Asus ROG Strix G15 review (2022 G513RW – AMD Ryzen 9 6900HX, RTX 3070Ti)

14 Comments

  1. Shashwat Payasi

    March 17, 2022 at 7:44 pm

    The igpu I believe is rx680m not intel igpu

  2. Cezary

    March 18, 2022 at 2:32 pm

    Thanks for the review Andrei, this is a similar config that a G15 would have but with lower GPU TGB, which pretty much means, I have to look for a laptop with qhd P3 screen, at least 150W 3070ti and ideally a design that doesnt look like a discoball, ugh and hardly any meet all these criteria…though I think I'm switching from the G15 to a Raider team….

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 18, 2022 at 6:35 pm

      Raider could be an option, or the new Legion 5 Pro. I'm not sure any are available with high-gamut QHD screens, though

      • Cezary

        March 18, 2022 at 9:30 pm

        Legions have poor screens unfortunately 100srgb only, after using a macbook DCI P3 is mandatory for me, but I am now kinda leaning towards buying a console and a slightly cheaper, more portable, better battery laptop, as I'm afraid connecting any of the high spec laptops to a 4k tv and playing on it will either make the temps go crazy high or fan noise be unbearable with home cinema instead headphones… :/

        Do you have any experience with that? would 50-55db be unbearable in a similar scenario?

      • Andrei Girbea

        March 21, 2022 at 10:51 am

        as far as I'm concerned, anything over 45 dB is too noisy for me to use without headphones. If you're using a controller and placing the laptop further away somwhere, perhaps up to 48 dB would be OK, but you'll still hear the fans when the game goes quieter.

        I am very sensitive to fan noise so perhaps your limits won't be as low as mine.

  3. Solun

    March 22, 2022 at 12:50 pm

    Good review, I'm glad you pointed out the limiting 110° screen. Other than that I think it's a great laptop but when Lenovo Legion with the same config comes out it might be the better option because they usually have better thermals and screen that retracts all the way down. Btw my mom just bought this in 17 inch version (Ryzen 6800H, RTX 3060, 512 GB SSD for €1600 including a 21% tax in the Czech Republic). She's not a gamer but she couldn't find any powerful laptop without a graphics card so i recommended hwr this one as it was thw ONLY single option with a new gen processor. All the new Intel based laptops available in the country start at €2600 so this was a nobrainer.

  4. Cezary

    April 14, 2022 at 2:36 pm

    Hi Andrei, out of all the 2022 laptops you tested, would you say there's one that stands out in terms of fan noise? I got the GE76 i7/3070ti, it is a performance monster, but at the same time throughout the years of using a quiet desktop and a macbook I think I kinda grown noise sensitive too, and it doesnt bother me while gaming, but while I'm working and launching chrome, with multiple tabs + youtube (youtube makes intel cpu's go crazy) then the fans definitely start to spin and are noticable and when they start to spin up from like 0 to around 40% there's that weird noise dropbox.com/s/o5stkscb0qyrdre/20220414_141038.m4a?dl=0 (bear in mind the usual fan noise and clock ticking, at around 10th second you can hear it starting to spin up)

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 14, 2022 at 3:53 pm

      I was expecting it, tbh. I also totally understand it and that's one of the main reasons I'm still using a desktop PC as my main computer.

      I don't have a lot of fresh experience with all the major brands, but so far Asus is doing a good job implementing an idle-fans profile with light use – that's as long as the components don't go over 60C, so multitasking would still cause the fans to spin and you'll hear them in a quiet room. They keep idle with video streaming and light browsing. I'd give them a try and see how they work for you.

      Lenovos, MSIs, Acers and Gigabyte's aren't as good at keeping the fans idle. The Legions are pretty close, though, but then they're also much noisier at full blast. Not sure about Dell/HP units.

  5. Cezary

    April 14, 2022 at 5:17 pm

    I see, well I've only had it for like a week, and I can get it to idle at 40-50deg mark too, but same thing happens with multitasking as you mentioned with Asus so I guess my only option here would be to ditch Win based laptop and go for a macbook which I don't wanna do :) so far I think I've settled on some light fan noise from the laptop, and I guess ill get used to it, its funny because my old PC makes a louder noise, yet it doesn't bother me as much as the laptop, as somehow I have this expectation of it being 100% quiet…

    However I am not sure if my fans have this buzzying noise or it's just my imagination

  6. Keng-Yuan

    April 16, 2022 at 4:52 pm

    This Strix G 3070ti variant is not available everywhere I looked… love the style. The styling of the Scar variant is horrible in my opinion X\

  7. Charley023

    April 19, 2022 at 12:14 am

    Really nice review. I always find your reviews most objective, detailed, and complete. I have a question for the liquid metal longevity. How long do you think it will last before we have to repaste it? For regular thermal paste on laptops, I repaste it every year or every other year. Do you think it's necessary for liquid metal? I would assume repasting liquid metal is much harder and more risky. Do you have any suggestions? Thanks.

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 19, 2022 at 8:57 am

      That's a very good question. In theory, LM should last for many years and would not require reapplication. In practice, based on what we know from desktop PCs, it would still degrade over time, but much slower than regular paste. I'd probably see how things go over the years, and eventually reapply only if needed. Yes, LM is trickier but is doable for savvy users. If you've repasted laptops before, I'd reckon you're pretty savvy already.

      • Charley023

        April 21, 2022 at 5:00 am

        Thank you so much for your detailed explanation. I just bought the Rog Strix Scar 17 after reading your review. I will also let you know my experience with the LM in your future articles' comment sections. Look forward to more excellent reviews by you. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.