Hi. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click OK and continue to use the site.  OK

Ultrabook reviews, guides and comparisons
Acer Predator Helios 300 G3-571 Andrei Girbea Rating: 4 out of 5

Acer Predator Helios 300 G3-571 review – the mid-range Predator gaming laptop

22 Comments

  1. Brian

    May 19, 2017 at 11:05 am

    Did this model really come with a thunderbolt 3 port? Acers says the helios 300 does not have thunderbolt 3.

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 20, 2017 at 4:48 am

      Sorry, that was a mistake on our end,this laptop only get an USB Type-C gen 1 10 Gbps port, so there's no TB3.

      • Danny

        May 25, 2017 at 4:40 am

        Can you connect an external display via this port?

        • Andrei Girbea

          May 25, 2017 at 5:27 am

          Yes, but is not going to support 4K at 60 Hz. You can however use the HDMI 2.0 port for that, as far as I can tell.

  2. mystiq

    May 20, 2017 at 7:28 am

    thanks for the review, andrei, can you show us interlnal component pic like thermal and fans

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 20, 2017 at 2:03 pm

      Not this time, sry, wasn't allowed to open it up.

      • mystiq

        May 27, 2017 at 11:11 am

        okay, so the cooling system on helios 300 was very bad ?

  3. johnsahiz

    May 21, 2017 at 12:54 pm

    I wish manufacturers made less models but of better quality.

    You can check whats inside here:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EhbzjRCKQSk

    The sound is slightly worse because speakers are not put towards the front :(

    So, let's recap:
    gets hotter than the VX, gets louder than the VX, it's not lighter than the VX… why should one get the helios (with a 1050ti) instead of the VX? Not even the screen looks better: the VX with IPS scores around 55% sRGB, same blacks/contrast, and doesnt use PWM (so less color accuracy but neither of them would be good for photo editing, so…)

    The Helios only make sense if you want the 1060, but on that level more reliable brands could be considered. Acer so far made a meh impression at gaming laptops… look at the predators: bulky, super heavy and… CPU reach 100°C after 15 min of CoD. But hey, you can replace the DVD drive with a third fan that does absolutely nothing! :D (true story)

    • Andrei Girbea

      May 21, 2017 at 4:03 pm

      Heh, so not the same speakers, that's why they sound poorer. I agree there's little reason to get the 1050Ti over the VX15, although we don't know how much this Helios is going to cost and that could make a difference. The price for the 1060 variant in the US is pretty hard to beat at $1099 though. If willing to spend $100-$200 more there are better options, but at that price range I don't think there are. Well, except some options on sales, of course.

      I don't agree with your general remark on the Predators though. The Predator 15 and 17s aren't bad choices, for the budget. Repasting helps a lot, although some might argue that the triangular CPU base might not be the best idea and one of the reasons of those high CPU temps. Yes, you can find overall better laptops if you're willing to spend a little more on the Alienwares and perhaps the Asus ROGs, but I guess Acer went on the competitive pricing route and had to cut some corners to get there.

  4. Jason LIn

    May 23, 2017 at 7:35 pm

    Assuming my budget was high enough to purchase the Acer V15 Nitro Black Edition, should I go for that laptop instead of this laptop?

  5. Morcen

    May 28, 2017 at 3:35 am

    Should I choose this laptop or Lenovo legion Y720?

  6. Ojas

    June 1, 2017 at 1:37 am

    What should I do if I have purchased the Helios 300.

  7. Watson

    June 5, 2017 at 10:16 am

    Which one do you think is better, this or the MSI GS63VR Stealth, if price was not an issue?

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 5, 2017 at 3:30 pm

      The MSI is a thinner and lighter laptop. I'd probably pick it over the Helios, but the GS63 has some quirks as well, read our review here: http://www.ultrabookreview.com/12557-msi-gs63vr-review/

      • Watson

        June 5, 2017 at 4:24 pm

        How about the older Predator 15 with similar specs?

        microcenter.com/product/478220/Predator_15_G9-593-72VT_156_Gaming_Laptop_Computer_-_Black

        • Andrei Girbea

          June 6, 2017 at 5:08 am

          That one is chubbier and heavier, but runs cooler and gets better speakers. Not sure about the screen on that particular version, you should read some reviews. Overall, if portability is not a main concern, I'd probably get that one over the Helios.

  8. Paul De Leon

    June 6, 2017 at 11:24 am

    I'm kinda hard to choose from
    this 1060 helios vs asus gl553 1050ti vs dell inspiron 7567 1050ti.
    can you give me your suggestions? thanks

  9. Oliver

    June 17, 2017 at 5:53 am

    What's the screen refresh rate??

  10. Doctor Spaghetti

    June 22, 2017 at 12:45 pm

    Could you tell me if it is compatible with a wacom pen and touch? This laptop seems to have everything I need but I want to make sure it can run my drivers and whatnot! I'll be back with more questions as I am really looking into this device.

    • Andrei Girbea

      June 22, 2017 at 12:53 pm

      It should work fine with any USB connected Wacom tablets that support Windows.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *