Real notebook reviews and analysis - by real people
Asus VivoBook S15 S530UA Andrei Girbea Rating: 4 out of 5

Asus VivoBook S15 S530 review (S530UA – i7-8750U, UHD 620) – compact 15-inch laptop on a budget

30 Comments

  1. vaishak

    June 22, 2018 at 5:37 am

    price and availability in india ?

  2. tipidor

    September 2, 2018 at 9:37 pm

    Any nvme ssd support?
    Or only sata ssd?

    • Paul

      September 5, 2018 at 5:56 pm

      it's NVMe obviously (look at the dock) but i believe sata-III will work too

      • tipidor

        September 6, 2018 at 2:42 am

        Hi
        I mean does it support PCI Express 3.0 x4 (NVMe 1.3) interface?
        Smthing like Samsung 970 PRO

        • Andrei Girbea

          September 6, 2018 at 10:20 am

          I didn't check this at the time of the article and no longer have the review unit. Asus however only claims SATA3 compatibility for this unit, so while the connector suggests PCIe drives are compatible, in reality the interface could be limited. I'd suggest waiting for more detailed reviews to get this sorted out.

        • YurY

          November 8, 2018 at 9:14 pm

          Hello! I installed INTEL OPTANE MEMORY 32GB in this model – not supported. Also installed the Samsung 970 Evo 250GB MZ-V7E250 – also not supported. I will try the Crucial MX500 M2 SATA3. I think only M2 SATA 3 will work in this model. :(

          • sasha

            November 24, 2018 at 1:15 pm

            Hello
            Samsung 970 Evo 250GB MZ-V7E250 not supported at all?
            Or works in SATA3 mode (with lower speed)?

  3. phuong

    September 6, 2018 at 7:19 pm

    how to bright the screen??

  4. Ahn

    September 14, 2018 at 9:02 am

    I think.. nothing or alittle better than s510
    weight.. display..

    • J

      December 4, 2018 at 10:38 pm

      It's a refresh with an improved colour scheme, a full keyboard with a numeric pad, and a hinged lift at the back. Small differences, but important to me and probably others.

  5. XPO

    September 22, 2018 at 7:36 pm

    Hello, considering this Asus or Acer Swift 3 (2018)? Which one do you prefer?

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 23, 2018 at 8:36 pm

      Tough choice. The Asus looks nicer imo, but the Acer gets a bigger battery, runs more efficiently and I personally like more how it types, so probably the Acer

  6. Van

    November 15, 2018 at 11:11 pm

    Thanks for the review, however the models with MX150 are not available in Canada.

    I was wondering can you possibly put up a review for the Dell Inspiron 7472 (14").

    I'm very interested in buying this laptop for school but currently there are no reviews for the Inspiron 7472 online.

    • Andrei Girbea

      November 16, 2018 at 8:48 am

      That's going to be hard, Dell laptops are hard to come by over here. Looked for reviews as well, but couldn't find anything. There are some videos about the 7572 on Youtube though, might help, it's pretty much the same laptop in a bigger chassis.

  7. Jay

    December 4, 2018 at 10:45 pm

    Pretty laptop, great. However, several significant concerns. Firstly, the lid is one of the weakest and most flexible I've ever encountered when twisted, and at a high risk of breaking if you pull on a corner while lifting.

    Also, several other major points of contention: 2 USB 2.0 ports?! Come on, it's 2018 and USB 3.0 has been out for a decade. No display support via USB C – why mess with consumers like this – USB C 3.1 should always support display output at 4K 60Hz video. The display is washed out looking and at best 58% sRGB according to other reviews – ridiculously bad, even by the low standards of this market segment. IPS screens are cheaper than ever, yet the quality is declining with every new generation of laptop. I'd easily pay another $100 for a better screen (90+ sRGB), all USB 3.0/3.1, USB C with video output, aand a larger capacity battery (60 WH). I'd also pay another $50 for 200 g of reinforcement of the screen and NVMe supprot for the SSD.

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 5, 2018 at 4:20 pm

      Thanks, I especially agree with your feedback on the screen, it's a pity they didn't go with a better panel.

  8. Mango

    December 16, 2018 at 2:10 pm

    I own an S15 S530U with Optane and MX150, the variant that has fingerprint sensor.

    The laptop is pleasing to the eyes. The display, however, is severely disappointing–dim and washed out colors. It also has a faint yellowish tint to it. The whites are not clean 'white' and can be bothersome if your eyes are sensitive to colors. (It's not the ASUS Splendide Eye-Care feature nor night light since I have them turned off). The display is just bad for content creators. I made a mistake purchasing one when my work heavily relies on imagery.

    Performance-wise, response and multitasking are impressively quick. Battery lasted me around 4 hours with continuous web browsing and light gaming at 30% screen brightness before asking for charge. Temperature remained cool throughout use. Also the ErgoLift is a subtle practical design that's lovable for its added comfort.

  9. Ben

    December 16, 2018 at 9:04 pm

    I bought this one about a month ago. Does anyone know if there is a working battery charging program for it? Asus has this (https://www.asus.com/us/support/FAQ/1032726/) but for some reason it doesn't work for the S530.

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 17, 2018 at 1:57 pm

      Why would you need that in the first place?

      • Ben

        December 18, 2018 at 12:52 am

        Well, over the lifetime of a laptop the autonomy you get out of a fully charged battery declines and this decline is faster if you keep the battery constantly charged to 100%. Essentially, being fully charged damages the battery on a molecular level faster than being moderately charged does (fuller explanation here: windowscentral.com/leave-laptop-plugged?_ga=GA1.2.57112771.1542288049&passport=1544826858. I mostly use it plugged in so it makes more sense to keep the battery at 60% charge rather than constantly pumping it to 100. Especially since the autonomy is already less than stellar, I don't want it to diminish too much for those occasions when I do need to use the laptop unplugged.

        • Andrei Girbea

          December 18, 2018 at 5:19 pm

          You're right. Unfortunately I don't have any experience with that piece of Asus software. However, googling "Asus battery health charging not working" returns a bunch of different results, perhaps you can find something that might work among those.

          • Ben

            December 19, 2018 at 1:35 am

            I tried, no such luck. At the end of the day, the S530 isn't on the list of supported models for the program. Then again, I just realized that it is an x86 architecture after all (used to think that was impossible with a 64-bit OS), so maybe I should toy around with it a little.

          • Andrei Girbea

            December 19, 2018 at 2:05 pm

            Perhaps some 3rd party software might do the trick then? Normally not a fan of such apps, but you could look into it. You could also just make sure to discharge the laptop from time to time, that should limit the potential damage.

  10. Hk

    December 21, 2018 at 1:23 am

    This model with i3-8130U and mx150 2gb or with i5-8265U and uhd 630? I'm no gamer but wondering if i3 is too weak for daily multitasking (20 Chrome tabs, YouTube playing 1080p video , open winamp and downloading simultaneously)

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 23, 2018 at 12:18 pm

      The i3 should do fine if it comes with 8 GB of RAM, but I'd go with the i5 for future proofness, especially since you're not going to put the dGPU to work.

  11. Ben

    December 21, 2018 at 3:30 pm

    There seems to be very little third party software for this. the only one I've seen ( robotonfire.com/bl/ ) is essentially just an alarm to remind you to unplug the computer when the battery charge reaches a set threshold. Doing this properly requires talking to the hardware that distributes power to the battery and the rest of the computer, and my guess is that is hard to access for third party programmers. It's probably even harder to write code that could do this for machines from different manufacturers.

  12. Tomas

    February 11, 2019 at 6:16 pm

    Nice review. Can you make a video how to replace 2'5 hdd into ssd sata 3 ??

  13. Lore

    March 21, 2019 at 3:25 am

    i have some issues with my screen. while watching something like a static image, it begins to show subtle(like very subtle) horizontal lines which seem to move up and down on the screen. also there is a change in color nuances, almost like the screen gets darker or brighter randomly. any suggestions?

  14. Susan P

    April 17, 2019 at 7:01 pm

    This product is junk. I purchased this laptop in Oct. 2017 after recommendation of a friend. I am a retired lady who is not a gamer and gently used the machine to search internet and save my photos and books. The machine crashed at the end of March 2019 and the repair shop told me that the hard drive was irreparable. I lost EVERYTHING and had to buy a new laptop. I will never ever buy an ASUS product and I am very upset that this piece of junk cost me close to $800 and it did not even last for 2 years. I am back to HP.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *