Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Asus ZenBook 14 UM433IQ ASUS The AMD Ryzen 4000 and Nvidia MX350 platforms in the ZenBook 14 UM433 deliver performance unmatched by compact $1000 ultrabooks in the past, and even the AMD Renoir only versions can hold their way in simpler games, making them competitive options on a lower budget. Specs aside, the ZenBook 14 UM433 is also a compact, lightweight, and well-made ultrabook, with a fair-quality IPS matte screen, decent IO, a fast keyboard, and good battery life. However, the basic thermal design limits the potential performance in combined loads and games, and I\'m not a fan of the exhaust blowing hot air straight into the screen or that frustrating silver keyboard with white backlighting. Asus ZenBook 14 UM433IQ The AMD Ryzen 4000 and Nvidia MX350 platforms in the ZenBook 14 UM433 deliver performance unmatched by compact $1000 ultrabooks in the past, and even the AMD Renoir only versions can hold their way in simpler games, making them competitive options on a lower budget. Specs aside, the ZenBook 14 UM433 is also a compact, lightweight, and well-made ultrabook, with a fair-quality IPS matte screen, decent IO, a fast keyboard, and good battery life. However, the basic thermal design limits the potential performance in combined loads and games, and I'm not a fan of the exhaust blowing hot air straight into the screen or that frustrating silver keyboard with white backlighting. Andrei Girbea 4.25 5 https://www.ultrabookreview.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/05/asus-zenbook-um433iz-MAIN.jpg Andrei Girbea 4.25 5

Asus ZenBook 14 UM433IQ review (AMD Ryzen 7 4700U, Nvidia MX350)

18 Comments

  1. Dan

    May 5, 2020 at 7:11 pm

    Very poor proof reading.
    The Good "fine IPS touchscreen, but not very bright" yet states "At the same time, you’re not going to get a touchscreen with this product"

    Video "Intel UHD 620 + Nvidia MX350"

  2. Mikita

    May 6, 2020 at 11:06 am

    Why laptop makers never install good quality touchscreen displays into Ryzen-powered laptops? Is it prohibited by some law?

  3. Chris

    May 6, 2020 at 1:43 pm

    Hey guys I do not know if this is possible but could you check how the setup performs with the dGPU only taking care of PhysX ?
    This could be the best performance scenario for games.

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 6, 2020 at 2:41 pm

      I no longer have this around. PhysiX was set on Auto in our tests, which is the standard-setting, why would changing it to dGPU only make any difference?

      • Chris

        May 6, 2020 at 4:12 pm

        From my experience offloading physx increases performance by about 10% in typical games, found this out when I noticed my old mobo was not Sli compatible. As both gpus won't play together in this way, it might be a clever solution to boost overall performance. I'm not an expert!

        • Andrei Girbea

          May 6, 2020 at 5:11 pm

          I've never tried it, so I can't comment on whether it makes a difference or not. I doubt it can go past the main problem here, which is the limited thermal module

  4. LHPSU

    May 6, 2020 at 7:45 pm

    Great to see the MX350 vs Vega comparison. There have been some idiots claiming that the Renoir iGPU is comparable to the MX350, and it clearly isn't. Did the games without data simply fail to run at all for the Vega?

    I like the keyboard layout, but good god white on silver is just awful.

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 6, 2020 at 7:58 pm

      Yes, Red Dead didn't start on Vega. For what is worth, though, I wouldn't judge these platforms based on this single review, especially one that's thermally limited. I'd expect both the Vega and the MX350 chips to score higher in better designs.

    • zarkonj

      May 8, 2020 at 12:11 pm

      I would not be so sure about this. Imagine they dropped de MX350, used a Ryzen 4800U and increased the TDP of the APU to 25 Watts. And for the icing on the cake cooled it properly, so it would sustain clock speeds. Which all would have been possible if it weren't for the dGPU.

      I believe that configuration would come very close to the MX350 – or mights even beat it. Just wait for other OEMs to this. Since the Zenbooks aren't famous for great cooling anyway, other devices could perform way better. Just take a look at the Huawei Matebook D14 with a Ryzen 3500U. They managed to properly cool it and it outperformed even all Ryzen 3700, i5-10210u/i7-10510u, i7-1065G7…

      Can't wait to see the performance of such a device with only 4800U and no dGPU…

      • Andrei Girbea

        May 8, 2020 at 12:24 pm

        A properly cooled MX350 would still beat the Vega8 in games, and by a fair margin. See this, where we compared an ideal Vega8 implementation with the limited MX350 on this ZenBook: https://www.ultrabookreview.com/38004-amd-vega-7-8-mx350-benchmarks/ . That's on a 4900Hs with excellent cooling, something you're not going to get on any 4800U implementation.

        I agree that other Ryzen U laptop will perform better than this one, but the MX350 is still a more capable GPU.

        • zarkonj

          May 8, 2020 at 12:42 pm

          Alright, it did outperform it – but not by very much. We'll have to wait for some properly cooled, 25-Watt 4800U devices.

          I imagine that it is just easier to cool only this APU without a dGPU and so keep sustained performance. In that article you assume the mx350 will perform better when properly cooled – which for sure is true.

          But I just feel like there will be more properly cooled and thus better performing systems out there, housing only an 4800U APU with Vega8, than there will be lets say 4700U + MX350 devices which can sustain performance. In such a case the gap between Vega8 and MX350 would become smaller – which makes the mx350 questionable in Renoir-Ultrabooks. Intel devices on the other will clearly profit from a dGPU.

          • Andrei Girbea

            May 8, 2020 at 1:06 pm

            Yep, you're right. Ryzen 5 + MX350 would still pair very well imo, but 7 4700U and especially 4800U, not that much.

        • Dan

          May 22, 2020 at 5:20 am

          Hello,

          Thank you for very useful review. Definitely, Asus could have done better job here.

          There are also rumours about the similarly specced Zenbook UX434IQ launching soon. Do you think it's the same laptop?

          • Andrei Girbea

            May 22, 2020 at 8:39 am

            I think those early rumors reported this UM433IQ as a UX434IQ. If you'll look at the HWinfo picture, it reports this as both UX434IQ and UM433IQ in that BIOS version. That's why I don't think they're going to have a different IQ model for now.

  5. Andrew

    May 7, 2020 at 5:52 pm

    Once again AMD variant is fcked with that shitty color. Ideapad/Yoga looking way more attractive, especially with USB-C charging/video.

  6. Dan

    May 21, 2020 at 8:32 pm

    The part marking on the Micron part in your picture looks up to be LPDDR4 4266 in as 1Gb x 32b. Are you sure it was configured as DDR4 3200?
    https://www.micron.com/support/tools-and-utilities/fbga?fbga=D9WLQ#pnlFBGA

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 21, 2020 at 9:58 pm

      Pff, you're right, that's LPPDDR4. Thanks, I'll address the article.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *