Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Acer Swift 3 SF314-55 Acer This laptop is an excellent update of the previous 14-inch Swift 3s. It\'s a slightly more expensive product, but at the same time it fixes many of their issues and compromises on very few aspects. The compact form-factor, the excellent build quality, the fast and accurate keyboard, the matte IPS screen, the hardware specs, the performance and the speakers are among its main top selling points, but at the same time potential buyers have to accept the slightly heavier construction and the fact that it runs hot with demanding loads. Acer Swift 3 SF314-55 This laptop is an excellent update of the previous 14-inch Swift 3s. It's a slightly more expensive product, but at the same time it fixes many of their issues and compromises on very few aspects. The compact form-factor, the excellent build quality, the fast and accurate keyboard, the matte IPS screen, the hardware specs, the performance and the speakers are among its main top selling points, but at the same time potential buyers have to accept the slightly heavier construction and the fact that it runs hot with demanding loads. Andrei Girbea 4.25 5 https://www.ultrabookreview.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/08/acer-swift-sf314-55-main.jpg Andrei Girbea 4.25 5

Acer Swift 3 review (SF314-55G – i3-8145U, Nvidia MX150)

20 Comments

  1. DavidC1

    September 7, 2018 at 3:51 am

    The lower than standard battery capacity shouldn't be a con, when the device is efficient enough to reach good battery life.

    -The Yoga 730 reviewed uses substantially more power.
    -The Zenbook S UX391 uses much more power.
    -Yoga 920-13IKB Glass uses much more power, and gets same battery life despite using 45% larger battery.

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 10, 2018 at 12:59 pm

      Yes, you have a point. This laptop runs more efficiently than others. Edited

  2. drifto

    September 23, 2018 at 7:52 am

    Hi, is the HDMI port 2.0 or 1.4, I'm curious if I can use my 4k monitor at 60hz with this laptop. Thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 23, 2018 at 8:32 pm

      As far as I remember, it's 1.4 . But please double check with other sources.

  3. Lison

    October 11, 2018 at 3:55 am

    Really no TB3, touchscreen options and upgradable RAM? Also I don't remember any modern Acer laptop with a decent keyboard. The Ideapad 720s 14 came out last year for $750 MSRP (and that was i5 iirc) and now more than a year later Acer, Asus and HP are all still playing catch up it seems.

    I may be missing something but are there any practical benefits to that flipped board design?

  4. Jennings W

    October 24, 2018 at 6:04 pm

    I'm currently typing this on a Swift 3 SF314-52G that I'm probably sending back as the place I ordered it from had it listed as new and I was sent a recertified laptop. My question is about the Swift 3 SF314-54. The one I was looking at is the I5 with integrated graphics chip and 256GB SSD. My question was about the screen brightness. I haven't been able to find any reviews of the 54 model series online, and it looks like the 55 and 56 will be a bit of a price jump here, as I can get the above mentioned model for $650 (US). The SF314-52G does have a rather dim screen and its very reflective when near windows. The SF314-54 lists what is called ComfyView, which I assume is the matte screen finish on the newer versions. But I cannot find any information on the screen brightness/nits of this model. From your reviews, it looks like a 50% increase from the 52 to the 55/56 models, so I was curious as to whether the 54 may use the same screen as the 55/56. Also, whether there is an extra HDD/SDD slot in the SF314-54 would be helpful.
    Thanks,
    Jennings W

  5. STH

    November 14, 2018 at 3:16 am

    Is this model available in the US?

  6. Syed

    November 19, 2018 at 1:50 pm

    Wow, that was a super-comprehensive review, this really addresses all the short-comings of the previous Acer Swift 3 SF314-52G. The listing on their website is too expensive. Any idea, when it'll come to amazon with a more affordable price tag?

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 19, 2018 at 2:15 pm

      No idea on their availability plans other than what mentioned in the article. I'd reckon it should be listed by January, not sure if earlier. It's already available in over here in Europe, for what it's worth.

  7. John

    November 28, 2018 at 7:11 pm

    Awesome review, super informative and I love how comparable it is to the older reviews on older models. I'm glad someone is keeping up with acer notebooks as they have been greatly increasing in quality over the past few years. This updated Swift 3 seems to have cleared all my problems with the older models, particularly screen quality and weight. It's awesome how they managed to slim and down AND improve battery life. When this laptop gets on Amazon I will be buying it asap.

  8. focus

    November 29, 2018 at 10:14 pm

    This review and the others on this site were really helpful in deciding which notebook to buy. I Just bought the Acer Swift 3 SF314-55G with i5 CPU and MX150 GPU for 890€ in Germany.

    • Pat

      January 19, 2019 at 10:15 pm

      Can you give us a short feedback on how it performs?
      How "silent" is the Laptop in your configuration?
      Thank you!

  9. ks

    March 11, 2019 at 12:19 pm

    I just bought an i7-8565u model for around 800 dollars on a sale.
    can i add any ram on it? mine have 8gb of ram

  10. Damian

    June 25, 2019 at 12:15 am

    Thanks for the review. Can you tell me if the hinges are unibody? I had the Aspire S 13 and within weeks the back of the LCD was peeling away from the rest of the LCD panel because of the way it was attached to the hinges all of the pressure went on the back piece. Really horrible design. Is Swift 3 similar?

    https://i.imgur.com/6cErDPX.jpg

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 25, 2019 at 12:11 pm

      Hmm, I wasn't aware of that issue. As far as I can tell, this Swift 3 is built stronger than the older variants, but the hinge design looks similar tot he one you mentioned.

  11. Manav

    July 22, 2019 at 7:21 am

    I just picked up this laptop. Thank you for the awesome review. I have a question for the author or anyone who can answer: in the picture in the noise/speakers section of the review, the back panel of the laptop is removed. I would like to repaste the cpu, but I have no idea what that white band looking thing is that stretches across the heatsink, and whether it can be removed or not. Can anyone shed some light on what that is?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *