works.

      The i7 on the other hand can make the difference in Lightroom and Premiere. Sucks that you can't get the i7 with the FHD screen.

      I can't recommend any of the options to be frank, because I'd get the i7 and I don't think the UHD screen is a good fit or worth paying that much extra. Perhaps you can look at other options instead?

      • Nia

        October 9, 2017 at 7:43 am

        I can look, but there is not really that much options considering the price.

        So you think there will be a noticeable diffrence between i5 and i7 in this laptop? The perfomance is that bad with i5 that i should not even consider it?

        I can buy with i7 but TN screen, i think its crazy that they put i7 with TN screen and it gets pretty high prices in EU, like 1200-1400.. but not really many options with i7 and FHD IPS.

        Thanks for the reply! =)

        • Andrei Girbea

          October 9, 2017 at 8:21 am

          You'll find plenty or articles comparing the i5-7300HQ and i7-7700HQ online. The i5 is good enough for most cases, but the HT on the i7 helps with applications that can actually utilize the extra threads and their processing power.

  46. Matschoman

    October 4, 2017 at 3:37 am

    Hello Andrei, do the fans increase/decrease continuously under load or in distinct steps? Asus claims on their promotional page, that there are 8 different fan steps. Could you verify that?

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 4, 2017 at 5:28 am

      That's how most fans work, they ramp up in steps. I don't have the laptop around to test this, but I don't remember anything particularly annoying about the fans, except for what's reported in the article.

  47. zach

    October 5, 2017 at 9:29 am

    hey! I went to a store yesterday to get one of those, but all configurations had the terrible TN-Panel! SO, I wrote the tech support (GERMANY/EUROPE) and got that answer:

    "vielen Dank für Ihre Anfrage an unseren technischen E-Mail Kundendienst.

    Derzeit haben alle FHD Geräte ein TN Panel, nur die UHD Version hat ein IPS Panel."

    It says that every FHD configuration comes with the TN-Panel and only the UHD one has got the IPS-Panel!
    Thats just insane..there are configurations for like 1599€ with the TN-Panel..u cant even read whats on the screen when youre in front of it in a store..dealbreaker..
    I dont know if its just the german market though!
    Greetings,

    zach

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 5, 2017 at 12:21 pm

      Might be the same for most regions. Over here in Romania we only get the FHD TN versions for now.

    • Matschoman

      October 5, 2017 at 5:40 pm

      Thank you zach, for informing us. Now I don't need to look any further. As I'm also coming from a German country, I agree it's insane. Even more so because the prices for the TN version are much to high here…

  48. Name

    October 6, 2017 at 3:50 am

    So does it mean that there is no IPS panel on the FHD versions at all?
    Like, is there only TN on FHD configurations? :(

    I am a little bit confused

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 6, 2017 at 8:00 am

      There are IPS FHD versions, but from what we can tell so far, for some reason Asus decided to bring only the FHD TN options in some parts of Europe.

      • Sergey

        October 6, 2017 at 8:07 am

        FHD IPS are on sale in Belgium and in Netherlands. Check Leonel's reply above. But those shops do not ship to the rest of Europe. So unless someone is willing to travel to get a new laptop, or have it sent by post by dutch friends, we'll have to live with TN FHDs :(

  49. Bogdan

    October 8, 2017 at 8:52 am

    As I know there is no tri-band Intel AC 8265. Maybe a double check on this.

  50. Limbow

    October 13, 2017 at 1:03 pm

    Display : 15.6" (16:9) LED backlit FHD (1920×1080) Anti-Glare 60Hz Panel with 72% NTSC (Optional) with 178˚ wide-viewing angle display

    this is my country display spec
    is that same spec as your review ?

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 14, 2017 at 12:13 pm

      No, I had the UHD panel. That should be the better IPS though, the best choice

      • Limbow

        October 15, 2017 at 12:35 am

        so this is worth it to buy ?
        or i can go for zenbook UX410UQ or DELL inspiron 14 7560 ? really confused please help

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *