Asus ROG Zephyrus Duo 16 review (GX650RX 2022 model- Ryzen 9 6900HX, RTX 3080Ti)

27 Comments

  1. Holger

    May 20, 2022 at 7:33 pm

    Hello Mr. Girbea,

    Again you provide us with an outstanding technical review of an interesting laptop! Thank´s a lot for your work!

    I have two questions:
    1. Regarding the trackpad – switched on NUMBER mode – does this works like a conventional numpad where numbers could be allocated to game functions? (Most RPGs need a lot of keys).

    2. Regarding the secondary ScreenPad: Is it possible to move windows (meaning user interfaces/frames) within a game from the main panel to the ScreenPad?

    Best regards
    Holger

    P.S.:
    I found a little [typo] at "Performance and Benchmarks", fan noise:
    "Switching over to the Performance profile translates in the CPU stabilizing at ~70W and temperatures still in the mid-90s, but with the fans spinning much quieter at sub-35 dB [35 dB seems to be a typo, should be 42] at head-level."

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 21, 2022 at 10:33 am

      1. idk, haven't tried it.
      2. not really. the ScreenPad works as a secondary screen, and it would require that games are coed to work on two displays at the same time. You'll find details on the ScreenPad on Youtube
      3. That's not a typo for Cinebench loop.

    • Troublemaker

      May 28, 2022 at 4:01 am

      1 – the number pad mode on the track pad works exactly as an external numpad with Numlock on would (and in actual fact the little thing in the top-left corner that switches modes serves as a Numlock key, but you obviously don't get the Numlock-off functionality)
      2 – the secondary screen functions exactly as an external display would – your ability to pop windows out of the game depends on the game and has nothing to do with any features of the ScreenPad itself

      are you noticing a pattern here? :P

  2. Gabriel

    May 20, 2022 at 8:50 pm

    Another awesome review from you guys – I'm so happy I found your website a while back. You make the best reviews. I just want to say thank you very much for putting in all the effort – it's highly appreciated. Thank you guys.

  3. Ken

    May 20, 2022 at 11:53 pm

    These are neat but seem ultimately headed for obscurity. It's great to see more miniled screens though.

    I wonder if you would consider making a listing of laptops that can be purchased with miniled screens? It's such a huge leap in quality vs IPS, without the myriad failings of OLED. I feel like all creator laptops should be moving to miniled. I'm in the market now for a new main machine, and it's very tough to find the options with good screens and AMD efficiency. I guess I shouldnt complain. A couple years ago it seemed like you couldnt buy an AMD powered laptop with better than a 1080p screen.

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 21, 2022 at 10:34 am

      I will, once I get to spend some time with the miniLED panel.

  4. alanyu

    May 21, 2022 at 4:21 pm

    I wanna a 4K version DUO 16, but it is not sold in in my region (CH), sadly. I pre-ordered the miniLED one. However, after a long long waiting time, it arrived me with a constant screen whine. The whine is much lighter than the S17 I returned last year, whose coil whine from the motherboard can be heard from 4 meters away, and at least, the whine frequency of my unit is not too high to annoy me. Moreover, my unit has a defective miniLED pannel. The matrix can be seen under a white/blue background, where the LED dots are brighter than else part, and the screen displays the color unevenly, warm in the middle but turning cold at the sides (The left and right sides even shows blue at a white page). I RMAed it at first day, and hope I can get a flawless unit with no stronger whine.

    I also joined in one ROG DUO 16 Fan's group on QQ, and people there bought DUO 16 from CN, HK, JP, DE, FR, UK, etc. There are a dozen of DUO 16s (miniLEd ver.) in the group, and all of them have screen whine. Only two of the units has really low whine, which can be only heard when they put their face near the screen, while all other units' whine can be heard at typing distance. Thus, I'm pretty sure there is some design flaw or low-quality components used.

    If some one get a miniLED unit with very low whine, that's luck.

    • john

      June 20, 2022 at 7:44 am

      no screen whine for me

      • Andrei Girbea

        June 20, 2022 at 11:41 am

        I'm not seeing any whine on mine either

  5. han

    May 21, 2022 at 10:14 pm

    Hello,
    Is this an ideal computer for industrial design / architecture / programming / video editing / creative? Are there better computers than him for doing this?
    What is the comparison of this computer with a mac pro max computer?
    Is this a computer that you think could hold 5 years ahead, technologically

  6. ser

    May 22, 2022 at 10:59 pm

    Hey Andrea, thanks for a great and rather detailed review!
    I'd like to ask a few questions:
    – what is gaming performance when using usb-c charger?
    – are you going to test 3070ti model as well? (I understood that yes, with mini-LED panel)
    – have you used it on the coach (on the lap)? How uncomfortable is it? can you open a touch keyboard on the 2nd screen and use it for work on the main screen, any usability issues with such a setup?
    – which of the 4 keys above trackpad can you rebind? (I hate not having dedicated home/end/pgup/pgdwn buttons).
    – Have you ever hit by accident the power button? What happened? (they continue this stupid trend of putting power button in the row of normal keys, although admittedly on this laptop there isn't much space elsewhere…)
    – how customizable are Fn+ keys from top row? Just a switch in bios, or you can do a more customized mapping in some Asus tool?
    – How would you hold an open laptop with one hand? With a regular one (even on heavy side) there is no big issue, with this one, would you be touching some of the keys too hard? Would you prefer to close this laptop before lifting it with one hand?

  7. Joe rib

    May 24, 2022 at 2:10 am

    Hey great review I really want to get this laptop configuration here in the USA where did you buy yours maybe I can ship it internationally?

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 24, 2022 at 11:04 am

      I got it from Asus for the review. You should contact Asus North America on social media and ask about local availability before considering importing.

  8. han

    May 25, 2022 at 2:53 pm

    Hello,
    Is this an ideal computer for industrial design / architecture / programming / video editing / creative? Are there better computers than him for doing this?
    What is the comparison of this computer with a mac pro max computer?
    Is this a computer that you think could hold 5 years ahead, technologically

  9. Joe rib

    May 25, 2022 at 3:25 pm

    I would love to but Asus emailed me they are not releasing the 4K dual spec model in the United States

  10. John

    June 13, 2022 at 11:03 am

    I have been playing with my Zephyrus Duo 16 for some weeks now. This is a gx650rs with a mobile RTX 3080 and mini-led qhd 165hz configuration (it does come in such configs). Performance wise it blows me away and I am happy with my buy. But take note here: what does concern me so far with the mini-led model is, and I hate to say it, very noticable blooming with local dimming on mid to darker toned flat areas on certain applications (desktop apps with blanks color spaces and desktop browsers.) However not to dispair, i found certain apps and games and playing movies under dolby atmos and vision the algorithm seems to work and the blooming disappears. So something to take note of as it could be software or driver based and hence potentially fixable in future. Will experiment further but something users should keep an eye on.

    • John

      June 20, 2022 at 7:30 am

      *UPDATE: on QHD 165hz Mini-led noticeable screen blooming in normal desktop applications. This seems to occur only when HDR settings (in windows) and multi-zone settings (armory crate system config) is on. I have to manually turn HDR off and multi-zone to one zone so the panel behaves like a normal single backlight in stead of multiple dimming zones. Then the blooming behavior is gone and it looks normal, but thing is everything is in SDR now.

      There are ways to automate profiles I believe so certain apps and games only get SDR and other multimedia apps get HDR, though it's a bit clunky at this stage. I'm sure software changes will allow for better streamlining for this in future.

      To summarize, there are quirks and cons with this laptop system. if you are a high end 3d digital visual artist with finicky preferences for high quality visual display, then you might have hit and miss with applications you use with HDR and miniled blooming in your work with this screen. Hands down OLED quality can't be beat for this, though arguably not as long lasting. If it doesn't bother you too much then it's ok.

      For me I dabble a little in 3d and graphics for content creation, visuals aren't as much of a priority as I code more so having a portable multiple monitor workflow is a game changer for me, this laptop is a processing multitasking beast to work with. HDR in gaming and multimedia is also absolutely stunning and gorgeous. The pros definitely out weigh the cons IMO, so I am willing to work with the compromises. Though for the price point you would expect it to be a perfect laptop (for me it almost is). My 2c.

      • Andrei Girbea

        June 20, 2022 at 11:41 am

        I've been using the miniLED myself for the last few days and came to similar conclusions. I will update the article with my feedback shortly.

  11. Jack Moxley

    June 22, 2022 at 3:47 am

    I got the miniled version and it managed less than an hour browsing in chrome, with one screen active at half brightness in silent mode.

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 22, 2022 at 9:54 am

      Are you usign the laptop on Hybrid mode? Sounds like it's on Discrete, there's an option to change the MUX in Armoury Crate. I'm testing the miniLED version myself and will update you with my findings.

  12. alanyu

    June 26, 2022 at 7:44 pm

    Hi Andrei, I'm not sure if you are still reading comments under this review. I finally got rid of miniLED ver. and got myself the 4K ver. I love the 4K DUO 16 and my unit is almost a perfect one. However, I notice that it can emit coil whine under an unexpected circumstance: after the laptop goes to sleep mode for a while, the keyboard RGB could be sometimes triggered on itself, which shouldn't happen and I suppose it is a bug of armoury crate. It would emit coil whine at this state. TBH it doesn't annoy me as I'm ofc away when the laptop goes to sleep mode.

    Can you check your unit, if it is still with you?

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 27, 2022 at 10:16 am

      Hi. I no longer have the 4K unit, but I've been using the miniLED the past week and haven't encountered any situation with noticeable coil whine or anything of that sort. As far as I can tell, these issues are random and seem to affect some units. If it bothers you and it's possible to RMA for a replacement, I'd do it.

      • alanyu

        June 27, 2022 at 5:15 pm

        You are lucky that your miniLED panel has no whine. More and more users post the screen whine on Reddit, in the r/AsusROGZephyrusDUO15. I won't gamble on RMA for the coil whine since everything else is perfect on my 4K unit and I really don't mind that kind of whine.

      • Andrei Girbea

        June 27, 2022 at 5:25 pm

        I spent more time looking into fan noise today and I am hearing that whine that you're also mentioning, but it's faint and only noticeable if I put my ear over the laptop, from around 10-15 cm or so. It's not really the kind of loud annoying coil whine I've experienced on other laptops, but rather a sort of higher-pitched fan whistle when the fans are running at slower speeds. I'll try to detail that in the noise section. I no longer have the 4K unit to test if that same happens on that one.

      • alanyu

        June 27, 2022 at 6:02 pm

        I'm sure the whine is from the screen on two of my miniLED units, as when the fan was switched off, it was still there. I did put my ear around the laptop and located it was around the lower part of the main screen. I mentioned two, as the RMA replacement still had the same screen whine, and I returned it at last. Several posts on reddit confirmed theirs has *Screen* whine, and also one post mentioned fan whine.

      • Andrei Girbea

        June 27, 2022 at 7:51 pm

        You're right, I can hear this faint whine coming from the right side of the screen on my unit as well, but only noticeable if I get my ear very close. I was also able to reproduce the sleep whine that you're mentioning, and that's a bit louder actually. Thanks for mentioning it!!

        Overall, I kind of find the pitched fan-whistle more noticeable when running light loads in a silent room.

        BTW, I've updated the noise, display, and battery life sections for anyone still following the conversation.

    • Pang shu

      June 28, 2022 at 2:09 pm

      Hi I would like to get a 4K unit, would you like to share where are you getting it pls?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.