Asus Zenbook UX330UA review – premium 13-incher for the average consumer

121 Comments

  1. PRAGUN SHARMA

    March 6, 2017 at 7:09 am

    Can you tell me if the display on Kaby Lake models for QHD+ variant has improved in terms of contrast ratio? I am planning to buy this in India but not sure what kind of panel are they using. They say it is 178 degree wide viewing angle, 100%sRGB etc but God knows how is the display.

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 6, 2017 at 12:38 pm

      I'd reckon it's the same panel.

      • PRAGUN SHARMA

        March 7, 2017 at 7:11 am

        Yes, i bought the product(QHD+,512GB,i5 7th gen) here in India and looked up the model number of display in HWinfo tool, it is the same panel. But honestly i didn't feel like blacks were washed out on the display. You know what is more worse is the fact that here in India, Asus is selling the FHD(i5 7th gen, 256GB) variant without IPS panel(because they are not specifying Wide Viewing Angle Display on them).
        So, what Asus is doing in India is that FHD variant is without IPS and QHD+ variant is using cheap LG-Philips panel as Andrei pointed out. Both are priced closely.

        Did you experience heating issues and thermal fan kicking in too frequently even on lighter web browsing. I am facing this issue. They have rolled out a BIOS update for this but that is valid only for BIOS model number:UA not UAK. Unfortunately my BIOS model is UAK. Check here.
        asus.com/Notebooks/ASUS-ZenBook-UX330UA/HelpDesk_Download/
        If your BIOS is UA model, you can update your BIOS. The update clearly says it is for Thermal Policy.

      • aravi

        March 7, 2017 at 11:55 am

        I got the lap from US (zenbook ux330ua ah54)so ur saying i can update the bios ?

        and its U processor and as it super thin thermal fan ll kick on easily so it won't be a big issue unless ur in a complete silent room..,

      • aravi

        March 7, 2017 at 11:58 am

        Sorry mine us UAK as i looked in systemInfo it says ux330uak ..
        i thought mine ll be ua as i bought from US

      • PRAGUN SHARMA

        March 9, 2017 at 2:46 am

        @aravi,@andrei
        The noise is not a problem. I don't mind if the fan runs intensely when Windows is updating which you can hear. But i have noticed that even when I am not doing something demanding, the fan is always running. It is silent and you can barely notice but it is always running. My concern is battery impact this fan will have as it will always draw power. My unit is QHD+ screen so I am already falling short in terms of battery when compared to FHD Screens. I opened my BIOS settings and kept it opened for 5 minutes, the fan was always rotating at ~3500rpm. Is it normal? Did you face such issues?

      • Andrey

        May 6, 2017 at 2:43 am

        hi! i have the same notebook just with hd screeen (not qhd). and i have the same problem with fan. it rotates ~ 3500rpm most of time (its loud and consume more energy). i see the bios update with thermal policy but it's for UA model, unfortunately mine is UAK.
        Did you solve your problem in any way? (i'm on linux now).
        Thanks!

  2. PRAGUN SHARMA

    March 10, 2017 at 4:00 am

    Hi Andrei, just wanted to share this. You know i noticed one thing, with default values in Intel Graphic Properties there wasn't much of a difference between dark shades(Here is the site which i referred lagom.nl/lcd-test/contrast.php ). On my laptop the shades numbered 1 to 4 on this site, all looked the same. I calibrated my display from Intel Graphic Options(tweaked contrast and brightness) at a point so that I can see shade 1 clearly and now the display looks better than before. I sensed this when i was looking at various UI elements of Windows. I had a background wallpaper of rain forest where all shades used to looke dark green,brown and black. Now, the same wallpaper looks so different than before that i could differentiate light green and dark green shades.
    Hope it helps!

  3. Nitesh

    March 10, 2017 at 9:18 pm

    What are the differences between the UX330UA an the UX330CA?

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 16, 2017 at 2:31 pm

      The UX330Ca is built on Core Y fabless hardware, a little slimmer and lighter. The UX330UA is built on fan-cooled Core U hardware.

  4. Nitesh

    March 18, 2017 at 1:44 pm

    So I ended up getting one of these (after two years on an rMBP 15). First impression was, well, 'quartz grey' means more of a pink in Asus world, lol. Some people have said it's so slight it's hard to notice – I don't agree, it's definitely decidedly pink and not grey, even if it's a light pink. A non-issue for some, some will like it, it's a bit too toyish for my liking.

    But, bigger issue for me, the trackpad. I've read a lot about microsoft precision trackpads and how much better they were than others, so I'm not sure if it's the Precision trackpad or the hardware Asus chose for it, but I don't find it all that great. Scrolling feels laggy and motion doesn't reflect your fingers well, and both that and pointing can't seem to distinguish involuntary hand movement we all have from intended motion, making fine detail movement a pain.

    Keyboard action is fine to good, with just a few layout gripes I could get used to. The screen is decent but marred by an overly grainy antiglare film. Display hinge is overly loose and moves when picked up, but hasn't been an issue while typing. Can't find a way to make media keys default over function keys in the UEFI.

    I think this will be going back within the return window. Does anyone know if trackpads within the MSP program are better, or they're all like this one?

    • Nikhil

      April 17, 2017 at 1:10 pm

      Hey Nitesh,
      Do you find the 110 degree screen lean angle annoying and limiting? Thanks!

  5. robert bischof

    March 22, 2017 at 10:42 am

    Hi I have the UX330UAK, i7 and 16 Gig memory. The notebook is loud as a fck generator. Have not installed anything big, no special programs, usiing it just for office and surfing. I contacted ACER, they told me to update the BIOS ?!?!?! the notebook is 3 months old. WTF….BIOS is up to date. Anyhow…is loud as hell…
    ….and I also have a ASUS ZenBook UX303LB…the hinge broke after 1 1/2 years…
    so good luck Ladies and Gents…would not recommend buying one.

  6. Amitesh Singh

    March 23, 2017 at 8:41 am

    How does it compare with Lenovo IdeaPad 710S in terms of value-for-money and performance? Also, I have heard the asus ux330 has some issues with the trackpad.

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 28, 2017 at 6:51 am

      I haven't reviewed the 710s but there's a good review here: notebookcheck.net/Lenovo-IdeaPad-710S-13ISK-Core-i7-Subnotebook-Review.167294.0.html Each has its lacks, but I'd say they are mostly similar

    • PRAGUN SHARMA

      March 28, 2017 at 8:40 am

      I didn't notice any issues with the trackpad. The trackpad is smooth and responsive.(Microsoft animations are laggy eg. switching between windows) It is slightly over sensitive if i were to say. What i mean by that is that sometimes when you want to drag something, a minute delay(in ms) in deciding(whether you want to tap or move) would make trackpad register it as a Single Click. I was planning for Lenovo Ideapad 710s but it hasn't been launched in India yet. On their Lenovo India Site, it says 'Coming Soon' for the past 6 months. Definitely Asus UX330 has better battery(57WH) and form factor(13mm thickness,1.2kg weight,metal build) than Lenovo Ideapad 710s(if at all it makes to India). I have called number of Lenovo stores and nobody knows when is it going to launch not even Lenovo India Sales team. I say at 83,000 INR , 4K IPS Display, i5-7th gen,512GB SATA SSD,8 GB RAM is apt for money(if not worth) considering that it is an ultrabook and ultrabooks are expensive in India than rest of the world.

  7. shonar

    April 1, 2017 at 6:55 am

    Hello. Thank you for your review.
    I have a go-pro camera and need to edit HD footage once in a bluemoon. Would the 330 or even the 305 be able to handle such editing?
    On another note, would the dell xps 13 also be able to handle it?
    Other than that i only browse and watch movies.

    Im torn between asus 330/305, dell xps 13 and the yoga 900 and the decision would be primarily based on which one can handle this tiny bit of editing that i need to do. Your observation about the lack of tilt in the monitor for asus has put me off somewhat.

    Thanks

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 2, 2017 at 11:41 am

      All these laptops should handle basic to mid-level projects fine. Make sure you get at least 8 GB of RAM though. the Core i7 processor would also help if you want to render things a little faster.

  8. Bbotto

    May 14, 2017 at 3:53 pm

    Is the rose gold edition not available in the US or something? I am searching high and low for a non black or non silver one and I have come up empty! Also debating between the Asus ux310ua and the ux330ua, will be using it for medical billing and coding school can anyone help?

    • Dianne Dennison

      May 22, 2017 at 8:49 am

      Rose Gold available on Amazon now

      • Bbotto

        May 22, 2017 at 4:12 pm

        Can you link? All I can find on Amazon is the ux310ua in rose gold which doesn't have the same specs as the ux330ua

  9. Nisha

    May 17, 2017 at 1:56 am

    Hi
    I got my hands on UX330C notebook yesterday. While I was impressed by the sleek look and the performance. One thing bothered me today morning that is, on the backside of the notebook the surface cover was having a slight bulge near the joint. When I closed the notebook, I noticed that the bulge was evident. to be precise this is exactly on the right side of the top screw and below the fold . I called the customer care twice and they told me its the design, but its not convincing. Can you help. That area gets heated up on constant use for more that 45 mins.

  10. David

    October 9, 2017 at 4:33 pm

    Hey, why does your contrast differ so much from the one on notebookcheck? Theirs is 1636:1, while yours is 380:1.

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 9, 2017 at 4:42 pm

      We're using a different, cheaper sensor. Notebookcheck are a much bigger publication and afford better tools, so their results should be more accurate.

  11. Eugene Petrus

    March 19, 2018 at 10:16 am

    Hi, Andrei.
    Don't you have this laptop's calibrated color profile (.icc) left?
    Need it badly for exactly the same screen panel.

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 19, 2018 at 11:30 am

      No, I didn't save the icc file at that time.

  12. Somebody

    April 25, 2018 at 5:15 pm

    I brought a ux330ua as a mini-upgrade from my ux305, these are the things I noticed:
    I'm missing keys all the time, I tested the keyboard and I noticed that when you press the key just in the corner is not recorded, this doesn't happens with my ux305. Somebody else also noticed this and made a video youtube.com/watch?v=yFsL0PDMwS8.
    Sometimes, not very frequently, the fan starts to make rattling noise even on idle, the only way to stop it it's to close the lid.

    PROS
    – Weights only 100gr less, but feels more lighter than that.
    – I notice the system a bit faster, is i5 6th vs i5 7th gen, that's not much difference, maybe my ux305 needs some system clean up.
    – Backlit keyboard

    I will return the lap and keep my ux305, the keyboard is a deal breaker, i can't stand going back to fix my words all the time, or to be "alert" and make sure i'm not pressing the corner of the key. The fan thing is quite tolerable, since it doesn't happends too often and the solution is easy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *