Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Asus ZenBook 14 UM425 review (UM425IA – AMD Ryzen 7 4700U)

30 Comments

  1. LHPSU

    August 8, 2020 at 7:03 pm

    I cannot morally support the purchase for any notebook that doesn't have a 3.5mm jack. If you're actually super-duper thin and light, then MAYBE, but this is just a normal ultrabook.

    • LHPSU

      August 8, 2020 at 7:05 pm

      On a sidenote, Asus seems to have an obsession with producing products that are perfect in every way, except for one deal-breaker for me.

  2. william blake

    August 8, 2020 at 9:30 pm

    for me, this is another reminder of how dumb the laptop market is
    – 15w chip means one heatpipe for you. and one 6k rpm tiny cooler. this is the law.
    – but i dont wanna hear 40db noise, cmon its a 15w, i can cool it down by blowing on it. ok how much for the extra heatpipe and extra low-rpm cooler, 10 dollars..50? im ready to pay
    – NO

  3. william blake

    August 8, 2020 at 9:35 pm

    i forgot…man, you need a database. it's a shame that no one returns to this place to compare hardware.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 9, 2020 at 9:56 am

      that's something we've been considering for years, but never got the resources to do it till now

      • william blake

        August 9, 2020 at 12:48 pm

        ask for the help. reddit, discord, youtube. not realy a bid deal(i think) for an average programmer and hardware enthusiast. you can make a more simplistic ratings than, lets say, notebookcheck. much less laptop numbers than there.. database is not the biggest part of what you did already.

  4. Nuno

    August 10, 2020 at 11:43 am

    On the asus website, it says that the SSD is x2, but in your review they say it is x4. Which one will be right? It seems to me that ssd is the same in both versions (amd and intel).

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 10, 2020 at 11:55 am

      Yes, I noticed that too, but my unit came with a PCIe x4 drive as mentioned and illustrated in the article

      • Nuno

        August 10, 2020 at 11:58 am

        Okay, but it's weird

  5. Julz

    August 12, 2020 at 5:10 pm

    Thanks for the review! There is another dealbreaker at least for me. You can only get 32GB for Ram on the Intel version, not the AMD one. I wonder how much Intel paid Asus on this…

  6. Peter

    August 16, 2020 at 3:44 pm

    So most probably this is the choice…
    Awaiting for Lenovo Slim 7 availability makes me angry every new week.
    This Asus looks like a fair competitor.

  7. Aastha P

    August 17, 2020 at 5:44 pm

    I really need ASAP suggestion for laptop.I am a post-grad student who has to do programming for project which is mostly related to Machine Learning (python programming),matlab programming and xilinx(verilog programming).
    I am currently using ASUS S550C laptop and have to buy a laptop which can help me with smooth completion of my degree.I need to buy soon.and i am unable to decide what will be good.One thing is for sure i loved the idea of numpad on mousepad.That's cool what i found.My budget is upto Rs.70,000(~800 euro).Please help.

    • Chris

      September 5, 2020 at 8:34 pm

      I would recommend Lenovo Legion 5 with Ryzen 7 4800H and an upgrade to 16 GB RAM. Maybe a bit over your budget but it will do MATLAB fine. It has 15.6" screen with a numpad on the keyboard as well. Python shouldn't be a problem, but for MATLAB, if you have to compile thousands lines of code over days, a powerful CPU and a good heat management will play a big part. I've been there before. Cheers.

      • Daniel

        September 12, 2020 at 12:08 pm

        Chris, I'm sorry but the Lenovo is a big chunk of s**t even if its powerfull, its so big and thick, Its just better to just buy a Desktop PC already, its not portable at all for a programming student.

  8. Elena

    August 24, 2020 at 12:42 am

    Hi! Can you review Huawei’s Matebook D14? Thanks!

  9. Brian

    September 3, 2020 at 1:42 pm

    ''with the SSD only running at excellent mid-40s with games.''

    In the Intel version review you were talking about ''we measured high temperatures of around 65 C in our storage tests, and average temperatures in the 53-58 degrees''

    It sounds like this AMD version runs a cooler ssd, but ofcourse gaming is different then a storage test, but gaming is more heavy then the average temp of 53-58 degress I think.

    So am I right if I see this one runs much cooler?

    PS Keep up the good work, outstanding reviews! (Im already reading for like 3 hours haha)

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 3, 2020 at 11:13 pm

      yea, I don't have a clear explanation for that, but the SSD seems to runs hotter in the Intel models that I've tested. Might be the different drives, maybe some are better at dissipating heat that others.

  10. Daniel

    September 6, 2020 at 6:19 pm

    Is there any performance improve in the retail model?

  11. Palmer

    September 26, 2020 at 8:48 am

    where can i buy the one with 1w display

  12. Søren Jensen

    September 27, 2020 at 1:44 am

    Any news from ASUS on wether the different keyboards were intentional or not?

    .. And currently using a Macbook Pro (before butterfly of course), I must say, a big concern for me with an ultrabook is the quality of the touchpad (and keyboard). The display can be bright and beautiful, but if the touchpad feels unresponsive and poor, even while the keyboard is great, that breaks the entire experience for me.
    – So, since I do not have any way of testing it without ordering it myself: Compared to a macbook touchpad, how does this one hold up?

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 28, 2020 at 9:57 am

      The touchpad is fine, but not MacBook level. It's smooth and responsive imo on the few recent zenBook samples that I've tested

  13. Chris

    October 8, 2020 at 4:39 pm

    I cannot find 1W display option in any shop in Europe.
    Was that a hoax?

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 8, 2020 at 4:57 pm

      No hoax, but probably not available yet. Can't say when it will be, though

    • moogholland

      October 11, 2020 at 4:05 pm

      You can find it in germany

  14. Pankaj Pandey

    October 16, 2020 at 10:52 pm

    I am planning to do programming on this machine. Will it be good ?

  15. Dylan

    November 5, 2020 at 1:53 pm

    I'm very much interested to pick this unit up but i have a few questions

    1) Does the HDMI 2.0 or USB-C ports support 1440p 144hz or 1080p 240hz?
    2) How does Vega compared to latest 11th Gen Tiger Lake Xe graphics? i play some basic game like CSGO and Dota 2, can i expect consistent 80-100fps at 1080p setting?
    3) Can the screen be calibrated using Spyder? If yes, how accurate can that be calibrated to?
    4) Do you have an update on the 400nits screen?

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 5, 2020 at 2:05 pm

      1. Haven't tried it but it should. Runs 1440P+ at 60 Hz just fine, but I don't have a faster monitor.
      2 and 4: See this for comparison,the screens and gaming sections: https://www.ultrabookreview.com/41841-asus-zenbook-14-ux425ea-review/#a4 . Haven't tested CS:GO, but Dota 2 should be there if you trim the details towards min. Tiger Lake is generally a little faster, but depends on the implementation.
      3. Should be. I'd expect the same results as what we got with the Spyder.

  16. Crb

    November 8, 2020 at 12:38 am

    @Andrei, spune mi te rog o părere intre Huawei matebook 14 r5 16gb 512gb vs Asus Zenbook r5 8gb 512gb

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 9, 2020 at 11:08 am

      I haven"t reviewed the MateBook 14 with the 2020 Ryzen hardware, so can't comment on it

  17. Daniel Grigoras

    November 21, 2020 at 4:39 pm

    How about comparing it to Tiger Lake rather than Ice Lake?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *