Dell XPS 13 review with Infinity Display – a keeper!

157 Comments

  1. Faiza

    October 11, 2015 at 8:51 pm

    if XPS13 with infinity display is a best option then i’ll manage to buy this one because I like this one a lot.
    This is the price offering in my area.
    daraz.pk/dell-xps13-9343-13.3-fhd-intel-core-i5-2.2-ghz-cpu-256-gb-ssd-8-gb-ram-windows-8.1-silver-5336678.html

    otherwise my budge is maximum 70K-80k Rs… that is 670.5951 US Dollar….

    and i don’t like to use desktop computers so I don’t have one.
    therefore, i use my laptop for all of my projects.

    so need powerful one…

    Currently I’m Using DELL Inspiron n4010 i3 ,500GB, 4GB ram,Windows 8.1,i bought this one 5 years back.

  2. kris kelly

    December 4, 2015 at 5:37 am

    Andrei… Hi there. Thanks for the review. I am not a techy but I just purchased this Dell laptop model xps 9350 400 I am searching to try to find a compatible monitor as I find the screen way too small and need a big one for my vision and the work that I do. Best Buy reps were not able to find me a compatible monitor with out $$adaptable cords… and the cost was too much. Can you suggest something? Thanks, Kris

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 4, 2015 at 6:00 pm

      Any monitor that support miniDP (mini DisplayPort) input will work. You might need a MiniDP to Display – Port adapter

  3. Ayuni

    May 1, 2016 at 4:37 am

    Hi, I’m just still confused whether to buy dell xps 13 or asus zenbook ux305la. The main reason why I want to buy new laptop because for my study at university and I will also used it for watching movies. My heart said dell xps 13, I don’t think I will concerned about the touch pad issue. But from what I read from other reviews, they said that the battery of dell xps 13 is not that long and some other said that their battery drop from 52 wh to 44 wh after ten month they used it. Is it true? Cause basically I just want a laptop that is light, long battery life (maybe at least 6 to 7 hours). Please help me, which one do you think I should buy?

  4. Kevin Bui

    August 5, 2017 at 12:40 pm

    My headset jack not detecting the mic. Did you experience any problems like that? I want to be able to use both my headphones/mic in one jack.

  5. Davide

    October 31, 2017 at 4:01 pm

    I know it's an older model, but you state that the display cover 100% of sRgb. A popular competitor of yours for the same display states 81%. How is that possible? Would you consider the possibility that the 100% is inaccurate because of the mishbehaving of the spider? I'm considering as a second hand machine for photo editing. Thank you

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 31, 2017 at 5:20 pm

      Yes, for some reason the Spyder readings differ from those of the XRite sensor that notebookcheck use (I'd reckon they're the competition you mention). I didn't get to look into why this happens exactly though, it's not misbehaving, there's a difference on all the results returned by the Spyder/Xrite when it comes to gamut coverage. As far as I can tell the Spyder readings are closer to what OEms advertise for their panels (for example, around 70% NTSC for a mid-range IPS panel like this one)

      I'm happy with this screen and I do use the laptop for minor Photoshop and Lightroom edits as well. It's not the best out there, but it's good enough nonetheless.

      • Davide

        October 31, 2017 at 5:37 pm

        Thank you for your answer Andrei. And also about adaptive brightness, as far as I can tell from several forums, there is no patch available for 9343 FHD model, and never will be?

      • Andrei Girbea

        November 1, 2017 at 4:52 am

        There isn't a patch for the adaptive contrast (that's what you mean, right?) as far as I know, but to be frank, I almost never notice it so I never further looked into this matter. Perhaps there is one for the newer models, but I just don't know.

  6. LionBear

    November 9, 2018 at 6:52 pm

    I've downloaded the Sharp LCD firmware from Dell's site that says that it's for the XPS 13 9360 but also contains firmware for the 9350 and 9343 QHD+ displays.

    It successfully turns off DBC and the screen -overall- is now much brighter:

    It's here:
    https://www.dell.com/support/home/us/en/04/drivers/driversdetails?driverid=20jwv

    There are folders created in c:\dell\ that have folders containing all of the models the updater ACTUALLY supports.

    Dell says to call their tech support line to get a link…I'll save you some time. Dell wanted $120 just to even talk to me about an out of warranty system.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *