ASUS ROG Zephyrus G14 review (2022 GA402RK – Ryzen 9, RX 6800S)

88 Comments

  1. Cruiz

    April 16, 2022 at 3:56 pm

    Thx again, one of the most thorough reviews.

    Please amend your review to inform consumers that they can only update display drivers for this laptop thru Asus or via Windows update. Amd does not provide drivers directly to users. No Amd direct driver will work. Hence, users overly dependent on Asus +Amd +Microsoft to keep drivers updated, thats a lot of coordination required and is unfortunate the laptop could not use a more universal driver.

  2. shirobo

    April 21, 2022 at 11:41 am

    I've been considering either the 2022 models of the G14 or the X13, but the thermal situation of the G14 with the vents blowing into the screen has me wondering about the longevity of it.

    I want to buy one of the two laptops with a dedicated GPU (either 6700S/6800S on G14 or 3050Ti on the X13) as a backup for when I'm needing VRAM for tasks (light photo editing, streaming), but I'd be primarily using the laptop with integrated graphics as I don't game much on PC and when I do, the new iGPU of the Ryzen 6000 series will be quite enough for that. So I'm rather looking for a light-weight "desktop replacement" which should last me a few years.

    With the X13 I noticed that the biggest problem of it is the air intake being blocked due to the small stubby feet, which could be countered by raising it a bit through some means. As mentioned, my biggest fear with the G14 is the possibility of some kind of damage in the screen due to the thermal design. Would using it primarily with the iGPU and in silent mode be less of a risk for the screen of the G14?

    Another question I had is the performance difference of Ryzen 7 and Ryzen 9 6000 CPUs. Most models available in Germany tend to have a R7 configured, but I was preferably aiming for a R9. From the specs the only difference seem to be 100 to 200 MHz in core clock. I don't have much experience with CPU performance, but it probably wouldn't be right to dismiss Ryzen 7 CPUs for a small difference in core clock, right?

    • Andrei Girbea

      April 21, 2022 at 12:09 pm

      1. Yes, the laptop runs much cooler with the dGPU disabled, as the system only needs to cope with the CPU package power. I didn't take any FLIR readings, but temps on the bottom part of the panel should not be a concern at all in that case.
      2. Yes, the R7 and R9 are almost identical, with only slightly higher clocks for the R9. I would go with the R7 if that comes with a discount.

      • shirobo

        April 21, 2022 at 1:20 pm

        Thanks for your very quick response! I'll probably look into getting a 2022 G14.
        I had a test run of a 2021 X13 in January and thought it to be quite a nice product, but wanted to go for a 2022 refresh due to the updated iGPU. Though with the 2022 models being a very similar price here, I think I'll be more content with the G14 as a whole package for my usecase despite the weight increase.

  3. Raleigh

    May 3, 2022 at 8:31 pm

    Which one did you like more personally? Razer Blade 15 Mid 2021 oder this one? :)

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 4, 2022 at 8:43 am

      tough call. both are solid options, but I incline towards the G14 for the more portable format, higher efficiency and better inputs.

  4. Levy

    May 18, 2022 at 6:38 pm

    Dear Andrei Girbea,

    it would be great if you could specifically describe if this model ASUS ROG Zephyrus G14 GA402 2022 has TPM(Trusted Platform Module) security, i.e. is bitlocker suited.

    There is often contradicting reports on such notebooks, specifically if these are deemed "gaming" laptops.
    Moreover, most consumers do not check it since the rely on the pre-installed OS, such as the Windows 11 Home Edition, which does not offer full bitlocker features.

    Thank you for considering this input.

    Kind regards from Germany

    Levy

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 18, 2022 at 7:42 pm

      It does, according to the specs on Asus's website. I haven't personally looked into it, though

  5. Vlad

    May 25, 2022 at 6:43 am

    Anyone has brightness flicker? It is quite noticeable on gray\dark backgrounds. It is like there is some kind of "heartbeat" of brightness – it kind of bumps itself up every other second. Not sure if it is software or if it is defective. Adaptive brightness and all related settings are off.

  6. Simon

    July 23, 2022 at 11:54 pm

    Can you share the source for the supposed USB4 support? I can't find anything in Asus's documentation. I purchased the laptop partially on consideration of this future support, so I hope it doesn't turn out to be an empty rumour!

  7. Dave

    August 12, 2022 at 3:31 am

    I've had a G14 2022 for about two weeks and have had issues with it since almost day 1. The screen goes black indefinitely when the refresh rate is changed and requires a restart, bluetooth will be fine then suddenly start disconnecting and connecting my devices in rapid fire, it intermittently will not wake from sleep, every shut down is logged as unexpected/dirty, and there are daily windows "critical" errors in the event log. Have gone as far as reinstalling windows and carefully updating drivers. Was stable for almost a day, then the issues came back.

    I'm approved for a RMA, but now I'm questioning reliability of this model year; I've read cases where others have had to RMA multiple times to get their issues resolved. But have also read posts from people who are perfectly happy with theirs.

    Not sure if I should go through the process, or just return for a refund and find something else.

    Is the G14 2022 reliable on balance? Did I just have bad luck getting a defective one?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *