Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Asus ZenBook UX433 FN Andrei Girbea Rating: 4.25 out of 5

Asus ZenBook UX433 review (UX433FN – Core i7-8565U, MX150 Max-Q)

25 Comments

  1. Paige

    November 21, 2018 at 4:12 am

    In the US right now, the price for ZenBook S UX391UA (i7-8550U, 8GB, 256GB SSD) is roughly the same as that of UX433FA (i7-8565U, 16GB, 512GB NVMe M.2 SSD). Which one would you recommend getting? I'm leaning towards UX433FA because of the better specs. Plus, I don't need thunderbolts ports. However, I'm still not sure which I should go for due to its build quality and power supply (Zenbook S through USB-C 60W vs cable 45W). Also, Zenbook S seems to be advertized as something more premium in general. I don't play games. I normally use my laptop for doing research (a lot of typing, statistical analyses of big data, running experiments, etc.) and entertainment. I would really appreciate your advice! Thank you!

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 21, 2018 at 1:46 pm

      Tough call, I like them both. Here's the review of the UX391, if interested: https://www.ultrabookreview.com/19213-asus-zenbook-ux391ua-review/ .

      Couple of things I'd consider:

      1. The UX391 is smaller, thinner and lighter. Build quality is about on par, both are well made.
      2. I personally liked the keyboard on the UX391 better
      3. Screens are about the same quality, but the UX391 gets a matte finishing, while the UX433 gets glossy, without touch.
      3.1 There's a slightly bigger screen on the UX433
      4. Better performance for the UX433 in demanding loads, also a faster included SSD as far as I can tell. Performance with everyday use should be the same.
      5. The UX391 runs hotter while performing demanding loads, as it's thinner
      6. You only get USB-C connectivity on the UX391, so you'll need adapters, but it gets Thunderbolt 3 which gives you more options when it comes to hooking up a fast external drive or multiple high-res screens, if needed.
      7. You get good speakers on both, faster wireless on the UX433, crappy webcam on both

      It's up to you what you want. With the UX391 you'll favor portability and the matte screen, while with the UX433 you'll get a slightly bigger device with full-size ports and faster performance in demanding tasks.

      One more thing to keep in mind is that the UX433 is brand new and there's limited info about it from actual buyers, while the UX391 has been available for a while, so you can find more reviews and opinions about its potential hidden flaws that I and other reviewers might have not ran into with our samples. No matter what you end up going with, I'd buy from a place that allows returns without a restocking fee, as quality control is problematic these days with most manufacturers.

      Hope this helps

      • Paige

        November 21, 2018 at 8:46 pm

        Thank you very much for your detailed reply! The UX391 versions sold in the US are both with glossy screen, unfortunately. I'll think about it a little more. I'm glad to hear that their build qualities are on par. Thank you very much again!

  2. JAYson

    November 21, 2018 at 10:55 pm

    I'm trying to decide between the XPS15 and the 533. Assuming the 533 will be roughly the same, only larger, and without the lighted numpad?

    So all things being equal, would you go with the 533 or the XPS15? Both have comparable specs (ASUS: i7-8565U WL/16GB DDR4/512 GB M.2 NVMe PCIe Gen3x2 SSD/GTX 1050 Max-Q) vs (XPS: i7-8750H, 16GB DDR4, 512GB M.2 2280 PCIe SSD, GeForce GTX 1050 Ti), and are within $50 of each other via black friday pricing.

    What would you go with for a great all-rounder, no gaming?

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 21, 2018 at 11:31 pm

      The XPS is the safer bet at this point imo, considering it's been available for a while and all of this flaws are well documented. Just make sure you know what to expect and you can accept the issues.

      The Zenbook could be a nice pick, but there are no reviews out there and it's a brand new platform, thus there are a lot of questions that would need answers before we could tell if it's good product or not, with the screen quality, performance and fan behavior just the important ones. Getting one right now would be a gamble, it might be great, but at the same time it might have flaws.

      • JAYson

        November 22, 2018 at 2:08 am

        Thank you! Went with the XPS on a great Black Friday deal. Keep up the great work!

        • Bud

          November 28, 2018 at 4:15 am

          The UX433 is about $1099, while DELL XPS 15 is about $1399 after holiday discounts, how are they on the same price par? are you saying you found the XPS for $1099 as well? can you share where?

  3. Rayben

    November 22, 2018 at 12:20 pm

    Do you know if the anti-glare FHD screen is a glossy display with slight anti-glare coating or a full matte display? Because Asus website states it as only anti-glare. Also any idea on the pricing of the 16GB MX150 model? These seem very expensive compared to other MX150, Vega 10 laptops. How is the durability compared to premium laptops like XPS 13 and X1 Carbon?

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 22, 2018 at 1:40 pm

      I've been told it's completely matte, which is also backed up by the fact that those versions are lighter, and that's made possible by removing the sheet of glass. I'd reckon same finishing as on other matte laptops.

      i7 /16 GB /512 GB SSD + MX150 will ship for 1400 EUR over here in Europe. I'd reckon 1200-1300 USD if/when available in the US.

      The build is pretty good, but the XPS has a stronger inner deck. The lid is tough on this glass-covered variant, about on par with my XPS 13, but I'd expect the matte versions to flex a bit more without the extra reinforcement of the glass. So all in all the XPS is the better built of the bunch, with the X1 coming in second imo and this Zenbook a close third. They're all well made though, I don't think that should be a decisive factor.

  4. Ocean

    November 25, 2018 at 3:37 am

    Do you know if the UX433FN will be released in the UK?

    If not, what would you recommend for a ultrabook at roughly 14" with i7,16Gb,256Gb SSD and MX150. I'm currently looking at the UX433FN and the HP Envy 13.

    Cheers

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 25, 2018 at 1:50 pm

      I don't know, you should ask Asus on social media, they might give you an answer.

      There are a bunch of such devices, they're listed here: Not sure which are available there: https://www.ultrabookreview.com/16104-laptops-nvidia-mx150/ , you should check which are available over there.. Careful there are two MX150 versions, MAx-Q and full-voltage, consider which one you'd rather get.

  5. DimTm

    November 25, 2018 at 2:23 pm

    Hi

    "Max brightness in the middle of the screen: 291 cd/m2 on power;"
    I saw on the site notebookcheck.net brightness is Maximum: 332.8 cd/m² (Asus ZenBook 14 UX433F)
    Why such a difference between your site and notebookcheck.net ?

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 26, 2018 at 2:09 pm

      Different tools and screen testing methodologies. Our software measures brightness and contrast at the same time, by switching between a white and black image at about 5 seconds. As far as I know, they test the maximum brightness after keeping a white image on the screen for several minutes, then a black image for several minutes for the black levels, and get the contrast based on these numbers. They're result are thus more accurate, but I think ours make more sense in real life, where the content changes on the screen all the time.

  6. Bud

    November 28, 2018 at 4:18 am

    Is there any contender for a 14" notebook, which comes with 500GB SSD and 16GB RAM, even if for a bit higher price? I Can't find any worthy contender.. someone suggested Dell Latitude 7490, but it seems a bit anachronistic, also, I it weighs more.

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 28, 2018 at 1:26 pm

      That Latitude is a nice laptop, but rather expensive, heavy and gets a small battery.

      I'd reckon you're not interested in the dGPU, in which case I can't think of better options for $1100. Perhaps this, the 55 version with the dGPU, but it's not yet available https://www.ultrabookreview.com/22174-acer-swift-3-2018-review/ , or the Lenovo 720s 14, but that's also heavier.

      The Huawei MateBook X Pro is the only better option in the 14-inch class, but also much more expensive at around $1500 (perhaps you could find it cheaper these days)

      • Bud

        December 2, 2018 at 4:30 pm

        That Lenovo is already discontinued, I suppose a new replacement will come out soon, do you happen to know what is replacing it? and is it worth the wait?

        • Andrei Girbea

          December 3, 2018 at 1:56 pm

          I'd reckon some sort of 14-inch IdeaPad 730s might be launched in the near future, although for now only a 13-inch model was announced. Can't tell what to expect though, I don't have any inside information, so it would be just speculation.

  7. Thrandine

    November 29, 2018 at 5:44 am

    Which one is better, the Zenbook or Ideapad 720s 14 with MX150?

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 29, 2018 at 12:06 pm

      Each has its pros, but I incline towards the Zenbook. You should take pricing and your particular needs into considerations, you'll find reviews for both that talk abut their strong points and quirks.

  8. Bud

    December 4, 2018 at 3:33 pm

    The Asus website says this model has better venting due to the design – when the lid is open.
    I usually connect the notebook to an external screen so I keep the lid closed. does it mean it would heat up and make more noise?

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 5, 2018 at 4:18 pm

      Should do fine for the most part, as the output grills are not covered in any way. See this pic: https://www.ultrabookreview.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/11/sides-back-3.jpg

      Two things to consider, though:
      1. you might want to raise the bottom in some way to allow better airflow underneath.
      2. The interior will get fairly hot, and that means the screen will get hot as well, as it's in direct contact to the interior in this situation. That might cause issues over time, but it's something you'll have to accept with every laptop and should only be problematic while running games, which I'd reckon you might not do that often.

  9. KC

    December 5, 2018 at 8:16 am

    What would you say about the Lenovo C930 (4K display with soundbar hinge)? Would that be a better option? I know there the x1 ThinkPad line don’t know how that contends…Or jus go MacBook Air?

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 5, 2018 at 4:23 pm

      I haven't personally reviewed it yet, but it should be a solid option. More expensive though. Look into reviews that go in depth on performance and typing experience, I had some nits with those on the previous Yoga 920, not sure if/how they were addressed on the update.

      the X1 Carbon is another good option, but beware of the various quality control quirks. You'll find a review here on the site, and plenty of info on the topic online.

      Don't go for the MacBook Air if you're interested in performance, that's a Core Y laptop with a butterfly keyboard and an obnoxiously high price tag. Rather go for a base MacBook Pro 13 if you absolutely must go that route, but there are better value options on Windows's side imo.

  10. DimTm

    December 8, 2018 at 2:17 pm

    Hi

    I read on the French site "www.lesnumeriques.com", here is the translation, such remarks:

    The Zenbook speakers are placed under the chassis, all the way to the front; the sound sent back to the user strongly depends on the surface on which the PC is placed. Also, the perceived location of the sound source is also very far from the screen, making it unnatural to watch a video.

    "Les haut-parleurs du Zenbook sont placés sous le châssis, tout à l'avant ; une disposition peu judicieuse. Non seulement le son renvoyé vers l'utilisateur dépend fortement de la surface sur laquelle le PC est posé (réfléchissante comme un bureau en PVC, absorbante comme une nappe…), mais la localisation perçue de la source sonore est en plus très éloignée de l'écran, d'où un rendu peu naturel lors du visionnage d'une vidéo."

    What do you think of thèse problems with thé speakers?

    Thank

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 9, 2018 at 4:35 pm

      They comment on the positioning of the speakers, which is not that bad imo. I don't think you'll notice anything unusual when watching movies, the only problem is that you can easily cover them when using the laptop on the lap.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *