Lenovo Legion Slim 7i review (2022 Slim 7i 16IAH7 model)

21 Comments

  1. AlexS

    August 20, 2022 at 2:56 am

    The less power of Nvidia is noted, in my Legion 5 3060 130w i get 12.8 sec in Blender Optix BMW scene.

  2. Many

    August 20, 2022 at 6:27 am

    Hi

    I like your blog very much. Your reviews are great, very detailed and contain very useful technical data. Your reviews are among the best there are.

    Can you review more cheaper, budget, non gaming or office laptops? From what I see you mainly focus on very expensive and high tier laptops.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 20, 2022 at 10:58 am

      we try, but it's not always possible. Do you have any suggestions of what exactly are you interested in?

  3. Keyboard

    August 20, 2022 at 9:54 am

    I'm interested to see browsing on edge at 60hz since I believe that's when the reduction in refresh rate would yield the most benefit to battery life.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 20, 2022 at 10:58 am

      haven't tested that. the difference is around 1-2W between 60 and 165 hz, so not that much

  4. Lakshay Kakkar

    August 21, 2022 at 1:38 pm

    Hey Andrei, can you please consider reviewing the Scar 17 Special Edition?

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 21, 2022 at 3:53 pm

      It's on the list, but I don't have a timeframe for it

  5. Oscar Guillen

    August 22, 2022 at 8:57 am

    Such a GREAT review Andrei, very detailed, you really nailed it!
    I bought my previous laptop more than 7 years ago and i remember you guys helped me to decide with my purchase back then, as for today i just got this laptop, with a FHD screen, 512 GB storage, RTX 3060 and 71W Battery configuration, thanks a lot for all the info, it helped me on what to expect for the performance, specially for gaming.

    Just a small clarification, that might be important for others out there, even the Lenovo website is misleading with the 2 colors available, all the pictures you see on their site show the “Storm Gray” version, but the description says “Onyx Gray” which is darker, almost black i should say, but there are no pictures for the Onyx Gray version on their website, so you can’t tell the diffrence until you get the product, so i thought i was buying the one you have, what a horrible surprise when i opened the box and saw an almost black laptop, still looks great, but that’s not what i wanted ;((
    Now, thanks to your review and the macbook next to it i can really notice the difference with mine, so you have the lighter version, consider to clarify that on your review, i guess i’ll buy the storm gray model once is available on North America, anyway, thanx for such an amazing review!

  6. Ben

    August 22, 2022 at 10:55 pm

    Great comprehensive review: I think you are the only review site an ultrabook buyer needs. Only thing I would disagree with is that it was very easy to open my machine. Just unscrewed the screws and got the long blue prise tool under the lip near the front and worked it round.

    My biggest issue with it (although I've never owned a gaming laptop before and certainly not a slim one) is that it runs hot. I actually tried Spiderman today for the first time and it is sitting at 85 degrees on the 3060 GPU (12500h CPU is about ten degrees cooler: 55-70 FPS at 2560×1600 dlss quality FYI. Perhaps that's just because I'm really pushing the system with high settings and high ray tracing, but it's probably the biggest drawback of this notebook other than the increased weight over G15/M16 etc. Having said that I play with a controller, so apart from possible longevity issues it's not such a big issue for me.

    PS: I just gave Spiderman another try with the with the back of the laptop raised with a small cardboard box and that has lowered temps by around 15-20 degrees (!), so even on performance it's now only at 70 degrees and getting about ten percent extra frames. But I'm not sure how ideal a fix this is for those who use mouse and keyboard. Maybe a cooling pad would achieve the same and keep the keyboard level.

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 23, 2022 at 7:29 am

      Thanks.

      I struggled to open up with my prying tool and had to use a suction cup instead. I wish Lenovo would implement a pop-up screw in the corner, like other OEMs do, that would make everything much easier.

      Wow, bumping up the back of that laptop made a massive difference on your unit compared to mine. I haven't seen that sort of difference in any of the games that I've tried. For regular use, I recommend a laptop tray/riser, there are plenty on Amazon. An active cooling pad will help even more, but I've yet to fiund a good one taht doesn't run noisy after some time.

      • Ben

        August 23, 2022 at 5:24 pm

        I was surprised how hot it was running with Spiderman. But I was using it on my knee with a dinner mat underneath it, so perhaps that wasn't an ideal heat dissipation scenario! Raised at the back the temps are excellent though and on my Chinese machine you can overclock it even beyond the performance setting as long as you can accept max fan noise, which you don't hear with earphones. Got close to Legion 7 numbers in SOTR benchmark with close to maxed out overclock settings.

  7. Klaus

    August 23, 2022 at 6:41 pm

    Great review!!!

    What are your thoughts on the possible power consumption with the mini-led display?
    Would we get something similar to Asus RoG Flow 16?

    Thank you

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 24, 2022 at 7:21 am

      Probably a little less, because the AMD platform tends to be more efficient with light use.

  8. JamesW

    August 31, 2022 at 8:06 am

    Thanks for the thorough review. This laptop is pretty close to what I'm looking for except for one massive detail I can't compromise on. The deal killer is the 8GB soldered memory. I wonder who thought that was a good idea for a gaming/creator machine??? I would be OK with 16GB soldered. Personally I need at least 32GB total memory and ideally 64GB. Use case is big files in Lightroom and Photoshop and long image sequences in DaVinci Resolve. I need a good mix of CPU and GPU horsepower with a total weight ideally under 3kg. The XPS 15 and 17 are slightly underpowered for my use. I suspect that Dell will do a XPS 16 next year but I can't wait that long. The full fat Legion 7i has the horsepower I need but it is just too heavy for location work with that massive charger. There are also other compromises that rule the Legion 7i out. I am considering the HP ZBook Studio G9 and Dell Precision 7670 instead.

  9. Tae

    August 31, 2022 at 3:31 pm

    Thank you for the great review as always. I returned both 2022 G14 and more recently HP Omen because they were so hot and loud. I'd prefer to choose one… so this automatically removes G15/M16 from my list too.

    It seems like Lenovo is unnecessarily letting the CPU consume so much power (PL1 90W and PL2 135W?) without getting that much more extra performance on the CPU here. I wouldn't think we would lose much by setting power limit PL1 to around 65W and PL2 to 90W instead. It seems to be a bit lopsided as most manufacturers will let the GPU consume a bit more power comparatively speaking vs CPU specifically on gaming laptops, which is not the case here with 3060 limited at 100W.

    Without the ability to push 3060 beyond 100W though, this might not be much of anything as you didn't seem to be even hitting 75C on GPU during Timespy run.

  10. Cheeseball

    September 4, 2022 at 5:31 am

    These are really good battery times for a i7-12700H. It looks like Lenovo put the time in to optimize the BIOS/UEFI/firmware so it can prioritize smaller tasks to the E-cores and stop pinging the P-cores.

  11. Trenton Bush

    September 14, 2022 at 11:30 am

    Huh, I just got one of these (same model/specs but with FHD+ screen) and saw quite different power draw and performance numbers. I ran Cinebench R15 and saw peak CPU power of 113W and sustained power around 95W after 10 runs, albeit with scorching temperatures over 95 degrees C. The first score topped 2900 and stable runs leveled off around 2750, about 10% higher than in the article.
    Any idea what could cause the difference? Not complaining, just curious! Thanks for your awesome reviews

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 17, 2022 at 7:57 pm

      perhaps an updated BIOS version

      • Ben

        September 18, 2022 at 4:33 am

        Is that something you recommend updating regularly on a laptop? I know it's generally advised not to update the bios on desktops unless necessary.

      • Andrei Girbea

        September 19, 2022 at 9:30 am

        I run my laptops on the latest available BIOS versions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.