Real notebook reviews and analysis by real people

Asus ZenBook 14 UX425 review (UX425EA – i5 & i7 Tiger Lake models)

18 Comments

  1. Mihael Alexandru

    October 26, 2020 at 7:21 pm

    Is the Zenbook 14" UX425EA a good choice over Lenovo Yoga Slim 7? And will Lenovo launch a Yoga Slim with Intels 11th gen?

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 26, 2020 at 7:26 pm

      Depends on what you need it for. Gaming performance should be a step-up on this ZenBooks, which also looks nicer, offers a better keyboard/clickpad, better screen and is more compact/lighter. The Slim is more affordable though, and much more competent in multithreaded applications with the Ryzen hardware.

      There should be an Intel update of the Slim 7 at some point.

      • Mihael Alexandru

        October 26, 2020 at 7:57 pm

        Ty for your quick response. I'm looking for a slim reliable good-looking laptop mainly for online courses, projects at University, and internet surfing. But at the same time, I would like to play occasionally some light games like Dota 2 or CS:GO (but not on the very best-looking preset) without damaging the unit in the long run. Will the 11th gen Asus model do the job or should I look toward other models?

        • Andrei Girbea

          October 26, 2020 at 8:25 pm

          It's a good contender, but so is the Slim 7, especially given that's also more affordable. Up to you if you're willing to pay extra for the form-factor and other small advantages

  2. xpclient

    October 28, 2020 at 4:32 pm

    By "electronics noises", do you mean coil whine?

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 28, 2020 at 5:12 pm

      not necessarily. I rather mean some creaking noises, and not the continuous noise that I associate with coil whine.

  3. Fil

    October 29, 2020 at 4:47 pm

    Andrei, would you know anything about the coming UX435 (especially UX435EG with MX450)? THis seems to me to be a quite a bit more interesting package, with the new MX450 dgpu, a touchscreen (and a headphone jack ;)
    In Germany, the first retailers are listing them as available tomorrow (https://www.alternate.de/ASUS/ZenBook-14-(UX435EG-AI039T)-Notebook/html/product/1652071)
    It would be great to see a review by you!

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 29, 2020 at 4:56 pm

      I've had an early engineering sample for a week now, but it's not working properly and I've decided to wait for a more mature product before publishing a review. Cannot comment on the performance, because neither the CPU or the GPU work properly on mine. I can say that it is slightly smaller and lighter than the UX425 series, and I'm not sure how Asus will be able to cool both an MX450 and and i7 Tiger lake within this chassis. Haven't yet opened up my sample to peak and the thermal module, but seems to be a single fan much like on the UX425, which barely copes with 15+W combined.

  4. Fil

    October 29, 2020 at 5:58 pm

    OK, thanks for that! A single fan seems a bit puny indeed.
    On a general note, I am very curious about the MX450. As a casual gamer, I was hoping to ditch the dgpus now that AMD and Intel supposedly have proper igpus, but I must admit I am a bit disappointed with their performance. Maybe I am expecting to much, but it is not enticing to make the switch to a dgpu when you had a MX250 earlier. So I can hardly wait to see more models with Tiger Lake / Ryzen + dgpu.

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 29, 2020 at 6:05 pm

      I'm curious about it too, and I think this would work well in something like an IdeaPad Slim 7 with the dual-fan thermal module. Even with the lower-power 10W MX450, you'd still need a cooling module that can properly handle 20+W of combined power, and I'm not sure this can do it. We'll see, should have a review up in a few weeks.

  5. Sanjeev Siva

    November 18, 2020 at 1:40 pm

    Hello,
    In the specs you mentioned the laptop supports thunderbolt 3, but I think all 11th gen intel processors support thunderbolt 4.

    Is that a typo?

  6. Sanjeev Siva

    November 18, 2020 at 6:04 pm

    Thank you, Andrei.

    I purchased the same laptop after reading your review. More than happy with this laptop (sufficient for my needs).

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 18, 2020 at 6:31 pm

      Glad this helped and thanks for the feedback

  7. Hanik

    November 23, 2020 at 10:53 am

    So, if yoy could only choose one – would you recommend this model, with the 11th gen i7, over the Ryzen 7 counterpart?

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 23, 2020 at 11:21 am

      Depends on what you want. Ryzen is more powerful in multi-threaded loads, but Tiger Lake is more capable in games and some GPU loads. Both are snappy with daily use. Also, consider pricing and the screen options, the Ryzen model might not be available with the 400-nits 1 W panel everywhere

  8. Bassem Kassem

    November 24, 2020 at 8:59 pm

    Hello, I need multitasking laptop for gaming and for personal use what do you recommend for me from Asus or hp or dell or lenovo ( which model)
    Thanks alot

  9. Luis

    December 7, 2020 at 7:55 pm

    Hi Andrei. Great review.
    You talked about squeaking when picking the laptop. I've got an older model (UM431DA). I was used to a Satellite R630 which had classical inges (on top of the base) and I used to pick my laptop one-anded, for example to drop it at the table when I needed to leave the sofa for some reason. No problem with the R630. But this one, as I picked it only from the left side while open, I think my right inge bent a bit and now it clicks when I close the screen. Ofc I already stoped doing it but hope it doesn't break in the future. Just a heads-up for other readers. For that reason I don't like those ergo-lift inges, as Asus calls them.

    Besides that, I see Asus brought in the right function keys column which my late R630 also had but my 431 doesn't (F9 to F12 emulate those). And in the 435 they'll bring back the headphone jack. So the 435 is the model to get. :)

    Keep up the great work. :)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *