Lenovo Legion 5 Pro 2022 review (Legion 5i Pro model- Core i7-12700H, RTX 3060)

9 Comments

  1. Keyboard

    May 31, 2022 at 9:00 am

    Sadly these new Intel processors are not as efficient as hoped.

  2. Aurelio

    June 1, 2022 at 12:23 am

    Hello, Andrei, fantastic review as always! Very, very detailed.
    I don't think you were too harsh at all, as you expressed an opinion based on a lot of accurate facts.

    I don't think I disagree, but I have a different perspective. It's not that the 2022 isn't so much better than last year's model; or that it lacks features that would make you desire an upgrade; it comes down to the price really. Unfortunately, this whole 2022 generation (or almost all of it) is pretty expensive.

    If you have enough money, the single core performance alone would make you want to upgrade. I also think anyone that buys this kind of machine isn't "terribly concerned" with battery times… It looks good enough for me with also a good possibility of improvement along with Windows (and Linux) processor scheduler in due time.

  3. Tony Frazier

    June 2, 2022 at 1:46 am

    So I'm still confused about the screen situation. The 2021 Legion 5 Pros supported GSync and (for AMD systems) FreeSync in hybrid mode. That's a variable refresh rate technology already. The 165 Hz screen for 2022 ALSO supports GSync. What does the 240 Hz screen *actually* bring to the table that's different (besides the refresh rate)? "VRR" doesn't seem to make any sense. What's the actual difference? The refresh rate alone is uncompelling unless you fancy yourself an eSports pro.

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 2, 2022 at 11:47 am

      That's a good question. I don't have a right answer at this moment, but I'll try to look into it once I get a unit with that display option. As far as I understand right now, VRR and GSync should give the same results.

  4. AlexS

    June 11, 2022 at 4:17 am

    I must praise you for testing Blender GPU scenes in Optix mode and Blender 3.0. many reviewers are still with outdated technology of Blender 2.93

    Blender 3.01 – BMW scene – GPU Compute: 25s (CUDA), 14s (Optix);

    I get 13 sec(Optix) reaching a maximum of 125w(HWiNFO) in my 5800H 3060 17.3" from 2021.
    23 seconds in battery balanced power and maximum of 40w(HWiNFO)

    Maybe you can try the Blender Official Benchmark. It gives me 2615.5 score.

  5. alex

    June 19, 2022 at 5:55 am

    in therm of cooling and thermal which one is good ? this one or asus ROG strix scar G15 12700H RTX3060 ?

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 20, 2022 at 11:40 am

      They're farily similar. the Scar runs a little quieter. Both benefit from bumping the back off the desk in order to improve airflow into the fans

      • alex

        June 20, 2022 at 3:31 pm

        in long therm usage which one is good ? and can be tweak especially to lower CPU temps, i always use my laptop with additional 4 rubber feet so yeah it bumps up about 4 cm, its not like laptop stand but it help the airflow.

      • Andrei Girbea

        June 21, 2022 at 10:23 am

        you have the reviews of both on the site, with temperatures and all the needed details. You'd have to decide for yourself. At full power, the Legion 5 runs cooler, but at the same time, I preffer the better-polished power profiles on the Asus, as well as the fact that Armory Crate offers Manual control over the fans and CPU/GPU power, which Vantage does not.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.