Asus VivoBook Pro 15 OLED review (AMD, M3500QA- Vega, M3500QC- RTX 3050)

14 Comments

  1. JJ

    November 27, 2021 at 1:31 pm

    There seems to be a typo in the text: "but in my case, only the AMD model ramped up to 48 dB, while the AMD model averaged at around 43 dB at head-level"
    I guess you confused AMD and Intel somewhere…

  2. Mike

    December 1, 2021 at 5:30 pm

    Regarding the flickering at 60hz at 60% brightness and below I can confirm. I had this model but I had to return because the flickering is persistent even above 60% brightness, all the way up to 100% brightness, the screen flickers at 240hz instead of 60hz which is rather low PWM.I used my phone to film it in slow motion at 240 fps and the flickering is present. Maybe you can't notice but your eyes do and that causes eyestrain and headaches after a few hours of using the laptop. Second reason I returned was overall build quality. The screen frame was out of the box, popped up in one place (assembly issues I don't know). I pushed it back. It was an easy fix but I don't like these stuff to happen when the laptop is brand new. It lowers buyer's trust in the brand.

    • Fran

      December 19, 2021 at 7:29 pm

      These say there is no PWM above 60% brightness…

      notebookcheck.net/Asus-VivoBook-15-Pro-OLED-review-Affordable-multimedia-laptop-with-a-high-performance.576432.0.html

      • Andrei Girbea

        December 20, 2021 at 10:06 am

        That was already mentioned in the article.

      • Mike

        December 20, 2021 at 10:17 am

        Yeah, I know. I saw that review also. Maybe I had a defective unit but you should go to a store and take a 240 fps slowmotion video of the display at different brightness levels. Mine had PWM flicker even at 100%. So if on the slowmotion video you can see the flicker then it flickers at that frequency or lower than 240 hz. I think they kept PWM even at 100% to refresh the display and avoid OLED burn in. I tested a cheaper laptop with IPS and saw no flickering on a 240 fps slomotion video.

      • Robin

        December 20, 2021 at 3:14 pm

        Yes there is PWM, both in this and in the model of 16".

        laptopmedia.com/es/review/asus-vivobook-15-oled-k513/

        laptopmedia.com/es/review/asus-vivobook-pro-16x-oled-n7600/

        Even if you do not perceive it, it is harmful to your eyes.

      • Andrei Girbea

        December 20, 2021 at 4:44 pm

        Your last affirmation is debatable imo.

  3. Lynton Bell

    December 5, 2021 at 7:47 pm

    great review as always, thanks Andrei

  4. Mohamed

    December 16, 2021 at 11:52 pm

    Very informative review. Thank you.

  5. Markus

    January 15, 2022 at 4:00 pm

    Thank you for the very informative review. One question—I assume that the inclusion of a discrete GPU shortens the battery life. What does the battery life on the models that only have the integrated processor look like? Also, how much better is the battery life when the GPU is disabled?

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 25, 2022 at 10:29 am

      no, Optimus disables the dGPU when needed

  6. Eli

    April 19, 2022 at 12:58 pm

    Hi I have read the review and it says that the fan noise is quite but the fans are always running for me. I tried cleaning them,
    Updating the bios and other drivers,
    using the my asus app,
    And changing some settings,

    Nothing proved effective!
    I just want a quieter experience when PLUGGED IN.

    Have you used a software? If so please tell me which one.

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 19, 2022 at 4:08 pm

      I have not. Are you running on Balanced profile?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.