ASUS ROG Zephyrus G14 2021 review – 6 months later (RTX 3060 & 3050Ti)

9 Comments

  1. Lynton Bell

    August 23, 2021 at 10:26 am

    Fantastic detail as always Andrei. I loved the disable turbo trick/results. I had the 4800hs version of this so considering this perhaps on sale as I miss it. In the conclusion you recommend perhaps g15 but I can't understand why people would sacrifice so many fps for QHD which we just don't need on laptops. Good to see Asus still offering good quality FHD panels as I've just been researching on the M16 as well (wish they'd do an AMD version). Hot air blowing on the screen? Not bothered really, don't know why people worry about this but hot air rises so makes sense to suck from bottom and push sideways or up. Perhaps they could also liquid metal the gpu in future?

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 24, 2021 at 11:20 am

      I probably care about the hot air blowing into the screen more than other people, and there's a good chance I'm just paranoia and nothing bad will happen to the screen long-term. I just don't think this design is ideal for a performance laptop with powerful components.

  2. Aurelio

    October 1, 2021 at 9:46 pm

    Hi, Andrei, as I am reading this great article (once more), I saw 2 mentions of "AMD Ryzen 7 5700HS" (also in the cinebench performance graphs). Shouldn't it be "5800HS" with an "8" instead? (maybe the "Ryzen 7" with a "7" threw you off). If I am wrong, I apologize.

    My cousin wants to buy the cheapest version of the 2020 G14 model (4800HS + GTX1650) and he does a lot of video editing.

    I told him I wouldn't recommend, mainly because: A) very limited RAM upgrade possibilities (8GB+8GB on dual channel or 8GB+16GB – still not close to an ideal 32GB and not fully dual channel), B) lack of support for PCIe x4 on the M.2 slot (also about future upgrades – this notebook should ideally last him about 7 to 10 years – possibly making it a little harder to work with larger files in the future).

    He has been obsessed with the whole ASUS Zephyrus series, he won't even consider other brands/models.

    I imagine he ideally need lots of RAM for video editing, and the 2021 models would at least allow a 8GB+32GB configuration; also, am I wrong in thinking that PCIe x4 will allow him to work much faster with larger files? The problem is that the 2021 model is harder to find here and costs 30% to 40% more… I still think it is a good justifiable expenditure for him. Am I wrong?

    Once again, thank you so much for all these profoundly detailed articles and also all the support you provide here. I know it must be a whole lot of work and we really appreciate it. ;-)

    Cheers,
    Aurelio.

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 2, 2021 at 1:58 am

      Hi, you are right about the 5800Hs, thanks, I've updated the article.

      About the other aspects, I wouldn't pay 30-40% extra for the 2021 models. The Ryzen 5000 are better IPS and overall faster, but the difference is not worth that kind of money. As for the RAM and storage, you should be fine with what you're getting on the 2020 configuration. I'd reckon the budget matters a fair bit, otherwise he wouldn't look at that 4800H + 1650 configuration.

      Question is , is that 1650 GPU enoihg for what he needs? the 2060 on the 2020 model or the 3050Ti on the 2021 configuration are more capable chips (make a big difference in Premiere, if that's what he's using), and paying extra to get those might be justified.

      • Aurelio

        October 3, 2021 at 9:05 am

        Thank you so much for your reply, Andrei.

        Yes, you are exactly right on both: budget is really really tight for him and GTX 1650 isn't "quite enough".

        I did a small compilation on excel comparing performance data for those 3 GPUs and that way I was able to show him the value in giving GPU performance a more important role in his selection process.

        I am still not quite sure if he will stick with his choice, though… (mostly for budgetary reasons)

        Truth be told, the GTX 1650 probably can still do the job that he requires (and maybe consume less power and generate less heat); it only will do it a fair(?) amount slower than the more "current" machines (on the GPU side mostly – you were absolutely right on your observation).

        It is so good to be able to have your expert opinion here. Someone with reasonable technical skills and knowledge like me would never be able to spot some of the nuances that only a person with your experience can see.

        Thank you once again and my most sincere gratitude.

  3. G14 owner

    December 10, 2021 at 6:37 pm

    Hi,

    Did you notice any visible difference between left and right part of the 1440p screen? For example that in right part of the screen, white colors goes to "pink" shade compare to left side where is always white?

    • Andrei Girbea

      December 11, 2021 at 11:09 am

      not from what I recall. Have you tried calibrating the screen? If that doesn't work then there's a chance you got some sort of defective screen, and I'd return and ask for a replacement if possible.

  4. Kaja

    September 2, 2022 at 2:45 am

    I am going into my 1st year of mechanical engineering and i came across the G14 2021 and found the exact same CPU Ryzen 9-5900HS and 16GB of Ram and 1TB of storage. However the only difference between them is the GPU as one has the 3050Ti and the other has the 3060 and the prices are £1149.99 for the 3050ti and £1320.68 for the 3060. Now i am conflicted between both of them as i am not sure which will be the best for my course and overall better for the money and for the future as i plan to use this for 4+ years hopefully.Thanks

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 2, 2022 at 9:25 am

      You can find the performance numbers in the article. I'd say both should do well for your class, but the difference to the 3060 model isn't that much, while the performance gains in GPU-demanding activities is significant with the 3060. For future-proofness, I'd go with the 3060 if the 170 quid difference isn't a huge effort

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.