Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Acer Swift 3 SF314-55 Andrei Girbea Rating: 4.25 out of 5

Acer Swift 3 review (SF314-55G 2018 model – i3-8145U, Nvidia MX150 Max-Q)

17 Comments

  1. DavidC1

    September 7, 2018 at 3:51 am

    The lower than standard battery capacity shouldn't be a con, when the device is efficient enough to reach good battery life.

    -The Yoga 730 reviewed uses substantially more power.
    -The Zenbook S UX391 uses much more power.
    -Yoga 920-13IKB Glass uses much more power, and gets same battery life despite using 45% larger battery.

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 10, 2018 at 12:59 pm

      Yes, you have a point. This laptop runs more efficiently than others. Edited

  2. drifto

    September 23, 2018 at 7:52 am

    Hi, is the HDMI port 2.0 or 1.4, I'm curious if I can use my 4k monitor at 60hz with this laptop. Thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 23, 2018 at 8:32 pm

      As far as I remember, it's 1.4 . But please double check with other sources.

  3. Lison

    October 11, 2018 at 3:55 am

    Really no TB3, touchscreen options and upgradable RAM? Also I don't remember any modern Acer laptop with a decent keyboard. The Ideapad 720s 14 came out last year for $750 MSRP (and that was i5 iirc) and now more than a year later Acer, Asus and HP are all still playing catch up it seems.

    I may be missing something but are there any practical benefits to that flipped board design?

  4. Jennings W

    October 24, 2018 at 6:04 pm

    I'm currently typing this on a Swift 3 SF314-52G that I'm probably sending back as the place I ordered it from had it listed as new and I was sent a recertified laptop. My question is about the Swift 3 SF314-54. The one I was looking at is the I5 with integrated graphics chip and 256GB SSD. My question was about the screen brightness. I haven't been able to find any reviews of the 54 model series online, and it looks like the 55 and 56 will be a bit of a price jump here, as I can get the above mentioned model for $650 (US). The SF314-52G does have a rather dim screen and its very reflective when near windows. The SF314-54 lists what is called ComfyView, which I assume is the matte screen finish on the newer versions. But I cannot find any information on the screen brightness/nits of this model. From your reviews, it looks like a 50% increase from the 52 to the 55/56 models, so I was curious as to whether the 54 may use the same screen as the 55/56. Also, whether there is an extra HDD/SDD slot in the SF314-54 would be helpful.
    Thanks,
    Jennings W

  5. STH

    November 14, 2018 at 3:16 am

    Is this model available in the US?

  6. Syed

    November 19, 2018 at 1:50 pm

    Wow, that was a super-comprehensive review, this really addresses all the short-comings of the previous Acer Swift 3 SF314-52G. The listing on their website is too expensive. Any idea, when it'll come to amazon with a more affordable price tag?

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 19, 2018 at 2:15 pm

      No idea on their availability plans other than what mentioned in the article. I'd reckon it should be listed by January, not sure if earlier. It's already available in over here in Europe, for what it's worth.

  7. John

    November 28, 2018 at 7:11 pm

    Awesome review, super informative and I love how comparable it is to the older reviews on older models. I'm glad someone is keeping up with acer notebooks as they have been greatly increasing in quality over the past few years. This updated Swift 3 seems to have cleared all my problems with the older models, particularly screen quality and weight. It's awesome how they managed to slim and down AND improve battery life. When this laptop gets on Amazon I will be buying it asap.

  8. focus

    November 29, 2018 at 10:14 pm

    This review and the others on this site were really helpful in deciding which notebook to buy. I Just bought the Acer Swift 3 SF314-55G with i5 CPU and MX150 GPU for 890€ in Germany.

    • Pat

      January 19, 2019 at 10:15 pm

      Can you give us a short feedback on how it performs?
      How "silent" is the Laptop in your configuration?
      Thank you!

  9. ks

    March 11, 2019 at 12:19 pm

    I just bought an i7-8565u model for around 800 dollars on a sale.
    can i add any ram on it? mine have 8gb of ram

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *