Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Dell XPS 13 9343 Andrei Girbea Rating: 4 out of 5

Dell XPS 13 review with Infinity Display – a keeper!

157 Comments

  1. Mark Resnick

    January 30, 2015 at 12:02 am

    Great review. Funny your opinions are almost exactly mine verbatim.

    I love the laptop, except for the whit light in the front, but I have a fix for it that works well

    A black permanent ink marker…

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 30, 2015 at 9:30 am

      Yeah, will probably have to do the same. How’s the screen brightness on yours?

      • Mark Resnick

        January 30, 2015 at 3:01 pm

        its fine. The mat finish is why it doesn’t look as bright. In my opinion it’s a better all around workhorse without the glossy screen. I’m an IT consultant and spend most of my day in office environments so a reflective screen is a nuisance

        I had a Samsung ATIVBook Plus 9 before this. Loved the laptop; best machine I’ve ever owned by a mile. The screen drove me crazy. This Dell is much better for what I do

        • Mark Resnick

          February 2, 2015 at 3:02 am

          Follow up:
          After 3 days of ownership and a very satisfying experience my screen just went. Machine turns on but no post screen; no screen period. Machine is reaching the logon screen; I can tell by the caps lock light becoming available but no screen period

          After an hour with XPS support they told me there was nothing I could do but return it or send it in for service

          Should have kept the Samsung…

          • Mark Resnick

            February 2, 2015 at 3:05 am

            I guess its good I haven’t done the black marker trick yet

          • Andrei Girbea

            February 2, 2015 at 8:18 pm

            This sucks! :(

          • Mark Resnick

            February 2, 2015 at 8:44 pm

            Another update
            On a road trip from Atlanta to jersey, I decide to give it one more shot.

            Damn thing fires right up

            I use it in the car for an hour, close the lid

            Pull it out an hour later and no screen again

            I’m done. Going to the first Microsoft store I pass and getting last years model with touch and twice the memory for the same price. Moving on…

          • Andrei Girbea

            February 2, 2015 at 9:38 pm

            Damn annoying. But are you sure you don’t want to give a replacement one more try?

          • Mark Resnick

            February 2, 2015 at 11:13 pm

            Ok That may be reasonable; but I am an IT Consultant and I need something that works and works well all of the time.

            I went back and got the XPS 13 2014 with 8 GB Ram and a touch screen for the same price.

            I have had it on long enough to type this and I must be honest; the screen on this one absolutely kills the 2015 model. The keyboard has more travel and is a little bit spongy, but I am ok with that considering the screen actually turned on (which is a plus)

            I’ll keep this one and wait for gen2 of the other one.

          • Andrei Girbea

            February 3, 2015 at 1:50 pm

            Fair enough.

    • Chris

      January 30, 2015 at 9:57 am

      Isn’t this light on only when the laptop is charging?

    • Dave

      January 30, 2015 at 5:25 pm

      Maybe a small piece of black electrical tape?

    • rodion

      February 12, 2015 at 7:20 pm

      Have you fixed your brightness issues? A lot of other reviews (mobiletech, linustech, pcworld etc..) are saying it’s brightness is great (both 1080 and QHD models). Any updates to your review after you’ve spent more time with it?

      • Andrei Girbea

        February 15, 2015 at 8:52 am

        No, the brightness issue is still there. And no, no major update, not much has changed from what I’ve posted here or the minor updates added along the way.

        • fokka

          April 9, 2015 at 6:55 pm

          it’s great how dell always manages to fuck up some small but still important detail.

    • rejetto

      April 27, 2015 at 1:00 am

      Are you getting also the audio through the miniDP port?
      I’d hate to have one more cable every time

  2. Tjj

    January 30, 2015 at 7:58 am

    Hi Mike, thank you for the in-depth review of the Dell XPS 13. I understand that the unit you have reviewed is the FHD matte display. Do you have any experience with the QHD touch display? In my location, only the touch screen option is available. While I do not mind the additional touch feature and weight, I am concerned with how glossy display will hold up in day to day usage.

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 30, 2015 at 9:33 am

      I don’t, at least not for now. The glossy display will be OK as long as you keep the laptop indoors. Outside though in strong light you’ll have to face the glare and reflections.

  3. Chris

    January 30, 2015 at 9:56 am

    Hi Andrei, excellent and thorough review, it appears that you liked this device.

    I really want to buy this machine but so far i haven’t decided if i want the touch or the non-touch model. Do you think a touch screen adds essentially to the windows (8 and even more 10) experience? The touch screen here is of better quality, but will this be apparent in a 13.3 inch display?

    Also, i write a lot on my pc. Apart from comparisons with the MBA (note that i always had relatively cheap and thick laptops, so this is going to be my first ultrabook), is this a laptop nice for typing?

    Finally, how stronger you think is the XPS 13 compared to the yoga pro 3 or the UX 305? I mean, do you think there is a significant difference in power? (Although, my main concern about the yoga pro 3 would be the fact that it looks extremely fragile and flimsy)

    Thank you!

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 30, 2015 at 12:37 pm

      Chris, I reviewed both those laptop here on the site, you might want to have a look. There’s definitely a performance difference between Broadwell U and Core M, no doubt about that.

      The keyboard is pretty god on the XPS. It’s always been one of the best on this series. IMO, the only ultraportables with a better keyboard are the Lenovo ThinkPads, Dell Vostros and the HP business models, but those are usually larger and heavier. The typing experience is comparable to that of a Macbook Air, although the key’s travel is a little bit shallower here. Like I said, coming from the X220 with an old style keyboard, My typing speed was not affected on the Dell, but my accuracy was. Sometimes I miss strokes. Should improve as I get used to the feedback.

  4. airmt

    January 30, 2015 at 10:42 am

    That is just one perfect review!!! Great job Andrei!

  5. kiwi

    January 30, 2015 at 5:42 pm

    Nice review. Keep us updated on the Screen Dimness issue!
    thanks

  6. pete

    January 31, 2015 at 3:47 am

    The layout is OK, simple. Of course, there’s not enough room for all the secondary keys, but at least the important keys are proper sized, there’s a row of F keys on top and the arrow keys aren’t minuscule. Speaking of the top row of keys, out of the box those default at multimedia controls. I tend to use Functions quite often so I changed their behavior in BIOS, there’s an option that allows you to do so.

    can you explain how to do this, thanks

    • Andrei Girbea

      January 31, 2015 at 11:27 am

      There’s an option in BIOS, under the keyboard’s settings. You need to press F2 (or FN+F2) while the system loads, before starting to boot in WIndows, to get to BIOS. Something with Primary and Secondary, I can’t remember exactly, but you’ll get it once you’re there, it’s self explanatory

      • braff

        February 17, 2015 at 1:58 pm

        On my model (infinity touch screen), the ESC key has a FN-lock as it’s FN-function, but it only affects the F-keys, i.e. I do not need to dig into BIOS to lock the F-keys to F-key-mode, instead of media mode.

        • Andrei Girbea

          February 17, 2015 at 4:46 pm

          Indeed, I haven’t figured that out till now. Thanks.

  7. affi

    February 1, 2015 at 10:39 am

    CAN I PLAY FARCRY 4 ON IT ?

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 1, 2015 at 1:53 pm

      No, not even on 13 x 7 with very low details.

      • affi

        February 2, 2015 at 8:57 am

        how about if i will buy i7 version ?

  8. bri

    February 1, 2015 at 2:20 pm

    hi Andrei,
    How would this compare to a ThinkPad Yoga 12.5 – like the one you reviewed in Jan 2014? (8G/128SSD/1080p Touch screen With Digitizer) for the price of the Dell 4G/128SSD/1080P + $100 ?
    I am testing the TPY, but have a Dell XPS on Order… going to be hard to choose between them..

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 1, 2015 at 3:34 pm

      Well, it’s hard to compare them.

      The Dell has the smaller body, matte screen, longer battery life and haswell platform on its side. The TPY has the touchscreen with pen support, slightly better keyboard and the 2-in-1 form factor, plus the price as you’ve said.

      In the end it’s a matter of what you want to: the TPY’s benefits or the XPS’s.

  9. Greg

    February 2, 2015 at 2:28 am

    Great review, Andrei! One question – do you know if the battery is user replaceable? Even if it’s not easy, it’d be nice to have the option down the road. My previous Dell laptop would barely hold a charge after 18 months. Thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 2, 2015 at 8:18 pm

      Yes, it is. It’s only kept in place by screws and it’s not glued, so changing it is definitely possible.

  10. S7 soon

    February 2, 2015 at 10:32 pm

    Great review. Looking forward to and hoping you will be reviewing the Ace Aspire S7 with Broadwell soon. I think I might have found a victim of the new typing experience:
    “i5 with 8 8 GB of RAM and 256 GB SSD” probably should be
    “i5 with 8 GB of RAM and 256 GB SSD”.

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 2, 2015 at 10:42 pm

      Thanks. I’m working on the S7-393 right now, the review should be up in a few days.

  11. Aseem

    February 4, 2015 at 5:05 am

    Hi,
    I really liked your review. I need a feedback regarding what to buy if I have to choose between new xps 13 and lenovo yoga 2 in terms of overall performance and value for money..

  12. Pep

    February 5, 2015 at 4:41 am

    Hi Andrei, thanks for the review.

    Just asking one question about the trackpad. I read from some users of notebookreview that the 2 finger scrolling in IE is fine but with other browsers like firefox and chrome is not as smooth as it should be.

    Do you also notice this issues in firefox/chrome?

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 5, 2015 at 11:09 am

      I’m using Firefox and two finger scrolling is fine, with occasional glitches. It’s true that I have to scroll in the middle of the trackpad to get it to work properly. If I place my hands towards the sides, the gesture isn’t always understood. So bottom point, two finger scrolling isn’t perfectly accurate, not even in IE, but it works alright once you get used to the limitations.

  13. Rayenz

    February 5, 2015 at 2:48 pm

    Hey Andrei, did you solve the problem with the overly dark brightness..? Also do you know if the touch versions got the same problem..?
    And do you think your model can run Skyrim playable on low?
    Thanks

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 5, 2015 at 3:51 pm

      NO, I did not. And yes, if the issue is caused by the Auto Contrast adjustments like I think it is now, it will affect the higher res options as well.

      Haven’t tried Skyrim but I’d say it should run well even on 19 x 10 res, with low details of course.

  14. Rayenz

    February 5, 2015 at 6:55 pm

    Hello again Andrei, I sold my Asus n550jv and now chosing a laptop: The Dell Xps 13 (that you got) with Intel 5500, or Asus UX32ln with Intel 4400 and GT 850..
    I know that the Asus would perform better in gaming and editing tasks, but what about the rest? Would the Dell be faster in Browsing, watching online videos and rest of everyday tasks? I mean, the 5500 is responsible for everything other then gaming, and it’s better then 4400… So what do you think and expirienced with your Dell so far?
    And also I was curious, does the Touch-less display you got is covered with some sort of protection or glass.. Or is it regular sensitive display with a plastic bazzel..? Thanks

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 5, 2015 at 7:47 pm

      I don’t think it will actually. The HD 4400 chip bares fine with all activities except for gaming or maybe editing video content, were the HD 5500 shows its strength. The new Broadwell chips are somewhat more efficient, so that would be a reason to get them over Haswell, but in daily use you’re not going to see any major difference between these platforms.

  15. Mario

    February 6, 2015 at 11:45 pm

    Could you be able to compare that i5 Broadwell with an older Sandy Bridge in terms of raw CPU performance. My current laptop has an i7-2630qm and while in battery, heat and consumption the newer CPU is way better I don’t know about the performance; I haven’t seen an extensive comparison on the internet. Since my Sandy Bridge is Quad-Core and this Broadwell is Dual-Core the performance could be less than my current CPU. If it is equal or best, I’m definitely grabbing one of these XPS 13.
    Thanks! :)

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 7, 2015 at 4:01 pm

      Hmmm, I have a similar processor on me old Lenovo. I’m going to run some benchmarks this week, please get back to me in a few days if I don’t update the post, or get in touch via email.

    • Dave

      February 8, 2015 at 12:40 am

      Mario, I’m in the same boat here with an i7-2675qm in my samsung 7 series from 2011. I’m trying really really hard to convince myself to grab an XPS 13.

      If you haven’t seen it, there’s a site called cpuboss.com that compares raw specs of different chips. It obviously doesn’t run many benchmarks though. So Andrei, if you do run some comparing the XPS and ye olde Lenovo I would be curious to see them as well.

  16. archiv

    February 7, 2015 at 7:59 pm

    Hey Andrei, do you know if Dota 2 runs well on the XPS 13 2015 ? With QHD surely not, but what about 1920×1080 or less + all Settings OFF, only Texture high ?

    How loud is it when starting/playing a game like Dota2 ? How loud if you use in Windows program which need much performance? Already very loud and hearable?

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 7, 2015 at 11:53 pm

      I don’t own DOta 2 so can’t tell. When this thing starts playing games it quickly becomes quite loud, but the speakers are able to cover the noise.

  17. Thiago

    February 8, 2015 at 12:51 am

    Hi Andre,

    I’m from Brazil and I will be in Florida from February 10 to February 17. I was thinking in buying the new XPS 13 with i7 but the estimated ship date is 02/26/2015. So I need to find another model that fits me. I am looking for a ultrabook to do photo editing and also some homemade video editing to Youtube. Which model do you recommend me?

    Tks

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 8, 2015 at 11:11 am

      WEll, something with an i7 Haswell or Boradwell processor and as much RAM as possible.

      • Thiago

        February 8, 2015 at 3:59 pm

        Andrei,

        Thanks for the reply!

        I understand that the best option for me would be a Broadwell i7 with at least 8GB of RAM. As you have tested dozens (or hundreds) of different notebooks over the years I beleave you have the knowledge to choose the best model. If you were me, what windows model would you buy?

        best regards,
        Thiago

        • Andrei Girbea

          February 8, 2015 at 10:16 pm

          Probably the Asus UX301LA, but its’ expensive. Not Broadwell, but 28Wh Haswell. Other options would be the XPS 13 or the Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Carbon.

          • Thiago

            February 9, 2015 at 1:28 am

            Andrei,

            Thanks again for your help and sorry for so many questions.

            Do you think the Asus Zenbook UX303LN is also a good option?

          • Andrei Girbea

            February 9, 2015 at 10:41 am

            Well, yes, sure. The dedicated graphics will also help a bit in Premiere and other video editing software, plus it will allow you to run games. However, be aware of the skewed colors, that could be problematic if you do video/photo editing and need a color-accurate display.

  18. Thiago

    February 9, 2015 at 5:58 pm

    Andre,

    Last question I promise!

    Between the 303LN (i7-4510U + NVIDIA GT840M 2GB VRAM + 256GB SSD + 12GB RAM) and the XPS 13 (i7-4510U + 8GB DDR3 + 256 GB SSD + Intel HD Graphics 4400) which would you choose?

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 9, 2015 at 6:06 pm

      For what you want, the Asus has better specs. But it has the colors problem. So if you edit photos/videos, I’d reckon you’ll want a color accurate display, thus get the Dell XPS.

  19. Minh Hoang

    February 12, 2015 at 3:53 pm

    Hi Andrei,
    Great review as usual. I’m typing this from my 5 years old asus G51J. I’m looking to replace it soon and so far this new dell looks really good. Dell just released the new model: Dell Inspiron 15 7000 15.6″ (7548). I’m thinking about between these two. Is there anyway that you could review the new Inspiron? thanks

  20. Ana

    February 12, 2015 at 4:13 pm

    Hi! I love your review! I was hoping if you could help me with something. I use programs as autocad and sketchup but I dont want to buy a big laptop, so I was thinking in getting the Dell XPS 13 signature edition.
    You have told in this post that the XPS 13 i5 is only usefull for the daily use.. but waht about the i7-4510U (Intel HD Graphics 4400 with shared graphics memory). would it work for what I want.. and if not, which 13 or 14 inch laptop would do the work?
    Thank you so much for your help.

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 15, 2015 at 8:51 am

      Ana, I’m not familiar enough to say how those programs would work on these ULV hardware platforms. They should be OK for smaller projects, but might struggle with complex ones. Even so, if you’re interested in the new XPS 13, you should aim for the i7-5500 U version. The i7-4510U model is not the latest XPS, is last year’s version.

  21. Ivan

    February 14, 2015 at 4:55 am

    Hi, I bought the maxed out version, i7 Touch QHD+. I’m loving it but the only complain would be the inferior battery life compared to the matte FHD :), but that super lightweight Power Brick plus Power Companion solved it, especially the power companion, never had a laptop that’s able to charge with a Power Bank, absolutely loved this little extra tool.

    As for the dim display, the Dell new XPS 13 is equipped with a light sensor, in-built and unable to disable by any means, at least for now, unlike other laptop like ASUS Zenbooks.

    As for gaming, it does run Dota 2 perfectly, with toned down details, 1080p is possible, since the screen is just 13inch, even going downscaled 720p looks alright, L4D2 playable, as well as Civ 5

    Cheers and thanks for the review!

    • Michael Thom

      May 12, 2015 at 3:37 pm

      If you don’t use the touchscreen too often, disabling it can give you a big boost to battery life. I followed this tutorial to make a button on my task bar to easily toggle the touchscreen and it works flawlessly.

      joequery.me/guides/windows-8-toggle-touch-screen/

  22. Adam F

    February 17, 2015 at 4:26 am

    Good news – here in Australia Dell will sell us an i5/8GB/256GB/1080p model, which seems to be the ideal spec. I’m enthused about the matte option, because the Samsung ATIV Book 9 (non-Plus) seems to have been the only good ultrabook-like thing with a matte screen for ages (can’t call it an ultrabook without a touch screen apparently), and that wasn’t even available in Oz.

    It’s a bit rich ($1799), but there’s always an “Australia tax” on tech goods, and with the current exchange rate it’s actually only about $100 more than in the US anyway. Now just need to pick the right lotto numbers….

  23. Chris

    February 22, 2015 at 3:17 pm

    Hi, Adnrei. I’m in Greece and i’m waiting for this to come here. However, i am sure it will be hugely expensive. I found in a store the previous XPS 13 with a discount (they call it a discount since a year now the price hasn’t dropped a bit), costing 900 euros. If i got the new XPS 13 it would be the touchscreen model so i really consider this. I really like the design and the keyboard has great travel. What do you think of the haswell model, would it be a good deal?

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 22, 2015 at 4:58 pm

      The Haswell XPS 13 is a good device. Gets a bit hot and noisy under load, plus lacks an SD card-reader, but other from that it doesn’t have any major drawbacks

  24. Rayen

    February 22, 2015 at 5:09 pm

    Good Evening Andrei, I read your review and decided to buy this PC as well, but the problem is that in my country (Israel) the prices for it are craaazy (about 40% more) and chances of seeing here the i5, 8GB Ram, and without Touch Screen model are very low.. So I thought to buy it abroad and I wanned to ask you, is there such model available in European stores or in your country, and what are the prices for it there..? If you’d let me know the prices in your country at least I’d really appriciate it, and if such model is available only in US, do you know if it will arrive to Europe? On Dells US website it cost 1000$ – same as your model only with 8 Gigs of Ram, I’d like to know as much info about it’s sale in Europe as you know…. Thanks, great review!

  25. Peter

    February 23, 2015 at 10:48 pm

    Hi Andrei,
    What is the best premium notebook according your opinion 13,3` of the moment?
    What is the best premium notebook Lenovo Yoga 2 Pro 13,3`or Dell XPS 13 2015 – 13,3`for several years?
    Thank you in advance.
    Peter

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 24, 2015 at 11:11 am

      Hard to say. The Lenovo gives you better specs for a lesser price, plus the 2-in-1 form factor. The XPS 13 gets your Broadwell, longer battery life and a smaller body, but the touchscreen models are very expensive. If budget is not a concern, I’d get the XPS, otherwise the Yoga 2 Pro is a better deal for the money.

  26. Eddie

    February 23, 2015 at 11:19 pm

    Thanks for a great review!

    For us with who have the 1080p matte version, but don’t have a calibration device, would you be able to share your adjusted colour profile? Or if you can provide values we can enter ourselves?

    Cheers!

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 24, 2015 at 11:13 am

      HI Eddie. I don’t know if the Spyder4 Profile is usable without a license, but I’ll check this out and if it is, will share it.

  27. Eddie

    February 24, 2015 at 9:07 pm

    Ok great, let us know how you go

    Thanks

  28. Ryan Finco

    February 25, 2015 at 4:22 am

    Question for you – you give the measurements of this — is it really only 12″? can you measure it for me – I have size constraints and so I was looking into the Yoga 3 11″ but this one seems like it’s all that and more? if it’s 12 or under, I may have my next machine! Let me know if you can, and thanks for all the reviews you do constantly!

  29. aatif

    February 28, 2015 at 11:28 am

    what you will do if you receive free of charge this laptop by mistake from dell . use it or return it .? reply must thanks

  30. Sean

    March 5, 2015 at 9:44 pm

    Every spec sheet I’ve seen on 3rd party sites shows “Kensington Lock” as a feature. I brought mine into Staples yesterday, and every Kensington lock they had failed to enter the slot (the slot is about 1 mm too small on each side).

    I checked the specs again on Dell’s site, and they list a “Noble lock”, apparently a different lock slot standard…

    Would be nice if you could update the article to avoid others wasting money on the wrong lock.

    Thanks

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 6, 2015 at 5:08 pm

      Hi Sean, thank, I wasn’t aware it’s not a standard Lock. I’ve updated the post.

      • Ian Hensman

        May 17, 2015 at 3:21 pm

        Interesting. I have just ordered the i5/8gb/256gb/1080p here in the UK, and specifically asked about the lock in the chat session with the sales rep. He explicitly said it was a standard lock (and I have a record of the chat session where he says that :)). So if it doesn’t take the Kensington lock I have just ordered, I will be nagging them to reimburse me for the cost.
        Will update in a fortnight when it arrives.

        • Ian Hensman

          May 17, 2015 at 3:40 pm

          Actually I’ve just found this in PC Advisor UK’s review:
          “… [and] what looks like a Kensington lock slot (but Dell calls a Noble lock slot) lie to the right. We understand the proprietary terms are now interchangeable.” We shall see…

  31. Rayen

    March 6, 2015 at 5:15 pm

    Hey Andrei, so now when HP Spectra x360 was presented on WMC2015, how do you feel about you XPS 13? People talk about that it’s better then XPS in many ways for about the same price.. Wonder what do you think.
    Also I’ve read people complain about bottom overheating of the XPS 13 you got, is it true? Does it means even light gaming would be a thread to the XPS motherboard?
    And last question.. I’ve noticed a bad HP reputation around the net… Do you know why? Are they really got some flaws?
    Thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 6, 2015 at 6:19 pm

      I won’t comment until I get my hands on it or at least read some proper reviews.

      It’s not a competition for the XPS 13 though, definitely not for the FHD matte screen model I have. It’s a 2-in-1 with a touchscreen and it’s heavier.

      Yes, the XPS’s bottom gets a bit warmer than on other ultrabooks. Not enough to bother me, but I’m not playing any games. The metal will get quite hot in this case, as stated in the review.

      I don’t think in reputations. You can get problematic laptops from anyone, as well as very good ones that will work flawlessly for years. It’s mostly a matter of luck. What does matter a lot more is the post-sale and warranty services offered by each company. That’s one of the reasons I bought a ThinkPad many years ago. Hopefully Dell will prove half as good, they’re not that big over here.

  32. Chris

    March 7, 2015 at 9:53 am

    Hi Andrei. I would like to ask you about the soft touch interior of the XPS 13. You’ve been owning for about o month now, how do you find it? Do you think will it be in good condition in a couple of years or more? Also, i’ve seen in videos that it can get really smudgy and oily very easily, and the same goes for the trackpad.

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 11, 2015 at 6:26 pm

      WEll, it definitely shows smudges in good light, but it’s holding on well . There’s no sign of use after these nearly two months, and if I decide to wipe it clean, it looks as new

  33. Christophe

    March 7, 2015 at 10:25 am

    Hi !

    A Thinkpad X250 with Core i3 5010U, 8Gb RAM, 128Gb SSD, Full HD matte IPS, 6 cell 72Wh battery (20Hr battery life, probably 15 in practice) currently sells for 957€ on lenovo french web site.

    The Dell XPS 13 with Core i5 5200U, 8Gb RAM, 256Gb SSD, Full HD matte IPS sells for 1099€ on Dell web site.

    Advantages of Lenovo : better keyboard, better durability, dual internal-external battery, 180° screen fold, better webcam, LAN socket

    Advantages of Dell XPS : 2 DIMM slots, larger screen, better speakers, weight

    You guess i don’t know which one to choose. The decision depends on display quality and trackpad. Have you had the chance to compare them ?

    p.s. It would be handy to have newest comments sorted first in the list

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 11, 2015 at 6:31 pm

      Haven’t seen the new X250 yet, I’d expect the keyboard to be better, as well as the trackpad. I’d also expect the Thinkpad to look better down the line, as the metallic XPS will probably scratch easier. As an older time ThinkPad user, I’m not completely satisfied with the XPS. The keyboard and that fact that the screen doesn’t go back flat are the most annoying aspects.

      BTW, there are NO DIMM slots on the XPS, the RAM is soldered.

      Also, what do you plan to do with your laptop? That i3 might not be good enough on the long term.

  34. johnnyzenith

    March 10, 2015 at 8:19 am

    I’m getting a bit desperate for the XPS 15 to get this design. Any ideas when?

  35. Joviton

    March 13, 2015 at 3:29 pm

    Hi Admin thanks for the review.

    i recently ordered this ultrabook for my friend who is studying in Auckland University. is there any better alternative for storage option, it should be fast like ssd .. as she would be installing software’s like AUTOCAD, Maya etc..on externally drive

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 14, 2015 at 9:17 am

      I’m looking too upgrade it to a M.2 SATA 512 GB SSD as well, but those available aren’t much faster than the one preincluded. PCIe SSDs won’t work

      • Adrian

        March 27, 2015 at 11:21 pm

        Hi, apparently pci-e drives do work – it accepts both, such as the ‘Samsung XP941’.

  36. Rayen

    March 17, 2015 at 4:50 pm

    Hello Andrei, yesterday my XPS arrived and I’m also very satisfied with the matte version.
    But I’m not sure what case/pouch to purchase…
    Should I get a 13″, 12″ or 11″? which size would you suggest to aim for?
    or maybe you know some brand you used that you suggest?
    Thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 17, 2015 at 11:06 pm

      I’m using an older one made for 12 inch laptops. I can’t suggest anything specific, I’ve got mine many years ago and it’s a generic brand.

  37. Toby

    March 22, 2015 at 1:04 pm

    Say I want to use a laptop for basic office applications (I’m a student), web browsing (10 tabs max if even) and entertainment purposes like video streaming and playing music.

    Right now im kind of torn between 2 Models:

    2015 XPS 13 / Full HD / Core i5 / 8GB / 256GB SSD for 1099 Euros or

    AUSUS ZenBook UX305FA / Full HD / Core M / 8GB / 256GB SSD for 899 Euros

    From what I have gathered from reading & watching various reviews across the web both are fantastic machines in the 13”ultraportable segment and bring more than enough power and speed for what my intentions are. The design and build quality on both machines seems equally fantastic as well. The small touch of slickness that puts the XPS 13 ahead of the ZenBook is made up by its fanlessness. So if basing my decision on the negative points, the major downsides for my purposes are:

    ZenBook:

    Speakers. I get the impression from many reviews that although they are Bang & Olufsen the ASUS’ speakers are pretty garbage. Tinny, overpowering, struggling to create lows, as the reviews say. No es bueno for somebody who watches alot of video content and generally falls asleep in front some TV series or Movie. (Not the healthiest habit, I know :P) Also, I want to avoid having to plug in earbuds.

    XPS 13:

    As you have gathered now, I would like a laptop which I can put on the mattress of my bed or on my lap without having to worry about jet engine noises and fearing my laptop is about to take off to the moon. (As is the case with my current 5 year old VAIO). I do not think the XPS will ever get as loud as the machine I currently use but since you brought up the cooler grills on the bottom side of the DELL, I would like to know if noise becomes a serious issue when you put the laptop on a surface, which is not as hard a desk/table. Of course im not gonna cram the laptop into a pillow or nothing but say I want to put it on the seat cushion of a couch or the sheets of my mattress.

    Also, in your opinion, which of the 2 has the better Full HD display?

    Right now im kind of steering from one machine to the other on an hourly basis….so maybe you can give me the pointer which can make a decision more obvious.

    Great reviews for both machines, by the way!

    Anyways, hope you can help me out, Andrei.

    Greets from Germany!

    Toby

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 23, 2015 at 4:04 pm

      Hi Toby.

      I just had these two side by side in the last few days and:

      1. Yes, the Zenbook’s speakers are not as good as those on the XPS. However, what bothered me most was the rather low volume, cause sound quality isn’t great on either. I’ve been using a THinkPax X220 for the last few years, which has a crappy speaker, and bought a Bluetooth Speaker that I used for movies. Not the most convenient solution, but clearly way better than any ultrabook can push in terms of sound.
      2. My XPS 13 is usually silent with everyday use. The fan does kick in when playing some types of movies, when copying content, when browsing between many tabs, etc. So the thing is, if I use the laptop lightly, it stays quiet 80-90% of the time, and when the fan becomes active, it’s not very noisy. However, I’ve read complains about overly noisy fans in some XPS models, so there’s a chance you might end up with one of those. Probably very slim, but still, something to consider.
      3. The UX305 is completely silent and I believe this is its biggest selling point. Performance wise though, well, all I can say it’s not for me. There’s some lag, some sluggishness that I felt even with basic tasks like launching a browser or opening an Explorer window, and my that’s too much for me.
      4. I haven’t seen the FHD panel on the UX305, only the QHD model. I don’t think there’s any major difference between what Dell or Asus use on their machines.

      Bottom point, you’d probably have to choose between better performance and faster response times on the XPS, and the fanless experience on the Zenbook. It’s hard to explain and quantify those differences though. Like I said, for ME the UX305 was not fast enough. But it might well be for you. Try to find one in stores if possible and see what your live impressions tell you.

    • Matt

      March 30, 2015 at 7:48 am

      I found your reply from google. I was searching for the same problem (fan noise) in that condition.
      I have also the idea to buy the Asus ux305 for that. I checked a lot of review to see cpu performance of intel core m. Should between old i3 or xps 2011 so not so bad. (can run at 2Ghz).
      On flash straming site should run as well. I think throttling when there are a lot of programs and hot cpu, but should be good. The bad is the backlight and keyboard not so good.

      I have a Vaio too….. i5 ssd etc etc.. very very bad with fan noise. I suggest you to use this tool: NoteBook FanControl and make your configuration. i lost some days to do that, but can be better when using firefox etc etc. Because CPU is always with low temp but fan make noise and go up and down. Yes i use on my bed ;) Bad VAIO never again.

      Now dell have 100€ less and if you register you can take a 100€ less with student coupon, so price for i5 8GB RAM is 899€, probably same price as asus.

      I don’t know if buy xps or asus, because now intel core m is very low as perfomance, (there are already 1,1ghz) and maybe next year with skylake etc they can do better performance.

      The difference is that XPS is the top of notebook at the moment and asus is the new next-gen fanless, and problaby all other vendor will make fanless product too… but when ?

  38. Brian

    March 27, 2015 at 7:19 am

    did you figure out how to disable the LED light under the trackpad? mine is on sometimes and off sometimes….i have no idea what triggers either on or off.

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 27, 2015 at 7:25 pm

      No, but haven’t looked into it, I just got to the point where I totally ignore it or use the laptop on battery only. Mine is always ON when the plug is connected.

  39. Nader

    April 7, 2015 at 7:09 am

    Hi Andrei!
    First of all thanks for the amazing reviews, I just wanted your opinion on this:
    So I’m currently looking to buy a new laptop to use as I start uni, so obviously portability and battery life are important here. For the most part I’ll be doing the basic productivity task, but I do occasionally do some video/audio editing on things like Vegas Pro and Adobe Audition, so performance is still important. Budget is not a constraint but that’s because I’m expecting the laptop to last around 6 years, so I want it to be pretty future-proofed. I am currently between these 2 models:
    Asus Zenbook UX301LA (i7, 256GB SSD, 8 GB RAM) – Offers better performance, higher screen resolution, and a touchscreen
    Dell XPS 13 2015 (i7, non-touch FHD, 256GB SSD, 8GB RAM) – Offers vastly superior battery life because its lower resolution and non-touch, it’s lighter and smaller, and a glare-free screen.
    I’m leaning towards the Dell because of the battery life and size, especially as I think towards the state of the battery 6 years from now, but at the same time I’m slightly worried that performance might be an issue when it comes to rendering audio/video, as well as the fan/heat issues, so could you let me know your opinion please?

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 8, 2015 at 9:23 am

      I don’t think performance is going to be an issue. I’ve compared the I7-5500U with the I7 28W Haswell CPU, there’s a post here on the site, and the two are fairly close.

      Besides that, I believe find a spare battery for the Dell later down the road should be easier then for the Asus, cause you’ll probably need to change it at some point if you want to keep the laptop that long.

      THose being said, I’d probably go for the Dell. Cheaper, smaller, last longer and not that much slower

      • Nader

        April 8, 2015 at 9:27 am

        Thank you very much Andrei! I thought so too, your posts have been incredibly helpful!

  40. John

    April 17, 2015 at 3:27 am

    Andrei

    A very informative review. Thanks!

    Will it handle video editing well? I use Adobe Premiere Elements on my desktop (i7, 16GB RAM, dedicated graphics card), but I’d like to be able to do some video editing while on holiday with the kids too.

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 17, 2015 at 8:31 am

      I use premiere on mine and I only have a very basic config. Make sure you get the 8 GB of RAM models for that and if possible, the Core i7 processor. Of course, you shouldn’t expect this to perform anywhere near a desktop, but for light tasks it will do alright…

  41. federico

    April 22, 2015 at 12:12 pm

    Hi Andrei,
    i’m sorry for the offtopic but i would like to know the model of the desk speaker in the photo.
    Speaking about the DELL XPS 13, i just ordered the i7-5600 version Matte-screen. :D

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 25, 2015 at 11:56 am

      Those are Audioengine A2+

      • federico

        May 1, 2015 at 4:18 pm

        Great and i’m still waiting for the XPS i7-5600 :-(

  42. boilerhorn

    April 22, 2015 at 5:59 pm

    One annoyance is that I cannot perform a ‘middle click’ type of operation with this track pad. While it is less common in Windows applications, I use the middle-button when I use VNC or RD to remotely connect to other clients. A mouse itself will work, but I should be able to somehow emulate a middle-mouse-clock w/ the trackpad.

  43. john

    April 23, 2015 at 9:55 am

    any further observations on the battery life? ive the i5 fhd version (8/256 model) and with much lower brightness settings and only browsing on ie, i can barely squeeze 8 hrs. my rMBP 13 inch which apple quotes 9 hrs battery gets much more battery life than the xps, and it is a huge disappointment.

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 25, 2015 at 11:59 am

      Well, I consistently get about 6 hours of daily use with the way I’m using this: browsing, text editing, some Youtube, etc. It’s far from amazing and definitely far from those 15 hours Dell advertised, but it’s good enough for me. Macbooks are definitely better optimized and will outlast pretty much any available Windows computer when it comes to battery performance.

    • qualverse

      April 26, 2015 at 12:48 am

      Try limiting Windows Indexing(just search for it and remove as many folders as possible.) It will get you around 2hrs extra battery, depending on how you limit it.

  44. Alex

    April 24, 2015 at 6:08 pm

    Thank you for all of your replies and for your original review–they have been very instrumental in helping me purchase mine. Now that I have one, I have a question. I’m using the FHD non-touch i5 4gb version and was wondering if you noticed any uneven back lighting on the display. On mine, the corners and right side appear darker–I know that even on IPS, increasing the viewing angle will reduce lighting, but its darker when compared to the far left side. Also, overtime I notice that throughout the panel there are subtle differences in brightness which creates this weird double vision/shadow effect as the darker areas overlap. I hope this isnt too confusing.

    Also, do you think the way Chrome is headed that 4 gb of ram will be enough for the next 2 years? Its fine right now, but I worry about inevitable slow-down. Thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 25, 2015 at 12:03 pm

      I’m not seeing and obvious brightness difference on mine. There is the Adaptive Contrast issue when switching between dark and light scenes, but that’s the only thing that bothers me about the display.

      Not sure about the RAM. CHrome is a resource hog and I’m not even using it on my XPS. Now if you already got the 4 GB version you’ll have to live with it, but on the long term the 8 GB model would have been a better option. Microsoft Store did not sell one at the time I got mine, that’s why I went with the 4 GB model.

  45. Catalin

    May 10, 2015 at 10:34 pm

    Salut Andrei, sint un roman care locuieste in Elvetia si vreau sa iti multumesc pentru articol. Eram deja fixat pe aceeasi configuratie ca si a ta dar nu stiam ca se vinde si pe Microsoft Store. M-a atras ceea ce ai scris despre editia signature iar Microsoft mi-a facut o reducere de $100 la checkout asa ca am facut o afacere buna!

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 11, 2015 at 2:08 pm

      Nice. Let me know what you think about it once it arrives.

  46. Sara

    May 11, 2015 at 4:14 am

    Will the Dell XPS 13 run the Sims 4 well? That is the only game I want to play on this laptop. As I Will be using it for other tasks like browsing internet watching videos etc.

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 11, 2015 at 2:07 pm

      I don’t own Sims 4 so can’t try it. I think it should run it well on 13 x 7 res with medium details though.

  47. Paul Woodroffe

    May 11, 2015 at 1:43 pm

    Hi,
    from your reviews of both the Dell XPS 13 (2015) and the Acer S7-393 (2015)touchscreen versions, can you tell me please if either of these support stylus or are only finger touchscreen. Your help appreciated
    Regards

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 11, 2015 at 2:06 pm

      Neither have a digitizer, if that’s what you’re asking. They will work fine with the available active pens though, or a capacitive stylus (not good for inking and notes).

  48. Osvaldo

    May 14, 2015 at 6:36 pm

    Great review!
    To make sure: Were you able to switch off the auto brightness? Dell says you can do that at the Bios setup.
    Did you try the I7 configuration with the upgraded touch screen?
    Thank you

  49. Mr M

    June 7, 2015 at 9:16 am

    Hi

    I want to buy the Dell XPS 13 (2015). Is it suitable for university related use:

    1. Essay writing
    2. Research online
    3. Linking to an external monitor (IIYAMA Prolite E2409HDS)

    I generally keep it in one place on the desk.

    Has it got overheating issues?

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 8, 2015 at 9:57 am

      Should be fine. Go for an i5 config with 8 GB of RAM or higher.

  50. Brian W

    June 14, 2015 at 1:10 pm

    Andrei – great review. I own this 9343 and love it for just about every reason you bring up. Since I bought directly from Dell, I didn’t get the US Wall Plug Adapter (small plastic piece with foldable prongs), just the very nice 3-foot extension cable. I’d prefer that adapter since it packs a lot lighter than the 3-foot cable. Can you supply a close-up of the white barcode sticker on that specific plug adapter piece so I can track it down online to buy or maybe contact Dell to buy that part since I did not get it in my box? Much appreciated.

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 16, 2015 at 11:29 am

      Hi, sry for the delayed reply. Here are the details: DP/N 08DHY9 and it also has a serial number but that shouldn’t matter. A quick search on Google lead me to this site and the adapter in the picture looks exactly as the one I have in front of me: parts-people.com/index.php?action=item&id=17744

  51. Peter Saam

    June 16, 2015 at 2:17 pm

    can you please comment on the key difference between this “as tested” 9343 model and the XPS 13ULT-4289sLV listed on Amazon. I know the XPS 13ULT-4289sLV has the touch screen, but is it otherwise the same?? In particular, are the physical dimensions the same? Thanks for your trouble

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 16, 2015 at 4:39 pm

      That’s last year’s model, the 9333. It’s a different machine, larger, heavier, without an SD-card-reader and so on. It’s not bad, just make sure you know what you’d be getting.

  52. Gill

    June 27, 2015 at 10:55 pm

    Andrei,

    have you found out what was the problem with low brightness. I was in a shop today and screen on FHD model looks dimmer then other laptops like ux303 FHD and some Lenovo laptops as well.

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 29, 2015 at 11:15 am

      Well yes, it’s the Intel Contrast dimming feature, can’t remember how it’s called but it can be turned OFF on other laptops and it cannot on this XPS 13, because Dell decided to take that option out of the driver. It hasn’t been fixed from what I know.

      • Gill

        July 1, 2015 at 12:18 am

        Too bad, I really liked this laptop concept, but sometime ago I decided not to buy products with obvious flaws, counting on manufacturers to fix them.

        I wanted something with nice build quality, reasonably light and with 5xxxU CPU and with very good battery life
        XPS 13 has this adaptive brightness, poor brightness problem,
        ASUS UX303 have problem with hinges and in my country, company that repair it for Asus claims that broken hinge is user fault.
        I’ve considered other brands models but most of interesting laptops cost around $1500 here or have glossy screens which is big no-no for me.

        I decided to go little bigger and bought Latitude E7450.
        i5-5300U, 256GB SSD (got with Samsung SM841N, which is 840 PRO made for OEM), Samsung LCD which has quite good color accuracy and only minor backlight bleed on the bottom of the screen, 8GB RAM – for around $1000. Can get up to 8 hours of web use and if it will not be enough then additional battery is small and easy to swap (click-click).

        • Andrei Girbea

          July 1, 2015 at 8:23 am

          IS that an IPS panel on the Dell? If yes, then it sounds like a great deal. I got to play with some E7450 and E7250s a couple of weeks ago and they seemed solid options, except that they bundled TN panels which for me are a total NO-NO.

          • Gill

            July 2, 2015 at 2:10 am

            It is SDC4C48 (HWiNFO) it’s either IPS or PLS, but for sure it’s not TN.
            I know some 15″ SDC4C48 displays were used in Alienwares and 13,3 in 2in1 Inspirons.

  53. Omer

    July 13, 2015 at 2:28 pm

    Can anyone comment on coding with it?

  54. Sarah

    August 3, 2015 at 12:41 pm

    I was wondering if you had issues with the charger being too hot. I had it plugged for about 30 minutes and the little brick was so hot that I couldn’t touch it without burning my hand! The fan was also on for about 40 minutes, pretty loud, and I was only checking my email and social media. I just got it yesterday and its refurbished. Just wanted to know if it was a common problem?

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 12, 2015 at 12:51 pm

      Well, no, these don’t happen to me. If you just got the laptop, there’s a fair chance it might be performing updates in the background. Try to see if those are interfering with your activities.

  55. Kevin Tran

    August 4, 2015 at 4:23 pm

    Hi I have a quick question/concern. Does your Dell XPS 13 blur out certain parts of the screen at times? Mine is a matte screen and I believe it is also the same model as yours. However, the screen is blurry at some points of the screen. Is there a way to fix this issue?

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 12, 2015 at 12:54 pm

      Hmmm, could you be more specific. Which parts of the screen? Perhaps certain applications or windows look blurry? That’s caused by the fact that some 3rd party apps do not scale properly, and if you set up font-size to anything but 100% , you might encounter blurry elements from time to time.

      • Kevin Tran

        August 13, 2015 at 10:50 pm

        Certain icons on the screen are blurry.. for example the Spotify icon would be blurred out. I’ve tried updating drivers and windows but it doesnt seem to fix the issue. As for the font-size its at 100% as well.

  56. Director

    August 5, 2015 at 12:29 pm

    Hi,

    I’m don’t know wether I should get this Dell XPS 13 or the Asus UX303LN. I won’t use it for any gaming, mostly for university stuff.

    Any advise? The Asus’s sreen isn’t apperently that good, but looks like the Dell’s has some issues too. So at the end, wich one of those two has the best screen? I don’t like screens that aren’t bright, but mustard-looking yellows aren’t that good to.

    Looking at the pictures, the Dell, despite the excellent construction quality, looks a bit “plastic” to me compared to the Asus. Does it feel more “plastic” than the Asus when you hold it ?

    My heart would go for the Asus, but my brain isn’t that sure.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 12, 2015 at 1:00 pm

      The UX303LN shouldn’t be on your list if you don’t plan to play games, especially since the 3200 x 1800 px screen has major color issues.

      You could however look at the UX303LA, cheaper and with a FHD touchscreen.

      Personally, I’d go for the Dell between the two. The XPS 13 is definitely not perfect, but having used it for the last 6 months now, I think it’s worth what I payed for it.

  57. Daniel

    August 28, 2015 at 11:24 am

    Hi (sorry for my english)

    I’m thinking about buying this XPS13, but I’m just a little undecided because of the keyboard “problem”… I have allways had 15″ laptops, and I write all the time in it. I write quite fast and I would like to know … Do you think it is possible to get used to this keyboard and finally write as fast and correctly as in my ussual 15″laps? Now I prefer one of theese 13” because I bring it with me all the time because of my work and my back has warned me twice to change the size and the weigth of it. ;)
    what other options (in case you see a problem here) do you recomend, if I need a lap for a daily use and I ussually work with WORD, EXCELL, POWER POINT and internet research?

    Thanks so much!

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 28, 2015 at 12:37 pm

      It depends which 15 inch laptop you’re used to. I’m used to THinkpads, which have slightly higher keys with deeper travel and more precise feedback, that’s why I’m having troubles adapting to this keyboard, even after using it for 8 Months. Now, don’t get me wrong, you can definitely find worse on these thin laptops, but it’s just not what I would want.

      Perhaps you can see the laptop in some stores? That would be the ebst way to know you’ll be fine with this one or not.

  58. Daniel

    August 28, 2015 at 4:50 pm

    my lap now is a 15″ TOSHIBA Satellite L500-128 (Which is 5 yo)
    I have no way to see any lap of DELL, I’m from Spain and there isn’t any intel store. I only can order a DELL lap by by internet. I don’t care if if the keyboard is like others 13″ but I wouldn’t like it if it is specially small.

  59. Faiza

    October 10, 2015 at 10:38 pm

    Hi ,
    please refer me slim light weight Laptop…

    Brand: Dell
    Processor: 5th Generation Intel® Core™ i5 or i7
    Memory: 8 GB or higher
    Hard Drive: 256GB Solid State Drive
    Screen Size:13″,14″ or 15″
    Color : Black or Silver

    Perfect for working on software like Visual Studio 2013, Matlab r2014, Photoshop ,Unreal Engine .
    which is perfect for intense programming (Graphics(openGL),Video/image processing,game programming)
    I like DELL XPS 13 alot but confused , should i buy this one???
    Or refer me any other according to my requirements.

    Thanks

    • Faiza

      October 10, 2015 at 10:48 pm

      As i am already fed up of my DEll inspiron n4010, it heats up very fast that u can even use it as a heater in winters.
      and stuck on small Matlab image processing tasks . have to wait longer to see simple results.

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 11, 2015 at 11:12 am

      What’s you max budget? The XPS 13 is a good option in the 13-inch segment, but you can get faster processors and more RAM with 14 and 15 inchers.

      • Faiza

        October 11, 2015 at 12:00 pm

        if its a best option then i’ll manage to buy this one because I like this one a lot.
        otherwise my budge is maximum 70K Rs… that is 670.5951 US Dollar….

        • Faiza

          October 11, 2015 at 12:10 pm

          and i don’t like to use desktop computers so I don’t have one.
          therefore, i use my laptop for all of my projects. so need powerful one…
          Using DELL Inspiron n4010 i3 ,500GB, 4GB ram,i bought this one 5 years back.

  60. Faiza

    October 11, 2015 at 8:43 pm

    And yeah please give me suggestions about this laptop too according to my requirements and work
    daraz.pk/apple-mjve2-macbook-air-13.3-inch-core-i5-1.6-ghz-128-gb-hdd-4gb-ram-intel-hd-graphics-6000-mac-os-x-yosemite-silver-5354695.html

  61. Faiza

    October 11, 2015 at 8:51 pm

    if XPS13 with infinity display is a best option then i’ll manage to buy this one because I like this one a lot.
    This is the price offering in my area.
    daraz.pk/dell-xps13-9343-13.3-fhd-intel-core-i5-2.2-ghz-cpu-256-gb-ssd-8-gb-ram-windows-8.1-silver-5336678.html

    otherwise my budge is maximum 70K-80k Rs… that is 670.5951 US Dollar….

    and i don’t like to use desktop computers so I don’t have one.
    therefore, i use my laptop for all of my projects.

    so need powerful one…

    Currently I’m Using DELL Inspiron n4010 i3 ,500GB, 4GB ram,Windows 8.1,i bought this one 5 years back.

  62. kris kelly

    December 4, 2015 at 5:37 am

    Andrei… Hi there. Thanks for the review. I am not a techy but I just purchased this Dell laptop model xps 9350 400 I am searching to try to find a compatible monitor as I find the screen way too small and need a big one for my vision and the work that I do. Best Buy reps were not able to find me a compatible monitor with out $$adaptable cords… and the cost was too much. Can you suggest something? Thanks, Kris

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 4, 2015 at 6:00 pm

      Any monitor that support miniDP (mini DisplayPort) input will work. You might need a MiniDP to Display – Port adapter

  63. Ayuni

    May 1, 2016 at 4:37 am

    Hi, I’m just still confused whether to buy dell xps 13 or asus zenbook ux305la. The main reason why I want to buy new laptop because for my study at university and I will also used it for watching movies. My heart said dell xps 13, I don’t think I will concerned about the touch pad issue. But from what I read from other reviews, they said that the battery of dell xps 13 is not that long and some other said that their battery drop from 52 wh to 44 wh after ten month they used it. Is it true? Cause basically I just want a laptop that is light, long battery life (maybe at least 6 to 7 hours). Please help me, which one do you think I should buy?

  64. Kevin Bui

    August 5, 2017 at 12:40 pm

    My headset jack not detecting the mic. Did you experience any problems like that? I want to be able to use both my headphones/mic in one jack.

  65. Davide

    October 31, 2017 at 4:01 pm

    I know it's an older model, but you state that the display cover 100% of sRgb. A popular competitor of yours for the same display states 81%. How is that possible? Would you consider the possibility that the 100% is inaccurate because of the mishbehaving of the spider? I'm considering as a second hand machine for photo editing. Thank you

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 31, 2017 at 5:20 pm

      Yes, for some reason the Spyder readings differ from those of the XRite sensor that notebookcheck use (I'd reckon they're the competition you mention). I didn't get to look into why this happens exactly though, it's not misbehaving, there's a difference on all the results returned by the Spyder/Xrite when it comes to gamut coverage. As far as I can tell the Spyder readings are closer to what OEms advertise for their panels (for example, around 70% NTSC for a mid-range IPS panel like this one)

      I'm happy with this screen and I do use the laptop for minor Photoshop and Lightroom edits as well. It's not the best out there, but it's good enough nonetheless.

      • Davide

        October 31, 2017 at 5:37 pm

        Thank you for your answer Andrei. And also about adaptive brightness, as far as I can tell from several forums, there is no patch available for 9343 FHD model, and never will be?

        • Andrei Girbea

          November 1, 2017 at 4:52 am

          There isn't a patch for the adaptive contrast (that's what you mean, right?) as far as I know, but to be frank, I almost never notice it so I never further looked into this matter. Perhaps there is one for the newer models, but I just don't know.

  66. LionBear

    November 9, 2018 at 6:52 pm

    I've downloaded the Sharp LCD firmware from Dell's site that says that it's for the XPS 13 9360 but also contains firmware for the 9350 and 9343 QHD+ displays.

    It successfully turns off DBC and the screen -overall- is now much brighter:

    It's here:
    https://www.dell.com/support/home/us/en/04/drivers/driversdetails?driverid=20jwv

    There are folders created in c:\dell\ that have folders containing all of the models the updater ACTUALLY supports.

    Dell says to call their tech support line to get a link…I'll save you some time. Dell wanted $120 just to even talk to me about an out of warranty system.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *