Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Asus ZenBook 15 UX534FTC Asus The ZenBook 15 UX534 remains a competitive product in its class and something I\'d consider if on the market for a beautiful, compact and light notebook with a full-size 15-inch display, excellent everyday performance, some gaming abilities for the spare time, and good battery life, all in a package that won\'t break the bank for you. It\'s not without flaws, though, and perhaps tries too much to be a jack-of-all-trades, that\'s why some of you might actually find better value in the more specialized 15-inch options, either the performance-models or the true ultraportables. Asus ZenBook 15 UX534FTC The ZenBook 15 UX534 remains a competitive product in its class and something I'd consider if on the market for a beautiful, compact and light notebook with a full-size 15-inch display, excellent everyday performance, some gaming abilities for the spare time, and good battery life, all in a package that won't break the bank for you. It's not without flaws, though, and perhaps tries too much to be a jack-of-all-trades, that's why some of you might actually find better value in the more specialized 15-inch options, either the performance-models or the true ultraportables. Andrei Girbea 4 5 https://www.ultrabookreview.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/asus-zenbook-15-ux534ftc-main.jpg Andrei Girbea 4 5

Asus ZenBook 15 UX534 review (UX534FTC – Core i7, GTX 1650, 4K or FHD screen)

14 Comments

  1. Archuk

    October 8, 2019 at 2:51 am

    That's weird. 10th gen has 6 cores instead of 4 and hit over 900 on cinebench on Msi prestige for example. I think some reviews said that there was a difference, they depends on windows performance profiles perhaps? I think there was a link at notebookcheck site… If best you can get is 700 for 10th gen… Then this result is bad

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 8, 2019 at 10:24 pm

      This is 4-core Six-gen. 10510U is 4-core, 10710U is 6-core. There's no 10710U variant on this laptop.

  2. marc

    October 8, 2019 at 8:38 am

    Hi, What I would like to know is which of the mentioned configurations/alternatives listed above (or maybe elsewhere) -except for the configurations that cost way over 2000,- (notmy budget) – is going to offer a better performance (no too much throttling etc.especially on battery) in terms of videoprocessing/rendering (not necessarily gaming) ? Tx, Marc

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 8, 2019 at 10:22 pm

      Not sure about the Lenovo and Acer options. The others are more expensive.

      The thing is, a six-core i7-8750/9750 will help very much for what you need, so I'd advise on going with one of those configurations. Perhaps you can sacrifice on portability to some extent and get something like a Lenovo Y540. Acer Nitro 5?

      • Marc

        October 12, 2019 at 3:05 pm

        I am looking for a 15inch model that's not too heavy. Over here, they sell a coffee lake/i7 (9750H) variant of the Y540 (81SX008DMB) for about 1500-1600 euros. The cooling system seems ok, but the small battery (throttling on battery?) and the weight (2,4kg) scare me off a bit however.

        I was thinking about the X1 extreme ? However, a six core i7 variant (80Wh battery) starts at 2370 euros !

        • Andrei Girbea

          October 14, 2019 at 9:57 am

          What does not too heavy mean for you? The Y540 is competitive, but it's a mid-range laptop with a thicker build and a small battery. Did you check the Asus Zephyrus M or perhaps the Acer Predator Triton 500?

          • Marc

            October 18, 2019 at 11:55 am

            Heavy for me means >= 2kg. The zephyrus S GX502 sells for 1900€ (RTX 2060) and since you gave this 4,5/5 … (don't know difference with RTX 2070)
            https://tweakers.net/pricewatch/1411206/asus-rog-zephyrus-s-gx502gv-es001t-be-(azerty-toetsenbord)/specificaties/
            The Triton 500 is more or less the same price (2000€), same config, same weight (2kg).
            You gave both 4,5/5 ! :)
            With only a small price difference, I would go for the better screen and battery. Any advice on this ?

          • Andrei Girbea

            October 18, 2019 at 1:24 pm

            I'd get the GX502 for these reasons:
            – slightly better build
            – per-key RGB keyboard
            – better control software
            – better thermals
            – cheaper

            Par of the Triton's 4.5 rating is in the competitive pricing in most regions. Should sell for less than the Zephyrus imo.

  3. PJPeter

    October 8, 2019 at 4:28 pm

    You hinted in the article it's coming soon, I'm really looking forward to your comparison of the performance of the i7-10510U and i7-8565U models. I've got a UX534 i7-8565U for the next few days and I'm split between keeping it or getting the new 1650MQ Razer Blade Stealth or the UX534FTC i7-10510U once it becomes available.

    Thanks!
    Peter

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 8, 2019 at 10:23 pm

      It should be up in a few more days. TO keep it very short, though, the 8565U and 10510U are within 2-3% on the UX534, so the 10th gen is not worth waiting for. That Blade Stealth should be very nice if Razer manage to cool the 1650 properly. It's the same chip in the ZenBook.

  4. dunfluq

    October 10, 2019 at 10:22 am

    Hi, thanks for awesome review! Would it be possible for you to review the Lenovo Ideapad S540-15IWL with GTX 1650? It would great to see how it compares to UX534. It seems it is a few hundred $$ cheaper and has a better screen.

    There is almost none reviews on S540 on the internetz. Only Notebookcheck has one. I guess it is just being introduced (at least in Europe).

    Cheers!

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 11, 2019 at 9:57 am

      I'll look for it, but it's not available here, despite the fact that it was announced in Spring.

  5. Vin

    October 13, 2019 at 8:04 pm

    There is a mistake always occuring in the article: you always refer to i7-10710U as the cpu. The only avaible one for the model is 10510U.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *