Real notebook reviews and analysis by real people

Asus Zenbook 14 UX434 review (UX434FLC and UX434FL – Core i7, Nvidia MX250)

17 Comments

  1. Abdiel

    June 30, 2019 at 6:06 am

    I am actually not so interested in the ScreenPad and touchscreen on this new coming model for zenbooks. Do you think is worth still waiting for these new models instead of just buying a zenbook UX433, for example? Have you notice any major differences in performance?

    Thanks!

  2. Delos Wilbur

    November 12, 2019 at 8:13 pm

    I would be careful with the quality control on this, or maybe in my case more the quality of the Asus repair depots. My USBC port stopped working for video output (other functionality works) and after sending it in three times they finally sent it back with message that Asus UX434 does not support external video via USBC port only via the HDMI… yeah, they literally said that. Sidenote, I was using the USBC port for external monitors for over a month before it stopped working.
    Ironically I didn't have any of the other quality problems other people mentioend though the keyboard does flex a lot when typing.

  3. mauri

    January 8, 2020 at 11:37 am

    Thank you so much for this great review.
    How is possible to distinguish the version with touchscreen and without it?
    Thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 8, 2020 at 11:49 am

      Just look at the specs or ask the seller if it's touch or not.

      • mauri

        January 8, 2020 at 11:53 am

        Is not possible to identify it with the model number?
        For example UX434FL-A6019T or UX434FL-A5801T or UX434FL-DB77

        • Andrei Girbea

          January 8, 2020 at 12:05 pm

          Wait a minute, I don't think there's a matte option for the UX434FL anymore. Used to be for the UX433, but no longer for this update. I'd still ask the seller just to be sure, if possible.

  4. Daniel V

    January 22, 2020 at 3:40 pm

    I cannot see clearly in he picture but is the wireless cad soldered or slotted in a mini-pci-x slot?
    It would be handy to be slotted as I'd swap it for a hakintoshable one.

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 27, 2020 at 11:57 am

      I haven't looked at it any further, so can't tell for sure either with that piece of plastic on top

  5. Andreas Immanuel Mulianto

    May 10, 2020 at 9:18 am

    Since the USB C does not support video, can it be used to connect to USB C docking station so that I can have more USB, HDMI and Ethernet ports?

  6. Dhirendra Oke

    October 25, 2020 at 9:26 am

    Can I upgrade to 2 TB INTERNAL SSD FROM existing 512 GB in my ASUS ZenBook UX 434 FLC with Intel I7 8565 U CPU?

  7. Branton

    November 28, 2020 at 6:19 pm

    Realise this is an older article, but I have an ASUS (UX303L, bought in Hong Kong) with a similar design where the exhaust blows hot hair directly to the bottom of the screen. This laptop is 6 years old so it's held up well, BUT the screen nearly fell off when the laptop was only 2 years old. Not the hinge itself, but the connection between the metal hinge and the screen. ASUS got it fixed, but I believe the hot air melted / loosened the glue, and for a short it was a scary experience just opening / closing the lid.

    Surprised ASUS still has this design flaw in its latest laptops. Good news my laptop has no issues since, perhaps they used way more glue, but I've also stopped gaming on this laptop. Just something to be highly aware of.

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 28, 2020 at 8:25 pm

      Thanks for the feedback. Older Asus laptops of that time had some issue with the bottom-part of the screen tearing-up in time and as far as I know, Asus fixed the design, as I haven't seen many complaints in recent years.

      My worries are rather on the panel degrading which could translate in the image getting burned/discolored in that area, especially on models with a matte screen and no layer of extra glass on top. Still, many manufactures use this sort of design with the exhaust just under the screen these days, so perhaps this is less of an issue than I might think.

  8. Gaby

    January 25, 2021 at 12:52 pm

    Hello Andrei,

    Do you know anything about this version? :
    ASUS ZenBook 14" FHD i7-10610U 16GB/1TB SSD MX350 Win10 Pro blau UX434FQ-A5019R
    the heating problem is interested in me mostly…

    Thnks, Gaby

  9. Christos

    February 4, 2021 at 7:15 pm

    Hi Andrei,
    between UX434FQC (i5-10210U/8 GB/GeForce MX350) and
    UX434FLC-XH77 (i7-10510U/16GB/GeForce MX250), at almost the same price, which one do you think will perform better at games?

    Thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 4, 2021 at 7:43 pm

      the MX350 model for sure. Just make sure those 8 GB of RAM are enough for what you need, long term, there's no way to update. If possible, I'd reach for a 16 GB configuration on the FQC

  10. Christos

    February 5, 2021 at 12:13 am

    Thanks a lot mate!

    C.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *