Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Asus ZenBook UX333 FN Asus The Asus ZenBook UX333 is a mixed bag. On one hand it\'s tiny, well made and powerful, on the other it compromises on the screen\'s brightness, typing experience and IO, and the competitive pricing might not be enough to compensate for all these. That\'s why we rate the UX333FN variants at a potential 4/5 if they prove to deliver the performance expected from the hardware platform, while the UX333FA variants score a lower 3.75, as they sacrifice functionality and pale in front of the alternatives available these days in the thin-and-light niche. We\'ll explain why in the detailed article below. Asus ZenBook UX333 FN The Asus ZenBook UX333 is a mixed bag. On one hand it's tiny, well made and powerful, on the other it compromises on the screen's brightness, typing experience and IO, and the competitive pricing might not be enough to compensate for all these. That's why we rate the UX333FN variants at a potential 4/5 if they prove to deliver the performance expected from the hardware platform, while the UX333FA variants score a lower 3.75, as they sacrifice functionality and pale in front of the alternatives available these days in the thin-and-light niche. We'll explain why in the detailed article below. Andrei Girbea 4 5 https://www.ultrabookreview.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/11/zenbook-ux333-main2.jpg Andrei Girbea 4 5

Asus ZenBook UX333 review (UX333FN – Core i7-8565U, MX150)

17 Comments

  1. Brendan

    December 12, 2018 at 1:31 am

    Hello. I am a frequent traveler in need of a laptop that will be able to handle my workload. I do a lot of teaching online via Skype. I also do type quite often. I don't often have the screen too bright as it bothers my eyes. Would this laptop be good (333FX)? Would you recommend it?

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 12, 2018 at 11:08 am

      This gets a small keyboard, so it wouldn't be my first choice if I were to do a lot of typing. I'd rather go with the XPS 13 or some of the smaller Lenovo ThinkPads, if within budget.

  2. eric

    December 15, 2018 at 9:59 pm

    Still waiting for the gaming performance update,
    im not gonna use it for heavy-gaming-use, but sometimes i need to play
    keep up the good work!

  3. Markus

    December 19, 2018 at 3:06 pm

    I had the 14" version of this, UX433FN.
    It had horrible throttling while gaming. For example in "Rime" it was smooth at low settings in the first two minutes, then it would throttle to about 400Mhz GPU and 600Mhz CPU, making it unplayable. I returned it a day later.

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 19, 2018 at 3:37 pm

      We had issues with the UX433FN as well, but our model was pre-production and I was hoping the retail versions would do better: https://www.ultrabookreview.com/23479-asus-zenbook-ux433fn-review/#a5

    • Vadim

      January 10, 2019 at 4:41 pm

      Hello. I have the same problem even in simple old games like Quake Live. It's interesting that playing on iGPU – all is ok. But when I play on dGPU – first 5-10 minutes it's ok, but after PC starts throttling to 400Mhz CPU and dGPU starts throttling at the same time. I don't understand what is the real reason of it – CPU or dGPU.

      And it's strange that dGPU always tries to work at about 1600Mhz (before throttling), but there is 1d12 version that has about 1100Mhz boost frequency.

      I can see screens if somebody can help me…

  4. Yang Yang

    January 28, 2019 at 6:21 am

    Hi Andrei,

    You did mention that the exhaust hot air which blown to the lcd panel will have a negative impact. Do you mind to share what is it?

    I just bought this 13 inch model and found there is no UEFI. Is it normal for the laptop release on this year to not having the UEFI?

    Thank you in advance for your answer.

  5. Bagus Surochman

    February 7, 2019 at 5:43 am

    Best review., thanks .,

  6. Mark

    February 21, 2019 at 5:55 pm

    Does anyone know where the lock screen photo of UX333 is? I know its from windows spotlight. Just wondering where it is. Thanks!

  7. bob

    February 23, 2019 at 4:31 am

    where do I buy this configuration? I can't find it anywhere!

  8. Wandi

    March 6, 2019 at 3:56 pm

    Thanks for the review!

  9. Rodrigo

    March 7, 2019 at 5:19 am

    Hi,
    Do you know if the users are having troubles with the battery?
    I bought a UX333FA in US, but the battery seems to have problems. I only got 7h with battery saver and just browsing. Asus says it would last 14h and i'm getting just 1/2 of that.
    Asus sad to me to reinstall windows, reset and update the bios, but i haven't seen any progress. I would have to send the unit for them which is big disappoitment, i had the UX330UA – 7gen and the battery was superb.Even after 2 years.

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 7, 2019 at 12:17 pm

      Read the battery section in the review. You're never going to get 14h in real life, unfortunately, that's more or less false advertising. 5-7 h of daily use is normal from a 50 Wh battery, and up to 10 with video.

  10. Rodrigo

    March 9, 2019 at 3:41 am

    Hi, sorry I haven't seen your reply before.
    Yes, I read the battery section in the review, which shows a slightly margin over my notebook.
    I can't understand, why Asus does it? This something that goes against the brand. When I had the previous Asus they advertised it as 12h and I got 10h, which is okay. Small difference. But now, it's a huge lie to the customers.
    For example, when you check the Dell Inspiron 13 7000, the company says that the battery would last 9h, but the users only got 3h. Too many people complain on Dell website.

  11. George G

    March 9, 2019 at 7:41 am

    I can't understand how I can keep the battery from loading and unloading constantly as I have the laptop plugged in always when I am at my office. Has anybody heard of an Energy Manager like Lenovo has? that thing worked perfect on my old laptop.

    Am searching now for some time online but no hits, would appreciate any help.
    Thanks and keep up the amazing work.

    PS
    I have the laptop now for 3 weeks and am very happy with it, coming from a Yoga pro 2

    • Rodrigo

      March 20, 2019 at 3:49 pm

      Have you tried MyAsus->Charging mode?

  12. Advait Modi

    March 17, 2019 at 9:43 pm

    Laptop is not available on Amazon.
    Can some please tell me where I can purchase the same.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *