Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Asus ZenBook 14 UX433 FN Andrei Girbea Rating: 4.25 out of 5

Asus ZenBook 14 UX433 review (UX433FN – Core i7-8565U, MX150)

82 Comments

  1. Paige

    November 21, 2018 at 4:12 am

    In the US right now, the price for ZenBook S UX391UA (i7-8550U, 8GB, 256GB SSD) is roughly the same as that of UX433FA (i7-8565U, 16GB, 512GB NVMe M.2 SSD). Which one would you recommend getting? I'm leaning towards UX433FA because of the better specs. Plus, I don't need thunderbolts ports. However, I'm still not sure which I should go for due to its build quality and power supply (Zenbook S through USB-C 60W vs cable 45W). Also, Zenbook S seems to be advertized as something more premium in general. I don't play games. I normally use my laptop for doing research (a lot of typing, statistical analyses of big data, running experiments, etc.) and entertainment. I would really appreciate your advice! Thank you!

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 21, 2018 at 1:46 pm

      Tough call, I like them both. Here's the review of the UX391, if interested: https://www.ultrabookreview.com/19213-asus-zenbook-ux391ua-review/ .

      Couple of things I'd consider:

      1. The UX391 is smaller, thinner and lighter. Build quality is about on par, both are well made.
      2. I personally liked the keyboard on the UX391 better
      3. Screens are about the same quality, but the UX391 gets a matte finishing, while the UX433 gets glossy, without touch.
      3.1 There's a slightly bigger screen on the UX433
      4. Better performance for the UX433 in demanding loads, also a faster included SSD as far as I can tell. Performance with everyday use should be the same.
      5. The UX391 runs hotter while performing demanding loads, as it's thinner
      6. You only get USB-C connectivity on the UX391, so you'll need adapters, but it gets Thunderbolt 3 which gives you more options when it comes to hooking up a fast external drive or multiple high-res screens, if needed.
      7. You get good speakers on both, faster wireless on the UX433, crappy webcam on both

      It's up to you what you want. With the UX391 you'll favor portability and the matte screen, while with the UX433 you'll get a slightly bigger device with full-size ports and faster performance in demanding tasks.

      One more thing to keep in mind is that the UX433 is brand new and there's limited info about it from actual buyers, while the UX391 has been available for a while, so you can find more reviews and opinions about its potential hidden flaws that I and other reviewers might have not ran into with our samples. No matter what you end up going with, I'd buy from a place that allows returns without a restocking fee, as quality control is problematic these days with most manufacturers.

      Hope this helps

      • Paige

        November 21, 2018 at 8:46 pm

        Thank you very much for your detailed reply! The UX391 versions sold in the US are both with glossy screen, unfortunately. I'll think about it a little more. I'm glad to hear that their build qualities are on par. Thank you very much again!

    • Tilly

      March 7, 2019 at 4:33 pm

      I'm really in doubt. I'm looking for a 13", or 14" in 13" size with weight similar to this one. 16GB ram and 512GB ssd. The European price at 1249 Euro would be acceptable but is the absolute max (though I'm still hoping for them to go down a bit). What annoys me is the glossy screen and I'm a bit worried about the underside of the hinge as the notebook mainly sits on my lap, or rather side of thigh. I generally like Asus keyboards and can't deal with Dell keyboards. Don't care about graphics card. Long battery life is not unimportant.

      Is there an alternative I should be looking at that just has the edge over this notebook? Anything planned from other manufacturers?

      • Andrei Girbea

        March 7, 2019 at 4:39 pm

        I'd also consider the ZenBook UX391 if within budget, not sure if it is. Also perhaps the Acer Swift Sf314-55, but that's a little bigger. You'll find reviews for both here on the site. The other good options with 16 Gb of RAM and 512 Gb SSD are more expensive.

        • Tilly

          March 7, 2019 at 10:03 pm

          Unfortunately, the UX391 costs about 400 Euro more. That's a lot, considering the UX433 in the configuration I'm looking at is already at the top end of my budget. The Acer only seems to have 8GBram and 265 disk here. The Swift 5 is above my budget again and again has a glossy screen (thus no advantage). Pretty much all others I look at again are either above my budget or don't seem to offer any real advantage. *sigh* so it looks like I'm out of luck here.

  2. JAYson

    November 21, 2018 at 10:55 pm

    I'm trying to decide between the XPS15 and the 533. Assuming the 533 will be roughly the same, only larger, and without the lighted numpad?

    So all things being equal, would you go with the 533 or the XPS15? Both have comparable specs (ASUS: i7-8565U WL/16GB DDR4/512 GB M.2 NVMe PCIe Gen3x2 SSD/GTX 1050 Max-Q) vs (XPS: i7-8750H, 16GB DDR4, 512GB M.2 2280 PCIe SSD, GeForce GTX 1050 Ti), and are within $50 of each other via black friday pricing.

    What would you go with for a great all-rounder, no gaming?

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 21, 2018 at 11:31 pm

      The XPS is the safer bet at this point imo, considering it's been available for a while and all of this flaws are well documented. Just make sure you know what to expect and you can accept the issues.

      The Zenbook could be a nice pick, but there are no reviews out there and it's a brand new platform, thus there are a lot of questions that would need answers before we could tell if it's good product or not, with the screen quality, performance and fan behavior just the important ones. Getting one right now would be a gamble, it might be great, but at the same time it might have flaws.

      • JAYson

        November 22, 2018 at 2:08 am

        Thank you! Went with the XPS on a great Black Friday deal. Keep up the great work!

        • Bud

          November 28, 2018 at 4:15 am

          The UX433 is about $1099, while DELL XPS 15 is about $1399 after holiday discounts, how are they on the same price par? are you saying you found the XPS for $1099 as well? can you share where?

  3. Rayben

    November 22, 2018 at 12:20 pm

    Do you know if the anti-glare FHD screen is a glossy display with slight anti-glare coating or a full matte display? Because Asus website states it as only anti-glare. Also any idea on the pricing of the 16GB MX150 model? These seem very expensive compared to other MX150, Vega 10 laptops. How is the durability compared to premium laptops like XPS 13 and X1 Carbon?

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 22, 2018 at 1:40 pm

      I've been told it's completely matte, which is also backed up by the fact that those versions are lighter, and that's made possible by removing the sheet of glass. I'd reckon same finishing as on other matte laptops.

      i7 /16 GB /512 GB SSD + MX150 will ship for 1400 EUR over here in Europe. I'd reckon 1200-1300 USD if/when available in the US.

      The build is pretty good, but the XPS has a stronger inner deck. The lid is tough on this glass-covered variant, about on par with my XPS 13, but I'd expect the matte versions to flex a bit more without the extra reinforcement of the glass. So all in all the XPS is the better built of the bunch, with the X1 coming in second imo and this Zenbook a close third. They're all well made though, I don't think that should be a decisive factor.

  4. Ocean

    November 25, 2018 at 3:37 am

    Do you know if the UX433FN will be released in the UK?

    If not, what would you recommend for a ultrabook at roughly 14" with i7,16Gb,256Gb SSD and MX150. I'm currently looking at the UX433FN and the HP Envy 13.

    Cheers

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 25, 2018 at 1:50 pm

      I don't know, you should ask Asus on social media, they might give you an answer.

      There are a bunch of such devices, they're listed here: Not sure which are available there: https://www.ultrabookreview.com/16104-laptops-nvidia-mx150/ , you should check which are available over there.. Careful there are two MX150 versions, MAx-Q and full-voltage, consider which one you'd rather get.

  5. DimTm

    November 25, 2018 at 2:23 pm

    Hi

    "Max brightness in the middle of the screen: 291 cd/m2 on power;"
    I saw on the site notebookcheck.net brightness is Maximum: 332.8 cd/m² (Asus ZenBook 14 UX433F)
    Why such a difference between your site and notebookcheck.net ?

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 26, 2018 at 2:09 pm

      Different tools and screen testing methodologies. Our software measures brightness and contrast at the same time, by switching between a white and black image at about 5 seconds. As far as I know, they test the maximum brightness after keeping a white image on the screen for several minutes, then a black image for several minutes for the black levels, and get the contrast based on these numbers. They're result are thus more accurate, but I think ours make more sense in real life, where the content changes on the screen all the time.

  6. Bud

    November 28, 2018 at 4:18 am

    Is there any contender for a 14" notebook, which comes with 500GB SSD and 16GB RAM, even if for a bit higher price? I Can't find any worthy contender.. someone suggested Dell Latitude 7490, but it seems a bit anachronistic, also, I it weighs more.

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 28, 2018 at 1:26 pm

      That Latitude is a nice laptop, but rather expensive, heavy and gets a small battery.

      I'd reckon you're not interested in the dGPU, in which case I can't think of better options for $1100. Perhaps this, the 55 version with the dGPU, but it's not yet available https://www.ultrabookreview.com/22174-acer-swift-3-2018-review/ , or the Lenovo 720s 14, but that's also heavier.

      The Huawei MateBook X Pro is the only better option in the 14-inch class, but also much more expensive at around $1500 (perhaps you could find it cheaper these days)

      • Bud

        December 2, 2018 at 4:30 pm

        That Lenovo is already discontinued, I suppose a new replacement will come out soon, do you happen to know what is replacing it? and is it worth the wait?

        • Andrei Girbea

          December 3, 2018 at 1:56 pm

          I'd reckon some sort of 14-inch IdeaPad 730s might be launched in the near future, although for now only a 13-inch model was announced. Can't tell what to expect though, I don't have any inside information, so it would be just speculation.

  7. Thrandine

    November 29, 2018 at 5:44 am

    Which one is better, the Zenbook or Ideapad 720s 14 with MX150?

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 29, 2018 at 12:06 pm

      Each has its pros, but I incline towards the Zenbook. You should take pricing and your particular needs into considerations, you'll find reviews for both that talk abut their strong points and quirks.

  8. Bud

    December 4, 2018 at 3:33 pm

    The Asus website says this model has better venting due to the design – when the lid is open.
    I usually connect the notebook to an external screen so I keep the lid closed. does it mean it would heat up and make more noise?

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 5, 2018 at 4:18 pm

      Should do fine for the most part, as the output grills are not covered in any way. See this pic: https://www.ultrabookreview.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/11/sides-back-3.jpg

      Two things to consider, though:
      1. you might want to raise the bottom in some way to allow better airflow underneath.
      2. The interior will get fairly hot, and that means the screen will get hot as well, as it's in direct contact to the interior in this situation. That might cause issues over time, but it's something you'll have to accept with every laptop and should only be problematic while running games, which I'd reckon you might not do that often.

  9. KC

    December 5, 2018 at 8:16 am

    What would you say about the Lenovo C930 (4K display with soundbar hinge)? Would that be a better option? I know there the x1 ThinkPad line don’t know how that contends…Or jus go MacBook Air?

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 5, 2018 at 4:23 pm

      I haven't personally reviewed it yet, but it should be a solid option. More expensive though. Look into reviews that go in depth on performance and typing experience, I had some nits with those on the previous Yoga 920, not sure if/how they were addressed on the update.

      the X1 Carbon is another good option, but beware of the various quality control quirks. You'll find a review here on the site, and plenty of info on the topic online.

      Don't go for the MacBook Air if you're interested in performance, that's a Core Y laptop with a butterfly keyboard and an obnoxiously high price tag. Rather go for a base MacBook Pro 13 if you absolutely must go that route, but there are better value options on Windows's side imo.

  10. DimTm

    December 8, 2018 at 2:17 pm

    Hi

    I read on the French site "www.lesnumeriques.com", here is the translation, such remarks:

    The Zenbook speakers are placed under the chassis, all the way to the front; the sound sent back to the user strongly depends on the surface on which the PC is placed. Also, the perceived location of the sound source is also very far from the screen, making it unnatural to watch a video.

    "Les haut-parleurs du Zenbook sont placés sous le châssis, tout à l'avant ; une disposition peu judicieuse. Non seulement le son renvoyé vers l'utilisateur dépend fortement de la surface sur laquelle le PC est posé (réfléchissante comme un bureau en PVC, absorbante comme une nappe…), mais la localisation perçue de la source sonore est en plus très éloignée de l'écran, d'où un rendu peu naturel lors du visionnage d'une vidéo."

    What do you think of thèse problems with thé speakers?

    Thank

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 9, 2018 at 4:35 pm

      They comment on the positioning of the speakers, which is not that bad imo. I don't think you'll notice anything unusual when watching movies, the only problem is that you can easily cover them when using the laptop on the lap.

  11. Markus

    December 19, 2018 at 5:43 pm

    I got this model for a good price on black friday.

    However, it had horrible throttling while gaming. For example in "Rime" it was smooth at low settings in the first two minutes, then it would throttle to about 400Mhz GPU and 600Mhz CPU, making it unplayable. I tried undervolting (-100mv), but this just delayed the throttling by a minute or so.

    Asus released bios "300" with "Optimize system performance" as change. However, even with this bios games were unplayable. I returned it after a few days.

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 19, 2018 at 6:53 pm

      Throttling both the CPU and GPU at the same time sounds life a defective unit.

      • Vadim

        January 10, 2019 at 4:44 pm

        Hello. I have the same problem even in simple old games like Quake Live. It's interesting that playing on iGPU – all is ok. But when I play on dGPU – first 5-10 minutes it's ok, but after PC starts throttling to 400Mhz CPU and dGPU starts throttling at the same time. I don't understand what is the real reason of it – CPU or dGPU.

        And it's strange that dGPU always tries to work at about 1600Mhz (before throttling), but there is 1d12 version that has about 1100Mhz boost frequency.

        I can see screens if somebody can help me…

        • Andrei Girbea

          January 10, 2019 at 4:47 pm

          Did you try undervolting the CPU, see what that does? There's no other way around it, except for waiting for some sort of update from Asus. I'd return the product if undervolting doesn't address the matter to some extent. I would expect some throttling in this kind of form-factor, but not to that extent.

  12. Nelson

    December 20, 2018 at 12:08 am

    I can confirm the USB type C port has no display port. I have the UX430, and the just looked and the port has a D symbol next to it that denotes display port compatible. This one lacks the symbol. I always use 2 screens connected to my laptop and the lack of this port is a deal breaker. I might look at the Zenbook 15.

  13. Eetu Tyster

    December 21, 2018 at 12:26 pm

    Review of UX533 coming? Have been asking Asus if it supports 4K@60Hz through USB-C DisplayPort Alternate Mode..

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 23, 2018 at 12:18 pm

      Hopefully in 2019, I don't have a review unit yet.

    • Rayben

      December 24, 2018 at 4:11 am

      Asus Zenbooks apart from the Zenbook Pro line do not support USB-C Power Delivery or Display Out functions. Side note, DPOut cannot exist without PD so if there's no charging support, there's no DP or HDMI support.

      • Eetu Tyster

        December 24, 2018 at 12:26 pm

        On the User Manual of UXx33, refers to UX533 Right side. It is still unanswered will this deliver DP 4K@60Hz

        "USB 3.1 Gen 2 Type-C™/DisplayPort combo port
        The USB 3.1 (Universal Serial Bus 3.1) Gen 2 Type-C™ port
        provides a transfer rate of up to 10 Gbit/s and is backward
        compatible to USB 2.0. Use a USB Type-C™ adapter to connect
        your Notebook PC to an external display."

        • Eetu

          December 27, 2018 at 1:33 pm

          Asus Support answered about UX533 "yes, this port will support 4K@60Hz if the adapter supports it."
          Need to order one and test to be sure..

  14. Akshay

    December 22, 2018 at 9:12 am

    I am thinking of buying the i7 one with discrete GPU,is it worth the investment, as it costs around 5200AED.
    I am just an average user with occasional gaming usage,i will use it for at least 5 years

  15. DimTm

    December 25, 2018 at 7:42 pm

    Hi
    1)
    Tell me which model (number- "XXXX") has such specifications Asus UX433FA-XXXX

    i7
    screen – mat
    16g
    500mb

    Are you there a list of all these models with number "XXXX"?

    2)
    What difference between…"FA" and "FN" – Asus UX433FA VS Asus UX433FN ?

    Thank

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 26, 2018 at 2:37 pm

      1. Look for the models available in your country, they're not the same
      2. It's already mentioned in the article: FN – MX150 GPU, FA- UHD 620 GPU. Everything else is the same.

  16. Minchu

    December 25, 2018 at 8:03 pm

    I bought an ASUS ZenBook-UX433FA. The audio system doesn't work, both speakers and headset. I tried all possible options of downloading their audio drivers and re-installing. Still can't get the audio to work at all. I am extremely disappointed.

    I wonder what kind of testing they do in their factories before they ship their products.

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 26, 2018 at 2:38 pm

      Send it back. Quality control is unfortunately an issue with most manufacturers, I know it's frustrating, but that's just the way it is…

  17. Viasheslav

    December 26, 2018 at 1:28 am

    Hello! Is there an adequate solution to eliminate overheating? It is impossible to play

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 26, 2018 at 2:38 pm

      Undervolting should help.

      • Viasheslav

        December 27, 2018 at 9:49 am

        -90 mv. Not help

  18. Taiwo

    December 26, 2018 at 5:21 am

    Hi guys, I need a laptop for programing, I would have gone for the XPS but it expensive, are the zenbooks great. What would you recommend for me Zenbook Ux333fn or Ux433FN, future docking setup with 4k matters to me. Thanks

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 26, 2018 at 2:39 pm

      I don't think that's a possibility, given there's only USB-C on these laptops and no TB3.

      • Taiwo

        December 26, 2018 at 4:14 pm

        What laptop do you have in mind for me

    • Rayben

      December 30, 2018 at 5:00 am

      Lenovo Ideapad 720s 14 with i5 and MX150. Better than Zenbooks and unlike XPS 13, it has good ports and a dGPU. TB3 (PCIe x2) supports DP 1.2a that allows upto 4096×2160 at 60Hz. It's long overdue for a refresh so you may be able to find one at around $700.

      Source: psref.lenovo.com/syspool/Sys/PDF/Lenovo%20Laptops/ideapad%20720S%20(14_)/ideapad_720S_14-win516.pdf

  19. Booker

    December 27, 2018 at 12:29 am

    I received the UX433FN (with the Geforce 150), several days ago.
    Overall I like it, but I'm worried about heating and noise.
    I noticed 2 instances in which it heated and make loud noise:

    1. when "wsappx" process was running, it made noise and heated for almost an hour I think.
    2. When the MCafee virus scanner auto-ran (for about 10 min)
    In both occassions CPU usage went to about 30%. and according to CoreTemp, the cores heated to about 75-80 C, and the left side of the keyboard was very hot, while noise came from right side of keyboard.

    Does this sound normal, or is my unit faulty? why does this happen at just 30%?
    I can still return if it is faulty.
    Would other ultra-book respond the same way, so if I try to opt for another one it wouldn't really make a difference?

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 29, 2018 at 1:25 pm

      Perhaps others can reply based on their experience with this laptop. The fan was not as aggressive on my test model, but that was not a retail unit. As far as the heat goes, this is a thin-and light laptops with some beefy specs, so it's going to get hot, there's no way around it.

      As far as the second question, I don't think you can find a computer that runs significantly quieter or cooler in this kind of a form-factor. Larger/thicker options, yes, you'll find some of those.

    • kimi

      January 11, 2019 at 9:33 pm

      I had the mcafee issue only once, the fan started to run, but the keyboard wasnt warm as you stated, after the scanner had finished its scanning, may be two minutes or so, the fan noise was gone. I checked it again next day but it ran without the fan and the cpu usage was around 25%.
      I used sound detector the max i got when running games was around 50-55 decibels and normal usage around 30-35.
      I have a issue or am i doing anything wrong, the gpu doesn't seem to be running at it's full capacity at all. Played far cry 3 at ultra settings, for first few scences it was fine and later it fps started to fall so bad, some parts had a freezing kind of thing. Any idea, i checked it youtube MX-q version playing the same game without any trouble.

    • pierrex

      January 14, 2019 at 4:10 am

      hi booker, did you manage to change or something?
      is it the i7 or i5? did you manage to reduce the noise? is it still doing noise when not playing games? thanks a lot, i m very noise sensitive

  20. David

    January 6, 2019 at 3:19 pm

    Do you know something about the anti-glare screen? Will it be the same one from the ux430 (and with bad PWM)?

    I‘m not sure which one i should chose… the ant-glare one is +100,- more..

    Are you going to test the ux480 pro with the screen-touchpad? That‘s also interesting for me (Price +200,-) and has a NVIDIA 1050

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 7, 2019 at 12:02 pm

      I'd reckon it should be the same panel as on this model and not the one on the UX430UN. Can't confirm this for sure though.

      I don't think I'll be able to review the UX480, it's not available in my region.

      • David

        January 8, 2019 at 8:44 pm

        Okay, thank you for your comment!
        I‘ll ask the asus-team about the panel. Maybe i‘ll get a usefull answer.
        Elsewise i‘m going to purchase the anti-glare ux433 and send it back, if there‘s PWM.

  21. Thomas

    January 13, 2019 at 6:17 pm

    Have you noticed, at CES ASUS revealed the ZenBook-14-UX431. I don't see what is the upgrade over UX433FN, it has almost the same specs, only SDD got bigger and so the weight to 1.4kg.

  22. pierrex

    January 14, 2019 at 4:05 am

    hello all,
    i m hesitating between both asus ux480 and ux433.
    i need a 14' with 512g and 16g ram for a good office/firefox work speed, and some photoshop.
    i dont think i need a strong 3D card. however my last asus were noisy (fan) and really anoying.
    have you tried these models? which one do you recommend? and most important are they NOISY.
    thanks a lot

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 14, 2019 at 12:13 pm

      I haven't reviewed the 480, but you can read about the performance, thermals and acoustics of our UX433 sample in the article.

  23. Manuel

    January 14, 2019 at 11:40 pm

    I bought one from amazon.
    It sure looked great, but it had the most horrible coil whine. I never had such an issue with laptops before, not even on my 2011 400€ HP notebook, but I hear it's quite common nowadays.
    I had to send it back, really disappointed with the quality control.

  24. Juffin

    January 15, 2019 at 8:20 am

    I picked up UX433FN on Costco.com (using a 100$ off manufacturer's coupon). After the first use it became obvious that the unit had coil whine and was overheating quite noticeably even at moderate CPU loads. The heat could be felt through the keys, and the back side got uncomfortably hot. Updating BIOS did not resolve these issues. So I exchanged it for another unit, but ran into same exact problems, and on top of that one side of the keyboard on the new unit was making creaking noise. So this one is going back too.

    Is there any hope that ASUS will fix the issues with coil whine and overheating with firmware updates, or is that something to expect from laptops with this form factor? I am not sure whether to give up on this laptop or try another exchange.

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 15, 2019 at 11:40 am

      Coil whine is random and unfortunately common with modern laptops.

      As for overheating, I'd say that's subjective. This is a thin aluminum laptop, so it's normal for it to get hotter than thicker devices when put to work. As per our tests, this one actually doesn't get that hot with regular use, once you get past the initial Windows updates, etc.

  25. Filip

    January 22, 2019 at 7:20 pm

    I'm thinking between this asus and hp envy 13. Hp is now around 880€ and asus 960€ in my country with i5 processor. Primary use: movies, music, word, mail etc., and looking for: good build quality, good screen, speakers and battery life 8+ hours. Ofc I'm open for another laptop suggestion if there is something better.

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 22, 2019 at 7:25 pm

      You're not going to get 8+ h of battery life with any of these, more like 5+ .

      That being said, the HP gets a slightly bigger battery, while the ZenBook gets a larger and brighter screen and better speakers, as well as more modern design. I'd go with the ZenBook

      • Filip

        January 22, 2019 at 7:33 pm

        This was fast :) thx for your reply, and a good review of asus zenbook.

  26. jess

    January 26, 2019 at 1:39 am

    Hello : )
    I'm trying everywhere to buy this laptop in the icicle silver colour and it's only the navy blue everywhere and as if they aren't releasing the silver colour. Where did you get yours???
    jess

  27. Konstantin

    February 7, 2019 at 11:48 am

    Tried 4 different units (i5 with discrete graphics, 256GB, matte screen). The coil whine when plugged in and booting/shutting down in unbearable, really loud. There is also an intermittent speaker noise (cracking, popping, "thud" sound) every minute or so on the last unit. 4K video (youtube, netflix) for more than 5 minutes results in severe temperatures (high-80s, scorching hot on the bottom, can't hold in in your lap, really). Can't return it for a refund, unfortunately, only exchange it with the same model… Undervolting with XTU is not helping (-100/-150). Maybe the WD SSD also plays a role in coil whine, but can't swap that to test it cause it will void warranty. Overall a beautiful notebook with terrible internal design and quality control. Also, there are very limited settings in power options, so any help with turning Turbo Boost off is welcome. I'll also mess with the C-states and see if any of it causes that loud coil whine when plugged-in.

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 7, 2019 at 1:20 pm

      You can disable Turbo Boost with Throttlestop, it allows a bit more options than XTU.

    • David

      February 7, 2019 at 4:55 pm

      I'm from germany und mine had also bad coil whine. It was terrifying, because the fan has been very quiet and all i heard was the whining, the whining and the whining. Anoying!

      i had the ux433 with the anti-glare display. I recommend it. Very bright und good viewing angles. But the performance wasn't as good as i expected. The i5 8265u (with igpu) already throttled at idle! XTU told me "Power Limit Throttling" and "Current Limit Throttling" while ~5% CPU usage. Undervolting didn't work properly. The ssd wasn't very fast, too… The Zenbook felt like having a handbrake. So it's an average notebook with a nice design.
      It's a pity but i sent it back…

    • Flipper

      February 14, 2019 at 5:07 pm

      Is this the "thud" sound your'e speaking about:
      https://imgur.com/gallery/TuiODlx

      I have similar experience, I tried 3 units of the 512GB/16GB RAM notebook.
      The first 2 had a major coil whine whenever the CPU was doing a bit of work.
      In addition, Both had the "thud" sound, sometimes very frequently.

      The third time I exchanged it, I got one with a somewhat different Serial number, and the coil whine was fine, nothing like the first two. This of course means ASUS has serious problem with their QC.

      However, the thud sound is still here, it usually pops up when laptop goes from ~40 degrees to ~50 degrees, like watching a simple yoytube video.
      So this sound seems like a sideffect of parts contraction/expansion as the fan starts to work harder.
      I find this sound very annoying. not sure what to do though, as other than that I'm happy with the notebook, and will probably be unhappy with other notebooks.

      Any idea what to do about this sound?

    • Kevin B

      May 22, 2019 at 1:10 pm

      Hey Konstantin,

      I thought I was the only one experiencing this. I bought one UX433FN here in the Philippines and started noticing that pop that I think comes from the touch pad/palm rest area.

      I firmly second your opinion that Asus has had serious quality control issues as of late. In my case, I had to open 5 UX433FN boxes, to get one that works for me. As my wife said it, you have to settle for the lesser evil in this case as we loved the laptop as it is – especially with the limited options and high laptop prices here in Manila.

  28. Eva

    March 25, 2019 at 5:54 pm

    I'm looking for laptop, mainly for statistics software, GIS, but with god's battery and not too heavy as I need to move with it on daily basis. I consider this Asus Zenbook UX433FN and MSI PS42-8RB, could I find something else with similar price? Which one would be better? I know that MSI has better specs, but I found it really ugly and I don't like keyboard – is there a big difference between Asus and MSI in performance?

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 26, 2019 at 12:39 pm

      they have similar hardware, except for the GPU with the MSI getting the faster MX150 variant. Does GIS actually use the GPU though? I'm not familiar with it.

  29. Jusuf

    March 27, 2019 at 11:53 am

    Hi, this laptop specs, especially weight and compactness very appealing for me. But, I wonder whether this suitable for video editing? Or the ux533 with gtx 1050 is better for video editing?

  30. alex

    April 5, 2019 at 12:39 pm

    Hi, i have the same exact question..should i get this or the ux533 for video editing. I normally do some 3 or 4 minute videos of software products (like demos/trailers) with some title effects, transitions etc on final cut pro on my mac, but want to move to windows (would use premiere i guess).
    Thanks

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 5, 2019 at 2:14 pm

      The CPU's performance in demanding tasks is what you should look at for video editing, which we simulate with the Cinebench loop test in the Performance section. The UX433 is not the best performer in this case, even with undervolting. The UX533, on the other hand, performed really well, so I'd rather recommend it if within budget.

  31. Vismay

    May 15, 2019 at 4:12 pm

    Can anybody please give me the link of this wallpaper?

  32. Benaya Tr

    June 26, 2019 at 3:41 am

    is it normal to here the noise of the laptop touching the table every time I put my left hand on it?
    I mean – the left side is thicker, and so you can here the slight noise when it touches the table…

    plus – does the package include ehtenet adapter? because on the review they show it does, but my package doesnt..
    thanks in advance

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 26, 2019 at 11:23 am

      I don't' exactly understand what you're saying, but the two sides should be the same and the laptop should only touch the surface with its feet. As for the Ethernet adapter, the bundle differs from regions to region.

  33. Andrei Girbea

    June 28, 2019 at 3:07 pm

    Hey, just wanted to update all of you still following this subject that there's a new ZenBook 14 in the works, that should be available in the near future. We're currently spending time with it and gathering our impressions for a review, so if you have any questions, please get in touch in this article: https://www.ultrabookreview.com/28101-asus-zenbook-14-ux434fl-review/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *