Lenovo Legion 5i Pro review (2022 Gen 7 model- i7, RTX 3060)

18 Comments

  1. Keyboard

    May 31, 2022 at 9:00 am

    Sadly these new Intel processors are not as efficient as hoped.

  2. Aurelio

    June 1, 2022 at 12:23 am

    Hello, Andrei, fantastic review as always! Very, very detailed.
    I don't think you were too harsh at all, as you expressed an opinion based on a lot of accurate facts.

    I don't think I disagree, but I have a different perspective. It's not that the 2022 isn't so much better than last year's model; or that it lacks features that would make you desire an upgrade; it comes down to the price really. Unfortunately, this whole 2022 generation (or almost all of it) is pretty expensive.

    If you have enough money, the single core performance alone would make you want to upgrade. I also think anyone that buys this kind of machine isn't "terribly concerned" with battery times… It looks good enough for me with also a good possibility of improvement along with Windows (and Linux) processor scheduler in due time.

  3. Tony Frazier

    June 2, 2022 at 1:46 am

    So I'm still confused about the screen situation. The 2021 Legion 5 Pros supported GSync and (for AMD systems) FreeSync in hybrid mode. That's a variable refresh rate technology already. The 165 Hz screen for 2022 ALSO supports GSync. What does the 240 Hz screen *actually* bring to the table that's different (besides the refresh rate)? "VRR" doesn't seem to make any sense. What's the actual difference? The refresh rate alone is uncompelling unless you fancy yourself an eSports pro.

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 2, 2022 at 11:47 am

      That's a good question. I don't have a right answer at this moment, but I'll try to look into it once I get a unit with that display option. As far as I understand right now, VRR and GSync should give the same results.

  4. AlexS

    June 11, 2022 at 4:17 am

    I must praise you for testing Blender GPU scenes in Optix mode and Blender 3.0. many reviewers are still with outdated technology of Blender 2.93

    Blender 3.01 – BMW scene – GPU Compute: 25s (CUDA), 14s (Optix);

    I get 13 sec(Optix) reaching a maximum of 125w(HWiNFO) in my 5800H 3060 17.3" from 2021.
    23 seconds in battery balanced power and maximum of 40w(HWiNFO)

    Maybe you can try the Blender Official Benchmark. It gives me 2615.5 score.

  5. alex

    June 19, 2022 at 5:55 am

    in therm of cooling and thermal which one is good ? this one or asus ROG strix scar G15 12700H RTX3060 ?

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 20, 2022 at 11:40 am

      They're farily similar. the Scar runs a little quieter. Both benefit from bumping the back off the desk in order to improve airflow into the fans

      • alex

        June 20, 2022 at 3:31 pm

        in long therm usage which one is good ? and can be tweak especially to lower CPU temps, i always use my laptop with additional 4 rubber feet so yeah it bumps up about 4 cm, its not like laptop stand but it help the airflow.

      • Andrei Girbea

        June 21, 2022 at 10:23 am

        you have the reviews of both on the site, with temperatures and all the needed details. You'd have to decide for yourself. At full power, the Legion 5 runs cooler, but at the same time, I preffer the better-polished power profiles on the Asus, as well as the fact that Armory Crate offers Manual control over the fans and CPU/GPU power, which Vantage does not.

  6. Brian

    June 30, 2022 at 8:14 pm

    I’ve been in the market for a laptop for quite some time. I very much enjoy playing my games on the road but I don’t think generally what I play from a gaming standpoint is too demanding.

    That said I’ve had my eye on the 5i and 7i for some time, but Lenovo absolutely has no information, stock or even availability time for when the 2022 models will be available in the United States. I’m at the point where I want to go ahead and look for something equal to these computers that is available to buy currently.

    I’m not a content creator, some of my favorite games are Valheim, red dead redemption two, final fantasy seven remake and god of war. Should I stop wasting my time waiting for Lenovo to get their act together, or is there recommendations for something that is available on the market?

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 1, 2022 at 8:44 am

      The Legions are among the best laptops in their niches, but other options are fine as well. At the lower end, the Dell G15 Gaming would be an option I'd consider, and then the ROG Strix/Zephryus G15 would be others at a higher price. I'd aim for an AMD configuration for its efficiency on battery, and at least a 3060 GPU

  7. Marck

    July 26, 2022 at 11:53 am

    Hello,
    first of all, thank you for the detailed review.
    I just want to ask if you managed to solve the problem of the same PL1 and PL2 among the 3 different modes.
    This is because I've also ordered L5iPro Gen 7 (same specs as yours) and after installing Vantage I also have that problem.
    Thank you.

    M.S.

    • Andrei Girbea

      July 26, 2022 at 12:02 pm

      I no longer have the unit around and didn't try anything past what's reported in the article.

    • Trenton

      September 20, 2022 at 11:04 am

      This may come too late for you, but for other readers, there are at least 2 options to address this:
      1. "Lenovo Legion Toolkit" is a 3rd party replacement for Vantage with extra power controls and automations. Available on GitHub (no coding required).
      2. ThrottleStop, a 3rd party CPU tuner, can be used to create custom power profiles, including setting PL1/2. It might conflict with Vantage if you switch between profiles on both.

      Enjoy your lower CPU/GPU temps!

  8. Hyunjin CHO

    September 22, 2022 at 10:04 am

    I’m aware that you don’t have the laptop anymore but I thought this would clear things up for you and future readers. I have the exact same Legion 5i Pro with the same specs and it shipped with no OS by default. When I installed Windows 11 and all necessary drivers from Lenovo Vantage and Windows Update, the processor PL1/PL2 will be fixed at 115W/135W regardless of the Fn+Q performance mode setting just as you’ve observed. And that caused temperatures to reach 95C even on Quiet Mode and it would constantly turbo boost to 4GHz. However when I reinstalled Windows with the Lenovo recovery media, the PL1/PL2 will change based on Fn+Q. Quiet: 25W/45W. Balanced: 60W/80W. Performance: 115W/135W and now my temperatures are much lower. I don’t understand why this function doesn’t work on machines with Windows clean installed. I even imported the Lenovo factory power plans and it didn’t do anything. I hope this clears things up and I hope Lenovo will address this issue soon.

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 22, 2022 at 11:41 am

      Thank you, you are right. In the meantime, I've also reviewed a follow-up Legion 5i Pro with the exact settings that you are mentioning. I'm updating the article to mention this!

      • Hyunjin CHO

        September 22, 2022 at 11:46 am

        I’m not seeing the follow up review? Are you perhaps referring to the Legion 5i non Pro version?

      • Andrei Girbea

        September 22, 2022 at 11:48 am

        It;s not up yet, working on it right now, it should be available in the next few days. It's the 3070Ti version of the laptop, but the same i7 processor.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.