Razer Blade 14 review – the most powerful ultracompact laptop

24 Comments

  1. John

    June 30, 2021 at 12:02 am

    Would this laptop be fine if I took it in a lecture hall or at the library? or would it be too loud?

    You mention how the laptop gets warm under normal usage… that's not a con I or I don't think anyone would look through…is the warmness really that troublesome?

    • Derek Sullivan

      June 30, 2021 at 1:16 am

      As long as you're not using it for high intensity programs, you should be fine. For most of the normal stuff, the most you'll hear is the fan ramp up lightly. You can also turn the battery mode to battery saver which will limit the CPU temps even more.

      Warm during normal usage is just a comment – it's not necessarily a con. Compared to other laptops, this one is a little warm. But it's mainly because it's so thin.

      • John

        June 30, 2021 at 3:23 am

        I appreciate the clarification. I was planning to get the 3060 model but the screen has a 20ms response time :/ .. putting this here so everyone knows who was planning to get one.

  2. LHPSU

    July 2, 2021 at 4:12 am

    The day Razer puts in real navigational keys…sigh.

  3. ZODD

    July 3, 2021 at 4:04 am

    Could you test the Razer 14 on a laptop cooler to see if you can get to lower temps ?

    • Derek Sullivan

      July 3, 2021 at 3:07 pm

      Surely it'll help a couple degrees. It draws air in from the bottom so any forced air against the bottom casing will help.

      I do all my testing on a lapdesk. I gave up using a cooling pad but I still have one that I can test with. Are you looking for something specific though?

    • Derek Sullivan

      July 3, 2021 at 4:09 pm

      I ran a 20 minute test with HZD, same as the one I do for the thermal images above. Surface temps on the palmrest are nearly identical. For internal temps, average CPU temp dropped from 95 to 92C. Average GPU temp actually went up a degree, but it also looks like the GPU clock speed curve was flatter. So perhaps another fps or two. Used a Coolermaster Notepal X-slim, in case you wondered.

      Fwiw I switched to lapdesks a few years ago so I can use a mousepad. I hardly ever find a cooler worthwhile to use anymore. The extra fan noise just to drop CPU temps a couple degrees isn't worth it to me. But that's just my opinion. :)

  4. Drew

    July 5, 2021 at 10:26 am

    Been debating whether to sell off my RB15 (mid-2019 base model with the i7-9750H and the RTX 2060). Will the performance difference in games be worth it?

    • Derek Sullivan

      July 5, 2021 at 2:27 pm

      It's a pretty good upgrade from a 2060, for sure. I have a 2080 Blade 15(i7-8750H) and it feels like a slight upgrade even from that. The QHD screen makes a big difference in my opinion. The up arrow being out of the way helps too…

      The only thing that might feel different to you is the screen size. 14" vs 15.4" is significant, so if you have weak eyes(I'm on the fence here) you might opt to stick with the 15.

      • Drew

        July 6, 2021 at 5:27 am

        Thank you for the response. Any thoughts though on the i7-11800H RB15 Advanced model? Saw that it just showed up as available on the Razer website and the larger QHD screen is very tempting.

      • Derek Sullivan

        July 6, 2021 at 12:36 pm

        I haven't gotten my review unit yet, but the performance should be about equal to the Razer Blade 14. It's also a little thinner than the Razer Blade 15 you have. I'm sure you'd be just as happy with it.

  5. Richard

    July 13, 2021 at 11:17 pm

    Would it be possible to measure the height of the top of the screen frame (measured from the desk) when the Blade 14 is opened to a normal usage angle? I have to fit it under something, and can't find this exact measurement anywhere!

    • Derek Sullivan

      July 15, 2021 at 4:03 pm

      I don't have it to measure anymore. My Razer Blade 15 stands about 9.5" tall though, and it looks to be over an inch taller in my side by side picture. How tall is your space?

  6. John

    July 15, 2021 at 4:12 pm

    Hi, So I got the Razer blade 14 (3060) and I have been getting very poor battery life straight off the box, like 3 hours while browsing on chrome, and having discord and Spotify open. All my battery settings are optimized to get the most time out of them…highest I am going is 3 hours still. Anyone maybe knows why this is happening, ive seen this happen to other people as well but there was no fix, and I am assuming those guys either refunded or went for a replacement. I have already contacted Razer for a replacement, but if I can fix this, I rather just keep the laptop than wait for this whole 2-week long process..

    • Derek Sullivan

      July 15, 2021 at 4:40 pm

      Have you tried using hwinfo and running a log on your charge rate to see if there are any spikes or abnormalities? For web browsing, my average discharge rate was about 14 watts. Keep in mind I had the screen around 30% though.

      • John

        July 15, 2021 at 10:05 pm

        Mine was around the same when I tried but I am only getting 4 hours of battery max ever… and again that's with low brightness, power saving mode, power saving on battery, logo and keyboard lights off. Not to mention, I turned CPU boost off as well.

      • Derek Sullivan

        July 15, 2021 at 10:12 pm

        4 hours is about right though. It's a 61whr battery so if you're using 14w on avg, it's only going to last 4.5hrs tops. It's not a U processor so the only way to get additional battery savings is to unload the CPU by not using it as much. I don't think you're gonna see much better battery life for heavy internet use, especially with Chrome.

      • John

        July 15, 2021 at 10:19 pm

        Yea I needed this for work, needed something with at least 6 hours. Razer advertised at like 12 so I thought id at least get 50% while doing work. I'm just going to return it, although it was a great laptop overall.

      • Derek Sullivan

        July 15, 2021 at 10:52 pm

        Yeah, manufacturer estimates are always bogus. Their test is very similar to my idle test which is pretty much screen set to 0% and the computer just sits there. Kind of a worthless test but it's unfortunately a common one they do since they all compete against each other and want to have the "highest" number possible.

      • John

        July 15, 2021 at 11:31 pm

        Oh damn, thank you for sharing! Wondering if you got any recommendations, mainly looking for something for work and gaming. Something that looks ok to take out in the public, has a decent battery life like 6 hours at least, and finally, something that can run games, mainly warzone. I have seen your portable laptop list and its great, but just wondering what laptop you would recommend if I were to buy right now.

      • Derek Sullivan

        July 16, 2021 at 12:29 am

        I'm going to ask Andrei if he can chime in on that. I deal mainly with gaming laptops so I don't ever see "good" battery life. For that you're going to want a laptop with a U processor(preferably Ryzen), a large battery and a mainstream GPU(1050 ti perhaps). He'll probably be able respond by morning with a suggestion.

      • John

        July 16, 2021 at 12:31 am

        Appreciate it! Will be waiting for the recommendation!

      • Andrei Girbea

        July 16, 2021 at 8:22 am

        Hi John.

        This is tricky because the smaller you go, the less space inside for the thermal module and battery. Ideally, you'd want something with the biggest battery within your shopping range, and preferably an AMD processor, because these are more efficient than Intel.

        That being said, I think the Zephyrus G14 is your best option if you're looking for something the size of a Blade 14. Larger battery, AMD HS platform, and still good screens and GPU power. Make sure to read some reviews so you'll know what you're getting into.

        If you're willing to go even smaller I might also suggest that ROG FLow X13 from Asus as well, but the updated model with the 3050Ti GPU. That's a smaller battery so rather 4-5 hours of everyday use and 8-10 with light use and video, so won't last as long as the G14. But it is smaller and lighter.

        The reason both of these are Asus is that Asus are the only one to put AMD HS hardware on smaller than 15-inch laptops.

        Hope these help.

      • John

        July 16, 2021 at 12:36 pm

        Great thank you! I was thinking about the g15/g14 aswell!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *