Asus ROG Strix SCAR 15 review (2022 G533ZW model)

19 Comments

  1. ZODD

    February 22, 2022 at 9:59 pm

    Great laptop ruined by the slash mark going across the keyboard deck , it makes the laptop look tacky and cheap and on on a laptop this expensive hard to overlook.
    Personally I can't get over how bad it looks and that automatically dismisses this model even though everything else is pretty good. It's a pretty lame reason but I can't overlook it , and here I thought gaming laptops couldn't look and more tacky, good job ASUS you did it.

    • oscar

      August 15, 2022 at 6:16 pm

      Sweet baby jesus, this article is marvelous. I recently bought the 3070ti model, and i was really worry about the temperatures (when playing sometimes it gets almost 93°) i will try to do the cooling techniques and hopefully it will improve

  2. Andrew Morris

    February 24, 2022 at 10:00 pm

    Thanks for the detailed review. This is the configuration I’m looking for just with the FHD 300Hz panel, any idea when we’ll be able to get our hands on these configurations?

    • Andrei Girbea

      February 24, 2022 at 10:02 pm

      I can't really comment on local availability in your region. You'll have to ask local stores for that.

  3. Laur

    March 1, 2022 at 1:03 pm

    Hi,the opening angle for strix scar 15 2022 is the same with the strix scar 15 2021 or is smaller?

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 1, 2022 at 1:43 pm

      the same. the 2021 and 2022 models are functionally the same chassis, with only some aesthetic differences

  4. Adi

    March 1, 2022 at 7:38 pm

    Can we replace the dd5 ram with ddr4 ram as ddr5 is hard to in market?

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 1, 2022 at 8:01 pm

      no

      • Andrew Morris

        March 22, 2022 at 6:20 am

        Hi, what did you use to prop up the back of the laptop?

      • Andrei Girbea

        March 22, 2022 at 10:36 am

        I prop it on top of the power brick placed at the back. But something smaller would work as well, as long as it's about 2 cm thick

  5. Pete

    March 3, 2022 at 12:50 am

    This device is very strange. It benchmarks ~almost~ as good as 3080ti equipped top spec MSI and Alienwares. (And somehow better than the 17 inch Scar, silicon lottery maybe?) Which makes me think, maybe shelling absurd amount of money for a 3080ti device is meaningless at this point. Even at QHD, fps numbers are so similar. Maybe a 3080ti makes sense at 4K but then even then, 3080 itself struggles at that resolution in the newest games.

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 3, 2022 at 10:18 am

      I haven't tested any 3080Ti configuration yet, but I'd expect some gains over this 3070Ti in high power, overclocked and well cooled implementations (such as this one).

      With 3080 class GPUs, you're expected to pay a high premium for marginal gains, it's been the same with previous-gen and it's the same now. For me, the value has always been with the 60s and 70s classes of laptops.

  6. Carlos

    March 12, 2022 at 5:44 am

    This is incredibly selling right now on amazon for $2,049.99 that and your super detailed review makes me lean towards this one. Thank you!

  7. Milad

    April 9, 2022 at 7:49 am

    Hi,tnx for your great review. I dont mind the look of it,but Strix g15 this year looks so much cleaner than Scar 15. Anyway i game on laptop and i know that all 12th gen intel cpus r just fantastic but ryzen 9 6800hx of Strix g15 isnt good enough?! I also heard that G15 has better touchpad than the Scar and it has better look. So. And also another thing. M16 with i7 12700h and rtx 3060 120w worth buying? For gaming on QHD ?! Cuz in my country M16 with rtx 3060 and Strix g15 with rtx 3060 cost the same. And i dont know which to buy between these 3,M16,Scar15,Strix g15. Help!

  8. Stephen

    June 14, 2022 at 11:10 am

    Question…this configuration is not currently available (out of stock). I can find the 3080 8GB model with the same display and overall configuration. What are your thoughts on the alternate GPU vs the reviewed 3070Ti version.

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 14, 2022 at 12:12 pm

      expect a 5-10% performance increase in games and rasterization tasks, and a little more in RT. Up to you if worth the price.

      • Stephen

        June 16, 2022 at 1:46 am

        Thank You so much; I could only find the 3070Ti at a retailer I don't consider reliable. I was able to get the 3080 model with same specs otherwise on Amazon for 2500, which was 150 USD more. Its overkill on the GPU, but I keep my machines for 4 to 5 years, so I'm good with the price.

        Thank you so much for your help and great reviews.

  9. alex

    June 27, 2022 at 2:46 pm

    great review, very detail.

    Andrei, would you mind to review 12700h + RTX 3060 unit please ?

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 27, 2022 at 2:54 pm

      Slim to no chances of reviewing that one. I have reviewed that hardware in other products, though, at similar power settings to the Scar 15. The Lenovo Legion 5 Pro is one example.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.