Asus Zenbook 13 UX331UN review – Core i5-8250U CPU and Nvidia MX150 graphics

104 Comments

  1. Ahaiss

    January 30, 2018 at 1:20 pm

    Andrei, thnks for the explanation. Is there any forecast for when sales will start?

  2. RadyR

    February 5, 2018 at 11:48 am

    Hi, thank you for this review!
    I've bought this laptop a couple of days ago and I'm kind of disappointed with the touchpad.
    Mine rattles like it's not assembled properly when i just tap on it lightly. I assume it's not normal.
    Andrei: did you experience anything like this on your review unit?

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 5, 2018 at 5:23 pm

      Not that I remember.. Does it rattle when tapped firmer, like it's hollow underneath, or is it clunky and uneven?

      • RadyR

        February 6, 2018 at 5:30 am

        Firm taps/clicks feels ok, but unfortunately I'm used to just tap for click so it is quite annoying in every day usage.
        Made a video (hopefully :) )showcasing what i mean: youtube.com/watch?v=y0sP7_e2RxE
        Best way to describe it would be that the screws (if any) securing the touchpad surface to the laptop base aren't tightened enough.

      • Andrei Girbea

        February 6, 2018 at 5:47 am

        Got it. Well, that didn't occur on my unit as far as I remember. Not sure if there's anyway to fix this yourself though, as the trackpad is beneath the battery and would require a pretty serious disassembly. I'd ask for a replacement if still within the return window.

      • Levi

        March 13, 2018 at 3:35 pm

        Regarding your unit, i tried one out and it did that same issue. Question for you, does your spacebar not register presses if you press the far right of it? Mine would do that, and it was unbearable for me, so I ended up returning it.

      • RadyR

        April 24, 2018 at 8:20 pm

        No, the spacebar is perfectly fine on my unit.

  3. Kah Fei

    February 26, 2018 at 1:01 pm

    Hi Andrei, i have just bought the UX331UN i7 with 16GB Ram and 512GB SSD with MX150 in Singapore for S$1698 (Factory Refreshed unit but is a brand new unit). Hope to see more comments here to share any potential teething problems with the fan running all the time. Very satisfied but I will be pasting a matte brushed metal skin over the glossy finishing soon….

  4. Mico Selva

    March 1, 2018 at 8:25 am

    Hi, Andrei.
    Thanks for all your reviews. I have been considering a 13-14 inch laptop with the 2018 state-of-the art insides (i5-8250U / MX150), but the availability of those here in Poland leaves a lot to be desired.

    I there any chance you might review ASUS Vivobook S14 S410UN in the not-too-far future? It seems to have good value for the price (especially compared to Lenovo Ideapad 720S-14, which is my other option right now), but it would be great to receive an opinion from someone trustworthy before buying.

  5. Brigitte

    March 21, 2018 at 9:38 am

    Hello Andrei!

    Is it realistic to find a laptop at around 650 euros ($ 1000 CDN) where the fan can't be on most of the time, such as in the Asus AX331UN? From what I gather by reading reviews is that the fan can be bothering most of the time in models of that price range, including Asus.
    Thank you in advance for your reply,
    Best,
    Brigitte

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 21, 2018 at 9:50 am

      You might find some, but you'd have to read specific reviews for the models of interest to check details about the fan's behavior. Unfortunately there are so many options out there that I can't recommend something in that budget with a very quiet fan of the top of my mind. It would also depend on the hardware you're after, the size of the laptop, etc.

  6. Justin

    April 2, 2018 at 7:22 pm

    I thought that the ux331un ran ram in LPDDR3 not DDR4. At least this is what I find on all sellers online.

  7. Alessandro

    November 29, 2018 at 1:30 pm

    Hello Andrei,

    You're great but,
    I tryied to install your colour profile on my ux331un with Microsoft Color Control Panel but it doesn't work!!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *