Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons

Portable laptops with Nvidia GeForce MX150 (mobile GT 1030) graphics

By Andrei Girbea , updated on September 14, 2017

This article is a work in progress and explains what to expect from the Nvidia MX150 graphics chips, as well as provide a complete list of portable laptops built on these chips.

There are few details on these new solutions at the time I’m initially putting this together, but I’m constantly adding updates as we find out more.

So far, we know that the Nvidia GeForce MX150 and MX130 are discrete graphics cards based on the Pascal architecture primarily meant for ultrabooks and ultraportable laptops, as alternatives to the integrated Intel HD and Iris/Iris Pro graphics. As solutions for thin-and-light notebooks, they are designed with efficiency in mind and will have low power requirements, but they are also more affordable than the higher tier Pascal graphics, so will also make their way into budget full-size laptops.

The GeForce MX150 chip is the mobile version of the GP108-based GT 1030 desktop chip. It comes with 2 GB of DDR5 memory, a 64 bit memory bus, a core speed of 1468 Mhz (with Turbo up to 1532 Mhz) and Direct X12 support. It’s meant as a successor for the Nvidia 940MX chip, designed to offer a boost in raw performance, corroborated with a low TDP. Nvidia announces the MX150 to be 3x faster per Watt than the 940MX, with improvements in video rendering, image editing and other fields as well.

There are very few benchmarks of the GeForce MX150 available for the time being, but notebookcheck has already reviewed a few laptops based on this chip, and here’s what you should expect (we’ll update the numbers over time):

MX150 2GBIntel HD 620GTX 1050 4GBGT 940MX 2GBGTX 960M 4GB
TDP25 W~10 W*40 W~23 W**60 W
3D Mark 11~4800 points~1630 points~7600 points~2600 points~5250 points
3D Mark – Time Spy~1175 points~360 points~1700 points~630 points~1200 points
3D Mark – Fire Strike~3250 points~840 points~5450 points~1550 points~4000 points
Rise of the Tomb Raider – 768p Med~45 fps~11 fps~67 fps~21 fps~49 fps
Doom – 768p Med~55 fps~16.5 fps~77 fps~28 fps~58 fps
GTA V – 768p Med~100 fps~23 fps~117 fps~70 fps~108 fps
Witcher 3 – 768p Med~43 fps~11 fps~68 fps~20 fps~51 fps

* the Intel HD 620 graphics is integrated withing the 15W Intel CPUs, so its TDP is hard to quantify
** available in different versions, with TDP’s between 15 and 25 W

Based on these results, the MX150 chip is two times faster than the 940MX in games and benchmarks, with similar TDPs. That’s off from Nvidia prediction of 3x improvement per Watt, but keep in mind drivers are still new and thus the results should get a little better in time. Not by much though, Nvidia won’t cannibalize the GTX 1050 chip, which is roughly three times faster than the 940MX, but with a higher TDP. The MX150 is also nearly as capable as last year’s mid-level chip, the GTX 960M, which needs a lot more energy.

You’ll find a few more details on how the MX150 performs and how it compares to the 940MX with GDDR3 and GDDR5 graphics in this review.

The GeForce MX150 chip will make its way inside a fair amount of ultraportable computers with dedicated graphics and a much greater number of budget and mid-range fullsize laptops with prices between $500 and $800. We’ll gather them all below.

First, there’s the list of 14-inch and smaller options.

ModelScreenHardwareGraphicsTB3Weight
Acer Switch 7 Black Edition13.5-inch IPS touch? / max 16 GB RAM MX150?1.15 lbs / 2.53 kg
detachable tablet with keyboard folio, aluminum build, automatic AutoStand, fanless cooling, 3:2 ratio 2256 x 1504 px screen with Wacom digitizer and pen support
Starting price: $1699 / 1999 EUR (~Dec 2017)
Acer Swift 3 SF314-5214.0-inch IPS FHD glossy non-touchup to Kaby Lake-R Core U / max 16 GB RAM MX150No3.75 lbs / 1.70 kg
detailed review in here, simple design and metallic build; good backlit keyboard and trackpad; glossy non-touch screen with a pretty poor IPS panel; solid performance; Coffee Lake Core U quad-core variants announced for the second half of 2017, runs cool and quiet; 48 Wh battery
Starting price: $799 – more details and latest prices
Asus VivoBook Slim S410UN14.0-inch IPS FHD matteup to  Kaby Lake-R Core U / max 16 GB RAM MX150No3.2 lbs / 1.45 kg
smaller version of the 15-inch model reviewed here; nice and light build, plastic main chassis, good backlit keyboard and trackpad, average matte screen, solid performance, runs a little noisy under load, 42 Wh battery
Starting price: TBA
Asus Zenbook 13 UX331UN13.3-inch IPS FHD matteKaby Lake-R Core U / max 16 GB RAM MX150No2.5 lbs / 1.13 kg
review available here, compact and light 13-inch laptop, multiple screen options, KabyLake-R quad-core processors, gets a down-clocked version of the Nvidia MX150 graphics chip, 50 Wh battery
Starting price: TBA (estimated for Q4 2017)
Asus Zenbook UX430UN14.0-inch IPS FHD matteKaby Lake Core U / max 16 GB RAM MX150No2.75 lbs / 1.25 kg
very similar to the UX430UQ reviewed here, the only difference being the graphics chip; very sleek design, metallic build, good backlit keyboard and trackpad, excellent matte screen, solid performance, gets hot and noisy under load, 50 Wh battery
Starting price: TBA
HP Envy 1313.3-inch IPS FHD/UHD touchup to  Kaby Lake-R Core U / max 16 GB RAM MX150No2.65 lbs / 1.2 kg
compact, slim and well built, packs an IPS panel with small bezels, 54 Wh battery
Starting price: $999
Xiaomi Mi Notebook Air13.3-inch IPS FHD glossy non-touchKaby Lake Core U / max 8 GB RAM MX150No2.86 lbs / 1.30 kg
nice aesthetics and metallic build; decent backlit keyboard and trackpad; good IPS screen, but with a glossy layer and no touch; solid performance; runs quite warm; 40 Wh battery; affordable, but needs to be imported from China in most regions; comes with Windows 10 Home Chinese only, so you’ll have to buy and reinstall Windows
Starting price: $999

And then there’s the list of 15.6-inch and larger full-size notebooks with GeForce MX150 graphics. There will be a lot more options in this class, and as a result we’re not getting as in depth here as with the ultraportable ones above.

ModelFormatScreenHardwareBatteryWeightPrice
Acer Swift 3 SF315-51Clamshell15.6-inch FHD matteup to Kaby Lake-R Core U48 Wh4.6 lbs / 2.1 kg$799
Acer Aspire 5 A515Clamshell15.6-inch FHD matteup to Kaby Lake-R Core U48 Wh4.75 lbs / 2.1 kg$600
Asus Vivobook S15 S510UNClamshell15.6-inch FHD matteKaby Lake Core U42 Wh3.6 lbs / 1.65 kgTBA
Asus Vivobook N705UNClamshell17.3-inch FHD matteKaby Lake Core U42 Wh4.6 lbs / 2.1 kgTBA
Asus Vivobook X510UNClamshell15.6-inch HD/FHD TN matteKaby Lake Core U42 Wh3.3 lbs / 1.5 kgTBA
Asus Zenbook Flip UX561UNconvertible15.6″ IPS FHD touchKaby Lake-R Core U52 Wh1.9 kg / 4.2 lbs
Asus Vivobook Pro N580VNClamshell15.6-inch FHD/UHD matteKaby Lake Core HQ47 Wh4.18 lbs / 1.9 kgTBA
HP Envy x360 15tConvertbile15.6″ IPS FHD touchKaby Lake-R Core U55.8 Wh2.17 kg / 4.8 lbs
HP Envy 17Clamshell17.3-inch FHD matteKaby Lake-R Core U55.8 Wh6.7 lbs / 3.05 kg$1000
HP Spectre x360 15Convertible15.6″ IPS UHD touchKaby Lake-R Core U79 Wh2.00 kg / 4.42 lbs$1279
MSI GV62 7RCClamshell15.6-inch eDP-IPS / IPS FHD matteKaby Lake Core HQ41 Wh4.85 lbs / 2.19 kg
MSI GL62 7RCClamshell15.6-inch eDP-IPS / IPS FHD matteKaby Lake Core HQ41 Wh5.2 lbs / 2.35 kg
MSI PL62 7RCClamshell15.6-inch Tn HD / eDP-IPS FHD matteKaby Lake Core HQ51 Wh4.85 lbs / 2.19 kg$799
Xiaomi Mi Notebook ProClamshell15.6″ IPS FHD glossyCore U w/ Nvidia MX15060 Wh1.95 kg / 4.3 lbs$1199

Here’s a short glossary of the terms mentioned above:

  • Types:
    • clamshell: traditional computer whose screen closes on top of the keyboard and does not flip into any sort of tablet mode;
    • convertible: 2-in-1 laptop whose screen rotates or converts to a tablet mode (or similar), but cannot be detached from the base;
  • Resolutions: HD ( 1366 x 768 px), WXGA+ (1440 x 900 px), HD+ (1600 x 900 px), FHD (1920 x 1080 px), WUXGA (1920 x 1200 px)  FHD+ (2160 x 1440 px), retina (2304 x 1440 px), QHD (2560 x 1440 px), WQXGA(2560 x 1600 px), QHD+  (3200 x 1800 px), UHD (3840 x 2160 px) – also see this post.

That’s about it for now, but as I’ve mentioned in the beginning, this article is a work in progress as I’ll be adding new products weekly as they are released.

If the Nvidia GeForce MX150 chip does not offer what you need, you should also check our lists of laptops with Nvidia GeForce MX130 chips (lower tier, more affordable options) or Nvidia GTX 1050/1050Ti and GTX 1060 graphics (higher tier, more powerful).

Andrei Girbea, Editor-in-Chief at Ultrabookreview.com. I never liked carrying big laptops around and that fueled my passion for mobile computers back in the 2000s. Things have changed much since then, but I'm still interested in the topic and in the meantime I've owned and tested hundreds of thin and lights, so I know a thing or two about them. You'll find mostly reviews and guides written by me here on the site.

59 Comments

  1. Rob

    July 4, 2017 at 1:55 pm

    Great job in list just MX150 without the GTX*

  2. Rob

    July 5, 2017 at 2:01 am

    You can add Acer Aspire 5 (15.6") and Acer Swift 3 (14"/15.6")

    cenowarka.pl/?fs=NVIDIA+GeForce+MX150&in=

  3. Rob

    July 5, 2017 at 2:08 am

    Is there any official info about "mx130"? that you mentioned.

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 5, 2017 at 2:17 am

      Nothing official, what I know is that it will be the entry level chip, a replacement for the 920MX and 930M chips. Should be available by Fall on entry level laptops.

  4. Rob

    July 5, 2017 at 2:16 am

    Xiaomi Mi Air comes with Windows 10 Home Chinese only. sorry for spam.

  5. Rob

    July 5, 2017 at 2:39 am

    All those acers have U processors no HQ versions.

  6. J

    July 5, 2017 at 9:21 am

    Where can I buy the Asus UX430UN? I haven't been able to find any online retailers or even reviews of it. I can only assume it hasn't been released yet, is there any details you might have on this Andrei?

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 5, 2017 at 11:41 am

      It's not available yet, I'd reckon it should be around August-September, but I can't tell where you'll be able to find it. The previous UX430UQ for instance is not available in the US, but can be found in Europe.

      • Ty

        July 8, 2017 at 10:10 am

        Always enjoy your reviews.

        A couple of clarifications.

        1. The UX430UQ is available in the US. Costco.com sells it. See costco.com/ASUS-ZenBook-UX430UQ–Laptop—Intel-Core-i7—2GB-NVIDIA-Graphics—1080p-.product.100337200.html

        2. Based on information at asus.com, another difference between the UX430UN and UX430UQ besides the dedicated MX150 vs. 940MX is that the UX430UQ uses 2133MHz LPDDR4 whereas the UX430UN uses 1866MHz LPDDR3.

        I bought my UX430UQ from Costco.com when they had it on sale a few weeks ago for $999.00 (the sale is over now and the price is back to $1249.99). Debating whether to return it and wait for the UX430UN. I'd expect it would cost more than $999 for the same specs I have now if I wait for the UX430UN.

        • Andrei Girbea

          July 8, 2017 at 3:07 pm

          Thanks. Can you please confirm that your unit comes with DDR3 RAM? HWinfo or CPUZ can show that. It should be DDR4, which means the info on the Asus website is wrong, but I'm not sure of it's 2133 MHZ or slower.

          PS: Ha, I can't access that link, looks like Costco doesn't allow users from this part of Europe on their site or something

          • Ty

            July 9, 2017 at 2:51 pm

            My UX430UQ comes with ddr4 2133 MHZ RAM. I just typed 'wmic memorychip list full' without the quotes in a command prompt and it shows speed=2133.

            Specification info at asus.com indicates the UX430UN has 1866MHz ddr3. Maybe it's an error at the website regarding the UX430UN as you've suggested.

          • Andrei Girbea

            July 9, 2017 at 3:17 pm

            Thanks for the confirmation, yes, that's an error on the official website.

  7. Alan

    July 5, 2017 at 9:31 am

    Is there any information about the release date for the Asus UX430UN? From the looks of it it's the perfect laptop for my needs.

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 5, 2017 at 11:42 am

      Nothing official, but I'd expect late Summer, early Fall.

      • pennred

        July 5, 2017 at 4:31 pm

        Some info from Italy on the subject of price and availability
        Parma Computer
        June 21 at 10:25am ·
        ASUS UX430UN-GV013T. CPU Intel i5-7200U – Display 14,0" – NVIDIA MX150 2GB – RAM 8GB – SSD 256GB – W10
        € 999,00
        Available from the end of August

  8. Jane

    July 11, 2017 at 11:47 am

    Andrei,

    Since the UX430UQ Article I'm happy to read every article that you write.

    Thanks mate! Keep ahead.

    Greetings from Israel

  9. ubcustomer

    July 11, 2017 at 1:37 pm

    Any idea when the new HP Envy 13 with this graphics card comes out in the UK, if at all? HP's online store only offers the model with integrated graphics still.

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 11, 2017 at 3:00 pm

      I don't have any insiders, but I wouldn't expect MX150 laptops sooner than Late August-Early September and even later for mid-range products where OEMs will want to get rid of their existing stocks first.

  10. Jarecki

    July 21, 2017 at 8:10 am

    Hi, Any news about UX410UN (with mx150)?

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 21, 2017 at 8:18 am

      haven't heard anything about it just yet, but it should happen. I'd reckon we'll know a lot more by the end of August. Coffee Lake processors are also a very hot topic to follow.

  11. autobulb

    July 24, 2017 at 4:00 am

    If Asus updates the UX310UQ with the MX150 I will be a happy camper. That system seems like a dream 13" ultraportable that still has some storage and graphics bite. The only thing that I was a little worried about is that it gets a bit hotter and louder than other machines because of the 940MX, so I'm hoping that the more efficient Pascal will fix that problem.

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 24, 2017 at 4:32 am

      They should have a UX410UN model at some point, but no details on it yet.

      • Jarecki

        July 25, 2017 at 1:12 am

        According to this forum UX410UQ was discontinued.

        forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/notebook-clinic-77/asus-ux410uq-discontinued-5592529.html

        Hope this is not true.

        • Andrei Girbea

          July 25, 2017 at 5:29 am

          Hah, interesting. Thanks for sharing this, I'll see if I can find more on the subject.

  12. Mehdi

    July 26, 2017 at 9:36 am

    There are 3 MSI laptops with MX150:
    PL62 7RC: msi.com/Laptop/PL62-7RC.html#hero-specification
    GV62 7RC: msi.com/Laptop/GV62-7RC.html#hero-specification
    GL62M 7RC: msi.com/Laptop/GL62M-7RC.html#hero-specification

    By the way, PL62 has a 41Wh battery.

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 31, 2017 at 10:07 am

      Thanks. The info is pretty conflicting, Newegg and ExcaliberPC list the battery at 51 Wh.

  13. alex

    July 26, 2017 at 1:15 pm

    Wonder how manufacturers will handle the thermals in ultrabooks if they decide to feature the new coffee lake quad core U and mx150.

    Doubt we'll see many ultrabooks with quad core U and mx150.

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 26, 2017 at 1:40 pm

      Probably not the thinnest ones, but laptops like the Swift 3 will get it, probably in the 15-inch version. Asus will have a few as well from what I know so far

  14. stibi

    August 2, 2017 at 8:04 am

    Hmm, can someone help me? Can't seem to find the Swift 3 SF314-52 with the nvidia chip. Even on the acer site says intel hd:
    acer.com/ac/en/SG/content/model/NX.GNUSG.018

    maybe due to location? and the price is set 1349 us dollars…

    • stibi

      August 2, 2017 at 8:09 am

      Never mind, found a model with the nvidia chip on a german site:
      notebooksbilliger.de/acer+swift+3+sf314+52+51rg

      Can't seem to find one from a swiss reseller :-/

      • Andrei Girbea

        August 2, 2017 at 4:48 pm

        Give it a few more weeks if you can, this laptop is still fairly new and not available in most regions yet

  15. Jarecki

    August 2, 2017 at 7:19 pm

    Dream laptop: Ux410UN (8th series i7 quad core + MX150) ;) Question if and when?

  16. Mark

    August 3, 2017 at 11:02 am

    It looks like the HP Envy 13 is available for pre-order on the Amazon UK website, with deliveries starting on Aug. 4th.

    amazon.co.uk/HP-ENVY-13-ad013na-13-3-Inch-Notebook/dp/B071W8TCLR

  17. dieter

    August 3, 2017 at 5:02 pm

    Hi Andrea. Was wondering if the ux530 will also get this MX150. I was also wondering if you're planning to do a review on the ux530? I can't for the life of me find a review on this laptop, while it seems like a really great machine.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 4, 2017 at 4:30 am

      I can't see a Zenbook UX530UN model listed on Asus's website right now, so can't tell. Can't promise a review either, I'll consider it. Asus doesn't have a review unit here right now.

  18. Alex

    August 6, 2017 at 12:39 pm

    Will there be any convertibles that support a stylus pen? (I am artist looking for next laptop).

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 6, 2017 at 12:52 pm

      I'd reckon probably not, most ultraportables with stylus support don't get dedicated graphics, but I'll update the list with new additions once they are announced. Are there any with GT 930MX/940MX right now? I can't think of any right now, but those would be the prime candidates to get an MX150 version at some point.

  19. Dieter

    August 11, 2017 at 10:34 am

    One to add: Asus Vivobook 15 X510UN

  20. Kyle

    August 17, 2017 at 2:16 pm

    Theoretically, the MX150's supposed to be a bit faster than GT950M but user benchmarks are showing that this isn't the case. Apparently, it's a bi slower than the 950M, which is disappointing.

    Will there be any thin&light (under 1.4kg) Lenovo Ideapad/Yoga/Thinkpad laptops with MX150 this year?

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 18, 2017 at 1:09 pm

      I'd reckon it will be at some point, although their newest offers come with 940MX DDR5. Those shoul'd be updated though, but I can't tell when. It might not even happen this year, Lenovo usually launch a big batch of updates in January each year. But who knows, perhaps that will change with the Coffee Lake platform just around the corner.

  21. Jarecki

    August 27, 2017 at 8:57 pm

    The UX331UN – what size is it? Does it have a slot for extra SSD or HDD? Can't find any information about it besides here. Please share more ;)

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 28, 2017 at 6:55 am

      13-inch, as the name suggests. Just M.2 storage. My review will be up in a few days.

  22. Yong

    August 30, 2017 at 2:56 am

    Hi, where do you get the Swift 3 with both Coffee Lake and MX150. I can only find the one with Coffee lake but no mx150 in my local acer website.

    I see some people above are talking about a Lenovo Ideapad refresh. Do you have any information when will this release?
    liliputing.com/2017/08/nvidia-geforce-1040-graphics-coming-soon-laptops-leaks.html

    This ideapad looks quite promising + cant wait to see how Geforce 1040 performs. Thanks.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 30, 2017 at 3:01 am

      Give them a bit of time, I'd reckon most of these will be available in September/October.

  23. Just a Guest

    September 1, 2017 at 8:25 pm

    When Asus will release the models [Asus Vivobook S15 S510UN] and [Asus Vivobook Pro N580VN] (Price & Date) I can't wait for them! And there will be an Asus model cheaper or equal than 600$ with the MX150 (as the Acer Aspire 5 A515)?

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 2, 2017 at 12:55 pm

      There might be a basic Vivobook that would match the Aspire 5, but I can't say anything about availability.

  24. Edward

    September 4, 2017 at 4:38 pm

    I wished the Acer Aspire E15 E5-575G-57D4 was remade and revamped with the MX150 instead of the 940MX. And maybe fit in a Coffee Lake processor. That would have made me the happiest person! You think Acer will do that?

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 5, 2017 at 3:29 pm

      I think the Aspire 5 is the follow-up for that line.

      • Edward

        September 10, 2017 at 12:18 pm

        But the Aspire 5 has so many set backs compared to the E15. No back lighting, bad battery life, no CD ROM. Many more. Then they should fix those issues.

  25. Jarecki

    September 6, 2017 at 3:03 am

    When will you post review of UX331UN?

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 6, 2017 at 12:32 pm

      Working on it, sry, I've been caught with some offline activities lately, but I'm catching up asap

  26. Just a Guest

    September 10, 2017 at 11:25 pm

    Recents benchmarks by notebookcheck are saying that the MX150 is doing bottleneck with ULV (Ultra-Low-Voltage) CPUs as the i5 7200U – 8250U and i7 U Series. Can they fix that with updating the drivers?

  27. Just a Guest

    September 12, 2017 at 9:22 am

    notebookcheck.net/NVIDIA-GeForce-MX150-Benchmark-and-Specs-of-the-GT-1030-for-Laptops.223530.0.html
    Is the same link you post here. We can see a drop of FPS if we compare the MSI PL62 (MX150/i7-7700HQ) with the Aspire 5 (MX150/i5-7200U) in game benchmarks.

  28. akinvic

    September 13, 2017 at 2:20 pm

    Asus mentions a 4 GB variant of the MX150, for the S410 on their global site for instance. I would love to see a difference of benchmarks between the 2 GB and 4 GB versions. But c'mon Asus, offer more TB3 options would you?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *