Asus ROG Flow X16 review (2022 GV601RM model- AMD Ryzen 9, RTX 3060)

20 Comments

  1. Boqueron

    July 5, 2022 at 10:28 am

    Hey, Thanks for this great review. Did you have a chance to test the laptop outside on a bright day? How disturbing is the glossy display?

    Since you already tested the Mini-LED panel in the Zephyrus Duo: Do you think its brightness will be high enough to make sure reflections won't be a problem on a bright day?

    Thanks so much.

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 5, 2022 at 10:52 am

      Hi. I've added a picture of the laptop outside in the Screen section – that's the 500-nits IPS. This is a glossy display so you'll see the reflections, but it's usable.

      The MiniLED is brighter at 900+ nits sustained brightness, so even better in bright light. But even with the miniLED you'll still have to accept the glare.

  2. jsa

    July 5, 2022 at 7:53 pm

    Hi!

    To me it seems, that this model does not retain similar concave edges on the internal layout compared to x13 – The layout on pictures seems more like M16 or G15 (just like the review says)

    Is possible to confirm this. I felt that the x13 design is perfect, especially the internal layout, but it seems, that it does not carry over to x16?

    Br, Joosua

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 6, 2022 at 9:33 am

      As far as I can tell, the edge design around the palm-rest and front lip is identical between the x13 and x16.

  3. bond

    July 6, 2022 at 2:36 am

    Nice review, but one thing remains a mystery to me. Why on earth would you talk about having to "bump up" this laptop when half the point of it being a convertible is so you can… convert it into a position where the fans aren't choked? Sure, it's a niche use, but convertability on a 16 inch gaming laptop is a niche feature. With the Flow X13, tent mode allowed the CPU to go from 35W to 45W without throttling. Surely doing the same here would be helpful. And hey, if not, that would be extremely useful to know, as it isn't just me who intends on using this thing in tent mode when at the home desk.

    And yes, I know ASUS provide a cardboard prop-up wedge in the box, but come on.

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 6, 2022 at 9:30 am

      Of course, placing this in tent mode would do the exact same thing as bumping up the back in laptop mode. That comes without saying, but I've updated the article to mention the tent mode as well. Thanks for the heads-up on this

      I see your point, but I still think most will use this in notebook mode for the majority of time. To me, the convertible form factor is just an added bonus to this design, and not something that I care much for. Of course, you and others might feel differently.

      • Elias Dunkel

        July 6, 2022 at 11:40 am

        Hi. Thanks for the great review!

        I'd like to agree with the commenter above, that it would be great to have reviews concentrate on the effects of different modes on thermal performance. I feel like that's kinda the thing for this laptop. I'm interested in this specific laptop so that I could place it onto a stand in 'stand mode' and use it with external peripherals. This way I can have the screen closer to my eyes as the body of the laptop is facing away from me.

        Would stand mode be similar in thermal performance to bumping it up, as the fans are upside down?

        As a side note, it would be great to have a more detailed review on the real-time audio performance of this machine. I'm looking for a laptop that could double as a music studio and gaming computer. The audio capabilities might be better to test with a retail unit, though.

      • Andrei Girbea

        July 6, 2022 at 11:47 am

        Hi. yes, tend mode with be the equivalent on notebook mode with bumped back.

        As far as music goes, I don't really have any expertise in the field, so I'm open to any details on what you might be interested in testing out. I include Latencymon logs in each review, but that's about it. Also, as you mentioned, I'd refrain from conclusions on this pre-release unit, since thes latencymon results seem different than on other Ryzen 6900HS units tested in the past.

      • Boqueron

        July 6, 2022 at 2:12 pm

        Thanks for your answer above.

        I agree that I also see this as a standard laptop and would probably never use the other modes.

        How would you say this compares to the M16 and the G14 in terms of portability, performance when at desk, and battery power on the go? I am torn between the three…

      • Andrei Girbea

        July 6, 2022 at 2:23 pm

        Performance should be similar between the M16 and X16, with a slight advantage in CPU sustained loads for the Intel platform in the M16. Temperatures and noise levels and efficiency favor the X16, though.

        G14 is a bit different, as it's smaller and more portable. If portability is that important, then the G14 is the obvious choice. Just make sure you understand its quirks.

        Pricing should be weighed in as well, as the M16 and the G14 seem more affordable than a similar-tier X16.

  4. Boqueron

    July 6, 2022 at 6:01 pm

    Thanks again. It's really nice to get your feedback. I only discovered this site because of this review, but will check out the other reviews too before making a decision.

    Do you think the extra 300-400 grams of the M16 and the x16 respectively will make a big difference in practice? Would usually just throw the laptop in a backback when on the go…

    The other thing I am unsure about is whether 16 GB of RAM would be enough for me. I am currently on a three years old Matebook D14 (AMD) with only 8 GB of RAM and I am constantly close to the 100% RAM usage because of many background apps like Slack, Discord and usually 2-4 browsers with dozens or even hundreds of active tabs on each of them. Just don't wanna run into the same problem again.

    Price differences will be smaller if I have to go for the 32 GB versions.

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 6, 2022 at 6:15 pm

      browsers are RAM hogs these days, so I'd go with 32 GB if possible. The weight differences between the M16 and X16 is actually about 50-100 grams depending on the configurations – not much imo, and shouldn't be a decisive factor in your decision. The G14 is smaller and lighter.

  5. 焦点guy

    July 6, 2022 at 8:08 pm

    I'd be very interested to see a direct size comparison between G14, G15/M16, and X16. I know the X16 is very similar in dimensions to the G15/M16, but I'm particularly interested in the difference in thickness. The thickness of the G15/M16 seems to be affected quite a bit by their rubber feet, but the display of the X16 seems thicker. Ultimately one of the reasons I ended up not getting a G15 was because the feet kept catching on the inside of my bag, so if the X16 is significantly better in that regard, I might consider returning my G14 and paying a bit more for the X16.

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 7, 2022 at 9:39 am

      I'll have a comparison in a week or so. I don't have the g14 or the m16 right now in the office, but I'll try to get them for some pictures and a quick article.

      • 焦点guy

        July 7, 2022 at 10:14 am

        Thanks!

  6. federico

    July 9, 2022 at 11:29 am

    As far as battery usage goes, do you think there would be a difference between MiniLED and IPS?
    If so, what kind of delta in total uptime would you expect?

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 11, 2022 at 8:43 am

      hard to say. See the Zeph Duo review for battery readings on the miniled version, should be similar here

      • Claudio

        July 12, 2022 at 5:19 pm

        Did Asus tell your something about the bad battery life you encountered?

      • Andrei Girbea

        July 13, 2022 at 9:04 am

        As explained in the Battery Life section, I'd advise not to draw any conclusions based on this early sample.

  7. Jason Lee

    July 31, 2022 at 3:46 am

    I'm getting this laptop mostly for tent mode. I always use a separate keyboard anyways so this makes perfect sense for me.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.