Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons

The lightest ultraportable laptops and ultrabooks – an updated list

By Andrei Girbea , updated on May 20, 2017

Ultrabooks have to meet a specific set of imposed criteria these days, but the weight is not one of them.

However, I find the weight to be actually more important than the thickness for an ultraportable laptop. That’s why I’ve put together a few lists of the lightest available such devices and I won’t include just ultrabooks, but other types of portable laptops as well, like 2-in-1 convertibles and Chromebooks. Devices launched in the last 12-18 months are included in these lists, which I also update periodically with new entries.

I’ve divided the post into several different sections, with laptops under 2.2 pounds (or 1 kg), laptops under 3 pounds, plus the lightest 13, 14 and 15 inch ultraportables. If you think about anything else worth adding, let me know in the comments below.

Ultraportables under 2.2 pounds / 1 Kg

I haven’t included any of the Atom powered Windows tablets in here, but if you want a very light device for basic everyday tasks, you should have a look at the Asus Transformer Book T100, the Dell Venue Pro 11 or the Lenovo ThinkPad Tablet 10, to name just some of the best. We’ll talk more about those in a different post.

ModelTypeScreenHardwareWeight
Samsung Galaxy Tab Pro STablet + Keyboard12.1″Intel Skylake Core M0.69 kg / 1.53 lbs
? with Keyboard Folio
Microsoft Surface BookTablet + Base13.5″Intel Skylake Core U1.6 lbs / 0.73 kg
3.34 lbs / 1.51 kg with Base
Lenovo Miix 700Tablet + Keyboard12.0″Intel Skylake Core M1.70 lbs / 0.77 kg
? with Keyboard Folio
Microsoft Surface Pro 4Tablet + Keyboard12.3″Intel Skylake Core U1.73 lbs / 0.78 kg
2.4 lbs / 1.1 with Type Cover
Microsoft Surface Pro 3Tablet + Keyboard12.0″Intel Haswell Core U1.76 lbs / 0.79 kg
2.4 lbs / 1.1 kg with Type Cover
Samsung Notebook 9 900X3LClamshell13.3″Intel Skylake Core U1.86 lbs/ 0.84lbs
Lenovo Lavie ZClamshell13.3″Intel Broadwell Core U1.87 lbs / 0.84 kg
Sony Vaio Pro 11Clamshell11.6″Intel Haswell Core U1.92 lbs / 0.87 kg
Apple Macbook 12Clamshell12.0″Intel Skylake Core M2.0 lbs / 0.91 kg
Asus Chromebook C201Chromebook11.6″Rockchip2.0 lbs / 0.91 kg
Asus Chromebook FlipChromebook10.1″Rockchip2.0 lbs / 0.91 kg
Asus Zenbook UX390UAClamshell12.5″Intel Kabylake Core U2.0 lbs / 0.91 kg
Lenovo Lavie Z 360Convertible13.3″Intel Broadwell Core U2.04 lbs / 0.92 kg
Samsung ATIV Book 9Clamshell12.0″Intel Core M2.09 lbs / 0.95 kg
LG Gram 13Clamshell13.3″Intel Skylake Core U2.16 lbs / 0.98 kg
LG Gram 14Clamshell14.0″Intel Skylake Core U2.16 lbs / 0.98 kg
LG Gram 15Clamshell15.6″Intel Skylake Core U2.16 lbs / 0.98 kg
Lenovo Yoga 900Sconvertible12.5″Intel Skylake Core M2.2 lbs / 0.99 kg
HP EliteBook Folio G1 clamshell12.5″Intel Skylake Core M2.2 lbs / 0.99 kg
Some of the lightest laptops ever made: the Lenovo Lavie Z (left) and the Sony Vaio Pro 11 (right)

Some of the lightest laptops ever made: the NEC Lavie Z (left) and the Sony Vaio Pro 11 (right)

Compact laptops under 3 pounds

This is a list of laptops, ultrabooks, Chromebooks and 2-in-1s that weigh between 2.2 (1 kilo) and 3 pounds. However, I’ve kept the 13-inch models out of this selection, as there’s a dedicated table with light 13-inchers just below.

ModelTypeScreen
HardwareWeight
HP Chromebook 11Chromebook11.6″Exynos 5 Dual processor2.30 lbs / 1.04 kg
Apple Macbook Air 11.6Clamshell11.6″Intel Broadwell Core U2.38 lbs / 1.08 kg
Asus Chromebook C200Chromebook11.6″Intel BayTrail Celeron2.50 lbs / 1.13 kg
Lenovo Yoga 3 11Convertible11.6″Intel Core M2.60 lbs / 1.17 kg
HP EliteBook Folio 1020Clamshell12.5″Intel Core M2.7 lbs / 1.21 kg
Dell Chromebook 11Chromebook11.6″Intel BayTrail Celeron2.75 lbs / 1.25 kg
Lenovo S21EClamshell11.6″Intel BayTrail Celeron2.75 lbs / 1.25 kg
Razer Blade Stealthclamshell12.5″Intel Skylake Core U2.75 lbs / 1.25 kg
Dell XPS 12 9250detachable12.5″Intel Skylake Core M2.8 lbs / 1.27 kg
HP Stream 11Clamshell11.6″Intel BayTrail Celeron2.83 lbs / 1.28 kg
Acer Aspire E11Clamshell11.6″Intel BayTrail Pentium2.84 lbs / 1.29 kg
Lenovo ThinkPad X260Clamshell12.5″Intel Skylake Core U2.86 lbs / 1.29 kg
Lenovo ThinkPad Yoga 260Convertible12.5″Intel Skylake Core U2.90 lbs / 1.31 kg
Toshiba Satellite Radius 12Convertible12.5″Intel Skylake Core U2.90 lbs / 1.31 kg
Samsung Chromebook 2 11.6Chromebook11.6″Intel BayTrail Celeron3.00 lbs / 1.36 kg

The lightest 13 inch ultrabooks

You’ll find mostly Skylake and Broadwell ultrabooks here, but also a few of the older Haswell options that weigh less than 3 pounds.

ModelTypeScreenHardwareWeight
Samsung Notebook 9 900X3LRegular13.3″Intel Skylake Core U1.86 lbs/ 0.84lbs
Lenovo Lavie ZClamshell13.3″Intel Broadwell Core U1.87 lbs / 0.84 kg
Lenovo Lavie Z 360Convertible13.3″Intel Broadwell Core U2.04 lbs / 0.92 kg
LG Gram 13Clamshell13.3″Intel Skylake Core U2.16 lbs / 0.98 kg
Sony Vaio Pro 13Clamshell13.3″Intel Haswell Core U2.34 lbs / 1.07 kg
Vaio S clamshell13.3″Intel Skylake U2.34 lbs / 1.07 kg
HP Spectre clamshell13.3″Intel Skylake Core U2.45 lbs / 1.11 kg
Lenovo IdeaPad 710s 13clamshell13.3″Intel Skylake Core U2.56 lbs / 1.16 kg
Dell XPS 13 9343Clamshell13.3″Intel Broadwell Core U2.60 lbs / 1.17 kg
Dell XPS 13 9350Clamshell13.3″Intel Skylake Core U2.64 lbs / 1.20 kg
Lenovo Yoga 3 ProConvertible13.3″Intel Core M2.6 lbs / 1.17 kg
Asus Zenbook UX305FA / UX305CAClamshell13.3″Intel Core M2.7 lbs / 1.23 kg
Toshiba Portege Z30Clamshell13.3″Intel Broadwell Core U2.7 lbs / 1.22 kg
Lenovo Yoga 900Convertible13.3″Intel Skylake Core U2.8 lbs / 1.27 kg
Asus Zenbook UX305LA / UX305UAClamshell13.3″Intel Broadwell / Skylake Core U M2.85 lbs / 1.3 kg
Lenovo Yoga 720 13convertible13.3″Intel Kaby Lake Core U2.9 lbs / 1.32 kg
Samsung ATIV Book 9 Spinconvertible13.3″Intel Skylake Core U2.85 lbs / 1.3 kg
Toshiba CB35Chromebook13.3″Intel BayTrail Celeron2.95 lbs / 1.33 kg
Toshiba Kirabook 13Clamshell13.3″Intel Broadwell Core U2.96 lbs / 1.34 kg
Apple Macbook Air 13.3Clamshell13.3″Intel Broadwell Core U2.96 lbs / 1.34 kg

Check out my detailed article on 13-inch ultraportables for more details.

Light 14 and 15 inch laptops

While the word portable is not the first to cross my mind when thinking about 14 and 15 inch laptops, some of you might  actually want a thin and light laptop with a bit more power and a larger screen. That’s why I’ve compiled this following list as well, with 14 inch laptops under 3.5 pounds and 15.6 inch machines under 4.5 pounds (roughly 2 kilos).

MSI GS63 Apache Pro Gaming15.6″Intel Kaby Lake HNvidia GTX 10603.96 lbs / 1.8 kg

ModelTypeScreen
CPUGraphicsWeight
LG Gram 14Regular14.0″Intel Kaby LakeCore UIntel HD 6202.16 lbs / 0.98 kg
LG Gram 15Clamshell15.6″Intel Kaby Lake Core UIntel HD 6202.2 lbs / 0.99 kg
Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Carbon 4th genConvertible14.0″Intel Skylake Core UIntel HD 5202.6 lbs / 1.17 kg
Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Carbon 3rd genConvertible14.0″Intel Broadwell Core UIntel HD 55002.87 lbs / 1.30 kg
Samsung Notebook 9 900X5LRegular15.6″Intel Skylake Core UIntel HD 5202.84lbs / 1.29 kg
Fujitsu Lifebook U904Business14.0″Intel Haswell Core UIntel HD 44002.90 lbs / 1.31 kg
HP EliteBook 1040 G3 clamshell14.0″Intel Skylake Core UIntel HD 5203.0 lbs /1.36 kg
Lenovo ThinkPad T460Sclamshell14.0″Intel Skylake Core UIntel HD 5203.0 lbs /1.36 kg
Lenovo ThinkPad T470Sclamshell14.0″Intel Kaby Lake Core UIntel HD 6202.9 lbs /1.32 kg
Dell Latitude 14 7000Regular14.0″Intel Kaby Lake Core UIntel HD 6203.13 lbs / 1.42 kg
Toshiba Tecra Z40Business14.0″Intel Skylake Core UIntel HD 5203.25 lbs / 1.47 kg
Acer TravelMate P645Business14.0″Intel Broadwell Core UNvidia GT 840M3.31 lbs / 1.50 kg
Acer Swift 3Regular14.0″Intel Kaby Lake Core UIntel HD 6203.35 lbs / 1.525kg
Lenovo ThinkPad T450sBusiness14.0″Intel Broadwell Core UIntel HD 55003.5 lbs / 1.58 kg
Lenovo ThinkPad T470clamshell14.0″Intel Kaby Lake Core UIntel HD 6203.52 lbs / 1.6 kg
HP Spectre x360 15convertible15.6″Intel Kaby Lake Core UIntel HD 6204.03 lbs / 1.83 kg
HP EliteBook 850Regular15.6″Intel Skylake Core UIntel HD 5204.05 lbs / 1.84 kg
Asus Zenbook UX510Regular15.6″Intel Kaby Lake Core UNvidia GTX 960M4.1 lbs / 1.86 kg
Dell Precision M3800Regular15.6″Intel Haswell Core HQNvidia Quadro K1100M4.15 lbs / 1.88 kg
HP ZBook 15uRegular15.6″Intel Broadwell Core UAMD FirePro M41704.23 lbs / 1.91 kg
Dell XPS 15 9550
Regular15.6″Intel Skylake Core HQNvidia GTX 960M4.3 lbs / 1.95 kg
Dell Precision 5510Regular15.6″Intel Kaby Lake Core HQ and XeonNvidia Quadro M1000m4.3 lbs / 1.95 kg
Dell XPS 15 9560
Regular15.6″Intel Kaby Lake Core HQNvidia GTX 10504.4 lbs / 2.00 kg
Samsung ATIV Book 9 2014 Edition
Regular15.6″Intel Haswell Core UIntel HD 44004.41 lbs / 2.00 kg
Apple Macbook Pro 15
Regular15.6″Intel Broadwell Core UAMD Radeon R9 M370X4.49 lbs / 2.04 kg

Also see this post if you’re interested in my detailed list of recommended 14 and 15-inch portable laptops of the moment.

Here’s a short glossary of the terms mentioned above:

  • Types:
    • clamshell: classic shaped computer whose screen closes on top of the keyboard and does not flip into any sort of tablet mode;
    • convertible: 2-in-1 laptop whose screen rotates and converts to a tablet mode (or similar), but cannot be detached from the base;
    • detachable: 2-in-1 laptop whose screen detaches from the base. These are mostly stand-alone tablets bundled with matching docking stations that most often include docking keyboards, ports, batteries and other features;
    • Chromebook – laptop running Google’s ChromeOS operating system;
    • Regular – everyday portable laptop with a Clamsheel form-factor. Best used for everyday tasks and multimedia;
    • Business – everyday laptop with a tougher chassis and a few features that make it best fir for business environments (fingerprint readers, vPRO, TPM, etc)
    • Gaming – ultraportables with powerful graphics chips, able to deal with games.

Wrap up

Alright, this pretty much wraps it up for now. I’ve added in these lists all the light ultraportables I could think of. I might have left some of them out, so if you spot anything that’s missing and should be in here, let me know in the comments below.

For more details about ultrabooks, check out all the other articles here on the site. And if you have any questions or need any help picking the best thin-and-light laptop for your needs, drop me a line in the comments section or by email, I’ll be around to reply.

Andrei Girbea, Editor-in-Chief at Ultrabookreview.com. I never liked carrying big laptops around and that fueled my passion for mobile computers back in the 2000s. Things have changed much since then, but I'm still interested in the topic and in the meantime I've owned and tested hundreds of thin and lights, so I know a thing or two about them. You'll find mostly reviews and guides written by me here on the site.

98 Comments

  1. Rishab

    May 26, 2014 at 6:55 am

    u have left Samsung ATIV Book 9 (2014).

  2. anne

    July 28, 2014 at 1:38 am

    Hi. Hope you can help. I need a laptop weighing 3.5lbs or less(I am middle-aged with knee joint problems), with Windows 8.1 touchscreen, 4GB memory, and which doesn’t quickly get hot. The hard drive on my last one burnt-out. I need the keyboard to be easy to use (arthritic fingers). I use my laptop for online shopping, to browse the net, emails, and the odd spreadsheet and word doc for home use. My budget is not great, around £700. I am hoping you can point me in the right direction. Thank you and kind regards, Anne

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 28, 2014 at 11:31 am

      Hi Anne. You could consider one of the smaller 11.6 inch laptops if you want something under 3.5 lbs and less than 700 quids.

      I’d look at the Asus Vivobook S200 / X200. Dells, HPs and Lenovos have good keyboards in this class, but their better units are outside of your budget. You can check out the older Dell XPS 13 version and the Lenovo IdeaPad Yoga.

  3. Ellen Berman

    August 10, 2014 at 6:55 pm

    Hi Andrei,

    I’m searching for a lightweight (under three pounds) laptop no bigger than 13″ screen, with Windows 7, i5 or i7, fast speed, 8 GB RAM, at least 500 GB hard drive or SSD. I tried the Macbook Air, a beautiful sleek machine, but hated the Apple operating system. I’m hooked on Outlook for my 7000 contacts and Outlook for Mac is a disaster — can’t display address book by last name first, can’t use the existing group lists. I’m not willing to retype 7000 addresses like Apple techs suggest. I don’t like Windows 8.1 either. I am using a 3-year old HP Mini Notebook with Office 2010 and Windows 7, 3 pounds that I bought for $300 at Costco’s and it is now much too slow and overloaded. They don’t make an updated version. I liked your review of laptops and would like you to address the Windows 7 issue. A top notch keyboard is essential. A touch screen is not essential. Cost is not the key issue. Ellen

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 12, 2014 at 11:40 am

      HI Ellen, you did not say anything about your budget, but I’d reckon something close to the MBA would be OK? $1000 or so? Also, keep in mind that most modern consumer ultrabooks have touchscreens and come with Windows 8.

      That being said, your best bet would be one of the available business ultraportables. HP, Dell and Lenovo still offer their laptops with Windows 7. However, these are expensive. I could suggest looking at the Lenovo THinkPad X240 (or the older X230 if you can find it), Dell Latitude 12 E7240 or the Toshiba Z30 line.

      If on a tighter budget, have a look at the 11 inchers I’ve listed in this post: http://www.tlbhd.com/best-11-6-inch-laptop-966/

      That Windows 7 requirement really narrows down your options. Maybe you could give Windows 8 a chance and use apps like Start-is-Back to make the laptop go directly to desktop mode and have a start menu just like on Windows 7. That’s what I use on my Win8 devices.

  4. Mikhail

    August 15, 2014 at 2:47 pm

    There is an error in your post: NEC Lavie Z with Haswell weight 0.795kg. Previous model with IvyBridge weight 0.895kg.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 16, 2014 at 7:57 am

      Thanks, I’ve addressed it.

  5. Eddie Yong

    August 19, 2014 at 1:08 am

    Hey, how about the Samsung ATIV Book 9 NP900X4C (15.0 inches at 1.65kg)?

    http://www.samsung.com/sg/consumer/pc-peripherals-printer/notebook-pc/ultra-portable/NP900X4C-K02SG-spec

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 20, 2014 at 2:16 pm

      Yes, this could be in here, although it’s an older IvyBridge laptop with a few annoying issues.

  6. Ananya

    August 21, 2014 at 8:12 am

    Hi Andrei,
    Im a student and was looking for a laptop that would be fairly light that i could take with me to school and with a good durable backlit keypad for excessive typing. I would also like it to have a good storage capacity as i will be storing a lot of documents but atthe same time has a sleek and good design. My budget would be around $600 to $800.
    Thanks

  7. desmond

    August 24, 2014 at 7:27 am

    Hi Andrei

    First of all,thanks for all the hard work you had done in this website. I am from Malaysia and planning to buy a laptop or an ultrabook for my college use. I am looking for a something that is light and won’t get warm easily while using for daily task. I might run some games with it but normally just normal game like football manager or some simple online game, I had read some of your review on certain asus product since I prefer asus product but some of them have bad review on their keypad, as I am going to use it for daily assignments, I prefer a solid and good keypad for me.

    Thank you

    Regards
    desmond

  8. Irwin

    September 13, 2014 at 4:42 pm

    Hi, Andrei,
    Great postings. I am looking for a ultralight with plenty of power weighing in at about 2 – 2.5 lbs. But I would appreciate knowing which which might be available with built-in broad band. This is way more convenient than many people realize. (One less device to carry around, keep track of, etc.) I have a several year old Sony Vaio with Sprint broadband built-in. It was beautiful but had unfixable keyboard issues (random cursor jumping, repeated letters, etc.). I am currently using a Lenovo, with built in Verizon broadband but it needs updating.
    Thoughts?
    Irwin

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 14, 2014 at 9:06 am

      I’ve put up toghether this list a few months ago, it’s still up-to-date right now: https://www.ultrabookreview.com/4178-ultrabooks-3g-4g-lte/

      But options for devices with the latest hardware are limited right now. And I don’t think you’ll find something within that weight range.

      If you can wait a few months though, I would, Intel will launch a new hardware platform meant for highly portable laptops in the next few months and we’l probably see a bunch of new thin-and-light devices soon, some of them with celullar.

  9. adel

    September 14, 2014 at 1:12 am

    Hey
    Can you help me find the best ultrabook for me?
    I’m a college student and I use my laptop a lot.I want a device with A high speed processor and a 13 inches screen. My budget is not that much($600-$800). I prefer light weight laptops and I hate tablets.

    Thank you

  10. Alex

    September 24, 2014 at 12:52 am

    new ultra-portable LG 13Z940
    Screen Size: 13.3 inch
    Weight is 0.98kg

    lg.com/au/laptops/lg-13Z940

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 25, 2014 at 8:38 am

      Thanks, this one looks really sleek. Love those thin bezels

      • Stefan Fuma

        September 28, 2014 at 8:17 pm

        Domnule Andrei Girbea,
        Faceti o treaba exceptionala. Multumim tare frumos.

        In English:

        Dear Mike,

        You do great work. Many Thanks.

        —- I am still a lurker for ultra light weight laptops or Chromebooks.

        Best Buy has now in store the ACER “CB3-111” chromebook for $199.00
        Near it the SAMSUNG XE303C12-A01US for $229. By specs the ACER is suppose to weigh 2.4 lbs and the Samsung 2.65 lb. but picking them up
        the Samsung feels lighter. What is happening? Both are tethered with some store “no steal” cable. could the acer cable pull it heavier down.
        Is the 2.4lbs weight confirmed by users?

        Cheers,
        sf

        • Andrei Girbea

          September 30, 2014 at 10:22 am

          Hi Stefan. Thanks for the kind words. From what I can tell from the specs I got online, the Acer is supposed to weigh around 2.75 lbs, and the Samsung around 2.4 lbs. So the Samsung is slightly lighter, as you said yourself.

  11. Olgafil

    October 5, 2014 at 9:43 am

    Hi Andrei, i analyse enormous spreadsheets , used to have large monitors. Now I need to travel with a laptop for my work. I have destroyed my back by carrying Samsung chronos 7 laptop (heavy!!!) and my neck by staring down at it all day ( tall). Desparate to find a superlightweight large screen laptop(15 inch min) with a numbers pad. I now carry a separate keyboard and lift my laptop on whatever boxes people have around or my neck spasms, nightmare. Ideally dreaming of a computer where you can detach the monitor from keyboard, lift it and work like a regular laptop. But have not seen that in 15 inch ones. Any thoughts? Thank you , Olga

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 5, 2014 at 9:05 pm

      There aren’t any 15 inch detachables that I’m aware off, and that’s mostly because a 15 inch tablet would be ginormous and very difficult to use. If you want portability, you’ll have to go with something smaller, like a 13 incher. If you still want a 15 inchers, you’ll find a selection over here: https://www.ultrabookreview.com/2404-14-15-inch-ultrabooks/

      • Olga

        October 9, 2014 at 9:02 pm

        thanks! so if I have to stick to 15 inch and really need the lightest one possible – which one would you go for? say budget not an issue. numbers pad is important but can be outside i suppose. Kinda confused by it all. much appreciated.
        oh, I am also in Ireland, so customer service is tricky, so durability is a factor.
        much appreciated. Olga

  12. Carle

    October 9, 2014 at 2:52 am

    Hi, Andrei. Is there a lightweight laptop whose battery is not embedded and can be removed anytime?

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 9, 2014 at 1:54 pm

      What screen size are you interested in? There’s the older 13 inch Sony Vaio T series, but nothing else coming to mind right now.

  13. Rizwan

    October 13, 2014 at 5:35 am

    Hi Andrei. I will soon start my graduate studies in engineering and was quite interested in the HP spectre 13-3000t. My budget is around the 1000$ mark, and i am willing to shell out a little more if it’s worth it. I would be using it occasionally for light gaming such as FIFA 14, and this is where i would like your opinion on this model. Please let me know if there are better alternatives. Thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 13, 2014 at 1:10 pm

      It’s a pretty solid option, but $1000 will probably only get you the 128 GB version and that leaves little space for your own content after installing Windows and other software.

      You could also look at the Asus UX303LA, slightly cheaper, slightly thicker and heavier, with more ports. This one allows room to upgrade the RAM and HDD easily if you want to, although upgrading the storage drive yourself will void warranty. But at least you get the option of adding a bigger SSD if needed.

      • Rizwan

        October 14, 2014 at 11:57 am

        Thanks for the suggestion Andrei! Although i must mention that the design of the spectre 13 has got me hooked and every other ultrabook looks bland in comparison(no offense) . How much space do u reckon would the OS and preloaded software take up? I would be storing all my media on an external hard drive. Would this clear up enough space for say, a game or two such as FIFA 14? Could you also please mention the cost of the 256GB version? Really appreciate your inputs, thanks!

        • Andrei Girbea

          October 14, 2014 at 6:08 pm

          You should have about 70-80 GBs available after installing Windows, so with careful management, you should be OK. Not sure how much the 256 GB version costs in your country, you’d have to check that out yourself.

  14. Rizwan

    October 14, 2014 at 6:39 pm

    Thanks Andrei you have been of great help! Keep up the good work.

  15. SULEIMAN

    October 16, 2014 at 5:56 am

    Hello Andrei,
    Thank you for all the post.They are all informative.Please can you recommend a single,detachable 10-12 inch computer for me.The system should have the following:
    1.Active stylus pen with palm rejection
    2.Option for saving note in handwriting form
    3.Solid frame and powerful memory because I will be taking about 15 courses.
    4.Great video and audio player for online classes preferably a window and andriod combine.
    Finally, it should be in the range of 750 to 800 dollars.pls suggest two gadgets(a tablet for serious and bulky note taking and the other for online lecture and browsing)in case there is no system within my budget that can take of my needs as mentioned above.
    Please take note of the budget.
    Thank you

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 17, 2014 at 7:20 am

      Hi, I’m not sure if you should go with a Windows computer or not. Most of the affordable 2-in-1s don’t offer digitizers, but you can check out the Dell Venue Pro 11 or the Microsoft Surfaces (preferably the 3rd gen, but the 2nd should do as well).

      If you decide to go with Android, you could check out Samsung’s Note lines. But I believe WIndows is more versatile for work and classes, you get specialized software that’s not available with Android.

      Not sure if you should get two different devices. Those mentioned above should meet both your needs. Check them out.

  16. KK

    October 27, 2014 at 10:02 am

    Hi Andriel,

    I’m always on the road.
    I take lots of pictures; use photoshop & some video software to process my pictures then upload to my website. These are done when I’m in the car.

    I need a very light ultrabook/tablet that can go with full Windows capabilities & good connection to internet.

    Cost is not an issue.

    You mentioned about Intel developing some new hardware platform for ultra light portability. Any update on this?

    What is your recommendation for my needs for the time being.

    Thanks

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 28, 2014 at 2:23 pm

      HI. The new devices are scheduled to hit the stores in the next 3-6 months, starting from this October/November.

      Any device should be OK for your needs. You haven’t mentioned a budget, that’s crucial. I’m also not sure what you mean by “good connection to Internet”. If you plan to upload stuff when in your car, that means you’re going to tether the laptop with your phone or use a Cellular USB dongle? Or do you want a computer with an integrated cellular modem?

      • Rahul

        December 21, 2014 at 8:24 pm

        Dear Andrei,
        I Currently use a toshiba satellite z30 but looking for a change (but love the toshiba)
        My key requirements (as close as possible) : Ideally 1.5 kg max / 12 gb ram/ above 3ghz / above 13.3 inch screen / above 250 GB storage / win 8 touch / I travel a lot and cannot be too delicate
        Am evaluating the toshiba portage z30
        look fwd to ur suggestions pl
        Kind regards
        Rahul

        • Andrei Girbea

          December 23, 2014 at 1:18 pm

          Hi Rahul, my experience with Toshiba laptops is really limited, I can’t say much about their devices.

    • Alex

      October 29, 2014 at 11:14 pm

      “some new hardware platform” – i guess that you meant new Intel’s “Broadwell” low-voltage processor. Not so well, based on latest reviews of Lenovo Yoga 3 Pro. Many reviewers were disappointed with performance. This system is not for “heavy” video edition software, i think.

      • Andrei Girbea

        October 30, 2014 at 10:11 am

        That’s the Broadwell Y inside the Pro 3 (also known as Core M), but the Broadwell U is also going to be available in Q1 2015, and that’s what we’ll find in most ultrabooks. Broadwell Y is a successor of the Haswell Y line

  17. Susana

    October 31, 2014 at 12:28 am

    Hi Andrei,
    we travel a lot and are looking for a very light/portable ultrabook (light as to have them in the handbag all the time during trips and be able to work on the road). SSD is a must. We actually need a powerful machine. keeping the 11.6 dimensions (preferably). Uses: outlook, connection to our office server (folders), online communication, internet and office apps.
    Our budget would be some NZ$1200, and would be willing to top to the same amount in US$ if the device is worth it. We are NZ based so, not sure about local providers, but could do online too.
    We would GREATLY appreciate your advice.

    Thanks

  18. Daniela

    November 24, 2014 at 10:18 pm

    Hi Andrei,

    The link for the Lenovo ThinkPad X240 laptop review is redirecting to the Toshiba kirabook. Could you post the link for your review for the Lenovo laptp?

    Thaks

  19. Wing

    November 27, 2014 at 7:12 am

    Don’t forget the new Toshiba Chromebook 2 wink*

    This website is super helpful! Thank you and keep up the good work!!!

  20. debbie

    November 27, 2014 at 8:31 am

    Thank you for an excellent list. I am hoping I can find something. One problem, you said you updated the list a few days ago, but months ago Sony said they no longer make laptops.

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 27, 2014 at 11:30 am

      Yes, they no longer make laptops BUT some of their older models are still available here and there. However, I’d personally would not buy a Sony laptop, not knowing how long-term services would be affected, in case something brakes.

  21. Joan

    November 30, 2014 at 6:18 pm

    Hi Andrei, thanks for the great work you do! I’m useless with technology but looking for something very simple, light, good battery life, that I can use to get on the internet, open excel & word documents, and can plug in an external hard drive to watch movies when travelling. Thank you!

    • Joan

      November 30, 2014 at 6:19 pm

      Meant to say that budget is open to whatever matches my requirements best. Thanks!

  22. Harry

    December 29, 2014 at 12:08 pm

    Excellent lists mate, saved me a lot of time! Cheers

  23. Neal

    February 2, 2015 at 7:06 pm

    Is there some reason the HP stream products are not included? Neal

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 2, 2015 at 8:20 pm

      No, just they weren’t available at the time of the last major update.

  24. Debbie

    February 3, 2015 at 2:16 am

    What are the HP Stream products?

  25. Lauren

    February 18, 2015 at 11:52 am

    Hi Andrei, your site is so helpful!!! Trying to work out what an ultrabook exactly is, let alone which one to buy has been a tad overwhelming and your guide was super useful.

    I’m looking for a laptop for Uni and have narrowed it down to two. I was hoping to get your advice about which one is the better deal.. I’m somewhat limited by the places that ship to Australia! I’m tossing up between the Asus UX303LA for $870 or the Toshiba satellite z30-A019 for $770… The main difference in specs (from what I can) is that the acer has 8GB ram whereas the toshiba only has 4GB. Would be keen to hear your thoughts… Thanks for your help,

    Lauren

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 18, 2015 at 8:28 pm

      Hi Lauren. Can you leave a link for that Toshiba? If what I found online is correct, that one only packs a 1366 x 768 px display with a TN panel, in which case the Asus is a much better deal, since it has more RAM and a much better screen. There’s also HDMI output on the Asus which will come in handy if you want to connect to a TV or external monitor.

      • Lauren

        February 18, 2015 at 11:26 pm

        Hi Andrei,

        Thanks for the quick reply!

        I’ve been sent the specs for the Toshiba from a friend so don’t have a link (and can’t seem to find one online) – the details are: Intel Core i5-4210U (1.7-2.7GHz), Windows 8.1 (64 bit), 13.3″ HD Widescreen (1366 x 768), 4GB DDR3L (1600Mhz), 128GB mSATA SSD (Intel 802.11ac/a/g/n).

        Here’s the ASUS link: amazon.com/gp/product/B00KTHGRIS/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=A17MC6HOH9AVE6

        To be honest, I was tempted by the Dell XPS 13 after reading your review but can’t find one below $1000 that ships to Australia.

        Thanks :)

        Lauren

        • Andrei Girbea

          February 19, 2015 at 12:54 pm

          Well, I was right. The screen isn’t great on the Toshiba, so better stick with the Asus.

  26. Michael Adamson

    March 10, 2015 at 10:12 pm

    Will you be reviewing the new Macbook? 11.6″ screen and wieghs 2 lb. A real ultra-portable. I’m not an Apple fan but this machine sets a standard for thin, light, fanless computing against which other laptops can be judged. I’m particularly interested in how it performs with the 1.2 GHz Core M processor.

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 12, 2015 at 12:10 pm

      I plan to, but it might take a while for it to get here.

  27. Michele

    March 18, 2015 at 8:16 pm

    Hi
    I’m definitely a road runner
    I now have a vostro 3360 i3 but I fo it too slow, too heavy and too weak
    Now I’m looking for something really light, not too big (between 12 and 13 inch) very resistant and with a decent speed
    Don’t care about ports (just need a pair of usb3) better if with track point
    X250 seems the best option but it’s quite expensive
    Any idea on something cheaper?

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 18, 2015 at 11:08 pm

      Well, what’s your budget?

  28. CT

    March 31, 2015 at 11:49 pm

    Hi, the vizio thin and light ct15-a5 weighs 3.86 lbs and is a 15.6″. I have one, got a good deal on craigslist :)

  29. Cheri

    April 18, 2015 at 7:51 pm

    What a great article and information!

    Do you know if any of the 15+inch that are lighter weight (around 5lbs), are in the taller screen 16:10 ratio. I also would like a smooth surface to the mouse pad.

    I can generally pay what it takes, but so far only the Mac seems to have this combo but it really is very pricey at over $2500 once I’ve added Parallels then plus accessories.

    It’s the taller ratio that’s hard to find, but that extra vertical screen room is very functional. If the ratio’s not available, can you point me to the 15+” that’s closer to 4.5″ and also with a smooth mouse surface?

    Thanks again for the article. It really makes it so much easier to start researching on from here.

  30. Eliot

    April 23, 2015 at 12:11 pm

    Hey Andrei!

    Thanks for a great website, so much useful information here!
    I was hoping you could help me choose an ultrabook.

    I’m going backpacking for a year soon so I need something super light to travel with but also needs to be strong and sturdy enough to be bashed around a bit in a backpack for a while. Will be using it most days on the go – mostly for video streaming and skype – on long bus journeys and in hostels so a good battery life, and something that doesn’t get too hot are also important factors for me.

    So to sum up, I need something light, sturdy, cool and with good battery life. I’m not bothered about touchscreen or tablet convertability or anything high-tech.

    What would you recommend?

    Thanks,

    Eliot

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 25, 2015 at 12:00 pm

      Hi Eliot. What’s you budget? And do you have a prefered screen size in mind?

      • Eliot

        April 26, 2015 at 3:51 pm

        Hey Andrei, my budget is £400/$600 (I am based in the UK), so ideally I would prefer to purchase a second-hand ultrabook on ebay to get a low price (maybe on an older model). Screen size, I’m looking for 13′ or less, but the lighter the better.

        • Andrei Girbea

          April 27, 2015 at 8:26 am

          Hmmm, that’s tight. I’d probably look at something like the Dell Inspiron 11 3000 or the Asus Transformer Book T200.

          The thing is most modern mini-laptops are either some sort of 2-in-1 or have a touchscreen, and these to add-up to the price, as well as hinder battery life.

          You could also aim for something like the Asus EEEBook X205, which is really cheap and will do the trick for what you need. Other options are the available Chromebooks, again affordable and withing your budget you could get something with integrated cellular connectivity.

          As for purchasing an older model, well, it’s tough to recommend anything, mainly because of battery wear and potential battery failures after a while. Thus I’d only look at options that allow easy battery upgrades (and make sure batteries are actually accessible for them). So I’d probably look at the Lenovo, Dell or HP business mini-laptops.

          Anyway, if you can narrow things down to a few units, please get back, I might be able to offer more feedback.

  31. Ellen Berman

    April 25, 2015 at 12:54 pm

    Hi Andrea, I value your information and insights so much. I put off buying last year because the products are changing so rapidly and are getting lighter which is a high priority. I perused the lists above of ultralightweight computers but did not see specs regarding speed and memory. i want you to recommend a PC under three pounds — I love seeing the new two pounders and they are a real plus — with 12 GB ram and 500GB-1TB of SSD (hard to find except in MAC and I’m a PC’er) or hard drive. If hard drive, I still need the ultralight weight. I am hooked on Windows 7 but understand it won’t be available in these newest machines and I should get with 8.1 or 10. The Microsoft Surface Pro is ultralight and on your list but the keyboard is too flat for good response. I want a backlit keyboard, too. To recap, the minimums are under (1)under three pounds, (2) 12 GB RAM, (3) 500 GB memory (preferably SSD), (4)good keyboard for fast typing (I’m using a 4 year old $250 HP Mini 210-2072CL with great keyboard, great computer in all regards except speed and RAM and hard drive), (5)backlit, (6)fast processing speed, (7) price under $1500 if possible, (8) do not need convertible since I have an ipad mini, (9) touchscreen is a plus since everything is headed that way. Thanks.

    • Ellen Berman

      April 27, 2015 at 10:09 am

      Andrei, Did you have thoughts for me? If I missed your response please resend. Thanks. Ellen

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 27, 2015 at 10:42 am

      Hi Ellen. You didn’t mention a preferred screen size, please get back to me with this detail.

      • Ellen Berman

        April 28, 2015 at 12:13 pm

        Screen size.– 13″ is big enough. 15″ would be fine if weight factor comports.. Under three pounds is a more important factor than screen size. Two pounds would be a plus.

        • Andrei Girbea

          April 29, 2015 at 10:46 am

          Hmmm. The only 15 incher that comes close is the Samsung Ativ Book 15, but it’s outside your budget and heavier than 3 lbs.

          Those being said, I’d look at the Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Carbon 3rd gen, but I don’t think you will get a 512 GB SSD under $1500. Still, look for deals.

          Another great option could be the Soon to be launched Lenovo Lavie series, very light 13 inchers, but again, those will probably get expensive.

          The Dell XPS 13 2015 could be a decent fit as well, especially if you buy a bade model with the FHD matte display and then upgrade the SSD yourself.

          All these are only limited to 8 GB of RAM though.

          You can get 12 GB of RAM on the Asus Zenbook UX301, which again is very expensive. It’s also powerful though and just around 3 lbs.

          Hmmm, so the more I think about it, the more difficult it is to suggest something that would actually fit all the requirements. You’ll need to compromise on Price, or on the amount of RAM and Storage.

          • Ellen Berman

            April 29, 2015 at 5:53 pm

            I’ll limit the specs needed. I don’t require a 15″ screen. 13″ is fine. I could even manage with 11″. Under three pounds is a must and the lighter the better. 8 gb of RAM will do. I’d like 512 gb of storage and it can be SSD or hard drive as long as the weight is ultralight. I neglected to mention USB ports. I would like two, one for my indispensable mouse and one for a flash drive or other connection. Does that help you specify something that fits the bill? Thanks!

          • Andrei Girbea

            April 29, 2015 at 7:53 pm

            Those that I already did. Check them out.

  32. Kurt

    April 27, 2015 at 9:13 pm

    Andrei,

    I’m looking for a high performance ultra portable with a display of at least 15 inch IPS panel. The notebook should have at least 16GB ram, 512GB SSD or mSata and needs to be as light as possible.

    Price is no issue.

    Regards,

    kurt

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 28, 2015 at 8:01 am

      Dell XPS 15 2015, Macbook Pro Retina, Asus Zenbook NX50/UX501, MSIO GS60 – those are your better options

  33. Cheri

    April 28, 2015 at 9:50 pm

    Hi Andrei – I posted a comment and question a few above. Did you have any suggestions (did I miss a post)?

    My question was:

    Do you know of any 15+ inch that are lighter weight (around 5lbs), that have a taller screen in 16:10 ratio or any taller size? I’m also looking for a smooth mouse pad surface (not textured). That extra height on the screen is adds so much function.

    I can pay what’s needed, but would like to stick with Windows.

    So far only the Mac seems to have this combo (tall, lightweight, smooth mouse) and also it’s very pricey at over $2500 once I’ve added Parallels then plus mac accessories.

    The taller screen is hard to find, so that’s what I’d compromise on. So if it’s not availabe, can you point me to the 15+” that’s closer to 4.5lbs with a smooth mouse surface?

    Any help would be great. Thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 29, 2015 at 10:52 am

      I’m not aware of any A Brand laptop that offers a 16:10 display except for the Macbook Pro.

      There are a few other under 5 pounds 15 inchers, but all are premium devices and expensive. Among those, the Asus Zenbook NX500/UX501/G501 , Dell XPS 15 2015, MSI GS60, Samsung ATIV Book 9 2014 NP940X. If I remember correctly, all of them offer smooth glass trackpads, but you should double check on that.

  34. Kenneth

    May 14, 2015 at 5:49 pm

    Thanks for this great list. Can you also add a column for max memory to the chart. I’m looking for a light laptop that can provide 16gb ram.

  35. Evelyn Livermore

    June 19, 2015 at 7:33 am

    Hi,

    I’ve been an avid Thinkpad/Lenovo-fan the last 16 years. I’ll be going back to university this fall and am looking for a lightweight, i5-ish (or something giving similar performance) computer with battery life of 7 hours+. I do not need much storage space, and will be using it mostly for documents and surfing. I would like 13.3″ or smaller. I have a larger, more powerful PC at home, but its way too heavy to lug around. My budget is $750.
    I’ve been trying to look for Lenovos that meet my criteria, but I’m not up to date anymore with the different types of models. I have also heard good things about the Acers and Asus’.

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 20, 2015 at 8:33 am

      Hi Evelyn. Your budget is somewhat low for an up-to-date ThinkPad. I would advise going for a THinkPad X240/X250, but the i5 options are significantly more expensive. Lenovo might have some good student discounts, so you could hunt down some sales for the X240.

      You could also consider something like the Yoga 3 11 with Core M hardware, or maybe the Asus Zenbook UX305, which is a great bundle for the money ($699 these days). However, make sure you read more about Core M and what it can do. It’s a fanless platform, so quiet, BUT it’s only powerful enough for light-use. From what you’re saying though you don’t need much from this computer, that’s why I think these options should fit nicely with your requirements.

  36. Ralph

    August 6, 2015 at 6:37 am

    Hi,

    Great information here. I’m a IT university student looking for a 14″ or larger light ultrabook, 7hrs> battery life, 128gb> ssd, full HD or better resolution, 8gb> memory and possibly touch screen, I’ve had trouble finding a suitable 14inch or larger ultrabook, I don’t might OS and have a budget around 2000AUD.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 12, 2015 at 1:06 pm

      The Dell Latitude 14 and the Lenovo THinkPad X1 carbon 3rd gen are among the better 14 inchers out there and should fit within your budget. There’s also a detailed list of options here: https://www.ultrabookreview.com/5165-broadwell-ultrabooks/#a2 , try to narrow it down to some of the options that check the right boxes for you.

  37. Ralph

    August 6, 2015 at 6:39 am

    Hi,

    Great information here. I’m a IT university student looking for a 14″ or larger light ultrabook, 7hrs> battery life, 128gb> ssd, full HD or better resolution, 8gb> memory and possibly touch screen, I’ve had trouble finding a suitable 14inch or larger ultrabook, I don’t might OS and have a budget around 2000AUD. What models would you recommend?

    Thank you.

  38. Kacey

    August 8, 2015 at 3:42 pm

    Hi, I am looking for a very lightweight (under 2 kgs) ultrabook which has a 13 in screen and is powerful enough to do multiple multi-tasking jobs (Word, Excel, powerpoint, multiple webpages, but no gaming).

    I will be visiting the US in a few weeks and would like to get one there because they are much cheaper than in DK. Can you suggest something?

    Thank you! This is a great site!
    KC

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 12, 2015 at 1:16 pm

      Hi, does it have to be a Windows device? If not, then the Apple MacBook Pro 13 should be the best you can get for what you need.

      Otherwise, there are plenty of devices built on Intel Broadwell U hardware, like the Dell XPS 13, Asus Zenbook UX301LA/UX303LA, HP Spectre x360 and many other. Aim for a Core i7 processor, 8 GB of RAM (or more, if available) and fast SSD storage and you should be OK.

  39. Eddie Yong

    August 29, 2015 at 4:48 am

    Hi,

    I think the weight listed for Samsung ATIV Book 9 2014 NP940X 15.6 inch is not correct. Its probably the weight for the 13 inch version. The 15.6 inch version should be 4.4 pounds i.e. 2 kg.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 29, 2015 at 9:53 am

      You’re right, thanks for spotting that, it’s been fixed now

  40. Jake Fernandez

    September 7, 2015 at 1:12 pm

    No HP Spectre x360?

  41. Mushtaq

    September 13, 2015 at 3:34 pm

    Hi Andrei,
    I’m a grad student in US now and after I finish my grad I will teach in collage and I want to build a laptop from a company, so may I ask which brand you think is better and what most important details I need to tell them (Like CPU, RAM, drive…). I want it very fast, light, thin and for math and photo editor programming, no gaming or movies a lot could you help me please.

    Thanks in advance

  42. Jerome

    September 24, 2015 at 3:41 pm

    Hi Andrei,

    I currently have a Smasung Series 9 900X3C, and I upgraded my SSD to 512Gb and my RAM to 16Gb. I love this laptop apart from the fact that the paint is peeling off the keys and the battery now only lasts 1.5 hours.

    Ideally I’m looking for a direct replacement for this, preferably with an i7 processor, but the biggest requirement is the same size and weight and the ability to support 16GB RAM as I run virtual machines which I need to assign 8Gb RAM.

    I am looking at the XPS 13, but this maxes out at 8GB RAM and isn’t upgradeable.

    Is there anything you can recommend which would satisfy my requirements?

    I am willing to pay whatever it costs to find such a machine

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 24, 2015 at 8:27 pm

      Hi Jerome,

      My advice would be to wait for the new Skylake ultraportables to hit the stores, quite a few of them will support 16 GB of RAM. The XPS 13 might not be one of them, but many will.

      • Jerome

        September 24, 2015 at 8:30 pm

        Thanks Andrei, great site by the way, really helpful!

  43. Jerome

    September 24, 2015 at 8:17 pm

    Hi Andrei,

    I currently have a Smasung Series 9 900X3C, and I upgraded my SSD to 512Gb and my RAM to 16Gb. I love this laptop apart from the fact that the paint is peeling off the keys and the battery now only lasts 1.5 hours.

    Ideally I’m looking for a direct replacement for this, preferably with an i7 processor, but the biggest requirement is the same size and weight and the ability to support 16GB RAM as I run virtual machines which I need to assign 8Gb RAM. Also availability in the UK and a UK keyboard

    I am looking at the XPS 13, but this maxes out at 8GB RAM and isn’t upgradeable.

    Is there anything you can recommend which would satisfy my requirements?

    I am willing to pay whatever it costs to find such a machine

  44. Mushtaq

    September 26, 2015 at 4:36 pm

    Hi Andrei,
    I’m a grad student in US now and after I finish my grad I will teach in collage and I want to build a laptop from a company, so may I ask which brand you think is better and what most important details I need to tell them (Like CPU, RAM, drive…). I want it very fast, light, thin and for math and photo editor programming, no gaming or movies a lot could you help me please.

    Thanks in advance

  45. Yan

    September 30, 2015 at 3:45 pm

    Why not include the 11-inch Asus X200CA?

  46. Vurz

    October 1, 2015 at 12:53 pm

    Could you add the Dell Precision M3800? It does seem to fit the bill for this list, with its 15″ and some versions of it weighing under two kilograms. It’s expensive though.

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 1, 2015 at 2:14 pm

      Done. And thanks, I wasn’t aware of it. Too bad it only comes with Haswell hardware, but I’d reckon Dell will have a Skylake update soon. Also, a version without the Quadro graphics would be really nice as a thin and light multimedia 15-incher.

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 2, 2015 at 2:03 pm

      BTW, Dell just announced a follow-up for the M3800, the Precision 15 5510: smaller, lighter and faster. Should have improved battery as well and an option for a 100% adobe RGB screen.