2022 Asus ROG Flow X16 GV601RW review (3070Ti, miniLED)

46 Comments

  1. Ron

    August 18, 2022 at 6:02 am

    Why do you review the same laptop twice?

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 18, 2022 at 11:42 am

      Can't you read? This article is Derek's point of view of a different configuration than what I've reviewed in the past

      • Ron

        August 18, 2022 at 3:05 pm

        Would not it be a better use of your time to actually test a different laptop and not a slightly different variant of already tested laptop? It would have much more value to the readers.

      • Derek Sullivan

        August 18, 2022 at 5:41 pm

        I bought this for myself so I reviewed it. It's my time to waste and it's not like it's affecting my other reviews.

      • Nat

        August 19, 2022 at 1:41 am

        Thanks for reviewing another version–I enjoy getting another perspective and more info about the mini LED.I've been waiting for the new Vivobook 16X, but I might go for this one instead. The lighter weight and mini LED could… "outweigh" a full HD webcam and fingerprint scanner. And I'm just tired of waiting for the vivobook!

    • Josh

      August 19, 2022 at 3:57 pm

      The MiniLED screen and higher tiered GPU makes it perfect to have a separate review for, as this is one of only like two laptops on the market to have that display.

  2. Brad

    August 18, 2022 at 12:40 pm

    I've been waiting patiently for this. But, neither Amazon nor Best buy even have a listing for it. If someone could please tell me who is going to carry this besides the Asus website itself? I want to get a extended warranty since everything about this laptop is new.:-)

  3. Abe

    August 18, 2022 at 5:40 pm

    I got the 3070ti model direct from Asus last week. It had a dead pixel. Took them almost a week to get back to me approving the return (they don't do replacements). By the time they finally approved it, they're sold out again. Aside from that, this is a great laptop.

  4. Akmal

    August 19, 2022 at 10:49 am

    Did you use the latest bios when testing the battery? Trying to decide whether to get the IPS or the mini-LED version.

  5. hexaae

    August 19, 2022 at 11:19 am

    THE BAD (for me):
    – no G-Sync
    – no 17" version
    – no numpad

    • AlexS

      August 20, 2022 at 2:53 am

      I agree about 17 and numpad. Also the CPU could be cheaper.

  6. AlexS

    August 20, 2022 at 2:53 am

    This CPU Ryzen 9 6900HS seems to be wasted in the system. The Cinebench R23 value is mediocre for what it should be.
    In short seems to be the usual trick to make a laptop more expensive than it should.

    That said many thanks for this review.

    • Josh

      August 24, 2022 at 7:15 am

      Not really. It runs at 95 watts sustained and can get over 15k in Cinebench. That’s excellent for a Ryzen laptop. The big upgrade for the 6900HS was for the RDNA2 integrated graphics and of course better efficiency. Efficiency and performance at low wattage is AMD’s speciality, not top-tier Cinebench scores.

  7. Klaus

    August 23, 2022 at 7:02 pm

    Thank you for this review Derek!

    As for battery life, did you put the system in quite/silent mode (I mean, putting settings as Andrei, in order to make some kind of comparison).

    Thank you

    • Derek Sullivan

      August 23, 2022 at 7:04 pm

      Sorry, I usually specify that in the description. Pretty much every test is in quiet mode except for the gaming and heavy internet use tests which I switched to optimized or turbo(both are basically the same on battery)

      • Klaus

        August 23, 2022 at 8:02 pm

        Ok thank you.

        I find idle results to be strange. You result (with no backligthing and 0% brightness) are similar to Andrei while watching Netflix 4k and 60% brightness that is 120 nits.
        In your case scenario I don't think that the display and the deactivated GPU would determine the non-difference.

        What are your thoughts?

      • Derek Sullivan

        August 23, 2022 at 8:19 pm

        Tough to say. We're in different parts of the world so our test methodology might differ slightly. But our units did have different screens so that alone might have accounted for the difference. I couldn't get anywhere near 11.5 w while streaming, so that might be the only factor.

      • Claudio

        August 23, 2022 at 8:49 pm

        Thank you very much Derek!

        What about the use of a script in order to standardize battery life tests?

      • Andrei Girbea

        August 24, 2022 at 6:13 am

        I don't see how that can be a viable option.

      • Klaus

        August 25, 2022 at 2:07 pm

        Another question: during battery life tests, how did you set the MUX? On Optimus or in integrated GPU? There may be some kind of BUG related to descrete GPU activation, a test disabling it on BIOS could be interesting.

        Thank you

      • Derek Sullivan

        August 25, 2022 at 3:21 pm

        Optimus. The dGPU wasn't activating if that's what you mean. I'd see the blips in GPU power on hwinfo.

  8. Luke Chen

    August 25, 2022 at 12:52 am

    I can't find any answer on this. What is the screen pressure sensitivity level? Is it 4096?

    If so, do I need both a screen that is rated 4096 pressure level and a compatible 4096 press level pen to make it work?

    • Derek Sullivan

      August 25, 2022 at 1:52 am

      I don't think the screen sensitivity matters. I use a 4096 pen(Bamboo Ink) from 2017 and it works just fine. I think any MPP pen should work. I tested the sensitivity on Microsoft Whiteboard and I can definitely see a difference if I press down harder.

      • Luke Chen

        August 26, 2022 at 4:39 am

        I used window surface pen 2, and I want to replace it with something cheaper if I can't get the full 4096 pressure sensitivity. Honestly, I have been pretty happy with the drawing experience so far with the pen and the screen. I just dislike Microsoft's business model. When I bought the pen for 130 dollars it didn't even come with a charger, I had to spend another 35 dollars to buy a charger to use the pen. I also found out you can't bind ctrl+z to the pen without downloading third party software.

  9. canadaboy

    August 25, 2022 at 11:15 am

    is it true this is a 16 inch screen but in the size of a 15” laptop?

    • Derek Sullivan

      August 25, 2022 at 1:10 pm

      Yes. This laptop is basically the same size as the G15.

  10. John

    August 25, 2022 at 2:45 pm

    Thanks for the review! This is the model I'm looking at, if I can ever find it in stock. Asus's site sort of has it every once in while, while their support folks claim it's not officially released yet.

    My one concern is the hinge strength. Did you notice any issues with the screen being stable say at 135 degrees?

    • Derek Sullivan

      August 25, 2022 at 3:40 pm

      I had similar concerns, especially after seeing a couple YouTube reviews. It's not unstable by any means but it's also not as strong as it could be. Realistically you want the device to open and fold back easily with low effort which it does so nicely. But because it's a 16" screen and there's a piece of glass on top of it, the lid is a little more top heavy than normal devices. So there is some inherant wobble but it's never been bad enough that the screen runs away on me.

      There is a limit though. If I pick up my laptop by the base and move it abruptly, the momentum will move the screen slightly. Same as if I pick it up by the palm rest and invert it vertically – gravity and movement may move the screen in those cases. But for typical lap and desk use, the hinge is fine.

  11. Matt

    August 25, 2022 at 5:56 pm

    Hi Derek,
    Thanks for a cracking review, I am currently pondering getting myself a new gaming capable laptop and I am torn between the x16 above and the m16: https://www.ultrabookreview.com/54258-asus-rog-zephyrus-m16-2022-review/
    I like the screen spec and cooling of the x16, but prefer the CPU oompf and additional speaker quality of the m16 – I wondered if you had any thoughts to help me break my dead lock?
    Currently I can get both models for £2299.99 in the uk – the x16 would require me to spend an additional £100 to get a second 1TB SSD m2 drive to properly match the m16 spec.
    Interested in yours/others thoughts.
    Many thanks, Matt

    • Derek Sullivan

      August 25, 2022 at 7:08 pm

      Prices being equal, I would definitely go with the x16. I had slight buyers remorse because the m16 went on sale in my area for over $600 cheaper after I bought my unit. It was slight though because I ultimately wanted a touchscreen and the mled panel is so much nicer imho.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 25, 2022 at 7:31 pm

      I'll jump in as well because I've used both for a while. The speakers are almost the same on the two, despite the M16 having the extra tweeters. As far as the CPU goes, it's up to you whether you would need it for any sort of demanding loads. Even for that, though, the difference between the i9 and the Ryzen 9 is around 10% , so not that much.

      You haven't mentioned whether the X16 is the miniLED screen version or IPS. If it's the miniled, then that alone would be enough of a reason to get the x16 over the m16. Then there's also the convertible format and the touch.

      • Matt

        August 26, 2022 at 1:56 pm

        Thanks for jumping in, the x16 I am looking at is: https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B09XMLNXHW?tag=bgfg-wepc-uk-21 I think it is the mini LED screen version – is the miniLED a noticeable upgrade over the m16's more basic one?
        Touch screen and convertible format are a much lower priority for me personally but if the screen quality upgrade makes games look better than the extra 10% cpu capacity I think I am leaning towards the x16 now.

      • Derek Sullivan

        August 26, 2022 at 2:09 pm

        The Mled panel is better in a few ways, particularly if you play games that offer HDR. The titles I've played look absolutely amazing in HDR on this panel. Other than that and the deeper blacks there's nothing wrong with the standard panel considering it's still 165hz and 100% dci-p3

      • Andrei Girbea

        August 26, 2022 at 2:10 pm

        It is. Not perfect and not ideal for everything, but for multimedia it definitely is. It also helps that you have the two lighting modes to switch between based on what you're after: uniformity and accuracy, or better blacks and contrast.

        Derek has explained everything very well in this article, and you'll also find some of my thoughts about the miniLED panel in here: https://www.ultrabookreview.com/55954-asus-rog-zephyrus-duo-16-review/#a4

      • Matt

        September 1, 2022 at 3:18 pm

        Hi Both,
        Thanks very muchly for that and I have read the duo review as well so I am leaning in the X16 direction now I think. Sounds like the cpu difference is going to be relatively minimal in most every day circumstances and the upgrades in cooling and screen more than offset that as an issue.
        Thank you both very much for your time and responses it is apprecaited.

        Many thanks, matt

      • Matt

        September 1, 2022 at 4:55 pm

        P.S. I forgot to ask, do you guys have a go to laptop cooling pad you can recommend for the x16 and a bag as well that can carry the lot in it?

      • Derek Sullivan

        September 1, 2022 at 5:07 pm

        I just use a wooden lap desk such as the Bamboard or equivalent. Anything with vent holes in the bottom makes a difference.

        For bags, I use an ebags pro and it fits with a couple inches to spare. Really though any bag that supports 15" laptops will be fine. This is a 16" laptop in a 15" chassis.

  12. John

    August 25, 2022 at 7:26 pm

    Any chance you'll be doing a MSI Raider GE67HX OLED review? Seems the X16 is going to have the top Mini-LED screen for 2022 and by all accounts the MSI Raider GE67HX or the Razer 15 OLED with Samsung's 240hz OLED panel is going to be the best laptop OLED of 2022. I'd be curious to see how they compare.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 25, 2022 at 7:32 pm

      I doubt it, we're having a harder time accessing the top MSI laptops lately. I'll ask, though.

  13. Serge

    August 27, 2022 at 7:50 am

    Strange to see AMD + 90Wh battery combo to deliver such a mediocre running time.. really expected to see some 7-8 hrs of browsing in a quiet mode and like 10-11 hrs of just idling. Maybe mini led screen is less power efficient ?

    • Klaus

      August 29, 2022 at 7:47 pm

      I have just got back to the Asus Vivbook Pro 16X with 4K OLED Display, RTX 3050 Ti and i7 11390H.
      The ROG consumes +50% in text editing and +100% in video watching via application or web.
      Since RTX is irrelevant in battery mode, it is impossible that very high power consumption is to be related to the i7 11390H (MiniLED is theoretically more power efficient with the same brightness, in addition Vivbook is OLED 2400p while the Flow 16X is 1600p only).
      I am still keen to low optimization.

  14. Xandrad

    August 28, 2022 at 3:15 pm

    Good day,is this color "eclipse grey" or "off black".

    • Derek Sullivan

      August 29, 2022 at 1:12 am

      My box says eclipse grey. I didn't know there was another option. off black sounds the same to me.

  15. Ricardo

    August 28, 2022 at 9:34 pm

    Hello, the best review I found on the internet for this great laptop.
    I really liked when you indicate the parts with the pencil.
    I only have 2 doubts:
    – The 1 terabyte sdd1 can be upgraded to a 2 terabyte.
    – The SSD2 which is the largest capacity on the market.
    Thank you very much for your article.
    It was between the X16 and the Z13 but for hardware I choose the x16.
    Greetings Ricardo from Colombia

  16. Tim

    September 14, 2022 at 6:58 pm

    Thank you for this review! It was enough to put me over the threshold, and I bought one. This is the laptop I've been wanting for a while: good size and weight, fantastic screen, and enough zip to run everything from statistical analyses to games. I'm actually getting a better gaming experience than with my 2021 14" laptop running an RTX 3080 at up to 100W. Build quality on my unit is excellent.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.