Asus ROG Flow X13 review (2022 GV301RE model – Ryzen 9 6900HS, RTX 3050Ti)

38 Comments

  1. LHPSU

    March 29, 2022 at 4:28 pm

    One particularly irritating aspect about the previous X13, and one of the reasons that I never pulled the trigger on it, is that it can be hard to find the FHD + 32GB option, depending on where you live; it's either FHD and 16GB or UHD and 32GB.

    Any idea what the temps would be like if you're running games using the XG GPU? And will using a cooling pad (without further lifting up the back) have an effect equivalent to lifting it up?

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 29, 2022 at 5:03 pm

      I'm having a separate article on XG Mobile performance. And yes, using a cooling pad will work well, better than lifting up the back.

      • LHPSU

        March 30, 2022 at 4:48 pm

        Also, is there any actual benefit to the 6xxx model over the 5xxx one?

      • Andrei Girbea

        March 30, 2022 at 4:58 pm

        What do you mean?

      • LHPSU

        March 31, 2022 at 1:22 pm

        At a glance it looks like the 6xxx series in this laptop performs slower than the last generation's 5980HS. Is that true, and if so, is there any reason to get this one over the previous model?

      • Andrei Girbea

        March 31, 2022 at 1:50 pm

        is it? Might be because of the drivers on the 2022 model. I wouldn't expect anything significant, of course, since this is Zen3+ so only a refinement of Zen3 hardware, but 5-15% IPC, 5% multicore, and 10% better runtimes might make some lean towards the 2022 X13.

  2. Silver

    March 31, 2022 at 12:57 pm

    What version of bios did you use for Z13. They have apparently fixed throttling for i9 z13 since version 310

    • Andrei Girbea

      March 31, 2022 at 1:47 pm

      If you're talking to me, everything is detailed in the article. Also, what throttling are you talking about?

      • Silver

        April 19, 2022 at 4:25 pm

        1. Throttling:
        reddit.com/r/FlowZ13/comments/tv75jn/power_limitthrottling_issues_fix_for_the_flow_z13/
        reddit.com/r/FlowZ13/comments/tv75jn/power_limitthrottling_issues_fix_for_the_flow_z13/

        2. I see no mention of the firmware of z13. The article only says version of x13. Or maybe i missed it

      • Andrei Girbea

        April 19, 2022 at 5:16 pm

        This is a review of the X13, it has nothing to do with the Z13. That's a separate article

  3. Fab

    April 1, 2022 at 9:30 am

    Hi Andrei,

    Thanks a lot for this complete review, which is confirming my choise to go with this laptop.
    I'm living in France, but I can't find any piece of the X13 2022 here, or in Europe.
    Could you share where you were able to find it in Europe?

    Also, have you any contact with someone at Asus whom can share specific release date? (particularly about the 4k screen 32gb ram model).

    Thank you,
    Fab

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 1, 2022 at 11:33 am

      It's not available in stores yet, our unit was sources from Asus as explained in the article. Should be in the near future. I'd contact the local Asus reps in France for more details.

      • Fab

        April 1, 2022 at 2:04 pm

        yep, it's what I did like 2 weeks ago, but they replied "You'll see on our website when it will be available"… Okay thanks ^^

        So I was wondering if by any magic you'd have more info :)
        I stay tuned on your Review for any update.

      • Andrei Girbea

        April 1, 2022 at 2:09 pm

        Pff, what a reply. Unfortunately, they don't have an exact availability date over here either, there seem to be some delays with the AMD 6000 hardware.

      • Fab

        April 1, 2022 at 2:48 pm

        Yes I couldn't have expected for a more useless answer from them. Anyway, thanks for the info regarding AMD 6000. I Hope they will share soon about it.

    • Andrés

      April 13, 2022 at 4:17 pm

      Hi

      I've a question. I've seen in some g14 zephyrus reviews that the hdmi connection goes into the integrated graphics card, so if you plug in a external tv or monitor you can't get the full performance of the nvidia dedicated card.
      Is this happens in the x13?? I don't understand how Asus can fail in such kind of details…
      Thx

      • Andrei Girbea

        April 13, 2022 at 8:13 pm

        Yes, the HDMI goes into the iGPU. Optimus vs MUX isn't going to make that much of a difference at the level of a 3050Ti.

      • Andrés

        April 14, 2022 at 5:34 pm

        I don't understand exactly what do you mean.

        I've read your review of this unit but only using the iGpu and I can see a big difference in terms of fps in games. And if you take the 2021 units probably it'd be bigger, and nowadays here in Spain you can't get a 2022 unit, and probably when they arrive to the market the prize will be significantly higher.

        With the hdmi attached to the igpu I can't play using a external monitor or tv because the performance won't be enough.

        Is there any way to solve this?

      • Andrei Girbea

        April 14, 2022 at 6:21 pm

        You got this wrong, but no worries, it's kind of complex and confusing.

        The video signal coming from this laptop goes through the iGPU and then through the HDMI port in order to display the image onto an external monitor. That doesn't mean the laptop uses the iGPU to run the games, not at all. Instead, this means that it uses the dGPU on Optimus mode, and you're getting about 10% lower framerates than mentioned in the review for the 3050Ti performance on the dGPU MUX mode. This dGPU MUX mode takes the video signal directly from the dGPU and sends it to the display, without carrying it through the iGPU.

        If the HDMI port were to be connected to the dGPU, that would have meant you would have gotten the same performance as in this review when connecting an external monitor.

        So, long story short, the implications of this design with the HDMI port going through the iGPU is up to 10% lower framerates.

        Hope this makes sense. You'll find online more details about what a MUX means and what's the performance toll implied by Optimus when routing the video signal through the iGPU

      • Andrés

        April 14, 2022 at 7:28 pm

        Aaah.
        Ok, now I've understood.
        Thx!!

  4. bittricks

    April 3, 2022 at 1:36 am

    My experience with the 2021 version has been overwhelmingly positive. For a smaller sized (13.3\14 inch) system, it is the best performance unit available as a brand-new product on the US market at the price point.

    1. The plastic trackpad has been really superb. The small size has been no hindrance for me whatsoever and it is precise.
    2. The key travel is excellent (although I wish ASUS used keys that did not show wear; my C key shows wear). I love the keyboard as I have smallish hands but the the 1.7 mm key travel with higher than average key actuation force is perfect for me (I use mechanical keyboards with Cherry and other brands that require high force actuation). For me personally, without a doubt this has been one of the best keyboards ever – for me it blows away the keyboard on the X1 Extreme.
    3. The plastic palm deck shows shiny wear areas over time where the wrists rest.
    4. The screen and system performance have been very good, if not better than, XPS 15 or X1 Extreme using VMs (I own both 2021 models of XPS 15 and X1 Extreme and can make a direct comparison). The X13 Flow is at least twice as fast as an i7-10750 and probably 4 or 5 times faster than an i7-1187G7.
    5. I run the unit in Turbo mode connected to the power supply, and the fans rarely run even when I have multiple VMs running.
    6. In typical daily usage, the average temp reported by Armory Crate is 55 C. Myself personally, based upon my use, I have never experienced high rear palm rest temps or the exhaust fans cooking the bottom of the display. I always keep the display at 110 degrees from the palm deck as ASUS recommends. However, I do agree that if you are going to push the CPU and discrete GPU to their maximum protentional in this unit for extended periods, hot air is going to affect the surface temps of your bottom rear display, not to mention result in a bit of degraded performance.
    7. I have the GPU disabled; I do not game. I use the unit for typical productivity and VM work.
    8. 16 GB RAM has never been exceeded despite me running 4 or 5 VMs simultaneously (my RAM is typically between 35 to 75 % as viewed in Windows Task Manager), while having the usual apps open (e.g. Microsoft Edge with multiple tabs). So you need 32 GB RAM ? For 6+ simultaneous VM, large video editing, complex CAD, etc – yes, you certainly do need 32 GB RAM.

    The only negative I have is that one of the palm deck screen stand-off pips fell out (the left one) because my left arm constant rubs on it while using the laptop. ASUS agreed to an RMA to replace the palm deck. I have yet to ship the unit back. Me personally, I wish the palm deck was carbon fiber like the one on Dell's XPS line.

    I run my unit connected to the outlet, and on top of a Targus Chil Mat+ (which mind you fits the X13 Flow perfectly).

    If I need to do CPU intensive work, I just convert the X13 to tent mode and then use a first-rate small 68 key keyboard. All-in-all, this thing has been a beast based upon my usage.

    I am not a fanboy, just relating my experience. This thing is not the greatest thing since sliced bread. It's just a very good laptop for the price. This laptop is probably the best overall (what you get versus what you paid) value I've gotten in the past 10 years.

    I would not hesitate to purchase a newer version in the years to come, assuming ASUS keeps this model in its product line.

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 4, 2022 at 8:09 am

      Hi, thanks for this extensive feedback. I didn't know you eventually went for the X13 last year.

  5. Jarek Beksa

    April 4, 2022 at 3:59 am

    Hello,

    Great review.
    Do you think it is posssible to squeeze a 2280 ssd using extension cable and sticky tape?

    https://www.amazon.com/ASHATA-Extension-Cable-Solid-State/dp/B07RWNBSJR

    Cheers
    Jarek

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 4, 2022 at 8:58 am

      No. Have a look at the motherboard picture, the connector is oriented to the right of the laptop so there's no room for a longer SSD

      • Jarek

        April 4, 2022 at 9:18 am

        Yes. I noticed that. That's why I think of using extension cord to bend it and place the ssd somewhere else (would there be space to stick it to the motherboard?)

      • Andrei Girbea

        April 4, 2022 at 10:04 am

        Up to you. Perhaps over the RAM with thermal pads. Not sure if the height of the chassis allows it, though.

        Why do you even consider this, though?

      • Jarek

        April 4, 2022 at 7:53 pm

        2230 is very limiting. Planning to use 4 or 8tb ssd in a laptop.

        J.

  6. Geo

    April 10, 2022 at 10:54 pm

    The Apple-like non-standard 100W charger is the only way to have the laptop running in Turbo mode should definitely appear in "The Bad" section. I found this out the hard way. There's no technical reason for Asus to do this that I know of other than to rip off consumers with their expensive non-standard charger.

    Not only is a GAN 100W charger recognized as "non-compliant" by the system, the system drops the charging wattage to 65W.

    Perhaps this is something Asus can "fix" in the future if people complain more about it.

  7. Jesús

    April 18, 2022 at 8:12 pm

    Do you think it is worth buying this year's version versus last year's version if I am in programming (mostly non-graphics)? Currently I can buy the ryzen 9 5900HS, 16gb, 512 ssd and 3050ti version for 1300€ here in Europe.
    Another question, do you know if last year's version suffers from the same heating problem?
    Thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 19, 2022 at 8:54 am

      2021 and 2022 X13s are the same design. That unit seems very competitive at 1300. I'd reckon the 2022 version is not yet available?

      • Jesús

        April 19, 2022 at 9:10 pm

        Yes it is not available yet but I don't care to wait a bit this year (2-3 months). The thing is if it's worth to wait for the new hardware for programming.

      • Andrei Girbea

        April 20, 2022 at 8:38 am

        Up to you, but probably not. Expect up to 10-15% better performance and 10% improved efficiency. Plus the impact of DDR5 memory.

  8. Joe

    April 19, 2022 at 3:29 pm

    This review made me open my 2021 ROG X13 (GV301QH) with the 1TB SSD. I was quite excited to read that line " Last year’s X13 came with a 2280 SSD, but Asus decided on replacing it with the more compact 2230 format for this update".

    That is sadly factually incorrect. :(
    My 2021 X13 has a WD SN530 1TB 2230 m.2 SSD as well, can you check on which models came with a 2280 SSD?

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 19, 2022 at 4:09 pm

      You're right, the 2021 x13 came with 2230 drives as well. I mistakenly confused it with something else. I'm updating! Sry for the screw-up.

  9. IndiumGalliumNitride

    April 25, 2022 at 2:16 pm

    In the text i can read:

    "7 W (~6-7 h of use) – text editing in Google Drive, Silent Mode, screen at 50%, Wi-Fi ON;"

    Maybe there is a mistake? With 7 Watt and 62Wh i hope i can expect 8-9h of runetime or the system need 10 Watt in this configuration?

    Nevertheless i have booked the 6800HS model without dedicated GPU for 1400€.
    I hope it will be a good all day notebook. Rembrandt ist more efficient than 5000er in office/idle an AlderLake seems to be slightly better in Performance (e.g. 1260p) but the efficiency is not better (maybe worse) than TigerLaker in Idle/Office.

    I hope i will get USB 4.0. Then Rembrandt with its efficiency and the more powefull 680M is the best mobile notebook option on x86/Windows!

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 26, 2022 at 12:21 pm

      Yes, I've updated the battery life readings after testing this with the more mature BIOS, but didn't update the runtimes (in hours). Fixed and thanks for the heads-up.

    • Glg

      May 14, 2022 at 6:14 pm

      Is the brightness of the display much better than last year model for outdoor usage? I see 500 nits in the stats, while if I a not wrong, 2021 x13 was below 400 nits

  10. Fab

    May 12, 2022 at 3:08 pm

    This one is still unavailable in its 4K version: ROG Flow X13 (2022)FLOW-X13-GV301RE-007W. With the ryzen 9 6900HS, RTX 3050TI, 32GB RAM. I can’t find any real ease date, on info about the next availability. I’m looking for it since March…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.