Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We do not collect your personal data.  I agree  Find out more  About cookies

Acer Swift 3 14 SF314-59 review (late-2020, Intel Tiger Lake)

9 Comments

  1. DavidC1

    October 8, 2020 at 9:06 pm

    1135G7 is an 80EU part, not 96EU.

    Otherwise, thanks for the great review.

    It seems Tigerlake changed the way PL1 works. Less demanding workloads like Cinebench it has more thermal headroom and can run at 28W consistently. Prime 95 is very demanding so it goes down to 25W.

  2. mik

    October 8, 2020 at 9:51 pm

    The gaming scores are really good especially for an i5-1135G7 with 80 EUs. Devices with i7-1165G7 and a good cooling solution should do even better. What driver did you use in this test, 27.20.100.8783?

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 12, 2020 at 8:31 pm

      I used the driver from late September, and will update if things change with the latest driver from October

      • DavidC1

        October 13, 2020 at 12:27 am

        I don't think the October driver makes a difference. As long as you have the Xe release driver installed its fine. The October driver is a Beta driver related to OneAPI.

        Also you might want to be careful about doing battery life tests on non-OEM drivers. The figures can change because OEMs put in customizations for power settings.

        • Andrei Girbea

          October 13, 2020 at 12:03 pm

          For sure, but I trust that our readers understand that some of the performance/efficiency findings might differ on the retail models, and I mention that several times throughout the article. Ideally, we'd be retesting on retail models and update the reviews, but that's not always possible, as we're a small publication and cannot purchase all these review units, instead we get them from the OEMs, and we depend on what they can offer us.

  3. Ty

    October 13, 2020 at 11:50 pm

    Please help! So i just need a laptop to do some photo and light video editing on. Relatively fast and high quality screen. Budget under $1300. It really doesn't have to be fancy shmancy!

    • Andrei Girbea

      October 14, 2020 at 10:11 am

      There are a lot of options, you need to figure out whether you want a full-size laptop (such as an Acer Predator Helios 300 or Lenovo Legion 5) or a more portable option, such as a Lenovo IdeaPad Slim 7. I'd look into a good processor, 16+ GB of RAM, a fast SSD and at least a 100% sRGB screen. A better screen is a hard-buy in that price range.

  4. william blake

    October 14, 2020 at 12:38 pm

    menu on the left is very useful.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *