Dell XPS 15 9510 review (Core i7, 3050Ti, 4K touchscreen) – still there, for now

12 Comments

  1. Tomas

    November 18, 2021 at 12:00 am

    56Wh battery is only on FHD model without dedicated GPU. All models with GPU have 86Wh battery.
    I have FullHD+,11800H, RTX 3050 Ti model with 86Wh battery.

    Also, IR camera is on all units?

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 18, 2021 at 10:58 am

      Thanks, I appreciate the feedback. Updated.

    • Presh

      November 22, 2021 at 10:53 pm

      Hello, I'm about to make a purchase for the same specs as you mentioned regarding graphics card and Lcd. Would you say it's suitable for a college student. I'm a Computer science student not that it matters but just dropping that info here if it matters.

      • Andrei Girbea

        November 23, 2021 at 11:16 am

        yeah, this is a well-balanced configuration. Up to you if you're OK paying extra for the 4K touchscreen over the matte FHD+

  2. Yuval

    November 18, 2021 at 9:48 pm

    Can you review MBP witu m1 max/pro?
    It would be great to see an obective and detailed review on it instead of "promotion is great, speakers are great, look at me rendering videio with final cut!!"

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 18, 2021 at 9:58 pm

      You posted before and I replied. Maybe, but no guarantee. MBPs are very expensive in this part of the world, so getting one just for review is not usually financially feasible for us.

      • Bobby

        November 19, 2021 at 7:13 pm

        You can just buy it and return it like many other reviewers do

      • Andrei Girbea

        November 19, 2021 at 7:34 pm

        I know, but I'm not in the US and buying/returning 2+K laptops, while possible here in the EU, is a bit more complicated

  3. Jim

    November 25, 2021 at 3:56 pm

    Complaining about shallow keyboard on the xps while complimenting apple's macbook keyboard even though the macbook keyboard has a shallower keyboard with worse typing experience?

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 25, 2021 at 4:22 pm

      Not for the latest MacBooks, as far as I'm concerned. And it's not just the shallow depth, but the whole feedback that I'm complaining about.

  4. Liliana

    December 8, 2021 at 6:00 pm

    I had the XPS 9500 (similar specs to your revision) and got problems with overheating until it completely died in less than a month after purchase. Dell replaced the motherboard and did some work in the machine and it performed extremely well with heavy engineering software for a couple of months until it overheated and just died again.
    Dell is replacing the unit with an XPS 9510 (same specs as your revision) – how does it compare with each other? why would the XPS 9500 overheat? would it be possible to get the same problem with the new unit?

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 8, 2021 at 7:08 pm

      internally, the 9500 and 9510 are the same. Thermals are not that bad though given my experience with this unit. You could perhaps consider placing this on a stand in order to help the airflow into the fans and drive the internal temperatures down under load, as explained in the article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.