Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Acer Swift 5 SF515-51T Andrei Girbea Rating: 4 out of 5

Acer Swift 5 SF515-51T impressions (i7-8565U, UHD 620) – the lightest 15-inch laptop

13 Comments

  1. Eric

    November 20, 2018 at 3:01 pm

    What's the dual core turbo boost speed for i7 8565U? Can check in XTU. On-line info stated 4.5 & 4.1GHz so I'm not sure which is correct

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 20, 2018 at 4:13 pm

      XTU is not compatible with any of the 8565U laptops I've tried. Still, HwInfo shows 4.1 GHz on all cores, 4.5 Ghz on 2xC and 4.6 GHz on 1xC. You'll hardly get this in consistent loads though on an ultraportable, the cooling is not able to keep the CPU at that kind of TDP for long.

  2. Keijo

    December 17, 2018 at 3:32 pm

    Any news about final sample for test? Looking to buy this, but waiting for confirmation about throttling on loads.. Only option on this segment as LG & Samsung aren't available here..

  3. Hk

    December 29, 2018 at 10:19 pm

    This model or zenbook 15 ux533, similarly specked?

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 31, 2018 at 5:48 pm

      We haven't yet reviewed the UX533, so can't comment on it.

  4. Dan

    January 5, 2019 at 12:53 pm

    Hey,
    it‘s not easy to compare, but i‘m between this swift 5 515 and the zenbook ux433 (the Swift 5 14 has got a bad screen and battery).

    In germany both are the same price range about 1100€. You can also get a another version of the zenbook ux433 with a matte screen (+100€).
    For now i’m between Swift 515, ux433glare, ux433 non-glare.
    What do you recommend?

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 7, 2019 at 11:55 am

      It would depend on what you want. The UX433 is smaller and gets a nicer keyboard, the Swift is lighter, gets a slightly bigger battery and more ports. I would however look into more reviews of the Swift , we had some performance issues with our sample and you should find out if the final retail units perform better or not. If not and if you plan to run more demanding tasks, I'd stay away.

      • Dan

        January 7, 2019 at 8:23 pm

        thanks for your answer!

        it's hard to find another good review. Also theres no local dealer which has an example. Just a few shops on the internet has got this swift.

        so i am going to focus myself on the zenbook!

        Thank you!

  5. Badabum

    March 2, 2019 at 4:40 pm

    Incorrectly Specs: model and screen at least.

  6. Badabum

    March 10, 2019 at 6:00 pm

    In your table:
    Acer Swift 5 SF315-51T
    Screen 15.6 inch, 1920 x 1080 px, IPS, non-touch, matte

    But it's sf515-51t and screen is touch and glossy.

  7. Aras

    April 2, 2019 at 9:35 pm

    Thank you for the review! Looks like a new BIOS version and other drivers are available to download. Not sure if you will ever get a chance to retest the battery life and overall performance!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *