Asus Vivobook S 15 OLED review (S5507QAD 2024 model, Snapdragon X Elite)

9 Comments

  1. AlexS

    June 20, 2024 at 10:09 am

    I concur with your recomendation. I see the potential but fir now it is a disapointment since do not seem to bring a sizable improvemnt over x86

    A DaVince Resolve encoding/decoding 4K test would have been nice comparing to a x86 laptop. It is also a video editing app that is on Mac so it can be tested there too for a comparison Snapdragon vs M3.

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 3, 2024 at 1:43 pm

      I didn't get to test Davinci Resolve on this unit, due to time constraints with the sample. Will try to update at some point

      • AlexS

        July 14, 2024 at 12:35 pm

        Thanks Andrei.

  2. Tomatot

    June 20, 2024 at 10:26 am

    I think your conclusion is really rational and reasonable. It's a bit disappointing but it's also realistic. Battery life isn't good enough to make it that competitive. At the time of M1, ARM was really ahead of x86 at low wattage, but nowadays differences are minimal.
    It will probably get eventually interesting for 13-14" work laptops, to get a slightly quieter and better battery life, but it won't be a complete deal-breaker.

  3. Ron

    June 28, 2024 at 7:35 am

    Hi. Can you from time to time test some basic cheap office laptops. I get that it is more interesting to test high end gaming laptops costing thousands. But the problem is that almost all reviewing sites are focusing nowadays only on some fancy expensive gimmicky laptops for content. It seems that almost no one tries to review normal laptops. Even on youtube the are less and less channels reviewing cheaper laptops. Maybe this type of content has less monetization.

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 3, 2024 at 1:41 pm

      thing is, laptop manufacturers rarely send us these sort of laptops for reviews. and as a small project, it's not financially feasible for us to buy laptops that don't get proper interest. Cause at the end of the day, we only have limited resources and if we don't make money on our articles, we can't stay in business.

      regardless, it is something that I'm keeping in mind and try to include mid-level laptops for reviews from time to time. but it's not going to happen often, for the aforementioned reasons.

      • Ron

        July 3, 2024 at 2:17 pm

        Thank you.

  4. DavidC1

    July 2, 2024 at 12:05 am

    LunarLake is going to eat this platform for lunch, especially with the battery life that should be greatly improved. I hear Strix Point looks ok too.

    Why buy an ARM platform where you have to play lottery with software compatibility and pay $1299-1500 to do so? It's asinine. Watch it go on firesale at Black Friday for $600, and Qualcomm/MS will give it up in less than 1 year.

    50% PC marketshare in one year they said. Drunk and drugged at the same time are Qualcomm executives.

  5. ilker

    July 7, 2024 at 2:50 pm

    Thank you so much, your review was very helpful in my purchasing decision. I’ve been using it for two days now and it’s like there’s no fan at all. So far, the performance is very good and the battery life seems to be at least 12 hours and up to 18 hours depending on usage. My main purpose was not high-performance gaming and it is incredibly satisfying for other tasks. I understand that OLED really offers a noticeable clarity and vivid colors. I used my old ASUS for 13 years and I feel like I can use this one for just as long. Painting with AI is also fun.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *